BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Universal Coin & Bullion, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Universal Coin & Bullion, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


ATTENTION CUSTOMERS:

Universal Coin & Bullion, Ltd. requests any customer with concerns to contact their Customer Service Department at: (877) 899-8380

This contact number is also prominently displayed on their website at:   https://www.universalcoin.com/             

By contacting the Customer Service Department directly, your concerns will be addressed promptly.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Universal Coin & Bullion, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1995 Business started: 06/01/1991 Business started locally: 06/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Credit Commissioner

http://www.occc.state.tx.us/pages/brochures/index.html
Phone Number: (512) 936-7600

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Mike Fuljenz, President Vickie Hernandez, Asst. Jill Mitchell, Marketing Coordinator Tom Novak, Sales Manager Paul Stein, VP of Marketing Melissa Tappe, Complaints (See Vickie) Diane Verde Robert Verde, General Manager Tanner Watts
Contact Information
Principal: Mike Fuljenz, President
Customer Contact: Vickie Hernandez, Asst.
Business Category

Coin Dealers, Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Mike Fuljenz Universal Coin Universal Precious Metals
Products & Services

This company offers the retail sale of collectable coins. They also provide books, newsletters and other educational materials on the collection of coins.


Additional Locations

  • 7410 Phelan Blvd

    Beaumont, TX 77706 (409) 866-4112 (800) 459-2646 (409) 223-8689 (855) 716-0469

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early Nov. 2015 I rec'd a call from ***** ************ of Universal Coin & Bullion, **** ****** ****., Beaumont, Tx 77770 wanting to sell me gold coins. I told him I wan't interested but he kept on and on with his sales pitch and I finally bought half as many as he tried to sell me. Universal Coin & Bullion offers a 30-day money back guarantee, so I mailed the coins back to Universlal Coin on Dec 10, 2015 and the package was received by Universal Coin & Bullion on Dec 14, 2015 and signed for by *. *******. I did not request contact with Universal Coin but was contacted with a cold call by Mr ************. I waited for two full weeks and hadn't rec'd notification of my refund. I called Universa;l Coin & Bullion on Monday, Dec. 28, 2015 and was told that Mr ************ was in a meeting and would call me back.. I did not get a call. On Monday, Jan 4, 2016 I again called Universal Coin & Bullion and asked for Mr. ************ and after a 15 minute wait on hold was told that Mr. ************ would call me back in 15 minutes. That was about 4 hours ago and still did not receive a call.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the coins credited to my credit card account, ie, $4425.00 in accordance with the 30-day money back guarantee that Universal Coin & Bullion offers.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ****,

We are in receipt of the January 4, 2016 complaint filed by *** L. ******* regarding a refund for coins he returned to our company.  For clarification, Mr. ******* was not contacted by Universal Coin & Bullion with a cold call.  Mr. ******* called our company in response to an advertisement in American Rifleman magazine and placed an order on November 4, 2015.  In a follow up phone call on November 6, 2015, Mr. ******* placed the $4,425.00 order referenced in his complaint.  In a phone call on December 10, 2015, Mr. ******* stated that he would be returning the coins for a refund.  As referenced in Mr. *******’s complaint, on December 14, 2015 our office received the coins referenced being returned by Mr. *******.  It is our company policy to process refunds within 10 to 15 business days of receipt of the coins.  Pursuant to this policy, the window of time for processing the refund was between December 29th and January 6th.  This company policy is disclosed to all customers, including Mr. *******, in the customer disclosure that accompanies all orders.  (Please see attached Invoice to Mr. ******* which includes our Return Policy.)

On January 5, 2016, Mr. *******’s credit card was credited for the amount of $4,425.00.  Unfortunately, our representative failed to timely return Mr. *******’s phone calls to clarify the refund processing policy.  We apologize for this oversight by our representative and any inconvenience caused to Mr. *******.

Please let us know if you need any further information regarding this issue.  Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

**** *******

President, Universal Coin & Bullion, Ltd.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 11024017, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Universal Coin & Bullion, Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)