BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Parker Lumber meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Parker Lumber include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960 Business incorporated: 10/31/1996 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Scott Parker, President Cheryl Lowe, Office Manager Chris Miller, Comptroller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Chris Miller, Comptroller
Principal: Scott Parker, President
Business Category

Building Materials Cabinet Doors Cabinets Doors Hardware - Retail Lumber - Retail Paint - Retail Siding Materials Tools - Hand Windows Lumber - Wholesale Baths - Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Do It Best Lumber Orange Discount Warehouse

Additional Locations

  • 2192 Eastex Fwy

    Beaumont, TX 77703 (409) 898-7000

  • PO Box 12463

    Beaumont, TX 77726

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Picked up my item, and has not given credit refund. I purchased several materials through the Port Arthur branch. **** ****** handled my account. I wanted a laminated beam that wasn't in stock. **** told me he could have in a few days. That was fine. I was not told it was a "Special Order". I had several deliveries made to my job site. Sometimes unused items were picked up and returned for credit. I told **** that customer changed design last minute so some things were not needed on a particular delivery. Driver loaded these things. I noticed I didn't get credit for beam. I was then told it was special order. No refund, but he'll see what he can do. I told him I was not aware of it being special order, was not told to me or written on my ticket that way, nor does it say non refundable or returnable. This job has been done almost 2 months now and I have tried to work with **** and get my refund. He has become rude, and is no longer replying to emails or my calls. They now have my money and my item.

Desired Settlement: I want FULL refund for the laminated beam purchased.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/05) */ Mr ********** ordered a special order laminated beam from our Port Arthur location. After the beam was already made to his specs, Mr. ********** asked to change the dimensions. It is ****** Lumber policy that we do not refund special order product since it is especially made for that person's request. In this case, we have an email from Mr. ********** acknowledging he understood and asked if we could try to sell it for him, which we have tried and been unsuccessful. The beam is currently at the Port Arthur location and Mr. ********** is free to come pick up his beam whenever he would like. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I disagree. I was told beams come in 2' increments and that the size I needed was not on the yard .but could be gotten in a day or 2. I was not told at all it was special order or that it had to be special made. Mr ****** did not make any remarks to being special order or no refund ect only that it was not on the yard at this time.I never agreed or admitted that I understood that it was special order.I only agreed to the choice I was given only after the fact they they picked it up and had it back in their possession a few days without a refund. I was then told no refund. We argued a bit and when I seen that I basically was at their mercy,,since they had the beam and my money,,I needed to agree for them to try and sell. **** told me should take a few days because bigger contractors use all the time. I have been patiently waiting. After some time passed,I inquired to give him more time and to reduce price if needed.I just wanted it this ordeal done.There is nothing on my invoice stating special order or no return and out of all the emails and complaints,not one time has this business disputed that fact.I have been in this business along time and have ordered a lot of materials during the years. If it was special ordered,it was marked on invoice and labeled as such with a non returnable non refundable statement. This Is not so on this item. Since this ordeal I was told my discount and delivery rates were no longer applicable. That is their right to do,but not very good way of doing business with someone you made a deal with. So the professionalism of Mr. ****** in this case is just not there. The ball was apparently dropped on his end without proper communication or documentation,,and when he was confronted,,,I was then denied other discounts we agreed on. I feel they should never have picked the beam up and took it back if it was non refundable,,no company does that,and then tell you several days later that its non refundable.I seek full refund, as well as have also filed with Attoney General against the way this particular case was unprofessionally handled through lack of documentation and communication. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/11/26) */ I am still sticking to my original reply. As a contractor Mr. ********** knows that a beam specially cut for his job is a special order board. Once again, we are still trying to sell the product on his behalf and have been unsuccessful. He can come pick up his material any time.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1