BBB Accredited Business since

Parker Lumber

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 898-7000 Fax: (409) 347-0942 2192 Eastex Fwy, Beaumont, TX 77703 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Parker Lumber meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Parker Lumber
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1960 Business started locally: 01/01/1960 Business incorporated 10/31/1996 in TX
Type of Entity


Business Management
Scott Parker, President Cheryl Lowe, Office Manager Chris Miller, Comptroller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Chris Miller, Comptroller
Principal: Scott Parker, President
Business Category

Building Materials Cabinet Doors Cabinets Doors Hardware - Retail Lumber - Retail Paint - Retail Siding Materials Tools - Hand Windows Lumber - Wholesale Baths - Equipment & Supplies Other Building Material Dealers (NAICS: 444190)

Alternate Business Names
Do It Best Lumber Orange Discount Warehouse

Additional Locations

  • 2192 Eastex Fwy

    Beaumont, TX 77703 (409) 898-7000

  • PO Box 12463

    Beaumont, TX 77726


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Picked up my item, and has not given credit refund. I purchased several materials through the Port Arthur branch. **** ****** handled my account. I wanted a laminated beam that wasn't in stock. **** told me he could have in a few days. That was fine. I was not told it was a "Special Order". I had several deliveries made to my job site. Sometimes unused items were picked up and returned for credit. I told **** that customer changed design last minute so some things were not needed on a particular delivery. Driver loaded these things. I noticed I didn't get credit for beam. I was then told it was special order. No refund, but he'll see what he can do. I told him I was not aware of it being special order, was not told to me or written on my ticket that way, nor does it say non refundable or returnable. This job has been done almost 2 months now and I have tried to work with **** and get my refund. He has become rude, and is no longer replying to emails or my calls. They now have my money and my item.

Desired Settlement: I want FULL refund for the laminated beam purchased.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/05) */ Mr ********** ordered a special order laminated beam from our Port Arthur location. After the beam was already made to his specs, Mr. ********** asked to change the dimensions. It is ****** Lumber policy that we do not refund special order product since it is especially made for that person's request. In this case, we have an email from Mr. ********** acknowledging he understood and asked if we could try to sell it for him, which we have tried and been unsuccessful. The beam is currently at the Port Arthur location and Mr. ********** is free to come pick up his beam whenever he would like. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I disagree. I was told beams come in 2' increments and that the size I needed was not on the yard .but could be gotten in a day or 2. I was not told at all it was special order or that it had to be special made. Mr ****** did not make any remarks to being special order or no refund ect only that it was not on the yard at this time.I never agreed or admitted that I understood that it was special order.I only agreed to the choice I was given only after the fact they they picked it up and had it back in their possession a few days without a refund. I was then told no refund. We argued a bit and when I seen that I basically was at their mercy,,since they had the beam and my money,,I needed to agree for them to try and sell. **** told me should take a few days because bigger contractors use all the time. I have been patiently waiting. After some time passed,I inquired to give him more time and to reduce price if needed.I just wanted it this ordeal done.There is nothing on my invoice stating special order or no return and out of all the emails and complaints,not one time has this business disputed that fact.I have been in this business along time and have ordered a lot of materials during the years. If it was special ordered,it was marked on invoice and labeled as such with a non returnable non refundable statement. This Is not so on this item. Since this ordeal I was told my discount and delivery rates were no longer applicable. That is their right to do,but not very good way of doing business with someone you made a deal with. So the professionalism of Mr. ****** in this case is just not there. The ball was apparently dropped on his end without proper communication or documentation,,and when he was confronted,,,I was then denied other discounts we agreed on. I feel they should never have picked the beam up and took it back if it was non refundable,,no company does that,and then tell you several days later that its non refundable.I seek full refund, as well as have also filed with Attoney General against the way this particular case was unprofessionally handled through lack of documentation and communication. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/11/26) */ I am still sticking to my original reply. As a contractor Mr. ********** knows that a beam specially cut for his job is a special order board. Once again, we are still trying to sell the product on his behalf and have been unsuccessful. He can come pick up his material any time.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Parker Lumber
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)