BBB Accredited Business since

Fairway Auto Company

Phone: (409) 727-1800 Fax: (409) 727-1856 1210 N Highway 69, Nederland, TX 77627 https://www.facebook.com/Drivethefairway

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fairway Auto Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fairway Auto Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fairway Auto Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 13, 2009 Business started: 02/14/1997 Business started locally: 02/14/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Joey Bolton, Manager Joe Bolton Jr., Owner Eddie Estilette, Finance Manager Brett Hardy, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Joey Bolton, Manager
Customer Contact: Eddie Estilette, Finance Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Truck Dealers Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Products & Services

Fairway Auto Company is in the business of selling and financing used vehicles to the general public in Southeast Texas. Their inventory consists of: Pre owned cars, pre owned trucks, pre owned mini vans and sports cars as available.


Additional Locations

  • 1210 N Highway 69

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 727-1800

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were TOLD that if sale was not completed, we'd be given our down payment back of $1500.00 back. We went into Fairway on Tues Nov 3, 2013 around 5 p.m., filled out an app and was told we'd be called either later that eve or the next morn. We received a call that eve saying that my fiance' would have to be the primary on the app because I hadn't moved to TX completely yet and to start looking for insurance companies so we could come in that following morn and have the insurance already taken care of. **** (a salesman) told me that his wife could give us a good deal so that's who I called and got insurance with for $200 dwn. Wednesday morn Nov 4, 2013 we went in to pick up the truck that we'd been approved for. We gave them a $1500 down payment and an additional $200 for the insurance with ****'s wife. On all the contracts they had my fiance's middle name and just asked him to sign all the paperwork using his middle name since it'd already been typed up on the contract. ***** told us that the sale would be completed by that following Mon or Tues and the only way that we wouldn't get our money back is if something happened to the vehicle and we decided that we didn't want it anymore. He never mentioned anything about if the sale wasn't completed that we'd be out of all of this money. We'd never just give up $1700 with the HOPE of keeping a car. Anyways, that following week my fiance got laid off until Jan 2014 which is 2 or 3 weeks away and so yesterday Friday Nov 13, 2013 around 5 p.m. there was a knock on the door from a repo man. He asked my fiance' was he the name that was on the contract and told him that he was there to pick up the truck. We were completley lost. We called ***** (finance manager) and he said that the finance company said that he was no longer employed so they wanted the vehicle back so I asked about getting our money back and he said that my fiance' signed the paper that said no refunds. We were TOLD by ***** that there were no refunds if we changed our minds...not if they didn't complete the sale. It is 11 days until Christmas and we have been ripped off $1700 by Fairway and have no vehicle. They are a very shady company and ***** shouldn't have said that if the sale wasn't complete that we'd receive our money back. We would have NEVER agreed to some mess like that. They should stop letting people drive cars off of their lot until the sales are complete and stop taking peoples money if they are not sure that their going to let them keep the vehicle. Christmas in our home won't be thanks to ***** and Fairway's shady ways. I should have known that they were a sneaky bunch of people when ***** told my fiance' to just use his middle name instead of his first name. We should receive a full refund because there is no way that we would have agreed to this. Had ***** told us their stipulations, we would have left and not dealt with Fairway. Times are hard for everybody and no one has that kind of money to just give away!

Desired Settlement: We just simply want our $1500 down payment back and the $200 for the insurance we purchased that we didn't need.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@yahoo.com Spoke with Miss ****** on 12/17/2013. Based on that conversation, this matter has been solved to her satisfaction and Fairway's satisfaction. Please confirm with Miss ****** and clear complaint

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues