This business is not BBB accredited.

Fairway Auto Company

Phone: (409) 727-1800 Fax: (409) 727-1856 1210 N Highway 69, Nederland, TX 77627 https://www.facebook.com/Drivethefairway


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fairway Auto Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fairway Auto Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 2009 Business started: 02/14/1997 Business started locally: 02/14/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Joey Bolton, Manager Joe Bolton Jr., Owner Eddie Estilette, Finance Manager Brett Hardy, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Joey Bolton, Manager
Customer Contact: Eddie Estilette, Finance Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Truck Dealers Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Products & Services

Fairway Auto Company is in the business of selling and financing used vehicles to the general public in Southeast Texas. Their inventory consists of: Pre owned cars, pre owned trucks, pre owned mini vans and sports cars as available.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1210 N Highway 69

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 727-1800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from Fairway Auto Company on 9/23/14. The dealership closed shortly afterwards and never filed the paperwork to transfer the tittle to me. I am unable to register the vehicle; therefore, I am unable to drive the vehicle legally. I have since had to purchase another vehicle and want my money back that I have spent on the car. I am not paying AC Autopay for the loan, since they do not have title either. A representative from AC Autopay does not want to repossess the car and I am incurring expenses for storing the car in a secure location. I did drive the car for 4 months, so I would expect to pay for the use of the car during that time. I have a little more than $5,000 paid toward the car. I do not want this "bad car deal" to affect my credit report, so whatever you can do to help me undo this contract would be much appreciated. I feel like I've met my end of the deal, but the sale is not complete if I don't have title to the car, cannot register the car, which means I cannot drive the car. Here are the events as I recall: On 9/23/14, I traded in my 2003 Honda Pilot and paid a cash down payment of $1,000, towards the purchase of a used 2006 Toyota Highlander (see Buyer's Order). I also had to provide insurance, so I dropped the coverage for the Toyota and added my new car. In October 2014, AC Autopay mailed a GAP Waiver Addendum (see attachment) to fill out and when I went to the Fairway Auto Company to sign their part, I found the doors locked and the parking lot empty. In addition, I had already signed this paperwork on the day I purchased the Toyota, but AC Autopay had never received it. Since the dealership was closed, I went to the courthouse to renew my paper tags since the metal plates were not available. The courthouse allowed me to renew the paper tags monthly until February. The clerk at the courthouse had me fill out a Dealer Complaint form (Form ENF-CC1) (See DMV Enforcement Division letter). She also suggested that I go to the DMV to apply for a bonded title. The instructions were too confusing to me and would cost me more money and if I didn't fill something out right, I'd have to pay ore money, so I didn't go to the DMV. In January 2015, I went to the courthouse to renew my paper tags again. The clerk required me to sign a document that sys I understand this is the last time I can renew the paper tags. This situation has had my family and me in a lot of stress over the last 6 months not knowing what to do. I rely on dependable transportation to go to work. I also don't know what this is going to do to my credit report.

Desired Settlement: I just want to get the money back that I have put into this car and be freed of this debt. The contract between the dealership and the lender looks to me to be void, since the dealership did not honor their obligation in providing a tittle to me within the 90 days as specified on the Assignment document. It appears that both AC Autopay and me are in legal and financial mess due to this dealership.

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were TOLD that if sale was not completed, we'd be given our down payment back of $1500.00 back. We went into Fairway on Tues Nov 3, 2013 around 5 p.m., filled out an app and was told we'd be called either later that eve or the next morn. We received a call that eve saying that my fiance' would have to be the primary on the app because I hadn't moved to TX completely yet and to start looking for insurance companies so we could come in that following morn and have the insurance already taken care of. **** (a salesman) told me that his wife could give us a good deal so that's who I called and got insurance with for $200 dwn. Wednesday morn Nov 4, 2013 we went in to pick up the truck that we'd been approved for. We gave them a $1500 down payment and an additional $200 for the insurance with ****'s wife. On all the contracts they had my fiance's middle name and just asked him to sign all the paperwork using his middle name since it'd already been typed up on the contract. ***** told us that the sale would be completed by that following Mon or Tues and the only way that we wouldn't get our money back is if something happened to the vehicle and we decided that we didn't want it anymore. He never mentioned anything about if the sale wasn't completed that we'd be out of all of this money. We'd never just give up $1700 with the HOPE of keeping a car. Anyways, that following week my fiance got laid off until Jan 2014 which is 2 or 3 weeks away and so yesterday Friday Nov 13, 2013 around 5 p.m. there was a knock on the door from a repo man. He asked my fiance' was he the name that was on the contract and told him that he was there to pick up the truck. We were completley lost. We called ***** (finance manager) and he said that the finance company said that he was no longer employed so they wanted the vehicle back so I asked about getting our money back and he said that my fiance' signed the paper that said no refunds. We were TOLD by ***** that there were no refunds if we changed our minds...not if they didn't complete the sale. It is 11 days until Christmas and we have been ripped off $1700 by Fairway and have no vehicle. They are a very shady company and ***** shouldn't have said that if the sale wasn't complete that we'd receive our money back. We would have NEVER agreed to some mess like that. They should stop letting people drive cars off of their lot until the sales are complete and stop taking peoples money if they are not sure that their going to let them keep the vehicle. Christmas in our home won't be thanks to ***** and Fairway's shady ways. I should have known that they were a sneaky bunch of people when ***** told my fiance' to just use his middle name instead of his first name. We should receive a full refund because there is no way that we would have agreed to this. Had ***** told us their stipulations, we would have left and not dealt with Fairway. Times are hard for everybody and no one has that kind of money to just give away!

Desired Settlement: We just simply want our $1500 down payment back and the $200 for the insurance we purchased that we didn't need.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@yahoo.com Spoke with Miss ****** on 12/17/2013. Based on that conversation, this matter has been solved to her satisfaction and Fairway's satisfaction. Please confirm with Miss ****** and clear complaint

5/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues