BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ECR Development Group, LLC dba 2nd Chance Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ECR Development Group, LLC dba 2nd Chance Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 13, 2009 Business started: 07/10/2002 Business started locally: 07/10/2002 Business incorporated: 07/24/2006 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Tony Renfro, Owner/President Bruce Simien, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Tony Renfro, Owner/President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Truck Dealers Auto Repair & Service Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
2nd Chance Motors Second Chance Motors Star Motors Tony Renfro Imports, Inc.,
Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 2790 Eastex Fwy

    Beaumont, TX 77703 (409) 347-2886

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from this dealership in early January 2014. First it took them a month to pay off my trade and clear my account with USAA. Now it has been 7 weeks and I have yet to receive my permanent plates. Despite my efforts to communicate with them, they have chosen to ignore my emails and will not provide me any information as to the whereabouts of my plates. I have requested the name of the owner of the company, again they have ignored that request. Product_Or_Service: Kia

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I just need my permanent plates mailed to the hotel I am currently staying ************* ********** Market Place BlvdIrving, TX XXXXXc/o ***** ******, RM 222

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/25) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******, Pres Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **********@msn.com We have been in constant contact with Mr.****** during the duration of the account by email. Mr. ****** changed his phone # and address after purchasing his vehicle in which he moved to the Dallas area without notifying us at the time. Soon after he contacted us, several weeks later, as we were waiting for Mr. ******'s title from the auction to receive his title so that we can have it registered with his new address and county, to have it registered with the Tax Office. Mr.****** also stated that we did not pay his trade off which is not correct, we paid the payoff by state law within the 10th working business day. His credit union USAA responed by letting us know that they will have to hold our payment for his trade for 14 business days before release. We have not received his title from his credit union USAA as of today 2/25/14, Mr. ****** has his plates mailed to his hotel room as of last Friday 2/21/14...We have never had an issues with license plates only when it is delayed by the auction..

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.