BBB Accredited Business since

Corvette Specialists

Phone: (409) 866-7506 Fax: (409) 866-4798 12359 Highway 90, Beaumont, TX 77713 http://www.beaumontcorvette.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Corvette Specialists meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Corvette Specialists include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Corvette Specialists
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 02, 1995 Business started: 09/01/1978 Business started locally: 09/01/1978 Business incorporated 09/14/1992 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Credit Commissioner

http://www.occc.state.tx.us/pages/brochures/index.html
Phone Number: (512) 936-7600

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Michael Flash, Owner Peggy Flash, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Michael Flash, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Used Car Dealers (NAICS: 441120)

Alternate Business Names
Michael J. Flash, Inc.
Products & Services

This company provided used auto sales, service, restoration,parts and paint and body work.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 12359 Highway 90

    Beaumont, TX 77713 (409) 866-7506

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2002 Chevy Camaro on the evening of 02/19/15. The dealer said the person that had it before stated he had no problems with vehicle and they also have found nothing wrong with it. I put $2600 down on the car, still owing $3000. The very next morning on 02/20/15, 10 minutes into driving the car all the dash lights cut off, gas gage and speedometer stopped working. As I was slowing down to turn in to a parking lot the car acted like the gas stuck and was going 20 mph without giving it any gas. As the car sat in park the engine kept revving up until it died. I called the dealership and told them I was bringing the car back to them. The car died at least 5 times on the way to the car lot. When I got there I explained what was going on with the car and that I wanted my money back. The manager was not in so the secretary called him (**** *****) she relayed the message that he will not give me my money back but that they will work on the car and fix what its wrong with it. My fianc asked the secretary for some kind of invoice stating the date and time the car was brought back for records. She said she wasnt writing anything and her word was good enough. My fianc told her, with the way things are going, if I have to take them to court her word wouldnt be good enough. The secretary replied with and I quote I dont know what you white people are going to do, but Im not going to court for anybody. After arguing the fact that I did not want the car because I hadnt even had it 24 hours and it already broke down, they would not reason and proceeded to tell me he was not giving me my money back. So I ended up leaving the car there (on 2/20/15). They called the very same day and said I could come pick the car up. They said that they had put a new alternator in and the car was back running. Strange to me they looked at the car, found the problem, had the part and fixed the car all in a few hours. Still skeptical about taking the car I argued again that I really just wanted my money back. But once again they didnt want to hear it. I was out of town at the time so I had my dad go pick the car up. The car ran ok for a couple weeks, still felt like something was going wrong with it and the service engine light was still on. On 03/13/15 on my way to work, the car kept cutting out and wouldnt go then would sputter and take off. After barley making it to work I called the dealership and told **** ***** what was going on. He told me to bring the car up there when I got off. I called up there that evening and the secretary from mentioned before answered. I told her **** wanted me to bring the car and was letting them know I on my way. She had a nasty attitude and said I should know better than calling a business on a Friday when people are trying to get off. When I got there I told them it seems like something is wrong with transmission or the motor. He proceeded to tell me it couldnt be the transmission because they had to change that recently. But when I first got the car they told me nothing was wrong or had been wrong with it. So, once again I asked for my money back because this was ridiculous. He said they do not give money back but theyll work on the car. Today 03/17/15 they still have the car and say they cant find anything wrong with it that I can come get it. I refuse to pick it up and want nothing to do with it. The car obviously has mechanical issues and did before I bought it which they lied about. Now that I am in a huge bind with no car and no money

Desired Settlement: I want my money back that I put down on the car!

Business Response:

Mr **** ********** purchased the 02 Camaro reffered to in his complaint on 2-19-2015 during our promotion wher we doubled your down payment.  He put down $2,000 and we matched it giving him credit for $4,000 down plus tax,title and license.  He purcased this car in "as is" condition.  Mr ********** experienced an alternator failure within hours of his purchase.  I explained to Mr ********** that we do not give money back, but I would be happy to see what the issue was and correct it.  We replaced his failed alternator with a "lfetime guaranteed" unit and had it repaired within a few hours.  We didn't hear from Mr ********** for a few weeks when he called saying his car was accelerating on it's own and he didn't feel safe driving his car, again I offered to look at it to try to determine if or what the problem might be.  I had personally driven this car for a few days and never experienced what Mr ********** was describing.  When brought to the dealership, we inspected for any obvious problems and found none.  I tested the running of the car both stationary and putting in and out of gear, again no problem was found.  I then test drove it probably in excess of 75 miles, and again no problems.  Mr **********'s father came out and drove the vehicle with his son and when they returned, Mr ********** indicated he didn't find any problem.  They both left with Mr. **********'s car.  The total time we looked at and drove and tested tie vehicle was from Monday morning the16th till they picked it up on the17th.  With no problem found, I do not feel there is any additional consideration to be offered at this time.
**** *****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10536607

I am rejecting this response because:

I picked up the car I can tell the transmission flu had been change. **** told me he didn't find anything wrong and didn't have to fix anything but the transmission fluid had been change but the cars hasn't been accelerating on its own at the moment the check engine light is also still on

Sincerely,
**** **********

Business Response:

The transmission fluid was NOT changed and didn't need to be changed because we had installed a GM rebuilt transmission shortly before Mr ********** purchased his car. We addressed the customers complaint of the car accelorating on it's own and we were not asked to diagnose a check engine light. We would be happy to scan the car to determine what code the engine light references.. * * *****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10536607

I am rejecting this response because:Well now the car has completely stopped working I been asking Mr. **** for my money back the next day after purchasing the car I tried getting the money back before this problem happened but **** told me he doesn't give money back now I'm going to return the car to his lot with out getting $2650 back. There business and services are very poor im very unsatisfied

Sincerely,

**** **********

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On today 2/13/2015 I went to corvette specialist. Manager was very disrespectful. I went in about a problem we thought was already fixed, however mechanic said it was water pump and to go in and have them write it up which is the proper thing to do. When I got in I spoke with manager and told her what her mechanic said. Manager pulled out form that the mechanic stated to have wrote up so services could be done. Manager told me to fill it out myself. I started thinking this is not right and the warrenty company will not except this with me filling out this form. Manager then took a call and begin to say" you told me you would have him call me in a few minutes " she then ended her call and stated " I told you'll he was a crack head and I told you'll he be stealing the cars from up here. There was another worker young white guy stated " no I told you'll that he was stealing cars from here and bring back before we open. I then got up and went to a office where the wife of the owner sits she was on a personal call she laid phone down and got up I gave her my card she went to counter and wrote the information down she then said oh we have done this for you before we will take care of it all we have to do is fax over to warrenty company. I then asked her why would you hire someone that won't take care of your Customers wife of owner stated we will take care of you and gave my card back then went to bsck and spoke with husband by this time we were on road to come home owner called and stated I shoved a card in his wife's face when I gave card to his wife in her hand. They had done some other work for we which all is coming apart and holes were drilled in my car without my permission. They were asked to put a plate on front of car but did not ask for holes to be put in car. My husband called and spoke to ** he stated he would fix it, also had them put a new layer of leather seat and it's coming apart worst than it was. I'm sure owner was told and maybe this is why they really didn't want to give us service.

Desired Settlement: I'm asking that my money be given back for those two things only and being that the manager and her associate has admitted that she was a recovering crack head and one of the other workers that works there was taking cars and using them then bringing them back I can not trust that job would be done correctly and being that the owner called me and told me that he does not want my service and would not be fixing holes he put in front of my car and the sticking for my seat Im requesting my money back and asking state to step in for customers cars being taking by a guy that manager said was a crack head and using other people's cars. Also if anyway possible worked there could be drug tested and if drugs found in system all people who have taking their cars there if they may join suit.

Business Response:

I am familiar with this situation and first off, my sales manager, who amongst many other things, answers the phones, greets customers and sells cars, was on the phone with a customer when Ms. ******* came in.  Before my manager could get off of the phone, Ms. ******* told her she needed to get off the phone and wait on her.  Before my manager could finish her conversation, Ms. ******* entered my wife's adjacent office and pushed her auto warranty card in my wife's face and told wife she needed to be waited on.  My wife, at the time, was on the phone with my daughter whose close friend just died and my daughter was very upset.  My wife had no idea what Ms ******* wanted and was offended by Ms ******* insistent, rude manner.  

The only other record we have of Ms. ******* having work done at our place of business was in 2-3-2014 when the car was brought in for a drive belt noise and for changing the oil and filter.  We contacted and were paid for the alternator replacement by her warranty company.  Ms ******* paid her $100 deductible and for the oil change.  To my knowledge, that is the only record of work we have done for Ms. *******, and since a year has elapsed since our repair, and her recent complaint has nothing to do with the repairs we performed, along with the time over our 90 day warranty, I cannot consider any reimbursement.  

The reason we elected not to do any additional work on Ms. ******* auto, was we were totally put off by Ms. ******* attitude and we do have the right to refuse service to anyone we want.  I hope this answers your inquiry and would be glad to answer any other relevant questions  
 
Best regards, 
**** *****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10449208

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******** *******

Business Response: First I can't tell anything from the pictures provided of the front bumper and secondly without copies of relevemt repair orders i cannot tell what repairs relate to what complaint but IF the related payments records are related to a seat repair, that seat repair is over a year and a half old and from what I see in the picture provided, it looks like normal wear and not a defect and certainly not warrantieable after over a year and a half.  Respectfully, **** *****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10449208

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******** *******

Problem is my seat was not that way when it was fixed. Stiching was not coming undone there and the plate there's 2 holes in my car which when my husband contacted you'll Your worker ** and you **** stated you would fix it. You'll both know that the plate went in middle of car in fact every one of your corvette have no holes punched in them, in fact they all are in the correct place. My guess is that by the time my husband and I could get the car back over there you'll didn't want to fix my car not only that I was left just standing there unable to get service. No business I know leaves customers standing around and if there is something personal they tell the customer I will be right with you. Not Just leave a paying customer standing. I don't want your service because as you can see nothing you have fixed lasted. **** in your last statement you stated that you had not done no other work to my car which now you admitted that you did. It's one story after another with you people and then it's made up stories. The fact that you are unwilling to do the right thing shows what type of business you run. STILL REQUESTING REFUND. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Corvette Specialists
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)