BBB Accredited Business since

Sour Lake Motors

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 287-3536 Fax: (409) 287-3046 View Additional Phone Numbers 170 Highway 105 E, Sour Lake, TX 77659 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sourlakemotors.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sour Lake Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sour Lake Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sour Lake Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1967 Business started locally: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated 08/31/1967 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Roger Herring, General Manager Don Armentrout, IT Manager Barbara Blanchette, Administrative Assistant John Carpenter, Owner Doss Dillard, Sales Manager Steve Gilbert, Manager Jason Horn, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Roger Herring, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Truck Dealers Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Sour Lake Chevrolet Sour Lake Chrysler, Dodge Jeep Sour Lake Ford Sour Lake Mo. Co. "Truckville" Sour Lake Motor Company, Inc.
Products & Services

Sour Lake Motor Company is a dealer for Chevrolet, Chrysler, Dodge and Jeep. They sell new and used cars and trucks and offer a full service department as well as a complete body shop for all automobiles.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 170 Highway 105 E

    Sour Lake, TX 77659 (409) 287-3536

  • PO Box 999

    Sour Lake, TX 77659 (866) 664-7859 (877) 821-1215 (888) 468-0557 (888) 835-3247

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently, May 24, my husband & I purchased a 2014 vehicle from Sour Lake Motors. At the time, we were not aware the finance officer at the dealership had applied for a certain amount of financing that was denied. After some adjustments to the numbers were made, the bank agreed to financing for us. Several days later we received credit denial letters from this same bank. At that time, June 5, I contacted Sour Lake Motors finance, *****, & questioned what the denial pertained to. He stated it had just been a matter of “adjusting figures” and nothing to worry about. Upon further reviewing our contract, I realized the life insurance had not been included in the final contract. After speaking with the financing bank, it appears the “adjustment to figures” was actually removal of the life insurance premium. On June 9, I contacted Sour Lake Motors & was informed I could not purchase the life insurance because our contract had just on that very morning been submitted to the bank, was considered to be final, & could not be amended to include the life insurance. We would never have made a large purchase such as this and not included the life insurance. I feel as though the life insurance was removed from the contract in order to achieve the financing amount goal.

Desired Settlement: Rewrite the contract to include the life insurance.

Business Response: In response to Complaint # 10139308

The initial meeting with the consumers Saturday 8/16 was very positive and we are currently working to resolve this issue.



Response taken via telephone from ***** ******* 8/18.

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A Mr ****** **** used inappropriate language and approached me in a hostile manner. I have tried to contact Sour Lake motor Co. And can not get any one to call me back

Desired Settlement: A simple I'm Sorry !!!!

Business Response: After receiving notice of complaint I spoke with all employees who came into contact with Mr. *******. After talking to Sales Manager, ***** ****, who witnessed the conversation between
Mr. ******* and our Service Manager, ****** ****, I feel assured Mr ****** language was not inappropriate, nor his manner hostile.
Earlier in the business transaction (oil change and other vehicle maintenance) Mr ******* expressed his displeasure with time being taken to complete work. At that time Mr **** assured
him everything possible was being done to expedite job. Mr. ******* continued to express his displeasure with sales staff employees on the showroom floor. Mr. **** not knowing of earlier assurances Mr. **** had given, Mr. ******* then proceeded to tell Mr. **** of potential Service Satisfaction issue. Mr. **** then approached Mr. ******* to reaffirm that every possible measure was being taken to finish work, going as far as to offer Mr. ******* the opportunity to observe technician doing work, and have Mr. ******* be on his way. Eyewitness Mr ****, recalls both men as being frustrated but says neither were hostile, or used inappropriate language.
Our goal is to provide every customer with fast reliable service. Having necessary maintenance performed on our vehicles is never a desirable way to spend the precious minutes of our busy day, but in retrospect there is no way we can perform any faster and still ensure quality.

***** *******
General Manager
Sour Lake Motor Company


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sour Lake Motors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)