BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Philpott Motors, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Philpott Motors, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1985 Business started: 02/01/1950 Business started locally: 02/01/1950
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Business Management
Bob Thewman, General Manager Diana Jenkins, Accounts Payable Thomas Johnson, CRM Deanna Miller, Owner Relations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Deanna Miller, Owner Relations Manager
Principal: Bob Thewman, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Sonic Automotive
Products & Services

This business sells new Ford, Toyota and Hyundai automobiles. They also sell pre-owned automobiles of all makes and models. They offer parts and service, collision repair, auto accessories and auto rental.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 1400 Highway 69 S

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 727-1451

  • PO Box 876

    Port Neches, TX 77651

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 973-5338(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WAS AN EMPLOYEE OF PHILPOTT FOR MANY YEARS. I CHOSE TO USE THEM BECAUSE I WANTED A GOOD JOB ON MY TRUCK. MY TRUCK WAS PURCHASED THERE. THEY FAILED. PHILPOTT BODY SHOP REPAIRED MY 2008 F-150 FROM A COLLISION THE OCCURRED ON 5-25-2013. THE TRUCK WAS HIT FROM THE REAR. THE TRUCK WAS EQUIPPED WITH A REVERSE SENSOR AND A FACTORY CONNECTION FOR TRAILER LIGHTS. AFTER 5 ATTEMPTS TO HAVE THEM REPAIR THESE ITEMS--I AM ASKING YOU FOR HELP. THE REAR BUMPER THAT WAS INSTALLED IS NOT FACTORY--NO PLACE TO BOLT THE TRAILER CONNECTION BRACKET. THE REVERE SENSOR THEY INSTALLED WAS NOT THE ONE THAT WAS ON THE TRUCK. IT NEVER WORKED. ALSO THE STEERING WHEEL OF THE TRUCK WAS DAMAGED FROM SOMETHING ON AN EMPLOYEES HAND. I WAS TOLD THAT IS WAS NATURAL WEAR. IT WAS NOT LIKE THAT WHEN BROUGHT IN. THE BODY SHOP MANAGER VERY RUDE AND SEEMS TO NOT CARE ABOUT MY COMPLAINTS NOR DOES THE UPPER MANAGEMENT THAT WOULD NOT RETURN MY CALLS--*** *******. I WOULD LIKE MY TRUCK PUT BACK LIKE IT WAS BEFORE THE WRECK PLEASE.

Desired Settlement: REPAIR MY TRUCK PROPERLY AND PUT FACTORY PARTS ON IT THAT THE INSURANCE COMPANY PAID FOR. FIX IT RIGHT THE FIRST TIME AND NOT HAVE THE CUSTOMER DRIVE SEVERAL MILES TO ANOTHER LOCATION TO REPAIR THEIR MISCUES. TAKE A LOOK AT THE MANNERS OF THE EMPLOYEES THAT WORK IN THE BODY SHOP--**** ********* ESPECIALLY.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/27) */ In reference to BBB Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX; Customer ****** *******. The work that was performed to Mr. *******'s truck was completed properly with the appropriate parts. In regards to the dispute, the bumper that we installed was a Factory OEM bumper, part # 8L3ZXXXXXDPTM. The trailer connection bracket is located on the bumper; however, the bracket was re-located per the customer's request. The after-market reverse sensor that was on the truck pre-wreck, was originally installed by our accessories department. When the sensor was damaged in the wreck, the same brand was not available, as this was explained to the customer. Our accessories department installed a different brand with functions in the same capacity. There was trouble with the operation of the sensor and that was immediately addressed and Mr. ******* left with the reverse sensor in working order. The condition that the steering wheel was in when the truck arrived, is normal wear. Our body shop uses all water base paint along with water base cleaners. There is not any chemicals used at the facility that would cause damage to our customer's vehicles. In regards to the manners of our employees, Mr. ******* asked them to include prior damage to the estimate which was denied not only by the employees but the insurance adjuster as well. It is unfortunate that he feels they were rude, they were upholding to our ethical standards in the most professional way they could under the circumstance. In conclusion, the desired resolution of repairs being done properly and with factory parts on; this was done at the time of the repair. Thank You, ****** ******, Owner Relations Manager Philpott Motors, Ltd. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/03) */ I AM NOT LOOKING FORWARD TO MY SIXTH ATTEMPT TO GET MY TRUCK FIXED BUT I WILL MAKE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THE REPAIRS TO BE DONE. HOWEVER, IF THEY ARE NOT DONE TO MY SATISFACTION THEN ARBITRATION WILL BE NEEDED. THE REVERSE SENSOR PROBLEM--THE STEERING WHEEL PROBLEM--AND THE REAR BUMPER THAT THE TRAILER LIGHTS MOUNT ON. THE REVERSE SENSOR SHOULD START BEEPING AT LEAST 4 TO 5 FEET OR MORE FROM AN OBJECT TO GIVE YOU TIME TO STOP. THE TRAILER LIGHTS SHOULD BE MOUNTED ON MY REAR BUMPER ON THE DRIVER SIDE. THAT IS WHERE THEY WERE MOUNTED BEFORE. ALSO THEY WILL NEED TO FURNISH ME WITH A TRUCK TO DRIVE WHILE MINE IS BEING REPAIRED. I PRAY THAT SOMEONE WILL TAKE THE TIME TO MAKE SURE THAT THIS TRUCK IS FIXED RIGHT AND TO FACTORY SPECS BEFORE THEY CALL ME TO PICK IT UP. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/10/11) */ Good afternoon Ms. ****, I wanted to give you an update from our end of the ****** ******* case. Mr. ******* attempted to contact Mr. ******* this morning, but was unsuccessful. He asked that he call him but he also left a detailed message for Mr. ******* explaining to him we are ordering a steering wheel for him as a goodwill gesture and that when it arrives next week (would not be any sooner than Tuesday) we will call him to make an appointment at his convenience. At that time we will replace the steering wheel, look at the reverse sensor, relocate the bracket placement on the bumper again per his request and that we will put him in a rental car for the day again as a goodwill gesture. Thank You, ****** ****** Owner Relations Manager Philpott Motors, Ltd. (XXX) XXX-XXXX Ext. 1042

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refused to do specified instructions provided by company that pre-approved me. Refused to give me back my property that I provided to them. I was preapproved to purchase a vehicle through a company known as ********* all I had to do was bring in my documents and copies of my financial information. A day and a half later I contacted my finance company to find out what issue was to learn the Philpott had not contacted them at all. When I confronted the Finance Manager I was told they would not contact them and that they had run my credit threw the companies subistary ********* which was done with out my permission. When I was brought to the Finance managers office all of this was disclosed I requested my property back that I had provided...Loan approval, Bank Statements, Financial information. At that time Finance Manager REFUSED to return my property to me and the conversation became HEATED...and threat of police was made by the finance manager I said Go ahead let them get my property back from you. At that point 3 other sales people came into office as the finance manager proceeded to pick up a chair I assumed he was going to throw at me. He sat it down behind his desk and I told him I would leave once I received the Documents that I provided and I made copies of. After VERY MUCH RELUCTANCE I received my documents and left the establishment. I feel there business practices are very shady and I felt in DANGER considering I am one man and there were a total of 4 surrounding me.

Desired Settlement: I Want a Formal Apology From the Business and I want Formal Charges for refusing to return property without having the situation becoming heated. And Charges/termination against the finance manager for making me feel Threatened.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/24) */ Customer came in with a preapproved loan that he received online from ********** and talked to one of our sales agents in our Pre Owned building. This is a company that works with customers with lower credit scores. In their preapproval they give a dollar amount and other items they require proof of in order for us to collect money. One of these items is proof of all income. When we requested this, customer couldn't prove all of the income that was listed; therefore, we do not have a way to collect money. While we were faxing what he provided to **********, trying to get them to further assist, the customer took it upon himself to confront our F&I manager, who was also trying to help him. Customer was upset and used a lot of profanity and racial slurs towards our F&I manager which resulted in having to contact the police department. He requested his personal information back and the F&I Manager returned everything the customer provided us with. Customer contacted our corporate office after leaving here and the situation was reviewed by the Customer Relations Manager there. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Have not received any call or voice mail. Would be best to correspond through email ... **************@yahoo.com Business' Final Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/07/09) */ Per the customer's request an email was sent to him by the General Manager. Customer states in response that his credit was ran numerous times. On June 4, 2013 the credit was ran one time and submitted to the lender that customer had a pre-approval notice from, in attempt to structure a car deal. On January 23, 2013 the customer came to dealer and did not have a pre-approval; therefore in attempt to seek approval to finance the customer, we submitted to several different lenders. Our goal is for all of our guests to have an exceptional experience here and we apologized to the customer his experience was not to his expectations.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service