BBB Accredited Business since

Philpott Motors, Ltd.

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 727-1451 Fax: (409) 727-1784 1400 Highway 69 S, Nederland, TX 77627 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.philpottmotors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Philpott Motors, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Philpott Motors, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Philpott Motors, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1985 Business started: 02/01/1950 Business started locally: 02/01/1950
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Robert (Bob) Thewman, General Manager Diana Jenkins, Accounts Payable Thomas Johnson, CRM Deanna Miller, Owner Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Robert (Bob) Thewman, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Sonic Automotive
Products & Services

This business sells new Ford, Toyota and Hyundai automobiles. They also sell pre-owned automobiles of all makes and models. They offer parts and service, collision repair, auto accessories and auto rental.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 1400 Highway 69 S

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 727-1451

  • PO Box 876

    Port Neches, TX 77651

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/19/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2010 Ford F-150 Lariat with 54,226 miles that showed to be clean on car fax and also with philpott. I purchased the vehicle for $27,900 drive out Dec 9, 2015. A couple of weeks later my father in law who is a mechanic looked over the truck and immediately asked if they had told me the vehicle had been wrecked. He showed me under the hood where certain bolts had been removed and also the entire front drivers door had been replaced. It was missing the vehicle information sticker that is on all vehicles on e drivers door or b panel. I was sick. I went to the body shop and they confirmed everything he told me. They even showed me the overspray spots. I then called Philpott to ask them what we could do to make this right. The first day I called I talked with the customer relations lady and she directed me to the general sales manager. He never answered so I called again the next day and left messages on both of there machines. No call back. I then drove up to Philpott to pick up my license plates and try to talk to someone who could help me. I asked for both people I had left messages with but neither of them was there. I then drove back again the next day and found the lady who sold me the vehicle. She directed me to the general sales manager and he directed me to the big boss at Philpott Toyota. He was the first and only person to try and look at the vehicle to see if I was telling the truth about it being wrecked. He confirmed and asked what I wanted to do. I said I would rather by a new vehicle than have to deal with this. He said they would take care of it by giving me a truck at "cost" and directed me to another salesman. We could never get it worked out because they wanted me to spend over $10,000 more on a new vehicle with less features. We tried making a deal for half a day and then he directed me back to general sales manager again where he said our only option was giving me a similar truck with 20,000 more miles for about the same price. I was frustrated and told him I wasn't gonna do that. He then offered me what he said was the final option. A 36,000 mile warranty on the truck. I asked if they would just purchase the truck back because I didn't want a wrecked $27,900 vehicle. We have purchased a brand new car from here and also have our vehicles serviced here including buying our tires and batteries. He said they wouldn't buy it back. We have been a great customer and I feel like they may have known something was wrong with the vehicle by avoiding me at first and then not even trying to look at it. Only the big boss checked it out then I was tossed around again to different people where we couldn't do anything but pay a price on a truck that shouldn't have cost that much with it being wrecked.

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: We sold Mr. ****** a truck and at the time of the sale, we pulled a carfax which did not show any reports. Mr. ****** is a previous customer and shared with us his complaint and concerns after the purchase and requested to be traded out of his truck. We offered out of goodwill to trade him out of his vehicle into a new or another previously owned vehicle. The preowned sales manager could not find another truck in his price range; therefore he then offered him a Ford premium care 3 yr / 36k mile vehicle service contract. Mr. ****** was very pleased and accepted the contract at no charge to him. In the BBB complaint that we recieved, Mr. ****** is now requsting a refund; however, that is not an option.

11/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in for a diagnostic service on my Thunderbird. My A/C blew hot air on one side and cold on the other. I paid them to tell me what the problem was. They told me I needed a new compressor and of course it demanded a high price there. I had the compressor replaced and the car still had the same problem. I asked the mechanic that installed the new compressor why I still had the same problem. He said the problem was never in the compressor, if he had known that was the reason I had him put in a new compressor, he would have told me that the problem was not the compressor but he didn't know why I wanted another compressor. He just installed what I requested. I feel that this was a fraudulent diagnosis that was intended to get well paid for something less costly.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the diagnostic charge and the cost of purchasing a compressor and having it installed. Plus I want damages of $300.00 for all the running around I did for nothing pursuing the solution for a fraudulent diagnosis.

Consumer Response: I intend to pursue full relief in this matter, including the possibility of small claims court. Due to the fraudulent nature of this case, there is ample motivation to file for treble damages.

Business Response:

Philpott Service Manager and Customer Relations Manager contacted the customer to further explain what transpired during his service visit. Customer brought vehicle in for a/c concerns with one side blowing cold air and the other side blowing hot air. Customer also had concerns with an engine miss (in other words, the engine was running rough).  We recieved approval from customer to run diagnostic checks on both concerns.  The technician performed a diagnostic check through the vehicle's computer system and identified engine misfires on cylinders #2 and #8.  He diagnosed that the #2 and #8 ignition coils needed to be replaced and suggested the spark plugs be replaced as well.  When doing a visual inspection, the technician discovered that the a/c compressor was visually leaking.  The air conditioning system comes with a green dye inside from factory to aid in locating system leaks.  The technician could see the dye leaking from between the two halves of the main body of the a/c compressor and needed to be replaced.  The customer was given a quote for the igntion coils, spark plugs, a/c compressor, and multiple other concerns identified during the inspection.  The customer declined for any of the work to be done and wanted to pick up the vehicle to have the repairs made at another shop.  When the customer arrived to pay and pick up his vehicle, he was upset about the charges, even after we recieved his approval.  Out of good will, we only charged the customer for the diagnostic fee on the concern of the engine miss.  The cost of the inspection of the air conditioner was waived and not charged to the customer.  The customer paid $109.00 and picked up the vehicle.  We later received word from the customer that after the a/c compressor was replaced, but there had to more parts replaced to fix the problem.  We explained to the customer that the a/c compressor an obvious large leak in the freon related portion of the a/c system to allow the a/c dye to leak out.  That problem needed to be addressed, however we apologized for him having more than only that one problem.  If the customer would have allowed the work to be done at Philpott Ford, after making the repairs that were found visually, if the problem still remained, we would have continued to search for a second issue.  We explained that if we did the repairs, we would have offered to reinstall the original a/c compressor if the customer was not satisfied.  When we questioned the customer, Mr. ****** said that the other repair facility offered to put the original compressor back on and Mr. ****** declined.  We support the original advisement that was made on the vehicle leaking a/c dye/freon and needing the a/c compressor replaced.  Due to Philpott absorbing the cost of the a/c inspection, only charging the customer $109.00 for the engine diagnostic, the repairs being performed outside of our facility, the customer declining the orignal part being put back on by the other shop, and the customer notifying Philpott after the additional repairs were made, we respectfully decline the request for reimbursement of $1,167.00.   

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 10856471

I am rejecting this response because:  too much of it is untrue.  There was never a suggestion of two charges for a diagnosis or I would have only gotten one and it would have been on the a/c only.  Secondly, the mechanic that actually replaced the compressor did so only because I asked him to based on the Philpott diagnosis.  Later he informed me that if I had told him the same problem I requested Philpott to diagnose on the a/c, he would have never suggested a compressor since there was no obvious problem with the compressor according to a 19 year veteran mechanic.  He also informed me that he never saw a leak of any kind and that there was freon in the old compressor when he took it off. .  He said exactly what usually causes problems of that nature and it's hardly ever the compressor.  He noticed that Ford Thunderbirds were notorious for that issue.  He saqid if the vehicle was blowing cold on any side, the compressor is working.  I do not agree with this representative's statement on a number of levels and I reject it.

Sincerely,

******* ******

Business Response: We support the original advisement that was made on the vehicle leaking a/c dye/freon and needing the a/c compressor replaced. Due to Philpott absorbing the cost of the a/c inspection, only charging the customer $109.00 for the engine diagnostic, the repairs being performed outside of our facility, the cusotmer declining the original part being put back on by the other shop and the customer notifying Philpott after the additional repairs were made, we respectfully decline the request for reimbursement of $1,167.00. Out of goodwill, Philpott is willing to reimburse the customer the $109.00 that was paid for the diagnostics for their service visit. As we only identified 1 of the 2 a/c concerns.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 10856471

I am rejecting this response because:  There was no Freon leak according to the mechanic that performed the installation.  I paid Philpott the price that was quoted me at the start of the diagnosis.  There was never a mention of a separate diagnosis charge until I came back to pick up the car after diagnosis.  Why should I have to pay the mechanic to reinstall the old compressor after I paid him to change the first compressor out as supposedly diagnosed?  Philpott never diagnosed the cause of the a/c problem, as they claimed.  That has been fully established to my satisfaction.  I would like to be reimbursed as originally requested.

Sincerely,
******* ******

10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8-27-15 I purchased a 2015 Toyota RAV4 (VIN 2t3wfrev5fw207795) by issuing a personal check (processed by the dealership 9-3-15) and signing over the title to my trade-in for the vehicle, including tax, title, and license. I was issued a temporary license tag expiring 10-26-15. When I had not received my permanent license plates and title by 10-1-15, I began calling the dealership to check on the delay. After talking with several different people by phone on several different days, I was told to wait and the registration was "in process." On 10-8-15, I confirmed by phone with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles and my local tax assessor's office (San Augustine County) that there were no records that any paperwork from Philpott had been submitted for the title or license plates. I subsequently confirmed with an employee with Philpott that, in fact, no paperwork had been submitted as required by law within 30 days of purchase - because I had not signed a non-legally binding, non-governmental internal dealership form that had handwritten information about price negotiations between the salesperson and me. Philpott motors does not have the authority to withhold the submission of my paperwork for this reason, even though its employee stated, "It is our policy." A private business's policy does not supersede state law.

Desired Settlement: I cannot obtain the title to the car or permanent license plates until Philpott Motors meets its legal obligations by submitting the appropriate paperwork to the appropriate agencies. I want my title and plates delivered to me no later than October 26, 2015. I want the owner/general manager to contact me and explain why this situation has been allowed to develop.

Business Response:

Customer Relations Manager spoke with customer today (10-9-15) to update her on the status of her license plates. The update was that the paperwork had been filed and the license plates would be picked up today and overnighted to the customer. The customer expressed her frustations and said that she would be filing complaints with Toyota, DMV, police department and the BBB, then hung up on the Customer Relations Manger. General Manager attempted to contact customer and there was no answer, a message was left. He will continue to try to reach customer.

 

Deanna Miller

Customer Relations Manager

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 10852086

I am rejecting this response because:  As of 4:13 p.m., October 12, 2015, I have not received the license plates or title for my vehicle.  Even if the dealership subsequently provides these items,  the staff should not be exonerated from their initial refusal to process my paperwork in a timely and legally mandated manner.  Although I have received a telephone message to return a call to the general manager, I want a response in writing by him explaining specifically why I was told by his employees the paperwork was being processed when in fact it was not and why there was a delay at all in submitting the documents to the proper authorities.

Sincerely,

******* ******

Business Response: In response to the license plates, as stated Friday (10-9-15) after the paperwork was filed, we sent an employee to the DMV office to pick up the license plates. Upon returning to the dealership, we prepared the FedEx package. Due to the location, overnighting was not an option. As of this morning (10-13-15 at 8:15am) when we pull up the FedEx website to track the package, you can see where we shipped it out on Friday, it is currently in Nacogdoches and estimated to be delivered today by 8:00pm. We continued to attempt to contact Ms. ****** not only to relay this, but for the general manager to speak with her as she requested. A second message was left for her on Friday. In the package that we mailed is the license plates, as mentioned. The dealership will not be whom she recieves the title from. This comes from Austin DMV. It takes approximatlyl 2-4 weeks from the registration date for Beaumont, then Austin to process and send out her title. As requested the general manager will respond to Ms. ****** and mail that response today.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 10852086

I am rejecting this response because:  Regardless of the receipt of the license plates and the future receipt of the title, the fact remains that the dealership violated its own policy (as admitted to by the general manager) and state law (as indicated by a representative of the Texas Motor Vehicle Division).  These acts were not an oversight but were deliberate and intentional.  The BBB should hold the company accountable.  Please keep me advised of your final disposition.  Thank you for your assistance. 

Sincerely,

******* ******

6/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2003 camry as I was driving off I notice a problem with the brakes the sales man said the brakes were checked and they were fine. Two days later I had to replace the front brakes due to cracked disk brakes.The rear they just put new bake shoe on a worn drum that needed turning.I have a paper saying they check the brakes which they did not I paid $241 dollars for repairs I turn the bill in to the salesman and heard nothing I want a refund for $241.00 for the work on brakes which they did not due and said they did.

Desired Settlement: A check for $241.00 Mailed to my Home

Consumer Response:

Additional Information to be added: 

I want a refund for 149.00 which I was manipulated to pay for some alarm system which they put as a extra on the 2003 Camry he said it was nessary it had to be put in the contact which is completely false.

I want Philpott to refund my 149.00

Business Response:

 Businesses response to the consumer:

 On 5-20-15 we sent a check for $241.92 to the customer along with a check of $ 149.00 to his lean holder to apply  to his principle. On this date I also spoke to Mr. ******** explaining what we were doing and apologizing.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10627409, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ********

4/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was offered up to 120% of Black Book Value for my 2012 Genesis Sedan. No purchase required since they were searching for 7 2012 Genesis's. The offer said it was tailored for me and my vehicle which I purchased new from Philpott. I called and made an appointment to discuss my offer since it was a 75 minute drive away. No one told me I was wasting my time. After arriving, the manager that was promised to be there was not available, and after salesman contacted him by phone, he would not even offer me 100% of Black Book value. No reason nor explanation was offered. The salesman said my car was in Very Good Condition with no repairs required. I have written Philpott Motors and Philpott Hyundai managers and no one has responded.

Desired Settlement: Apology and Explanation of why my offer was not honored..

Business Response:

We catagorically deny Mr. ************* assumptions. When Mr. *********** was at our dealership, we had his vehicle appraised and never was able to get him to make us an offer on the vehicle he was interested in. The flyer Mr. *********** is reffering to states "we will pay up to 120% of blackbook"; however, according to the sales associate he was working with, we did not get that far into negotiations. We would be happy to work with Mr. *********** to discuss a transaction that is ameanable to both parties. If Mr. *********** is interested in scheduling an appointment he may contact Owner Relations Manager, ****** ******, at (**** ******** ext. 1042.  or ******.******@philpottmotors.com. We apologize for any misunderstandings and look forward to working with Mr. *********** if he desires.

 

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10551385, and find that this resolution and apology on the misunderstanding is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ***********

9/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 02/13/2013, I purchase a 2013 Toyota Prius, before leaving the dealership an employee came to the car to program the GPS unit. I asked him to put in my home address as he was showing me how to program it. The GPS would not take the address. He told me we had to wait for an update for the unit. It would be coming from Toyota. About three weeks later, I was called to bring the car in to install the update on the GPS unit. An hour later they came and told me it still was not working and they would be getting another update for the GPS. Three months later I was called again to bring the car in for update on the GPS, still didn't work. Mrs. ******* *******, Toyota service manager told me she would be calling a Toyota engineer about the problem with the GPS unit. She said she would do a map discrepancy and mail it to the engineer, it would have my address on it.I told Mrs. ******* there was one other address I was unable to program into the GPS. I also was going to Houston on Hwy 10, about half way there the unit audio came on recalculating to turn around. I had to reprogram the GPS unit to continue on. ****** ****** District service and parts manager from Houston, TX came to see if he could help with the matter. After checking three Prius' on the lot, we found a 2014 Prius that could program my address. The only thing he said was to wait for another update. My Prius has only 9,708 miles and is still under warranty. The 2014 Prius had a Denso GPS unit in it, where as my car has a ****** GPS. I checked with parts service at Philpott on the price of the GPS unit for my car he said that my car had a Panasonic GPS unit, Valued at $2,828.67.

Desired Settlement: I request that the GPS unit be replaced.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** has accurately listed the updates performed to his GPS in attempt to correct his home address not being found; however, his request that the GPS unit be replaced has been denied by Toyota Motor Sales. The navigation systems are not interchangeable from different models or different year models, due to incompatiblility. As with any navigation system there are possible errors and omissions, as stated in his owner’s manual, due to the informational sources used for his particular navigation systems database. As suggested by the technical field specialist at Gulf States Toyota, we contacted ****** ****** (the supplier of database for his GPS system), on his behalf, to submit a map discrepancy and requested an addition to be made for his home address. ****** ****** did not give an ETA on when this change would be made. When relaying his other concern of his GPS recalculating while driving on Hwy 10 in Houston, we were informed by Gulf States Toyota that there is possibly a map discrepancy with the current construction on I-10 depending on when the map was made. Mr. *****' navigation system is operating as designed.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10195618

I am rejecting this response because:  I agree that the GPS may not have had all the information (per the navigation manual),   but the three updates from  ****** ****** should have made the corrections to the GPS unit. Since I bought the Prius in 2013 it was not my first trip to Houston, Texas that the audio came on recalculating to turn  around. There was no construction on I-10 at the time. The last time the car was taken in they was attempting to update the GPS unit and I went to the parts service at Philpott inquiring about the price of my GPS unit. I was told my Prius didn't have a  ****** unit, it has a Panasonic (57032) unit. Could this be the problem with trying to update it?   I was told the price of the unit is $2,828.67. How can the unit be operating as designed when it wont take some addresses and recalculates in the middle of a trip to turn around, after two updates? 

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response:

Mr. *****’s concerns with his GPS is a product issue, having nothing to do with Philpott Motors. We have gone above and beyond to try to assist Mr. ***** by working with Toyota as well as ****** ****** (who is the supplier of database for his Panasonic GPS unit), we would like nothing more than to be able to fix Mr. *****’ concerns; however, since this is a product issue, it is out of our hands.

 

  

Thank You,

 

****** ******

Owner Relations Manager

Philpott Motors, Ltd.

(409) 727-**** Ext. ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Philpott Motors, Ltd.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)