BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

Mike Smith Auto Group

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 833-7100 Fax: (409) 212-1461 View Additional Phone Numbers 1515 Ih 10 S, Beaumont, TX 77701 http://www.mikesmithdirect.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mike Smith Auto Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mike Smith Auto Group include:

  • 35 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Mike Smith Auto Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 35 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 24
Total Closed Complaints 35

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1983 Business started: 06/01/1982 Business started locally: 06/01/1982 Business incorporated: 01/01/1986 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Keith Leger, GM - BMW, Mercedes, Dodge Chuck Dilts, Sales Director Chris Jenkins, Honda - GM Brian Kahla Connie Lamkin, Administrative Assistant Sean Manuel, Service Director Matt Reck, Service Manager Chuck Sheppard, Finance Manager Derek Theeck, GM - Volkswagon, Honda, Nissan and Used Cars
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Connie Lamkin, Administrative Assistant
Principal: Keith Leger, GM - BMW, Mercedes, Dodge
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Truck Dealers New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
BMW of Beaumont Mike Smith Auto Plaza Mike Smith Autoplex Mike Smith Autoplex-German Imports, Inc. Mike Smith Honda

Additional Locations

  • 1515 Ih 10 S

    Beaumont, TX 77701 (409) 833-7100

  • 1855 Ih 10 S

    Beaumont, TX 77701

  • 1865 IH 10 S

    Beaumont, TX 77701 (409) 840-2000 (409) 840-2665

  • 1945 IH 10 S

    Beaumont, TX 77701

  • 3760 Corley St

    Beaumont, TX 77701

  • PO Box 3564

    Beaumont, TX 77704

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 212-2006(Phone)
  • (409) 833-5580 (Fax)
  • (409) 840-2010 (Fax)
  • (409) 840-5260 (Fax)
  • (409) 842-4258 (Fax)
  • (409) 842-6180 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The 2006 Titan was worked on at the service center many times since it was bought there. The lug bolts were replaced twice due to cross-threaded (their record only showed once for some reason). The driver side front caliper slipped and rubbed against the inside of the aluminum wheel. The service manager, ****, dismissed that as it was not resulting from their repairs. I pointed out that both caliper bracket bolts were missing, NOT broken off, but missing. **** still insisted that it was not a result of their works, and the caliper would have fallen off long time ago.( Like this situation has happened before and he had experiences with it). The results were damaged brake pads, caliper, and aluminum wheel. The flippant, dismissive tone of voice and action indicated the lack of safety concern as the caliper could have fallen off resulting in loss of brake fluid, and total brake failure.

Desired Settlement: 1-the caliper has to be replaced (free parts and labor) 2-the aluminum wheels replacement as it is devalue the vehicle 3-refund the cost of parts and labor I put in to make the vehicle serviceable

Business Response:

Mr. ****** I would first like to apologize to you if I came across to you as uncaring and dismissive this morning as that was and is not my intention.  All of us at Mike Smith Nissan including myself take safety issues or any issues that come up with our customers vehicles as a very serious concern and want nothing more than to correct the issue and get our customers back to regular life.  I have reviewed your service history again and did find 1 time where we replaced a wheel stud on the left rear wheel, not the effected wheel in question.  We first informed you of the wheel stud being damaged on your second visit with us on October 5, 2010 with 46141 miles on your truck at which time you did not perform the repair.  You did return on May 20, 2011 with 49449 miles and paid us to replace the left rear wheel stud with a few other items.  You then had 4 other visits with us where we performed oil and filter changes with a recall and multi-point inspection at those visits.  Then on October 12, 2012 with 61515 miles on your truck you paid for and we replaced the brake pads on your truck, both front and rear.  Then you came back in 5 additional times since then and before today for oil changes, and tire rotations, with multi-point inspections being performed at each visit as well.  It has been 6 months since we have last seen your vehicle before today when we meet this morning.  At all the visits after the brake replacement on the vehicle there were no visible signs of missing and or damaged bolts to the left front caliper of the truck from when we performed the multi-points and inspected the vehicle.  It has been 22 months and approximately 17,000 miles since the brake repair was performed on your vehicle.  I am not sure on the miles since I do not know your current miles.  If by chance the technician  that replaced your brake pads almost 2 years ago had left the bolts out of the caliper on the left front wheel we would have had a failure at a much shorter time and mile range.  I have seen this happen before in different shops and when these bolts are left out or lose the vehicle will exhibit problems within a very short time frame, usually within the 1st month or less after the repair was made.  My offer that I made to you this morning still stands as I want to help you out of this failure on your vehicle.  I will sell the caliper to you at my cost and perform the installation at a reduced rate to you as well.  Please let me know if we can proceed with these terms and get your vehicle back in order, thank you.

******* ****

Mike Smith Nissan Service Manager

(409)212-2046 office

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10167614

I am rejecting this response because:
Mr. ****, 

With all due respects to your experiences, I have to ask:
1. What is the chance for one of the bracket bolt to come loose, how about two bolts to come loose if they had been installed properly?
2. What is the chance for me to go under the vehicle to remove the bolts, then drive around so I can blame you guys?
3. What is the chance that the technician forgot the two bolts?
On the part about inspection, I watched more than once, that the techs did not inspect everything he marked, just to let you know.
 
This is a ****er of principal, doing thing right, and you and MS had failed on both.
I have decided that I will not spend any more money at MS in the future.
Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

            To answer your questions in order and referring to previous answer please see the following:

1.       If the bolts had been installed improperly or left loose the vehicle would have exhibited a failure with in the first week to first month after the brake pad replacement on October 12, 2012.  There is a lot of pressure on these items and the brakes are under constant use and pressure.  Unfortunately I and the technicians have seen items of this nature left loose over the years.  When these items are left loose they do not wait almost 2 years to fail and cause issues.  The issues as I noted will arise within a month or shorter time frame.

2.       I would agree with you that you would not go underneath your vehicle to tamper and or  remove parts from your vehicle intentionally to cause issues.

3.       As I have stated before if the technician had forgotten the 2 bolts 22 months ago and approximately 17,000 miles past you would have exhibited the stated concerns you are having much sooner within the first month or sooner.  The caliper would have started to back off the mounting bracket with rotational force instantly if the bolts were left out.  To give you an example of this in real life I use the following with my sister in laws truck.  She had here brake pads replaced at an independent shop in Silsbee.  After paying for the service and leaving she made approximately 5 miles down the road and the caliper separated from the rotor, the same as in your case.  The company had left 1 bolt out and the other loose.  The loose one sheered letting the caliper move.  In all it took 5 miles to happen.  This is why we say that it is not possible for you to have traveled 17,000 plus miles in 22 plus months with no issues arising from the brake job.

I do understand the seriousness of a brake system failure and we do stand behind our work.  However this is not a failure of workmanship and or quality of a repair.  As a matter of principle I restate; you would have had these issues arise much sooner than  22 months and 17,000 miles past the repair date had the technician left the bolts out when performing the brake job.  The offer I made to you the morning you came in and also in the previous email about selling the caliper to at cost and installing at a reduced rate still stands.  As we do wish to resolve your issue and keep your business.  I cannot justify with the facts presented that we are at fault of performing a faulty repair.  Especially with the time and miles that have passed.  The number of times your vehicle was looked at after the brake pad replacement.  And the fact you had no noise and or indication of braking issues in this long amount of time since the repair.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10167614

I am rejecting this response because:

1. Both bolts had to be backed out evenly, to prevent one of them from being sheared off, well, there is no evidence of any bolts inside the caliper.  I would have to drill out the bolt, or replacing the caliper if the bolt was sheared and I did not do that.  In just bought the bolts and tighten them.
2. Every driving habit, make and model are different, so the failing within a short time may or may not be right all the time. 
3. The caliper may have been backed out and no one notice until it scraped the rim.  The rim is the only thing that prevent the caliper from falling off completely.

I will have to inspect all the works from your shop in the future, why would I want to do that since I spend time and money on it.  I've lost all confidence in your shop.

Sincerely,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into Mike Smith Dodge to cancel an extended warranty I had purchased on a vehicle. After trading in the vehicle at another dealership I went to have it canceled at then end of May. It has been six weeks so I called the warranty company to see where the refund was. Well here is July 9th and they still haven't the warranty. My repeated phone calls go unanswered and my repeated messages asking for a phone call are never returned by their business office. According to the warranty company I am owed a refund of just over $1900 yet I can't get it because these people refuse to do their part on their end.

Desired Settlement: I just want the refund I'm owed for canceling the warranty but they won't file the paperwork.

Business Response: We were needing some additional information from the customer. We have since recieved and are in the process of taking care of this. Thanks.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased vehicle 12/12/2013. Salesperson wrote wrong address, never recieved title or promised manual to vehicle. called several times to no avail. when I purchased the vehicle, it is written on my contract to receive a manual to car I paid $18,123 for. Did not know wrong address was used for me so therefore I called to see what my title was taking so long for me to get. Was told they had my correct street and number, but listed Beaumont instead of my city Vidor. They promised it was changed and I would receive both. Waited more , called my salesperson, she said she called austin and they had my correct address, I called austin, they also had my wrong address and told me I would have to buy a copy. My salesperson is ********* and the manager I spoke to the first time I called changed my address he said and I would receive my care manual, and also told me , darn I paid $70 for that manual and its lost, but assured me he would send another one, that was a month ago. He was a manager from Houston Helping out the Beaumont office, I believe his name is *******. I need a manual as was in my contract, and I will not pay for a new title, they are at fault. thank you I will be waiting for your response

Desired Settlement: I have gone through so much trouble and stress I would at least request a free oil change. thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Sales Directo Contact Phone: XX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@mikesmithdirect.com I have placed a call to ***** ******** and got sent directly to voice mail. I will order a manual and set up a oil change for her. The sales manager she dealt with previously is no longer employed with Mike Smith. I gave her my direct line for contact purposes.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2013 Nissan Rogue at the beginning of September 2013. After a price was agreed upon with the salesman I was turned over to a sales manager. Who then proceeded to try and upsale me additional products that I declined. One product called "Dent Guard" was under a "special" promotional offer and the sales manager pushed this aggressively. I said no repeatedly to this and the other offers. I declined the Dent Guard at least three times and still he persisted. He explained that the dealership that signed up the most people got some sort of bonus for this promotion. I declined again. The sales manager thin finished filling out the forms and when handing them to me stated " I have gone ahead and signed you up for the Dent Guard but I have also filled out a cancellation form that all you need to do is return to me Oct. 1 and we will refund the amount to your account. I informed him that I was not happy with this but finally gave up arguing with him. I did tell him that I would be paying the car off at the first payment and asked how this would affect the refund. He stated " no problems they will process this right away and even if it is not reflected on the bill a refund will be issued to you within a month to 6 weeks. I returned the cancellation form on Oct 1 2013 as directed and when turning it in to the current sales manager found out the one we had dealt with had been fired. I was assured by this new sales manager that the refund would be processed "No Problem". By March of 2014 I still had received no refund after having paid the Whole amount to Nisson Corp. I called Nisson Corp and was told that the dealer has to send the cancellation and an refund is then issued. They told me no cancellation was ever sent. I contacted the dealer and spoke to a ********* ******* XXX) XXX-XXXX. She had me fill out another cancellation form and resend it and confirmed receiving it and assured me I would receive my refund. I emailed her two weeks ago still no refund or response. Product_Or_Service: Dent Guard Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to receive my refund immediately the amount is 335.00 plus interest.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/07) */ Hi there! I have emailed ****** **** myself b/c he has not answered his phone. im not sure if we have a good number on file. My name is ****** and i have reveiwed his filed trying to find out why this hasnt been done. the first check was voided to get the new amount done but was never made. ********* was told this was done and didnt know other wide. i went to corporate with this and gave them all the backup ********* had and they got this check cut for Mr. **** for the full amount $334.89. We have new management at this dealership and we are doing our best to get everything in order so my apologises for the delay in this being done! feel free to call me for any other concerns. XXX-XXX-XXXX i sent an email asking Mr. **** to confirm the address so i can mail the check to him or he can call and pick it up from me. thanks for understanding! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This has been going on for over 7 months and I have heard many different "stories" from various employees of Mike Smith. I will accept nothing they say until I have the correct check in hand to cash immediately. Once that is the case I will drop the complaint. If I do not receive the check by Monday May 12th I would be agreeable with arbitration if this latest "story" turns out to be false like the previous. I still am wondering what they would like me to do with the ******* 800.00 check they sent me incorrectly. Also I have never received a check for any amount made out to me. ********* doesn't seem to ever follow up on anything despite being sent a dozen or more emails( I have a whole file of all the correspondence I sent and the haphazard responses) requesting information and etas. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/12) */ The check was mailed out last week and i personally emailed Mr. **** to let him know it would be mailed then! it should have been received in the mail before today the 12th please let me know if this hasnt been received!! Also we are unaware of the wallace check that was sent to Mr. **** if you could return to sender that would be appriecated so that we can handle that as well! Mrs. ********* was simply going off of what she was told and was never informed that the check was not mailed even the wrong amount ones. she had the check numbers that she was given but again nothing else. everything does come out of our houston offices Corporate seemed to have made the check out twice but voided them b/c of the wrong amounts. they were needing more back up to show why he was being paid wrong. there seemed to be alot of people involved that couldnt get this done on a timely manner and for that im truly sorry!! we are working very hard to make sure these mistakes never happen again!! thank you again for your patience. BBB Update: Received from consumer 5/12/2014 Please close this complaint. I have finally received my refund check.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: unauthorized and unwarranted access to my credit report January 16, 2014 ****** ****** Finance Manager Mike Smith Nissan RE: Credit denial letter (?????) Please provide a reason for this credit denial letter: 1) No credit applied for 2) Paid cash for my transaction 3) Adversely affects my credit report I am deeply concerned because your company involved my credit report and rating without need, consent or authorization from me.

Desired Settlement: This company does not respond to repeated phone, fax and email requests regarding their highly questionable and pobably illegal credit report misuse.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@mikesmithdirect.com We do have a signed credit application from Mr. ******** in the deal file, which gives us permission to pull his credit. It also gives us permission to submit his credit to obtain a loan for the vehicle that is in question. I have recently taken over the Nissan store so I don't personally know the deal, but I can tell you from experience that sometimes finance departments try to save the customer money and talk to the customer about keeping the customers money working for them in thier financial institutions. Now days you can make more money off your investments because the interest rates are so low now. Please let me know if there is anything I can do for you. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2014/01/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Again, no credit applied for. Paid cash. Why would this company even attempt to access my credit report when they had my check in hand? It also begs the question of why they sent me a credit denial letter? Their actions and response are entirely misleading and unsubstantiated. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/01/31) */ Again, I have a SIGNED CREDIT APPLICATION IN THE CUSTOMERS FILE! if the customer would like to come up to the dealership and take a look at it himself he is welcome to come and take a look. thanks

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint on Mike Smith Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep. ****, the Service Manager (409-840-2000. I received a recall on my Dodge truck in the mail and call Mike Smith on Thursday, Jan. 2 to schedule an appointment as directed in the letter stated the appointment could start as of January 6. I made the appointment for January 7 at 8:00 am. When we went in that morning to drop off the truck to be looked at, the Service Manager, **** instructed me that they had no parts for recall and had no idea about the recall, we would need to leave truck there or wait until Mike Smith service department called when parts are in. I asked **** why wasn't this told to me Thursday when I called and made the appointment. I had to take off work and my wife and I had to lose time and money on a wasted trip when nothing can be done. I am upset that I missed work. Both my wife and I think they could've handled the situation better by instructing me in the very beginning that there were not any parts ready and to wait and take my information down and call when they can take care of the recall.

Desired Settlement: The Service Manager needs to be instructed on proper education on how to handle a situation like this with a recall. If the parts are not in to not make appointments to get it fixed. He and his staff need to have a class on the education on service procedures and I want to get all my tire rods fixed so I won't have this problem again. It's not just the tire rods, I want all tire rods on all four tires fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/10) */ Thank you for touching base with me on this situation. After I spoke with Mr. ******* I made contact with our call center director. He has implemented the training needed to ensure this doesn't happen again. The parts have been ordered for this vehicle and are still currently on back order. We will contact him when they arrive. As you know we are all human and sometime mistakes are made. We will do our best to make sure this one doesn't happen again. The issue with making appointments for this recall has been resolved as parts are not available from Chrysler. I apologize for this mistake. Mr. ******* is correct; we should have not made an appointment without parts available. The parts for Mr. ********* vehicle have been ordered and he will be notified when they are received.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Will not issue refund for canceled warranties. I bought a car from Mike Smith Nissan in January 2013. 3 months later I found out they had not paid off my trade in and had sold it without out the title. Someone else had this car for 3 months while it was still registered in my name. In September 2013, I trade in the vehicle I bought from them and I've been in their office 3 times to cancel the extended warranty and gap insurance and I still have not received my refund. Nor will anyone from there return my phone calls. I was promised on Friday 12/13/13 by ********* ******* that a refund check would be overnighted to me and I still haven't received anything. I've called numerous times and left numerous messages for her as well as the general manager and the vice president at the corperate office. Still no one has returned my call!!!!

Desired Settlement: The refund for my canceled gap insurance and extended warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/18) */ Mrs. ****** traded in her vehicle that she purchased here at a different dealership (Gap & warranty). As a procedure with ancillary companies the customer is required to show proof that the vehicle has been traded, sold or is a total loss. Mrs ****** came into the dealership to request that these items be cancelled and she was directed to fill out the appropriate forms in order to receive the refund. Mrs ****** inquired several times regarding the refund. We informed her each time she would need the documentation. On Friday, December, 13th, 2013, Mrs ****** contacted the dealership about the refund, angry and frustrated, she again was advised that we needed the appropriate documentation and we could expedite the refund within one or two business days. She has now supplied the documents needed and a check has been cut and overnighted to her. She has been emailed the tracking # from Fed Ex, so she should receive her refund check on Dec. 19th.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have several concerns with the customer service that I have received on several different occasions with mike smith Chrysler Dodge. Today 10/29/13 I brought my car in for a service appointment that was made on 10/24/13, once I arrived to Dodge I was told that my appointment was only to drop off my vehicle and consult but they could not tell me when my vehicle would be ready, they said it could be Wednesday or Friday and today was Tuesday. So I said let me get this clear I call and schedule an appointment and you tell me the appointment is to just drop my vehicle off and that they already had 9 vehicles and were backed up for two days. When I asked why wasn't that explained to me when the appointment was made the girl ******** and ****** was very sharp and said they did not know and went on to take care of other customers. I went and spoke to the manager **** and explained the situation and how dissatisfied I was with their customer service and he just said he was sorry he was not sympathetic he did not care to try and help me he was very nonchalant. This is not the first time I was treated horribly at the dodge service department. On one occasion I was told well you don't have to bring your car here to be service there are other dodge services places, I told them I was aware of that but when I purchased the vehicle it's funny they didn't tell me I could purchase my vehicle at a different location they did everything to get me to purchase my vehicle there. On another occasion one of the representives name ****** hung up on several times when I called to check on my vehicle, because my vehicle was dropped off at 8 and wasn't ready at 4 when I got off and that has happened more than once. I have brought my car in several times nod it could not be diagnosed I was told nothing was wrong with it. Overall I never have received such horrible customer service from anyone. I'm disgusted with the fact doge does absolutely nothing to keep their customers satisfied. I truly feel they are prejudice.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Not applicable Something for inconvience. Free diagnosis . Free rental while vehicle is being repaired if more than one day . And better customer service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/12) */ Case#XXXXXXXX We do schedule appointments in order for the customer to come in and consult with the service advisor in order to find out the issue. Our service call center is trained to inform the customer during the initial phone call of this process. We then work the vehicle into the shop in order to do the diagnosis and get an idea of how long the repair will take. This diagnosis is free in most cases. I certainly apologize to ****** if that was not the case and do want to emphasize that we do value her business. We offer a shuttle service and have a working relationship with a rental company when a customer's extended warranty approves a rental car. We will continue to train our people up in order to provide exceptional service. ***** ***** General Manager Mike Smith AutoGroup XXX-XXX-XXXX direct

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since the time of purchase I have had numerous problems occur and I have paid out a lot of money for these repairs. I had purchased a 2yr warranty when I purchased the vehicle and Mike Smith said these repairs were not covered but I found out to late that the warranty I had (Fidelity) said they should have been covered. Please see enclosed 4 page hand written complaint for details.

Desired Settlement: Anything I can receive from their wrong policy, as money wise will help me very much.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/10/28) */ In the case of #90071505 ******* ***********, the vehicle she purchased had 116,000 miles on it. Mike Smith Nissan completes a safety inspection and mechanical inspection on every vehicle prior to it being put up for sale on our lot. The customer is also advised of this when purchasing the vehicle with this type of mileage that the buyer should be aware that the vehicle may or may not be sold with a limited manufacturer's warranty and is explicit regarding the Dealer responsibilities regarding the warranty. On any High mileage vehicle the customer is also advised to purchase a warranty to cover the possibilities of any out of pocket expenses regarding mechanical, electrical, or covered component malfunctions. Normally the customer is limited to a power train warranty with the amount of miles that ******* Adascalitel purchased. However she was able to obtain the Silver Coverage thru Fidelity that includes the power train as well. She would have been given a breakdown of the coverage prior to purchasing, in order to better inform her what would be covered and what may not be covered. Mike Smith Chrysler , Jeep ,Dodge has a professional Service Department that would have been able to negotiate the possibility of covering some of the parts on the vehicle as they do on every customer that has warranty work done. We are positive that ******** Adascalitel received the same professionalism that all customers receive and if the part would have been covered, she would not have been Charged. It is un fortunate that she is having issues with the vehicle, however she is not the only customer that purchases a high mileage vehicle and has expenses that occur to mechanical failure. There is an inherent awareness that the customer should consider when purchasing a vehicle with high miles. Mike Smith Nissan offers all customers the option to pick and choose the car of their choice. Every customer is important and we appreciate any business from anyone and try to serve them during their ownership. JAMES S. ******* GENERAL MANAGER MIKE SMITH NISSAN VW OF BEAUMONT OFFICE XXX-XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/11/01) */ I want Mike Smith to repair my oil leak and power steering leak. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/11/01) */ In the matter of ******* *********** , after investigation she has received $750 from Fidelity Warranty co. (XX-XX-XX). The last time this vehicle was in our shop was 04/12/2011. She has owned the vehicle for over two years and all she has had to replace was a battery at her expense. We owe this customer nothing and have gone over and beyond to help her. We will not give any more parts or labor on this vehicle. JAMES S. ******* GENERAL MANAGER MIKE SMITH NISSAN VW OF BEAUMONT OFFICE XXX-XXX-XXXX

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: FAILURE TO ADVICE US THAT THEY DID NOT TAKE BACK ELECTRIC PARTS OR HAVE SIGNS UP POSTING THAT FACT. WAS HANDED RECEIPT FOLDED SO I DID NOT SEE AT ALL. MY HUSBAND CALLED THE PARTS DEPARTMENT FOR A CONTROLLER FOR THE WINDOWS TO MIKE SMITH PARTS HE WAS NOT TOLD AT ANY TIME THEY DID NOT TAKE IT BACK IF IT DID NOT WORK. WE PAID $147.22 AFTER TAXES WHEN CAME TO PICK UP THE PART THE MAN AT THE COUNTER NEVER TOLD ME THEY DID NOT TAKE BACK ELECTRONIC PARTS I PAID FOR IT WITH MY CREDIT CARD. HE STAPLED THE TICKET TO THE RECEIPT FOLDED IT IN HALF AND HANDED IT TO ME. NEVER ONCE TELLING ME THEY DID NOT TAKE BACK ELECTRONIC PARTS. THERE WAS NOT ANY POSTED SIGNS TO THAT EFFECT EITHER. I TOOK IT OUTSIDE PLUGED IT INTO THE DRIVERS DOOR IT DID NOT WORK SO I TOOK IT BACK INSIDE THAT WAS SO RUDLY INFORMED THAT THEY DID NOT TAKE THEM BACK. AT THAT TIME I WAS SHOWN WHERE IT WAS ON THE RECEIPT. I ALSO SPOKE WITH THE PARTS MANAGER HE WAS JUST AS RUDE. I THINK THEY NEED TO HAVE SIGNS MADE AND ALSO MAKE IT COMPANY POLICY TO TELL THOSE THAT CALL ABOUT ELETRONIC PARTS YOU CAN NOT RETURN THEM. ALTHOUGH I WILL NEVER DO BUSINESS AGAIN WITH ANY MIKE SMITH WE WERE IN THE MARKET FOR A HONDA PILOT.

Desired Settlement: IF YOU REFUSE A REFUND, THE SIGNS UP AND PHONE PARODICAL CHANGED.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/14) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Parts Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@mikesmithdirect.com Im sorry that Ms. ****** had a bad experience here, and that i came across rude. In response to her issue, there is a sign that says no returns on electrical items on our parts counter, and its on her invoice. I also explained why we have that policy. She was upset when i spoke with her and my staff and i were never rude to her in any way. The reason for the policy is because we cant re-sell opened, and used electrical parts to our customers.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I required Mike Smith Collision Center to repair my Volkswagen TDI Golf after an accident in May 13th. I had to be checking every week and I would always get a different excuse: Waiting for the insurance to approve, on me to authorize repairs and I didn't even knew, additional damage found and everything started again: insurance to approve waiting on parts. Long story short I got my car back after 80 days, and as soon as I saw the car I saw the hood had not been properly installed there was a clip missing on the hood inner cover and a scratch on the back door. They told me to keep the car and bring it back next week, on the weekend I realize a button on the steering wheel was broken. The following week when I turned the car in to get the hood and the scratch repaired I told them about the button and their immediate response was "We could not have done that" I am no expert; but I believe the button broke when the air bag deployed so I told the Manager what I thought to a guy named *** and he said he needed to submit additional damage to the insurance company. So they kept my car. When I went to pick up the car the manager this guy *** hand me my key and I asked him how could it be that such a hood misalignment could have gone unnoticed? to which he responded, very relaxed and not giving it much importance: "A lack of attention to details" I was shocked! I inspected the car and found another scratch I pointed at it and look at ***, he just pretended not to see it. I left and had to bring the car back for the insurance company to see the broken button and I told *** about the new scratch: he said they couldn't have possibly done the scratch and that he was not going to properly fix it but he was going to have it touched up. After a month I had to call to ask if the part was there I reminded the scratch to *** and he said he was not going to fix it. I don't remember the exact words but he made me feel like a thief and a liar. I feel so aggravated there is no way I can be compensated. Worst service.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I can not be compensated but I have to report this type of abuse. I know other people will get the same or similar treat from this person and the only thing I can do to try to prevent it is file this complaint. Note from BBB: Please provide a business reply addressing the complaint issues. Clarification regarding when the vehicle was received and when it was released back to the consumer would be beneficial.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/28) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@mikesmithdirect.com Mr ***** VW Golf did take longer to repair than exspected. There were parts and insurance delays. At completion Mr ***** was not happy about the time it took for the repair and asked if I would help with his deductible. We gave him a 300.00 dollar credit to help. When he picked it up he wanted us to make the hood gaps better. Then he said we dented the fender, scrated the rear gate. I did not belive we did the damage. No problem we will fix. After putting him in a rent car and fixing the problem he came to pick up his car. He then finds a small crack in his radio button and said we did that and scrated the rear bumper. I can't keep repairing new problems each time he looks at he car. I agreed to help with the insurance to see if they will help with the radio ****. They did. I made four trys to contact Mr *****. I got his work # and was told he was working in Houston. I did get a call from Mr ***** after about 4 weeks. We did install. I belive we went above and beond to try to make a customer happy. At some point you can not keep spending money on a person that will never be happy. We spent over a 1000.00 dollars trying. Thanks *** ****** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am not an irrational person. After a wait of almost three months the car should have been completely ready for me not to have anything to complaint about, I am not an expert on auto repair but I can see when something has not been done right, I felt really aggravated when I found that after the long wait there was a clip missing in the hood the hood was misaligned and now I had to waste time bringing the car back for adjustment. Then to make me feel even worst when I asked how something like this could happen The Manager Mr. ****** just responds because of a lack of attention to details. What this means is that either the people doing the repairs is not qualified or they have no supervision. What was done to my car was a lot of work so me finding these means there are more details that were not done right and I could not find I don't know how else or what words to use to make Mr. ****** understand that they have a problem in their shop. Last Monday 23th I found the fog lamps are not hooked right only one is turning on and I did not do anything to them nor I would ever let Mr. ****** lay a hand on my car again. What I want is Mr. ****** to recognize they have a problem and stop treating customers like thieves and liars. I would hate myself if someone else goes thru the same I went thru and I did nothing to prevent that. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/04) */ In response to Mr ***** problem we at Mike Smith are willing to repair the scratch in his rear bumper. Please call if this will help.409-212-2024 *** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am unsatisfied with the purchase of the use car. I was originally told the car he was running was to see how much I would get approved for. After ***** ****** ran the car he said I was approved. I told him I had to go to work and would return the next day. He insisted along with the finance lady that I take the car with me, I really didn't want too but I thought ok The next day they had all the papers ready I told her I wanted another car she said I was approved for that one. I was really pressed for time and said okay. The very next day I brought the car back and the sales manager was very rude and told me he had already been funded for the car. I then called the finance company and they said they were not showing me with an account. The finance manager said yes you have an account, they just don't know it yet. He was very rude. I then talked to the supervisor over him and he wanted to help but once he talked to the other guy he came out and said I was stuck and offered window tint and spraying the upholstery of the car. Since then I am still unsatisfied. I feel as if I was treated poorly. I traded in my car and put 1900 down and should be happy with my vehicle of choice.

Desired Settlement: I would like a vehicle in the same price range but to have a choice and something I'm happy with and time to explore my options not be pushed and lied to. I have six years to pay it off and I want it to be a happy six years, not something I'm unhappy with. My credit is sensitive but that doesn't give them the right to treat credit sensitive people any kind of way. My money and trade in were used and I am very upset about the whole situation

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/09) */ Unfortunately when certain credit issues arrive the lenders dictate to the dealer the paramters of a deal in order to obtain financing. In this particular case the 2013 Nissan Altima was the best availabe choice. A like new vehicle with plenty of factory warranty remaining. The customer new what she was purchasing and was happy at the time of delivery. If she would prefer to pick out another vehicle, we will be more than happy to submit the loan and let the lenders tell us what they would require to finance it. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Not if I would have to put another down payment I tried to get anothwr vehicle the next day and they refused . I asked them to trade and said I would need another down payment I feel they should unwind the deal and use my same down payment my trade is gone I understand that but id obt wanna lose my money I put into this deal and start over. Especially when I tried to do this the next day before everything was submitted Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/10/16) */ My previous response still remains the same and I am sorry she is rejecting it. Once again we as an organization do not require cash down payments on vehicle purchases. That is between the lending company and the consumer. I have offered the customer full value of what she paid for the vehicle if she so decided to trade her vehicle in for another. I can't be any fairer than that. ***** ***** General Manager Mike Smith AutoGroup XXX-XXX-XXXX direct

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought Dodge Journey SE, paid SE price and vehicle did not have the SE accessories. Manager refuses to put extras on vehicle. purchased Dodge Journey SE. last 8 of VIN DTXXXXXX. VIN shows vehicle to be SE model. Was told by sales rep, *****, that vehicle was an SE model. According to Dodge.com, the SE model has everything on the AVP model plus tented windows, roof rail, and LED tail lights. Called dealership and asked why the vehicle did have the extras. Manager of Mike Smith, *****, said we bought the AVP... I explained that we bought the SE and the VIN even shows we bought the SE model, we paid the SE price. He argued back and said we bought the SE with the AVP and it did not come with the extras, that the web site was wrong and he wouldn't do anything without hearing from Dodge. I called Dodge Corporate office and they are investigating the situation. Dodge Corp said that I am in the right, and they are trying to get ahold of Mike Smith to find out more on the matter. Also, Mike Smith has multiple Dodge Journeys on the lot on their website stating they are SE models but do not have the extras. All I am asking for is the side roof rails, tented windows and LED tail lights that should have been on the vehicle. I am paying for them already because the SE model is $3,000 more than the AVP model.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that they put the side roof rails on the vehicle, tent the windows, and place the LED tail lights on the vehicle. OR pay the difference of $3000 to the finance company whom the vehicle was financed through. I believed that is the honest thing to do, sense the only difference between the AVP and the SE are those three things and it costs $3000 more for them.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/17) */ There are many different package contents available on vehicles.The vehicle ***** ****** purchased was a 2013 Dodge Jouney SE with the 22D package and the MRRP of thar vehicle was $21,240. If she would have purchased a 2013 Dodge Journey SE with a 22F package( it includes the sunscreen glass, black roof rails, and LED tail lamps) and the MSRP of the unit would have been $23,240.She was charged the correct amount for the unit she picked out.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/28/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service