BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

Mid-County Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

Phone: (409) 722-8649 View Additional Phone Numbers 8181 Memorial Blvd, Port Arthur, TX 77640 http://www.midcountychryslerdodgejeep.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mid-County Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mid-County Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 24, 1992 Business started: 08/01/1928 Business started locally: 08/01/1928 Business incorporated: 08/29/1994 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Business Management
Jimmy Findlay, Controller Mark Clark, General Sales Manager Bobby Holt, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Jimmy Findlay, Controller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Truck Dealers Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Allen Samuels Auto Group Allen Samuels Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep
Products & Services

This company is a full service car dealership, selling new and used vehicles. They also sell fleet and commercial vehicles, and provide service, parts, collision and mechanical repair.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 8181 Memorial Blvd

    Port Arthur, TX 77640 (409) 722-8649 (409) 877-7822

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 365-0070(Phone)
  • (409) 877-7822(Phone)
  • (409) 983-5171(Phone)
  • (800) 446-9063(Phone)
  • (800) 446-9069(Phone)
  • (888) 590-5361(Phone)
  • (409) 983-4269 (Fax)
  • (409) 985-6261 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They issued me a written quote for a trade in of between $11,000 and $13,500, then reneged on the deal stating an odometer issue and offer me $8500. The car in question was purchased from Northside Lexus in Houston and only serviced by them. In speaking with Northside Lexus it is physically impossible to alter the vehicles mileage as everything is stored in the car's computer hard drive. Typical Bait and Switch sleazy car salesman tactic. In addition, I qualify for fleet pricing, but the deal they "work up" actually ended up being a higher price than the advertised price on the internet. Once again typical sales tactic.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like them to lose their BBB accreditation as well as receive a formal, written apology.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@midcountycdjr.com Mr. ****** never came in to the dealership, everything was done on the phone and online. We've never seen his trade at all. It was bid as a sight unseen because he wanted a number before he came in. After he was given the estimate he asked for more money so we began investigating the autocheck and carfax reports to make sure they were clean and to get him more money. The Carfax shows a mileage inconsistency, this information comes from CarFax, not from us. The vehicle was priced by us to Mr. ****** at PP pricing, which is the pricing his company qualifies for with Chrysler. We have no control over preferred pricing at the dealership, the dealer invoice clearly lists the price at 1% under dealer invoice. He was unhappy with the price on our car and the value on his trade. He sent multiple vulgar emails to my sales person so I professionally asked him to stop sending emails and informed him that we were not interested in doing business of any sort with him. He then sent me 3 harassing emails making all kinds of threats to affect my business. It went to the extent that I actually had to contact his supervisor and ask him to help end the harassment. His supervisor saw the emails and agreed with me and promised I would not get any more communication from Mr. ******.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2008 Toyota Tundra taken for oil change, failed to put oil, blew motor, not fixed month later, destroyed tire, windshield, electrical,refuse to remedy A month ago we took our perfectly running 2008 Toyota Tundra to Mid-County, formerly Allen Samuels, for an oil change. They put it on the finish line, stated it was done, and we left. They failed to put oil in the vehicle and blew the motor. We have a signed affidavit that they are responsible for the damage. Their mechanics decided a new motor was in order and we were led to believe the situation would be remedied quickly and professionally. Well, they are not Toyota mechanics and do not have Toyota tools, but failed to send it to Toyota. Now they have destroyed a nitrogen tire and cracked the windshield. They also left the truck sitting in the rain without the hood for several days resulting in standing water in the fuse box (thus destroying the electrical system) and creating rust throughout the connections where the engine goes. Their response to us being livid? They state they cannot have us on their property where other customers can hear what we have to say. They state, after over a month, that they will finish as quickly as possible and we are not to step foot back on their property. I am now tired of playing nice and giving the benefit of the doubt. I am notifying the media in hopes that everyone sees exactly the kind of business Mid-County is bringing to our area. We were invited to a meeting to discuss them cutting a check for the vehicle and cutting all losses. At this meeting we met with ***** ****, General Manager and one of three partners in ownership of the establishment. He was completely unwilling to discuss anything more than paying off what is owed on the truck and financing another through their establishment. So, we went for an oil change with a perfectly running top of the line vehicle with upgrades galore. He wants to offer payoff of $17,000 and then offers to finance a replacement (much less vehicle) for $34,000!! He put the truck in as a "trade-in" for $19K and then added back in $17K to the amount financed for the payoff! He stated the vehicle was not worth more due to the fact it is not running, which is an issue that they caused! He did offer for us to take it and see what Philpott would offer on it as a trade-in and that the motor, windshield, tire, and electrical system were not a problem for them as their insurance would just cut them a big check for all damages. Mr. ***** **** looked down on us from his pedestal and made it clear that he has us in a corner. We cannot afford an attorney and we cannot afford to be without a truck for work purposes. Mr. Tate's final offer? Payoff the truck and give us $2000 to go somewhere else. Not one apology, not one bit of understanding for the upset that their incompetence has caused. The moral of the story? DO NOT USE MID-COUNTY FOR ANY OF YOUR VEHICLE NEEDS!! It is a shame that such business practices would be brought to a tight community and be accepted in any way, shape, or form. For those of you receiving this in the media I do have pictures available of the paperwork signed stating they are responsible for all damage, pictures of the new truck offer they made, and multiple pictures of the damage done to the vehicle. This will be shared with anyone who will listen. It will also be sent to the media, the Better Business Bureau, all owners of Mid-County, the city, and several attorneys.

Desired Settlement: The vehicle should be replaced at their expense. We took a perfectly running vehicle with multiple upgrades and are now left with nothing if we can't finance a new vehicle loan. This would not be an issue for us if they had not damaged the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/14) */ Jay, we undoubtedly made many mistakes on David ******'s vehicle back in our service department. To remedy the situation we bought the truck from him for thousands more than it was worth, and paid it off with his Credit Union Monday Sept 23rd. Mr. ****** and his wife signed an agreement with us on Monday 9/23 stating that he no longer holds us liable for anything. If you have any more questions please contact me directly. Thank You, ***** **** General Manager - Partner Mid County Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1