BBB Accredited Business since

Mid-County Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

Phone: (409) 761-5038 View Additional Phone Numbers 8181 Memorial Blvd, Port Arthur, TX 77640 http://www.midcountychryslerdodgejeep.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mid-County Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mid-County Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mid-County Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 24, 1992 Business started: 08/01/1928 Business started locally: 08/01/1928 Business incorporated 08/29/1994 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Business Management
Jimmy Findlay, Controller Mark Clark, General Sales Manager Bobby Holt, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Jimmy Findlay, Controller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Truck Dealers Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Allen Samuels Auto Group Allen Samuels Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep
Products & Services

This company is a full service car dealership, selling new and used vehicles. They also sell fleet and commercial vehicles, and provide service, parts, collision and mechanical repair.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 8181 Memorial Blvd

    Port Arthur, TX 77640 (409) 761-5038 (409) 877-7822

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Invoice ****** by service advisor ****** ******. Truck is a 2006 dodge Ram an on that date on 6, September 2013, mileage 77830. mechanic did not change oil drain plug and a "Permatex" type blue sealant was used. I suspect based on both service date the drain plug was never replaced either. A previous invoice dated on 8, march 2013 was performed By Mid- County Dodge, Inv no. ******, service advisor was ******* *****. There was never an oil leak prior to first service to Mid-County Dodge, refer to Inv ****** I look under the truck to day prior to making complain and noticed a good amount of blue sealant dried around the plug. A new plug has a copper washer that seals the oil in and no sealant is needed. If the mechanic had stripped the plug or drain hole, the mechanic should have informed my wife about the issue and replaced the oil drain pan. The invoices were made out to me, the Complainant I will call the service department first off tomorrow AM and ask service advisor how the deal with new drain plugs and if copious amount of sealant is used.

Desired Settlement: Complimentary service, refund of both charges to drain plugs never installed and replace drain pain, if needed. permatex should not have to be used.

Consumer Response: I called today 02/13/2015 this AM to ****, Assisitant Mgr of Service Dept, and he denies any mechanic using blue RTV. I never changed the oil from last mileage 77830 when Mid County did the change. My truck is way overdue at 87068 miles. I have been busy and work out of town and since September with injuty to my back and unable to personally change oil. Fee for oil change was $35.19 for 06,Set 13 First INV# ****** and plug was changed too fee: $24.85

Business Response: In response to the complaint by ******* ******:

Chronology:
03/08/2013 -- Vehicle brought into Allen Samuel's Dodge with 74569 miles for and oil and filter change.  (See attached .pdf)
09/06/2013 -- Vehicle brought into Mid County CDJR (Formerly Allen Samuel's) for an oil and filter change.  At that time the drain plug was replaced, though no note on the ticket as to why.  (See attached .pdf)
02/12/2015 -- Complaint Filed
To wit: 
1.   Customer has not been in to Mid County CDJR service department in approximately one and a half years.  Oil change intervals are traditionally 3 to 6 months apart, leading to the likelihood that the vehicle has been elsewhere for service in the intervening time frame.  
2.  Customer indicates that a blue "Permatex" type sealant is visible on the drain plug area.  Mid County does not now, nor has it ever used any type of sealant on drain plugs.  This substance is more likely a marking fluid commonly used by Walmart or and aftermarket service centers.  This marking fluid hardens and these service centers can see if the drain plug has been tampered with following a service.  This also would seem to indicate that the vehicle has been serviced elsewhere in the intervening time frame.
3.  Customer indicates he has doubts as to whether the drain plug was replaced due to the lack of a copper gasket and the blue sealant.  (See above for blue sealant issue.)  As to the whether the drain plug was replaced, we can only go by the fact that it is on the invoice.  Or system is designed such that a technician may not draw a part from the parts department unless it is on the ticket, thus no reason for it to be there without having been installed on the truck.  As to a copper gasket, this drain plug (part number 6506100AA for which I have attached a picture) does not used a gasket other than the ribbed rubber that is made onto the drain plug.
We are willing to take a look at the vehicle, but due to the long time frame since the last time it was serviced at our dealership and the presence of a marking fluid which we do not use, it seems very likely that the issue was caused at another servicing center in the intervening time frame.  Again, we will be more than happy to take a look and advise customer based on that inspection.
****** D. ******
Service Director

Business Response: It appears from the picture that the drain plug was replaced as that is definitely an OEM drain plug.  As well, it also appears that the blue substance is a marking fluid as described previously.  The RTV that we use (and wouldn't use on a drain plug) is always black.  That is the only color that it comes in that I am aware.  It is certainly possible that the marking fluid has been there for some time and could predate the two visits made to this facility.  That stuff is pretty durable!  Having said that, when Firestone changed the oil in the vehicle, did they find a problem with the drain plug?  I can't see from the picture that there is a leak.

****** D. ******
Service Director

Consumer Response: Honestly, I do not know as I have never personally drained/changed the oil. As of late, some shops offer great prices and it is cheaper to use Firestone, for example, that purchasing oil and supplies from Wal-Mart and DIY Just so it be known, I will have oil changes done elsewhere. ******* ******

7/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a used vehicle with the agreement to fix a dent before the purchase which they did not. Bought a used vehicle with the agreement to fix two dents before the purchase. When I arrived they said they did not have time to fix them but that I could take it to someone they used to remove the dents. He was able to remove one dent but not the other. They agreed that I could take the truck and get a quote and have it repired. Three months later and they have not responded to 12 attempts to contact them.

Desired Settlement: Fix as promised.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Phone: 4*********
Contact Email: *****@midcountycdjr.com
CALLED RE OLD ISSUE OVER DENT THAT WE APPARENTLY NEVER FIXED. GUY LIVES IN LA, AND OUR DENT GUYS THAT WE SET HIM UP W/ COULD NOT FIX ONE OF THE DENTS. SAYS HE HAS CALLED SEVERAL TIMES W/ NO RESPONSE. ALSO SAID HE HAS FAXED AN EXTIMATE. ASKED HIM TO E-MAIL ME THE ESTIMATE, AND SAUD WE WOULD TAKE CARE OF IT. APOLIGOZED FOR THE LACK OF RESPONSE. HE SEEMS OK NOW, HE JUST WANTS HIS DENT FIXED. BR

5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They issued me a written quote for a trade in of between $11,000 and $13,500, then reneged on the deal stating an odometer issue and offer me $8500. The car in question was purchased from Northside Lexus in Houston and only serviced by them. In speaking with Northside Lexus it is physically impossible to alter the vehicles mileage as everything is stored in the car's computer hard drive. Typical Bait and Switch sleazy car salesman tactic. In addition, I qualify for fleet pricing, but the deal they "work up" actually ended up being a higher price than the advertised price on the internet. Once again typical sales tactic.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like them to lose their BBB accreditation as well as receive a formal, written apology.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@midcountycdjr.com Mr. ****** never came in to the dealership, everything was done on the phone and online. We've never seen his trade at all. It was bid as a sight unseen because he wanted a number before he came in. After he was given the estimate he asked for more money so we began investigating the autocheck and carfax reports to make sure they were clean and to get him more money. The Carfax shows a mileage inconsistency, this information comes from CarFax, not from us. The vehicle was priced by us to Mr. ****** at PP pricing, which is the pricing his company qualifies for with Chrysler. We have no control over preferred pricing at the dealership, the dealer invoice clearly lists the price at 1% under dealer invoice. He was unhappy with the price on our car and the value on his trade. He sent multiple vulgar emails to my sales person so I professionally asked him to stop sending emails and informed him that we were not interested in doing business of any sort with him. He then sent me 3 harassing emails making all kinds of threats to affect my business. It went to the extent that I actually had to contact his supervisor and ask him to help end the harassment. His supervisor saw the emails and agreed with me and promised I would not get any more communication from Mr. ******.

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2008 Toyota Tundra taken for oil change, failed to put oil, blew motor, not fixed month later, destroyed tire, windshield, electrical,refuse to remedy A month ago we took our perfectly running 2008 Toyota Tundra to Mid-County, formerly Allen Samuels, for an oil change. They put it on the finish line, stated it was done, and we left. They failed to put oil in the vehicle and blew the motor. We have a signed affidavit that they are responsible for the damage. Their mechanics decided a new motor was in order and we were led to believe the situation would be remedied quickly and professionally. Well, they are not Toyota mechanics and do not have Toyota tools, but failed to send it to Toyota. Now they have destroyed a nitrogen tire and cracked the windshield. They also left the truck sitting in the rain without the hood for several days resulting in standing water in the fuse box (thus destroying the electrical system) and creating rust throughout the connections where the engine goes. Their response to us being livid? They state they cannot have us on their property where other customers can hear what we have to say. They state, after over a month, that they will finish as quickly as possible and we are not to step foot back on their property. I am now tired of playing nice and giving the benefit of the doubt. I am notifying the media in hopes that everyone sees exactly the kind of business Mid-County is bringing to our area. We were invited to a meeting to discuss them cutting a check for the vehicle and cutting all losses. At this meeting we met with ***** ****, General Manager and one of three partners in ownership of the establishment. He was completely unwilling to discuss anything more than paying off what is owed on the truck and financing another through their establishment. So, we went for an oil change with a perfectly running top of the line vehicle with upgrades galore. He wants to offer payoff of $17,000 and then offers to finance a replacement (much less vehicle) for $34,000!! He put the truck in as a "trade-in" for $19K and then added back in $17K to the amount financed for the payoff! He stated the vehicle was not worth more due to the fact it is not running, which is an issue that they caused! He did offer for us to take it and see what Philpott would offer on it as a trade-in and that the motor, windshield, tire, and electrical system were not a problem for them as their insurance would just cut them a big check for all damages. Mr. ***** **** looked down on us from his pedestal and made it clear that he has us in a corner. We cannot afford an attorney and we cannot afford to be without a truck for work purposes. Mr. Tate's final offer? Payoff the truck and give us $2000 to go somewhere else. Not one apology, not one bit of understanding for the upset that their incompetence has caused. The moral of the story? DO NOT USE MID-COUNTY FOR ANY OF YOUR VEHICLE NEEDS!! It is a shame that such business practices would be brought to a tight community and be accepted in any way, shape, or form. For those of you receiving this in the media I do have pictures available of the paperwork signed stating they are responsible for all damage, pictures of the new truck offer they made, and multiple pictures of the damage done to the vehicle. This will be shared with anyone who will listen. It will also be sent to the media, the Better Business Bureau, all owners of Mid-County, the city, and several attorneys.

Desired Settlement: The vehicle should be replaced at their expense. We took a perfectly running vehicle with multiple upgrades and are now left with nothing if we can't finance a new vehicle loan. This would not be an issue for us if they had not damaged the vehicle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/14) */ Jay, we undoubtedly made many mistakes on David ******'s vehicle back in our service department. To remedy the situation we bought the truck from him for thousands more than it was worth, and paid it off with his Credit Union Monday Sept 23rd. Mr. ****** and his wife signed an agreement with us on Monday 9/23 stating that he no longer holds us liable for anything. If you have any more questions please contact me directly. Thank You, ***** **** General Manager - Partner Mid County Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

3/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service