BBB Accredited Business since

Kinsel Toyota

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 899-4000 Fax: (409) 924-6294 View Additional Phone Numbers 3255 Eastex Fwy, Beaumont, TX 77706 http://www.kinseltoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kinsel Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kinsel Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kinsel Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 22, 1999 Business started: 11/10/1986 Business started locally: 11/10/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Business Management
Craig Kinsel, Vice President of Kinsel Motors Pat Cerniglia, Executive Assistant Michael Cooper, Sales Manager Jay Richards, GM
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Pat Cerniglia, Executive Assistant
Principal: Craig Kinsel, Vice President of Kinsel Motors
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Truck Dealers New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Kinsel Auto Group, Inc. Kinsel Toyota & Scion

Additional Locations

  • 3255 Eastex Fwy

    Beaumont, TX 77706 (409) 899-4000 (409) 299-5136

  • PO Box 2470

    Beaumont, TX 77704

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Toyota in Jan. and before I pick up the car I cancel the extended warranty because I had bought a cerified car. The salesman told me it would take a month . I have been in there twice and now the salesman is not there anymore. I have left voice calls even the general manager is not calling me back. The salesman add so many extra cost that I was told the wells fargo department said I had to have but they told me that was not true.

Desired Settlement: WOULD LIKE TO GET MY REFUND.

Business Response:

We have contacted Ms. ******* about this complaint.  We have determined that the refund application Ms. ******* completed and turned in had never actually reached our office to be processed and forwarded to the Service Contract Company. We have since processed her cancellation request and forwarded it to the Service Contract Company for them to issue a refund to her lienholder. ***** ******, our Finance Director has committed to monitoring this application personally and keep Ms. ******* informed of the progress toward a check being issued by the Service Contract Company. Ms. ******* is aware of everything that is happening with this process and is satisfied with our current efforts. She will receive notice that her lienholder has received the refund in approximately 6 to 8 weeks. 

 

 

*** ********

General Manager

409-892-4888

 

 

9/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2006 Chevrolet HHR that I purchased from Kinsel Toyota with a 2 year or 24,000 mile warranty in 2012. In April of 2014 I was at a place of business, and my car would not start. I tried jumping it with jumper cables and it would not work, so I called Kinsel Toyota. With my warranty I get free towing as long as the issue is covered under my warranty, so they sent a tow truck and let me know if it was not covered I would have to pay cash. The service manager over my vehicle was a man named *****. The next day after it being dropped off to Kinsel he called me and said it was just my battery that caused my car to not start, and that I would have to pay for Towing. So I called the tow company and paid $70.00 over the phone via my debit card. I had a sucpision about it being my battery being that I just replaced my battery a few months prior, but I have a lifetime warranty on it. So I got a ride to take the battery out of my car that was at Kinsel Toyota and take it to Auto Parts to get a new battery. Auto Zone leant me a brand new battery to use so that I could go get my car out of Kinsel Toyota gates before they closed. When I put the BRAND NEW battery in my car, I then had to drive back to auto zone to get my old battery that they recharged and said was perfectly fine. But before I even made it back to autozone, which is less than 4 miles away from Kinsel toyota, the brand new battery in my car was drained and I barely coasted into the parking lot at autozone. So from that point I knew it was not my battery, and had to put my old battery in my car and Pray to God I made it back to Kinsel. When I got my car back, they gate to park my car was still open but the Service manager had already left, so I left a note and my keys in the drop box explaining to them how the car died again and it was NOT my battery. The next day I called to speak with their supervisor and explained the situation to him, he apologized on their behalf for them not running a diagnostic test from the start and saving me all the trouble that I went through. So they had to diagnose the car this time and ended up keeping it an extra week. Once *****, the service manager finally called me back, he said that there was a peice called a rechargable link that was not covered under my warranty that they had to replace before they were able to see if it was my alternator that was bad, and that i would have to pay about 300$ for that part and the labor. I was very furious but agreed because I have a job and a two year old son that I was needing to find a ride everywhere to get me to work and him to daycare. So once they ordered that part, they confirmed it was the alternator, which is covered under my warranty. It was replaced and I got my car back. The check engine light never went off in my car, I called ***** and he said it would reset itself. That whole incident was in 4/2012. Now, on 8.14.2014, during this week my car was saying to check it charging systems, which was the same signal it gave when it went dead in April. On 8/14/2014, not more than 4 months later, on my way to pick my son up from daycare, in traffic my electrical system in my car completely died and I had to coast off into a place of business and park my car. I immediatley called Kinsel and spoke with Lisa which is also a Service manager, and she gave me the number to get my car towed to them. On the phone I gave her my updated number so that she could call me regarding my car. I called friday morning to confirm they got my car, and she said yes but they wouldnt be able to look at it until Monday the 8.18.2014, and verified with her my new number. So I said thats fine, I waited a week after that and had heard nothing from them, so I called again, 8.25.2014. She claimed she misplaced my number, after I gave it to her twice, and had tried to call me Friday, 8.22.2014, with the status of my car. She then began to tell me my warranty just expired less than 500 miles ago, and that legally the warranty I have did not have to put the brand name alternator on my car, so they put a used one from O'Reily's on it. I then asked her " so its the alternator AGAIN?" She said yes, and that she could get the alternator covered but I would still have to pay $160.0 0 for the labor. I asked to speak to a Supervisor and she said her supervisor would not be the person I would need to contact, and that she would find a number for me to call and have them call me, or call me back personally. So in the end, 2 weeks after dropping my car off, I am having to pay $160.00 in Labor on a problem that should have been fixed in april, but clearly never was being that my check engine light never went off and less than 4 months the same problem happened again. I should have gotten a complimentary rental, being that this was an issue on their part the second time, and it took them 2 weeks to fix it. I have a 2 year old son, and a job that I had to find rides to everyday. I am a single mother and I just feel like they were very careless about making sure my vehicle was fixed the first time. I have spoken to many friends and family friends and so many people say so many bad things about this company. I just feel like I was treated very poorly as a customer who purchased my vehicle from them as well as a warranty!

Desired Settlement: I feel like the $70.00 I spent on the tow truck the first incident was money that I should not have had to pay for due to the fact that the problem with my vehicle was covered under my warranty. I feel like the $300.00 that I paid for a part that they needed to replace to "check and see if it was my alternator" was just a way to get money from me since the alternator was covered under my warranty and would have been free of charge. I also feel like the $160.00, in labor fees to fix an issue that should have been properly fixed 4 months prior is also an unnecessary charge.

Business Response: Per *** *********** phone conversation with the BBB office.  Kinsel's General Manager has a meeting set up with this consumer 3:00pm Friday to discuss the complaint.  
We will contact the BBB after the meeting.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10197128, and I have agreed to meet with them. But I let them know if I'm not satisfied with the outcome I will keep my case with the BBB. I plan to contact the BBB after the meeting, because I picked my vehicle up Tuesday and my check engine light came right back on 20 minutes after picking up my vehicle. If conflict is not resolved accordingly I would like to pursue further action through the BBB. 

Sincerely,

******* ******

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE DEALER GAVE ME A COPY OF THE CONTRACT TO TAKE WITH ME. AFTER REVIEWING IT I SAW THE MONTHLY NOTE WAS NOT $486.00 INSTEAD $530.00. THE DUE DATE WAS SUPPOSED TO BE APRIL 4,2014 INSTEAD WAS MARCH 22,2014. WHEN I TRY TO GET A COPY I WAS SNUBBED OUT. I CALLED TOYOTA CREDIT THEY SENT ME THEIR COPY FROM KINSEL IT WAS A SWITCHED FORGED COPY FROM THE ONE I LEFT THE DEALER WITH.TOYOTA CREDIT CALLED AT THE END OF APRIL THREATENED TO DEFAULT ON THE LOAN IF I DIDN'T PAY. I TOLD THEM ABOUT THE COPY I HAD THEY SAID TAKE IT UP WITH THE DEALER. I TRIED. I CLAIMING THAT FRAUDULANT AND FORGED DOCUMENT WAS USED IN MY CASE. I AM GETTING MY CREDIT DAMAGED THRU THIS. Product_Or_Service: 2013 KIA SORRENTO Order_Number: N/A Account_Number: N/A

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) MY CREDIT STANDING REINSTATED WITH COMPENSATION FOR ANQUISH.

Business Response: Ms. ******** signed all documents in the presence of a Kinsel Toyota representative. She was notified at signing that her notes were to be $515.44 beginning on March 22nd 2014. She agreed to these notes and signed the loan documentation with TFS. We have contacted TFS to ensure they also have a payment of 515.44 associated with this account. They do.

On the 5th of May, a full week prior to her filing this complaint with the BBB, Ms. ******** dropped her 2013 Kia Sorrento she purchased from us at our dealership. She handed the keys to a salesperson and stated the vehicle was being dropped off to be serviced. She then left in a brand new Kia she had since purchased from another dealership.

There has been no fraud committed on the part of Kinsel Toyota nor any of it's employees! In fact, it is our contention Ms. ******** decided to purchase the afore-mentioned "new" Kia after she had made her purchase from Kinsel Toyota. She was most likely talked into "returning" the vehicle she purchased from Kinsel (instead of trading it) and may have even been convinced by someone at the other dealer she had that right. She doesn't. Then once we notified TFS she had dropped her car at the store and had no intentions of picking it up and paying for it, she realized indeed her actions would affect her in an adverse manner.

We feel confident, Ms. ********' dissatisfaction with Kinsel Toyota is the direct result of tortious interference by her new Kia dealer and as such, we are considering appropriate legal action to recover any damages resulting from her repossession.

While we deeply regret we were unable to satisfy one of our customers, Kinsel Toyota will take no action to the benefit of Ms. ********.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kinsel Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)