BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southeast Texas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kinsel Ford Lincoln Mercury, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kinsel Ford Lincoln Mercury, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 02/14/1944 Business started locally: 02/14/1944 Business incorporated: 01/01/1946 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Craig Kinsel, Vice Pres Joe Bob Kinsel, Jr., Pres Pat Cerniglia, Executive Assistant Ginger Fontaine James McNutt, General Sales Manager Gary Thorton, Service Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Pat Cerniglia, Executive Assistant
Principal: Craig Kinsel, Vice Pres
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
K A P E Enterprises Kinsel Ford, Inc. Kinsel Mitsubishi

Additional Locations

  • 3355 Eastex Fwy

    Beaumont, TX 77706 (409) 899-4000

  • 3555 Eastex Fwy

    Beaumont, TX 77706

  • PO Box 2470

    Beaumont, TX 77704 (409) 924-0011 (409) 234-7160 (409) 299-5136

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 899-5455(Phone)
  • (409) 923-5632(Phone)
  • (409) 924-6243(Phone)
  • (800) 384-6570(Phone)
  • (800) 454-6735(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was charged 290.00 for repair estimated that was not done,or done incorrectly Brought 2000 Ford F350 in for repair estimate on 09/16/2013. Was charged 290.00 to have this estimate done. There were numerous items listed on Kinsels estimate. After taking this vehicle to another mechanic on 9/17/13. He informed me 80% of this estimate was not correct. This vehicle did not need 80% of the repairs that ****** said it did. Since this means the estimate I paid for was incorrect or not done at all, I want a full refund of the 290.00 that I was charged. Per the rude and unfriendly Service manager **** Thornton they refused any refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund of 290.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/01) */ On 9/16/13, Mr. **** ******* brought his truck in to ****** Service Department and spoke with Service Advisor *** *******. Mr. ******* requested that we check several items on his vehicle. First item was check for a ticking noise when idling and while driving and advise. Second item was to check out front end completely and advise. Third item was to check a noise at drivers side rear wheel and advise. And the fourth item was to check out the A/C for not cooling. We also performed a recall on the vehicle at this time. Customer was informed of check out fees at the time of write up. Customer agreed on check out. We then had the vehicle dispatched to a technician for visual inspection. On the first item, the technician found turbo inlet pipe leaking, the price to repair was quoted at $609.19. On the second item, the technician found wheel bearings loose and drag link missing dust boot. The technician recommended replacing left front wheel bearings and seals, replacing drag link and performing an alignment. The quote for the second item was $737.31. On the third item, the technician found pins missing out of right rear caliper allowing caliper to hit the wheel and causing the noise in the rear wheel. The technician recommended replacing right rear caliper, brake pads and rotor and guide pins for caliper. The quote for the third item was $832.84. On the fourth item, the technician found no refrigerant in the A/C system so he then charged the A/C system and found the low pressure switch not working. Technician recommended replacing low pressure switch and wiring pigtail for switch. The quote for the fourth item was $358.72. This price included refrigerant, switch and pigtail. Technician also suggested replacing all shocks; this was quoted at $326.50. The technician also recommended all tires be replaced, but no quote was given for tire replacement. All of these repairs were quoted from a visual inspection. Technician did not disassemble and inspect any component, because we did not have customer's consent to do so. The customer even came by to check on the vehicle and some items were pointed out to him while he was present. Customer declined all repairs. Customer was charged $126.00 to diagnose the ticking noise at idle and while driving, there was no charge for checking out the front end, there was a charge of $52.50 for checking out the noise in the rear wheel, and there was a $105.00 charge for checking out the A/C system. Customer contacted me on 9/20/13 at 9am stating that we were quoting items that his vehicle did not need and further stating that "we were trying to get to him". I explained to Mr. ******* that we only performed a visual inspection; if we had been authorized to perform any repairs, anything that we had quoted that he did not need would not have been replaced. On visual inspections, we only quote the items we feel would need to be replaced, without actually disassembling and giving him a hard estimate. He then stated that we quoted unnecessary repairs and that he brought his truck to a reputable mechanic who told him that he did not need all of these repairs. I explained that the estimate we gave him was based on a worse case scenario and that if we did not need to replace parts that were not needed that he would not have been charged for that had he authorized us to perform the repairs. He then stated that he wanted a refund for his checkout fees, and I explained that I did not feel ****** Ford had performed anything wrong, and I would not be issuing a refund. Mr. ******* has the prerogative to have his vehicle repaired wherever he sees fit. ****** Motors still states that these items that we have suggested that need repairs still need to be repaired, either by us or by a shop of his choice. Therefore, there will be no refund for what we have inspected. ****** Ford made no repairs to this vehicle that would warrant a refund. However, some of these repairs possibly could have been patched to last a period of time, but ****** Ford is going to have a certified technician inspect and quote genuine Motorcraft parts to put the vehicle back to factory specifications. Therefore, any quote that we give is going to be based on our professional opinion.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failed to properly diagnose the mechanical problem. Did the work without authorization. On May 23, 2013, at 8 p.m. I left my 2011 Ford escape with ****** Ford in Beaumont Texas to check to see why the AC was not working. I left them the warranty papers as well. On 05.24.2013 I called the service department and found out the service rep was ******. I left a message for him to call me back at 10 a.m. that morning, but I did not get any response. I called back 2 additional times, but did not get any response. Around 2 p.m. service Rep. ****** called me and said that they had fixed my ac problem. ****** then told me that I caused the problem my self by putting too much freon in my vehicle. I told ****** that I have never put freon in my vehicle. ****** stated that his repair tech said it had high pressure. ****** said that he told my warranty company that I put the freon in and that this information voided my warranty and I owed three hundred and fifty-eight dollars. I went up to ****** Ford at the Beaumont location and asked for ******. ****** came out and asked for payment. I told ****** that his diagnoses was wrong, I never put any freon in my car. The high pressure the AC system had was caused by obstruction in freon line because of mechanical failure. I told ****** that I bought my vehicle from ****** Ford and thought they would take care of their customers and knew how to fix vehicles. ****** said he had never heard of freon lines having obstruction in them causing high pressure. ****** also admitted he was not a mechanic. ****** said the Mechanic put a pressure guage on ac system and it showed high pressure. The mechanic then diagnosed it as too much freon in it. Then the mechanic drained all the freon out and then put new freon back in. I then told ****** that they should have called me first before they did service on my vehicle. I would have never allowed them to do that. This repair will only work for about a few weeks and then the high pressure will build again and the ac will stop working. ****** said that was the way they do ac repair by fixing it to make sure no additional repairs are needed. I told him that his paper said that I would have to authorize any repair and that i did not authorize anything. He ignored me and told me my car was outside and to check out the ac to feel the cool air now. I went out and he had it on high and the ac was blowing cold air. I told ****** that I wanted to talk to MGR because I was not going to pay 358 dollars. ****** got mad and slammed the door when he went to talk to MGR. ****** came back and started helping other customers. Once he cleared customers out of lobby, he called me to register and said the MGR said he would reduce the bill to 300. ****** said that was the only way to get my car. I paid the 300 dollars and started driving home to Kountze. When I got close to the house, I cut the AC on low and it stopped working. I then called ****** and left him a message that I was coming back. I then drove back to ****** and ****** was outside with another man waiting on me. They said there mechanic should have noticed that the AC was not fixed on the low settings and told me to bring it back on next Tuesday and they would look at it. ****** said that I would still have to pay to have it fixed next Tuesday because this would be considered a new repair.

Desired Settlement: A 300 dollar refund of the payment that I made for a repair without my authorization.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/06/11) */ Our service manager, **** Thornton, advised that upon his investigation, he did confirm that the work was performed without the customer's approval and this is not the way ****** Motors operates. We contacted customer on June 6, 2013, to apologize and have issued a complete refund for any and all inconveniences this caused. Please let me know that you received this response. ***

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1