BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

JK Subaru

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 722-0443 Fax: (409) 724-0930 View Additional Phone Numbers 1800 Highway 69 N, Nederland, TX 77627 http://www.jksubaru.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that JK Subaru meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for JK Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 14, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated: 05/26/2009 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Robert Turner, Dealer Operator
Contact Information
Principal: Robert Turner, Dealer Operator
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
J K Chevrolet Subaru Nederland Chevrolet, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1800 Highway 69 N

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 722-0443 (877) 899-1177 (409) 527-3803

  • PO Box 1406

    Nederland, TX 77627

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 527-3803(Phone)
  • (866) 325-7982(Phone)
  • (877) 899-1177(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged me $180 to repack my right, rear wheel bearing although the bearing unit is sealed and cannot be repacked. On January 29, 2013 I took my 2007 Subaru Forester to J.K.Subaru in Nederland, Texas to repack and repair my right, rear wheel bearings. My left bearing made the same noise in 2012 in Washington State before I moved to Texas in November 2013. The dealer in Washington replaced and the bearing unit. The right, rear made the exact noise. I took my car to J.K. Subaru to repair the bearings and was charged $180 for a "re-pack". The car began to make the noise again. The first time I took the car back to J.K. Subaru, they had a new service manager who was new. I asked them to check the noise again. The noise had stopped temporarily, then became intermittent. The mechanic told me the tires were uneven although he said he didn't take the car on the expressway and the new manager did not document that in the computer. The second time, May 2013, I took the car back to have my rear light switch replaced, I asked them to listen to the noise again, now The same mechanic who did the repair and told me my tires were uneven, stated "he did not do noises" and since I was leaving the car overnight while they ordered parts, he would have another person "who was better at noises listen to it. I picked the car up the following day and assumed they listened to the car, and since they didn't tell me differently, my car was making the noise because of uneven, all-weather tires. The request to check the noise was not documented on my invoice which I failed to notice. My family drove the car to Atlanta, GA for Thanksgiving. The noise became louder, then started bumping and making a loud rotating noise along with the constant roar. We took the car to Subaru on Friday and they couldn't work on it until Monday and my daughter had to return to college. We took the car to a well-known tire store, they replaced the tires at our request, and said the right rear wheel bearing was old and in bad shape. They said the unit was sealed and could not be repacked after I told them I had had the bearing repacked in Texas. They replaced the bearings and gave me a warranty for the repair. The car started to sway on the way home. My husband thought it was overinflated tires and let some air out of the tire at which time the swaying stopped. when I drove the car 2 days later the sway was awful. I called J.K Subaru and explained the story to their third service manager this year, and spoke to the general manager. They asked me to bring the car in. The mechanic drove my car and deemed it unsafe to drive. The mechanic in Atlanta used striped screw to attach the wheel back on the car. The warranty we received in Atlanta covered the repair. I had to leave the car over the weekend, and JK Subaru charged the warranty company a rental fee that I have to submit to get reimbursed, even though JK Subaru did not charge me a rental fee the last time I used one of their cars to wait for parts. The service manager, *******, said the bearing unit on my car could have been repacked because it wasn't sealed. I called the Subaru dealership in Washington State, the service department who had repaired my left rear bearings, and they said the wheel bearings on a 2007 Subaru Forester cannot be repacked, as the mechanic in Atlanta stated. ******* refused to refund any of the money I was charged for what I now believe was a fraudulent repair in January 2013. She said they can't get in touch with the mechanic who did the work to corroborate the "story"and she wasn't there, so she said she couldn't go in to the past to see what happened. She said parts can fail at any time, although they had not replaced any parts, and the service manager in Washington State told me the right rear bearings would probably need to be replaced in the next few months. She then showed me the grease in the bearing unit saying it had been repacked. When I called her back to tell her the service department in Washington said the bearings were sealed, she said she would get back to me and has not.

Desired Settlement: $180 for the suspected fraudulent repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/12/31) */ The business called 12/31/13 and explained he will contact the consumer to try and resolve.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1