BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cowboy Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cowboy Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 13

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 22, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1946 Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated: 10/25/2006 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mike Moore, General Manager Morris Moore, Owner Tommy Moore, General Manager Zack Osment, Manager Carl Pileggi, Service Manager Walter Umphrey, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mike Moore, General Manager
Customer Contact: Tommy Moore, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Cowboy Motor Company, LC
Products & Services

Cowboy Chrysler-Dodge-Jeep offers: New and used automobiles; Chrysler cars and SUV's; Jeep cars and suv's; Dodge cars, trucks and suv's. Warranty station for Chrysler/Dodge and Jeep. Also offer sales and service of all brands of Pre-Owned vehicles.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 1305 Highway 96 Byp

    Silsbee, TX 77656 (409) 385-3796 (800) 719-3224

  • PO Box 1025

    Silsbee, TX 77656

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 719-3224(Phone)
  • (877) 473-6215(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I traded in a 2010 Toyota Camry on August 15, 2014 and purchased new Dodge Charger which was put in my daughters name, ******* ******. The dealer, according to our contract was supposed to pay off the remaining balance on the Toyota. I received a bill from Toyota and called inquiring on the status of payoff. September 22, 2014 Cowboy Dodge had not paid off the balance, which meant I owed 2 payments on the Toyota. I called Cowboy Dodge and spoke the financial manager who assured me that an additional check would be cut and overnighted to Toyota to resolve the issue. Toyota agreed if they received payment before Sept. 30 that I would receive no markers against my credit. Today, October 2, 2014 I recalled Toyota to ensure the problem was resoled. To my frustration not only had they not received the payoff but I have received a marker against my credit, as the monthly payment is now 3 months overdue. I recalled Cowboy Dodge to speak with their financial manager again today and now the say that they do not have anyone in the financial department working at all today. I am now awaiting a call from the sales manager who I am not confident can resolve this issue as it is a financial matter.

Desired Settlement: I request that Cowboy Dodge settle this dispute by paying off the Toyota balance as agreed in our contract and also ensure that the marker that was placed on my credit score be removed immediately

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

On the morning of Friday, October 3, 2014, the controller/office manager, ****** *****, contacted Mrs. ***** ********** to explain what transpired that led to a late payoff of her trade.  Per our normal procedures, we should have paid off her trade on August 27, 2014.  However, unfortunately, that very week, we had a key employee quit...the same employee who normally paid off trades.  Anyway, due to being suddenly short-handed (which we still are 6 weeks later) and trying to train other personnel to handle the tasks vacated by that resignation, Mrs. **********'s trade payoff had been overlooked.  Per our records, she contacted our Finance Manager, ***** *****, on September 24, 2014 to make us aware that her trade had still not been paid off yet.  Mr. ***** informed one of the accounting office staff, ********* ****, who promptly cut a check to send to Toyota Motor Credit.  Sadly, as far as we can tell, it was not relayed to Mrs. **** that the check needed to be overnighted, so the check was sent regular mail.  Per a call to Toyota Motor Credit on 10/3/14, the check was received and applied to Mrs. **********'s account on 10/2/14...apparently after she had called them to check on the status earlier that morning.  The TMCC rep told Mrs. **** that Mrs. ********** would have to call them, however, in order to discuss her credit report.  When Mrs. ***** explained this to Mrs. **********, Mrs. ********** requested that we attempt to call TMCC again to push the issue a little more in order to clear up any negative marks against her credit.  So, Mrs. ***** called TMCC back to request management and was intercepted by a customer service rep, Latasha, ID #B555P5T.  Latasha put Mrs. ***** on hold several times to see what they could do to clear up Mrs. **********'s credit.  Again, Mrs. ***** was told that management had been contacted, but due to privacy laws, they could not make any changes to Mrs. **********'s credit without her personally calling in the request.  They did, however, tell us that they notated Mrs. **********'s account to state that it was the dealership's fault that her account was past due.  But, TMCC insists that Mrs. ********** needs to call them back to simply request that they remove the negative mark from her credit.  Mrs. ***** called Mrs. ********** back again to explain that to her and to apologize again on behalf of the dealership, and she seemed to be content with those results.

 

Sincerely,

***** *****

Vice President

Cowboy Motor Co LC

dba Cowboy Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram

9/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Cowboy Dodge recently, just to look, and I found a vehicle that I would purchase for my teenage Goddaughter's first vehicle. I asked the sales person, ******, how much the car was and the price. He gave me the price of $3850 for a 2002 Nissan Maxima. This happened to be the car in the ad that they had mailed out. I told him I wanted the car, so I gave him my information and my goddaughter’s information (to help build her credit). I was waiting in the lobby while they were running our credit to see what they could do because ****** told me because she doesn't have any credit that we could not get the "special" financing the paper stated. I told the salesman I needed to go down the road three miles and pick up my side by side and I would be right back (because it was taking so long). I was back in less than 25 min and they were still running numbers, but while I was gone I called my credit union to see if they could just let us finance it there. My credit union agreed, so I told ****** we would just do that. He told me it would be just a few more minutes. I told him I had to leave to go pick up ***** and bring her back, he would not let me leave until I signed a few papers. I was fine with signing the papers and I did, not one of the papers I signed had any numbers on it. The papers I signed were just "we owe, you owe" and 2 more other forms, which one form said I would buy the vehicle as long as my husband found it mechanically sound. I left a little after 4 pm went and dropped my trailer off, picked up the kid and the husband and came back to the dealership at 7 pm. Another salesman greeted us, brought the car to my husband, he test drove it and checked it out and even with the few minor issues with the car we still agreed to purchase the car. We went inside and had to wait till 9 pm (the very last people) to go into the finance manager’s office (****). He had a computer screen in his desk instead of hard copy paperwork for us to electronically sign. I signed the first paper agreeing to electronic signing and then, I believe, the second form was a warranty paper and the Bronze box was checked. (THIS IS WHERE THINGS STARTED....) I asked him about the checked box and he said that all the cars come with that! So I signed the paper. We moved to the next form, it was an I30u form for the state of Texas that he asked us both to sign. I asked him why was the sales price $42**.** and he replied by telling me not to worry about it, we would get to the buyers contract where all the prices are listed. I told him that I wasn't comfortable signing anything else, because I wanted to know why I was paying taxes on more than the price of the car. This is where he started to show aggravation. He moved to the buyer’s document and scrolled to the bottom of the page where the total finance price was located. I asked him to scroll to the top and that is where I saw the price of $412.00. I told him I did not agree with that, nor was I asked if I wanted that! First he said the fee is standard with all purchases. I told him No it wasn't and I didn't want warranty! Then He got rude and harshly stated that I could not come back there and negotiate a new payment. He claimed I had agreed to pay the price of the car plus TT&L. I stated that is correct and I wasn't trying to negotiate a new payment. I simply wanted him to remove the extra expense they had tacked on my contract WITHOUT my permission. He claimed the $412.00 was part of the TT&L (This is a bold face LIE!!!). I agreed to the interest and payment, but was never shown anything on paper. The sales person came up to us at 8:45 pm and leaned across the table and stated are you ok with 4.5 % interest at $142.** a month for 36 months. I said sure, it wasn't what was in the ad paper but the note is manageable. He left the room for a short period and walked back in and said that if we didn't sign those papers that there was no deal. So we left!!! I wasn't signing paperwork with extra charges. My complaint is that this is a poor business practice and it needs to be dealt with. There is no telling how many customers have signed their paperwork and was told that they had to buy it, it was a standard fee. (Plus, they tacked on $14.50 for an inspection sticker fee. This car was a trade in and the inspection sticker goes out in 3 months.) I tried to contact the general manager and he was busy with a customer, so I left a message, and it wasn't returned by that afternoon so I called back, he still did not take my call and never called me back. I gave the receptionist a synopsis of the ordeal. I believe if you have an employee lying to customers that is important enough to return a phone call. Since it isn't important to the GM of Cowboy Dodge, I decided to write a letter to the BBB and consumers could read what is being done for themselves.

Desired Settlement: A written apology would be the right thing to do from **** AND the GM. They can't give us our 2 hours of wasted time back and the gas and travel time to go back to the dealership.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:
 
Mrs. ****** is correct we should have taken the etch out of the deal and signed them at the adjusted price. I called Mrs. ****** as soon as I could and let her know we would take the etch out, and I apologized for the trouble she had. I also gave her an additional discount to try to make up for the problem she had. We delivered the vehicle and the paperwork to her so they would not be out any more time. I also personally went to the ******s house when we delivered the paperwork and the car, to make sure there were no more questions or problems. They signed the paperwork and are happy with the car and satisfied with the correction to my knowledge. I also gave them my cell phone number to call if they have any other issues.
 
**** ******
 
Manager Cowboy cjd

Business Response:

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10214428, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
I would have responded earlier but I could not find the link to reply. **** called the very next day and apologized. He went above and beyond to make the situation right. Not only did he have the car delivered to the house with the paperwork he showed up to oversee the deal personally. 

 
Sincerely,

****** ******

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged a diagnostics fee of $121.86, when this should have been covered by my service warranty. The car is not due for a transmission cleaning! My transmission was completely replaced at 38k miles. The car now has 81k miles and the dealership recommends a transmission service every 60k miles. After diagnosing a light that was on, they charged me $121.86 and told me to have the transmission cleaned for another $339.21. That will not be due for another 17k miles. I called and spoke to **** **** and ****, the service manager and **** told me he would not refund my money. This was a diagnosis fee, but I could have taken my car to a local shop and had it diagnosed for free! Their recommendation was not accurate and the car has an extended warranty that would cover the correct repairs!! They were aware of this when I brought the car in. The phone conversation asking for a refund from **** took place on 5/22/14. My car was in their shop for service on 5/19/14. The invoice number is *********.

Desired Settlement: I want the dealership to give me the diagnosis fee back because their diagnosis was incorrect. Also, they recommended an expensive name brand gas cap, since it sets off sensors. According to the parts house, this should not be happening with after market caps. I should be able to buy a gas cap from a parts store and it work just fine. So, this additional diagnosis is not valid.

Consumer Response: My household makes $17k a year and we have 2 young children. We do not have $130.00 to just hand a crooked dealership for doing nothing more than running all the gas out of my car and getting nasty bug guts all over it.
This is wrong what is being done and I wonder how many other people they do this to. I will not tolerate it and if the dealership refuses to refund me I will be contacting an attorney!

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Only ONE service technician explained the diagnostic fee, NOT TWO..that was **** ****. Next, the transmission had the transmission replaced at 38k miles, now the car has 81k miles. Per the Mid County receipt print-out, transmission fluid replacement is due every 60k miles. This transmission has only 42k miles on it.
So, this transmission fluid replacement is not due for another 18k miles. If the dealership's technician felt it needed to be done sooner, the dealership should've contacted Chrysler Service Warranty, Inc. to pay for this. My extended powertrain warranty contract states that it covers even diagnostic charges when it is not a regular preventative maintenance issue.
As far as running two diagnostic codes, this can be done for FREE at any local parts store. Since I knew there was ANOTHER transmission issue, I ONLY brought it to the dealership because of the warranty I have.
**** explained to me that CHRYSLER was an EXCELLENT WARRANTY that generally paid for EVERYTHING, so that diagnostic fee would not be my responsibility for the reasons I've once again explained.

Business Response: In regards to ****** ****** 2008 Caliber referenced above.
Ms ***** presented her vehicle to us with 2 complaints. The first was a temperature light that would come on after extended highway driving. The second was an intermittent check engine light.
During the write up process, both of our service advisors explained our diagnostic fee to Ms. *****. They even wrote the dollar amount on the write up sheet and had her sign next to it to be sure there was no confusion. This is our standard procedure for vehicles that are out of the initial factory warranty. She was made aware that this fee would be her responsibility if the repairs were not covered by her service contract. This fee is used to compensate the technicians for their time if the service contract declines repairs.
In order to duplicate the temperature induced transmission power loss and transmission temperature warning light, the vehicle had to be driven for an extended time, as this is how the customer stated the problem occurred. Duplication of the customer concern is the first step in the repair procedure. It was determined by the technician that the transmission fluid was breaking down when hot and aerating. No other issues were found. Her service contract would not cover fluid replacement.
The check engine light was caused by a P0455 code in the PCM. Merely pulling the code does not diagnose the issue or tell you what part to replace. A P0455 is defined as a large leak in the evaporative emission system. The technician pressurized the system and the gas cap was determined to be leaking pressure. We recommended an OEM cap from the manufacturer as opposed to an aftermarket cap similar to what she had. Ms. *****s service contract did not cover gas caps.
Overall, Ms ***** had 2 completely different complaints diagnosed for one check out fee. We feel that the diagnosis that our technician provided was accurate and justified. We also feel that the fee was fully explained to Ms ***** prior to the vehicle going into the shop to be checked.

Business Response: When Ms ***** first entered our dealership, she was greeted by ***** *******. ***** began the write up process and explained the possible diagnostic fee. When she said that she had an extended service contract and shouldn't have a fee, **** overheard her and took over the write up. **** went on to fully explain the diagnostic fee and had her sign next to the dollar amount. At no time did **** ever say that Ms ***** would NOT be responsible for the check out fee. **** is extremely clear that anytime a service contract does not cover a diagnostic fee, the customer is responsible.
The Chrysler service contract does not cover fluid replacements. They also do not cover diagnostic fees for non covered repairs like gas cap replacement.
Local parts stores can not diagnose a vehicle as they do not employ trained technicians. They merely pull diagnostic codes and print them out to the customer. They can not tell you what parts to replace or what is wrong with the vehicle that they've scanned. They are not equipped to pressurize an evaporative emission system which was needed here to diagnose her concern.
Everything concerning Ms *****'s visit from the write up to the diagnostics was done correctly. In light of her dissatisfaction however we would like to offer either 10% off of her repairs if she chooses to have her vehicle fixed or a 10% refund via check, of the diagnostic charge that she's paid.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I've already explained twice why I am not satisfied with this response. Cowboy Silsbee should have gotten this diagnostic fee from Chrysler, not me. Reason being, this has been an ongoing problem with the car and the powertrain extended warranty covers this. The customer should not have to call the warranty company and try to track down this refund. The dealership charged the wrong entity.

Business Response: We can not apply for payment from Chrysler for non covered repairs. We recommend taking this up with Chrysler who administers the warranty as they would not reimburse us for diagnostics. We would be happy to assist them with any information they need. Their number is 1-800-992-1997.

4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During purchse Silsbee Cowboy agreed to inspect and make some repairs , was not provided with invoice are paper work showing repairs done are needed. as stated above Cowboy Dodge said they would inspect vehicle then make repairs and give me list of work done and other items found during inspection, when i returned to pick up the truck asked salesman about paper work he sent me to service department spoke with service department they told he get with salesman,service department paged salesman , after waitng 15-20 minutes with no word from anybody I Left

Desired Settlement: I would Like Proof they made repairs, list of other items found during inspection.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/21) */ To whom it may concern: Mr. ******* purchased a 2007 Dodge Ram 2500 with XXXXXX miles. At the time of purchase we had not checked the vehicle out in the service department, so we agreed to run the vehicle through the shop and agreed on some individual repairs. When the customer took delivery the next day I now understand that he requested to get a copy of the check out to see the other items if any that may need additional attention in the future. Since this is not our normal procedure and not knowing that we agreed to do this for the customer, the service department referred the customer back to the sales department I don't know how there was miscommunication at this point between the customer and the salesperson and the customer had to wait for more than 10 to 15 minutes but we try to avoid these situations. I have tried numerous times to call Mr. ******* and also have had the salesperson try numerous times to call to apologize for the misunderstanding and the customers phone rings straight to a voicemail and then hangs up and says the mailbox is full. After several days of this we have taken the service information the customer wanted and sent it to him with a signature card receipt attached to make sure he receives it, and also the salesperson enclosed a heartfelt apology for the misunderstanding. **** ****** Sales Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/04/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have had 1 missed call, tried to call back several times **** was in meetings called again and was off on Tuesday, my wife did return the call and spoke with ***** somewhat ***Note from BBB *** Cobb called Mr ******* and he stated that he has not received the documentation that was sent out as of today but will notify the BBB as soon as he does. Mr ******* did speak with ***** who stated that he would need to contact Mr ******. He has called Mr ****** twice today and left messages with no return call. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/04/25) */ ***** Is this after we talked? I believe I talked to you after this to let you know that the customers phone was just going to voice mail and hanging up. ***** has since talk to him and I talked to him again today and handled one more question he had. He said he was fine and I let him know to call me if he had any more issues. **** ****** manager

4/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesman did not disclose the purchasing price or interest rate and did not point it out in the final paper work. also longer finance term etc. On February 22, 2014, I went to purchase a car at cowboy's and was referred **** Purcell Salesman.I sit down at his desk with my boyfriend and brother to discuss buying the car and he put a white form in front of me and said that I needed to sign it before he ran my credit that it was just to say he didn't make me any promises on what he could do for me. I told him I wanted to keep my payments at $300.00 monthly. He showed me a few vehicles and I decided on a 2010 Scion xD. He asked me about my work history and residence. I also throughout the process asked him the price of the car, how much was the finance rate and he always told me he didn't know. I figured he would tell me once he done the paperwork. Before any paperwork was signed he had me give him my debit card so he could draw $3000 dollars for a down payment then he sent me into a room with I guess the finance person and he went through the contract really fast and was rushing me to sign it while I was trying to read the contract and he said that he had other clients and didn't have time for me to read it there. The only parts of the contract he showed me was the price of the car after my downpayment and the price that was to be financed after he added a 24,000 mile or 24 month warranty and he charged me for a security device that they put on the car, I didn't know about either. The finance guy nor the salesman told me exactly what price they were selling the car for or what the the interest rate they were using to financing the car. when I got out of the finance office, my boyfriend looked at the contract and pointed out that the car was financed at 20% interest for 6 years and that they charged $2000 dollars over blue book value(NADA)and that I would be paying $27,000 dollars for a $12,000 dollar car. I decided to return the car back because of the circumstance the next business day February 24, 2014. They proceeded to tell me that I couldn't return it and get my down-payment refunded back to me. They threatened me by saying that verbal agreements was hard to prove and I signed the contract, So good luck in proving they did something wrong.

Desired Settlement: Take the car back and refund my downpayment.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/28) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** MANAGER Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **********@YAHOO.COM To whom it may concern, Mrs. ****** was brought to our dealership by her brother who had purchased a vehicle from us in the past. The sales person let her know we would try our best to secure financing for her but could not guarantee anything for her. She agreed to let us try to find a vehicle that would be reliable and fit into her budget. She was shown a vehicle that she was told would be able to be financed for her and then we went over the payments with her to make sure it fit her budget. She signed the initial worksheet and initialed on the payments. At this time she went to the finance office to sign the contracts. At this time all of the contracts were gone over thoroughly with her and she was shown the selling price, the interest rate, and the total amount of interest for the term she would be paying. When I questioned my Finance manager about this he Said:" I went through the complete disclosure of all forms! I disclosed all lines as is shown by my circles on HER copy of the Law contract. I do it the same way every time. I explained the vehicle service agreement and etch as well and got her to sign each contract. As she is a bank employee he also thought she understands contracts and signing for what she agrees to." When she came back a few days later we showed her where the finance manager circled each part of the contract that contained all of the pertinent information. We strive to make sure we take care of our customers and give them what they want at the time of the sale. We go over the contracts in great detail so that everyone understands what they are doing and that this I a final contract and changing the terms after the contract is signed is not an options. Sincerely, **** ****** Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/03/26) */ There has been no resolution on this matter. This car sits outside my house and is not being driven because when I left the dealership I did not have insurance nor am I able to afford the full coverage necessary for this vehicle. I made every attempt to return this vehicle. The sales staff was very unapologetic and selfish thinking only of their "sales quota" and not listening to my plea to return this vehicle that I realized I could not afford (Less than 48 hours after driving it off the lot...would have been sooner were it not closed the day before which was Sunday). I was very insulted by the way I was treated when I tried to return the vehicle, and was told that if I wanted to hire a lawyer they weren't worried because "they are owned by lawyers". I am not satisfied with outcome of this complaint and would not only like to have my down payment returned (as I have literally not driven this car, they're welcome to test the milage) and they take possession of the vehicle. An apology should also follow. I would not recommend do business to anyone. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/04/03) */ We have demonstrated to this customer that all the paper work that relates to price, payment and interest rate were disclosed to her with her copy of the contract by showing her the circles made on each relevant portion of her contract inked by her signature in multiple places. Mrs. ****** was treated to the services asked by her at the time she was in the market for a vehicle. We have invested a lot of time securing financing and providing the proper documentation to secure and fund this deal. We have also invested time in securing the titling and registration for Mrs. ******. We can't just take a vehicle back without incurring a number of costs related to that particular deal. AS a rule the lender we secured the financing which always verifies that the customer has insurance on their particular collateral before they release money to the dealership. The insurance was verified by our company and the finance institution that financed the deal. There is nothing we can do at this point except ask that Mrs. ****** make the payments she agreed to make contractually with the lending institution.

10/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a car thinking we got a good deal and were happy, only to find out later we were lied to and all communication was ended by the dealership. We went to Cowboy Dodge, Silsbee on 8/23 to view a Durango. We were assisted by ******, we quickly realized we did not want the car due to the no DVD player, something we really wanted. She then offered to add "after market" dvd players to the headrest, showed us a vehicle with this option and we liked it. We had a vehicle to trade and were not really planning on buying car that day, just wanted to see value of trade and get quoute for car. We were offered what we thought was a great deal. Went back and forth a few times with ****** and behind closed doors, **** ******, sale manager. Finally agreed to set price, rate, term and had a difference of almost $3,000 from trade in and payoff amount. We were given the option to put down or keep. We decided to get money back due to the fact that the note was in our price range. We then went to finance with someone else, we did not see the money back on paper, so we asked and were told "finance doesn't do that, it is handled out there, I only finance". He said we would get money after deal was funded. Before we left we asked ****** about it and she said "yes, after its funded, paper work done, we will send you a check." We then did not get car for 2 weeks due to issue with dvd player, they installed differently that told. Received car on 9/6. On monday 9/9 ****** personally called stating she no longer worked for Cowboy and that the deal we agreed to was not what we got, **** put money as down payment and she tried to agure that was not correct and ended up leaving the employer. We were very upset, began calling **** that day, no response. Met with ******* on Tuesday, he said only **** can fix, he will call you tomorrow. We called, left several messages, **** retuned call on 9/12 and said he would pull file and call back. We have since then, for 3 weeks called many times, left several messages and no response. Product_Or_Service: Dodge Durango

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) This situation has upset us. We feel sick and frustrated about the way we were treated. Originaly we wanted to see the paper work for the deal we agreed to and find out where the mistake was made and try to fix the deal and possibly get money back. Now that almost 4 weeks have gone by and **** will not respond, it has become ridiculuos. We have been treated very poorly and now its a customer service issue as well as sales. We at least deserve a phone call and an explanation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/10/04) */ On August 23rd, **** **** came in and negotiated on a 2013 Dodge Durango. This deal was facilitated by *************** the sales person on this deal at the time. We agreed that the customer was trading in a 2008 Honda Pilot that did not have a lien. We agreed to give them $13000.00 for the van and they wanted us to pay off a different vehicle that had a payoff in their name. We agreed to do this and called and got the pay off on the other vehicle that was $10089.45. The difference in the trade allowance and the payoff was used to reduce the amount of the balance of the loan. At no time in the process of the deal was I informed of giving the customer any money back. If this was the case the monthly payment would have been higher. I spoke with the customer and told them there was nothing in the deal stating any money back. We always get the customer to sign a "we owe" you and "you owe" us in every deal this is where that would have been disclosed to the customer. This document states that there is nothing owed to the customer and it is signed by the customer. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am still waiting to actually talk to the manager on this issue. I understand that he said that there was nothing written in the "we owe"you, but I am not a car salesman and I have no idea what that is, so I didnt ask to have it filled out. I know what I was told by my salesperson and there was a miscommunication between her and the Sales Manager. We just wanted an explanation for what happened and we could never get a phone call in response to answer our question or to help us understand how the miscommunication took place. We were verbally told we were getting almost $3,000 back and questioned it several times only to find out weeks later that the sales person quit and that there was miscommunication on the deal and every person we talked to said we needed to speak with the sales manager. We just expected a little more customer service from someone that we just bought a brand new vehicle from with a $3000 miscommunication. Had we been called day one and been told about the misunderstanding things would have been ok. But instead it took multiple phone calls, messages and finally a BBB complaint and I still have not been able to speak to anyone. A message was left after I filed the complaint explaining the paper work to the extent of what was written on here, but I can not get any response when I call back. The customer service has been horrible. I also was not even given some of the proper items that should have come with my car and I cant get anyone to help with that either. I wish I never would have bought my car there. I am so very upset that these people are not helping me at all, it is hard for me to even be happy with my new vehicle. I also bought a service/warranty protection with them and I don't even want to take my car there. I am hoping to find away to transfer it somewhere else. The sad thing is, this all could have been avoided had someone done the right thing and call a customer back. The one phone call we received the manager said he wasnt sure about the deal and would pull the paperwork and let us know...weeks later, here we are. Very upsetting . So truely all I really have wanted from the beginning and still now is to speak with someone and to get things straightened out, I dont think a phone call to one of your customers is too much to ask. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/10/17) */ This is to let you know that I have personally contacted Mrs. **** and tried to address her concerns. While there is still some misunderstanding about how we miscommunicated we have come to the understanding of what actually transpired in the car deal. We have also addresed her concerns with her vehicle and have made arrangements to fix her concerns in service. **** ****** mgr

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called to tell me they have a lower interest rate and after I signed the papers I notice ***** had added 226.67 from the day before I had been told 36,000.00 was T.T.&L but when I was *****(Finanical Guy) he said No so he got the Sales Person and he said Yes I told her that. ***** was upset because I didn't want the extra Insurance GAP and ELECTRONIC'S. I had to tell him NO about 5 times. The next day ******* my sales person called me back to say they got me a lower Interest Rate and I was on my way out of town but I went by the dealership and signed papers. ***** had two white papers side by side and ask me to compair the different prices and I did but when we got home on Sunday the 7th I notice he didn't change the date to the 3rd he had the 2nd and he had added 212.95 plus tax of 13.72. When I called the dealership twice today I was told someone would call me back-they didn't so I called to speak to the General Manager and he was unavailable and the lady ask if I wanted to speak to ***** so I did and he said well I didn't catch it the second day you came in and the 1st day you made me take it off because you didn't want the Insurance and it is automatically put on there but your payment did go down. I said well can you take it off? ***** said well I already sent your paperwork to the bank.

Desired Settlement: I just want the 226.67 that was added to my paperwork for Insurance that I told him on the 2nd that I did not want.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/15) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@cowboyauto.com I talked to the customer after they had contacted the bbb but they told me they tied to stop the complaint but couldn't. We let the customer know that we were sorry for the mix up and cut them a check and sent it to them. They indicated this was satisfactory for them and are now happy with Cowboy Chrysler Dodge Jeep **** ******

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a brand new vehicle, and two days after purchase called company. They told us to bring it back. Got there and they refused to take it back. We bought 2013 Dodge Ram 2500 SLT Crew Cab 4x4 on 4/30/13 from ************** at Cowboy Dodge Chrysler in Silsbee, Tx. Vin#3C6UR5DL8DGXXXXXX Deal#XXXXX. We were unsatisfied with the seats being uncomfortable, and called dealer the second day of having the vehicle 5/2/13. They told us to bring the vehicle back on 5/8/13 for truck manager to be there to do paper work. We asked if we would still be able to return the vehicle having put more miles on the vehicle. They told us not to worry about it. Brought vehicle back 5/8/13 and dealer refused to take back the vehicle. Told us that it was a done deal and to contact the Lender. Called ****************, designated Lien Holder, and they told us that the company would be the one's to take back the contract. Two salesman posed as managers, one **************, when they were not. Laughed in our face, and told us to buy after market product to fix the situation, that they were not taking the truck back. We even offered them to keep our down payment. Contacted Dodge Manufacturer Customer Satisfaction 5/9/13 filed a complaint and got a Case#XXXXXXXX. He informed me to contact Sales Manager, then General Manager, then Owner if needed. That because we contacted them so soon after the purchase that he was sure there was something they could do. That same man contacted Cowboy Dodge also. Contacted Sales Manager, ******, 5/9/13. He was unaware of the situation. Told me that he would contact me back to see what he could do. I have yet to get a return phone call. The Sales manager acted as if they would only give us trade in value for the vehicle. Contacted General Manager, ****** ******, and left voice mail with him to please return my call. I have yet to get a return phone from him either. We payed $2500.00 as a down payment, and financed $53,248.28 through ****************. Cowboy Dodge Chrysler of Silsbee, Tx. should have never told us that we could bring back the vehicle if they had no intentions of keeping their word. We informed them in enough time to prevent the loan process from being finalized. The only reason they will not take the truck back is because they will be out of a sale. This is ridiculous business ethics and I am very upset with the way this company has handled all the situations at hand.

Desired Settlement: I am expecting the dealership to cancel our contract, and refund our finance amount of $53,248.28. They told us that we could bring back the vehicle, and I expect them to do just that. I am now even expecting my full $2500.00 down payment be returned to me. If the dealership had no intentions of taking back the vehicle, they should have never told us to bring back the vehicle. Bottom line.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXXx1202 Contact Email: *****@cowboyauto.com To whom it may concern, On April 30, 2013 ****** ****** came in our dealership and purchased a*************@cowboyauto.com********crew cab 4x4 truck for himself. He was the only person on the contract and he is the only customer that we sold the vehicle too. He drove in to our store from about 2 hours away in Louisiana because he said we had the vehicle he was looking for. He came in and the customer and the salesperson went on a demonstration ride to make sure it was the right vehicle with the right equipment and it was the one he wanted to purchase. We stayed with the customer after closing time to secure his financing with the bank that night. He signed the entire loan and titling documentation and then the salesperson went over the vehicle one more time before he left. Three days later on Friday the 3rd of May Mr. ****** called and said he wanted to bring it back because he didn't like the seats. They were told the manager was off but to call back and talk to him later in the week when he returned to see if there was anything we could do to help them with the seats or to discuss any options. We contacted **************** our Chrysler service representative and found out that we might be able to switch the seats to an aftermarket type when or if they become available if the customer wanted to pay for that option. When the customer came in on the 8th of May we did not know they were coming but ************ Who is a senior sales associate went out and talked with Mr. ****** who was the only one in the dealership. Mrs. ****** stayed in her vehicle. ***** let him know he wanted to see what he could do to help and he could represent the manager at this time until he got freed up. Mr. ****** was told about replacing the seats and he rejected that idea. He then said he had a friend that had a 2012 model and that the seats were more comfortable, so ***** got the original sales person, *************, to take Mr. ****** out to the 2012 New vehicles to show him some options on them and see if we could trade him out of the 2013 into a 2012 that was more comfortable. While he was looking at the vehicles ****** said Mrs. ****** came over from her vehicle and stopped him and said they were not going to do that and they left. I received a phone call from Mrs. ****** the next day and explained that the vehicle was now titled in Mr. ******'s name and that just undoing the deal was not an option because it cannot be returned to a "new Vehicle" the manufacturer MSO has been registered as a title in the state of Texas, which now makes it a titled vehicle. Mrs. ****** then informed me that she had called Chrysler and opened up a case concern on this subject. I told her that I would call them and let them know the circumstances. I explained all of this to Chrysler and I told them we would not be able to unwind this sale and they said they would also convey this message to the ******'s. On the 14th of May I received information that the customer requested to cancel his warranty and gap coverage from the salesperson. I called Mrs. ****** and let her know how the procedure worked and reiterated the fact that this deal could not just be undone. I let her know we would get on her husband's cancelations as soon as possible and it may take up to 6 weeks to refund to the bank and reduce her finance amount. She thanked me and we ended our conversation. I also talked to my Chrysler representative again to let them know what was going on and she asked me about the aftermarket seat option. I explained to her that the customer was not interested in adding more expense to the vehicle for the seats. I have allowed all of the sales people and managers that were involved in this transaction to review this information and they have all agreed that these are the sequence of events as they happened. ****** ****** XXXXXXXX Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/05/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am tired of dealing with this company, and just wish to let the situation go. We have arrangements with a Chevrolet dealer willing to give us our maximum amount for the truck, and will be trading it in. Thanks

4/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service