BBB Accredited Business since

Classic Acura

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 898-8001 Fax: (409) 892-7690 1000 Ih 10 N, Beaumont, TX 77702

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Classic Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Acura
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 03, 1998 Business started: 10/27/1961 Business started locally: 10/27/1961 Business incorporated 10/27/1961 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ben Case, General Manager Barbara Peckham, Controller Ken Robinson, Sales Associate Kenneth Ruddy, Owner Sondra Whitmire, Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Ben Case, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Beaumont Motor Company
Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 1000 Ih 10 N

    Beaumont, TX 77702 (409) 898-8001

  • PO Box 5547

    Beaumont, TX 77726


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ******* ***** and I live in Lake Charles which is an hour drive to Beaumont. The Classic Acura dealership is the closest from my location. The first long going issue I have is from the moment I bought this car (leased from a different location) my car has experienced safety issues with lurching relating to the transmission. The dealerships are only open during M-F during normal work hours. This means I have to wait 2-3 weeks from when I schedule my appointment and take time off work to travel, which takes miles off the leased contract. I scheduled to bring my car in on Monday 1/25/2016. The service manager, ******* or *****, said they would have to keep my car for a couple days because I was having lurching issues and their technicians need to examine it. I told them my family is in from out of state and I would need a loaner car, which was confirmed I would have one until Wednesday. I brought my car in at 8 AM, I received a call around 3:23 PM stating my car was ready for pickup. I told the receptionist there is no way that I can bring the car back that day because we had a large family gathering at 5 PM, but I will bring it in tomorrow. I received a call around 5:17 P.M. from one of the Service Managers demanding if I can't bring the car in by the end of close (1/25/16) then I will have to have it back no later than 8 AM the next business day. If I would have known, my family and I would have stayed in TX until the car was ready. Apart from the inconvenience of having to drive to TX two days in a row; I confirmed I could bring it the next morning with no complaint. My mother, Aunt, and I drove to Texas again the next morning (1/26/16). The weather conditions driving there were awful as it was pouring rain so it hindered our arrival time. I received a call around 8:22am which I missed so I returned their call. Mrs. ****** said there is no need to drive out as there because seven of their vehicles were vandalized, mine being one of them. I voiced my concern for wanting to still come out and she said no I don't have too. I informed her we were 5 miles away and I would like to see damages of my property. She said okay. Upon arrival, ****** took me to my vehicle. She specifically told us she received a call between 1-2 AMabout the break in. The intruder broke my passenger backseat window which he climbed through. The glass was shattered across the backseat and the floor. Since it has been raining heavily, there was puddles of rain on the seat and floor. There was damage to the entire passenger door panel and my leather seat was torn. This was the initial damage I saw at that time. The police were there but left with out taking my statement as to what was stolen (money and iPod out of my concealed middle console). The dealership called them back to come take my statement. I was there for two hours and did not see one owner of any of the vehicles that had been broken into. They made it sound like I did not have to come in as the window was only broken, but to my finding there a large amount of damage to my car. I believe they didn't want their customers coming to their location to see the damages so they can do a quick fix on the seven cars. My car was placed on their unsecured lot with my service ticket hanging from the rear view mirror. My car should have never been left out accessible to public. I was unaware their property was not secured as no one informed me. I requested to speak with the General Manager: *** A. ****, as I was upset because I was told by the service manager that they only replace the carpeting and seats if there was actual flooding. My car was sitting in their lot for over 5 hours in the heavy rain. My car is leased, therefore if the proper steps aren't taken to reverse the damages, then I will be held responsible for any charges at the end of my contract. I have severe allergies which causes me to get very sick. Not to mention, my partner and I are trying to have a baby. There are health concerns I need to worry about for my future. Their Sales Rep, *****, overheard us talking to the receptionist and came over to talk to us. He was in complete selling mode. Apart from the break in issues, I've had to take my car in for multiple issues regarding the way it drives, a recall, and replacement of my vent. I've only had the car for almost a year and half. These are concerns I was going to address to the GM prior to hearing that my car was vandalized. I addressed this to ***** and explained I would like an early release of my contract. The product/services sold to me prior to the lease does not match to what I've been sold. It's not fair that I have to drive an hour almost every 3-6 months to fix my car. Those are miles taken off my contract. He explained that because my vehicle was damaged, it would cost me more money to trade it in now as opposed to waiting till its fixed. My issues is they are unwilling to restore the car back to how I left it with them. I always keep my car immaculate/organized and there is rarely anyone sitting in the backseat. This was an issue for them. Eventually the General Manager, *** A. **** arrived to speak with us. We readdressed our issues and he said he would do his best to repair the car but they will not remove the carpet. Unsettled by this statement, we addressed our concerns again, and he said they will take care of it but right now he is unavailable to speak because he will be late for his advertising meeting. Seven cars were broken into on his property, and he was more concerned with being late to a meeting. We asked if we could go into a private room because we didn't want to publicly speak about our issues in front of customers. He reiterated he really can't were going to make him late. That's when my mother spoke up and said, "I'm in sales, I'm actually a Sales Manager like yourself. If there is an upset customer then you take the time to speak with them. Your meeting could wait." We asked that I call my boyfriends Aunt **** because she has leased cars for years and knows what questions to ask the GM. He did not want to speak with her, he didn't listen to what we were saying as he responded, "Is **** the decision maker?" At this time we had to repeat ourselves and he became visibly upset and called us all into his office. I called **** from my cell phone, she addressed herself by her full name, which to he continued to call her by her nickname even though she asked that she would be addressed by ****** *****. **** explained my concerns for my health issues as any mold or spores that grow and will flare my allergies and cause me to become very sick. *** **** was not listening to what we had to say, instead he continued to argue. I then spoke up, stating ****** said she received a call between 1-2 AM about the break in. He said that is false information because he reviewed the tapes and the intruder broke into my car between 5:15-5:30. I sternly stated, so you're telling me your employee is lying? He replied yes, she doesn't know what she is talking about. *** stated my car has only been exposed for 3 hours, and we continued to express our concerns as that is a long time for the car to sit out in the rain. They had to wait for the police to arrive to take finger prints and examine the damaged vehicles. They didn't vacuum my car out until after 9 AM. He was showing us his that he was aggravated that we would not finish the discussion so he can go to his Advertising meeting. He condescendingly asked us how does mold grow, we said moisture. He then proceeded to ask us how long it takes for mold to grow, which we didn't know. **** tried getting his attention during all of this, when he started to google how long it takes for mold to grow. All we were asking was to fix the car back to how I left it in their care. Our concern is the mold/mildew from being left out in the rain and the damages I will be forced to pay when I turn my car in after my contract is over. We explained the air has pollutants which changes the chemistry of how mold grows. Louisiana becomes very hot and humid which can increase growth and smells. He started using unrealistic scenarios to defend his argument. For example, he compared my car being rained on to spilling a cup of water on your house carpet and washing clothes in your washer. If water is spilled on a carpet and not taken care of, mold will grow. Same with doing laundry, the clothes have to be rewashed if left damp in the washing machine for too long. He continued to argue with us. He said we need to give him the opportunity to access the situation. What is there to access? My car was damaged on your unsecured lot, which they are responsible for all damages. I did not have to sign any paper work when I dropped off my car nor was there any signs stating the consumer is responsible. Finally, we had heard enough. He was going back and forth and could not provide us with a solid solution. He believed I was upset and mixing my emotions of the original issues I had with my car to the break in. As we were leaving, I said ***, my health is a major concern. He replied, well this isn't the place to live if you have allergies. During the meeting, my Aunt stepped was standing by the door frame and heard ***** saying "we"re going to make him late, he really needs to be at this meeting." from outside the office to his co-worker. My mother asked him as we were leaving if he will be in contact with me if not on Monday, then on Tuesday. He nor anyone from the company followed up with me. This entire experience has been very stressful. Thursday, I found it in my best interest to contact my insurance and file a comprehensive claim. When the dealership was notified, ****** called stating that they were taking care of the damages and I do not need to file this under a claim with my insurance. They were not willing to meet my requests and therefore I was extremely unsatisfied. I left work early to go pickup my car from their dealership to bring it back to the recommended mechanic. The service manager represented a receipt that I had to pay $66 for the services performed on my vehicle (rotate of tires and oil change). **** said, after all that she has been through, could you waive this fee. ****** said yes mam, I mentioned this to ***, but he told me to charge you anyways. She told us not to worry, she will take the charges off my bill. I had to sign paperwork that stated what they were willing to repair and that I'm having my insurance/mechanic work on the vehicle instead. There were several damages not listed on the paper. There were scratches on my glove box from a shoe scraping it, discoloration to the back of front passenger seats on the leather, paint scratches on the outside of the door penetrating deep down to the metal frame, the chrome window lining was scratched as well. There was a blue stained scuff mark on the back side of the car next to the passenger door as well. We took the car back to Lake Charles. After I dropped off **** and returned home, I found large shards of glass underneath the seat protector touching my leather seats and on the floor tucked against the carpet. This organization did not take the proper steps to fully evaluate the damages of my car nor show any concern. The reason I filed a claim with my insurance is due to the lack of trust I have towards Classic Acura. I kept hearing different outcomes between each of the departments. *** A. **** is an inexperienced, rude, and condescending individual. I was appalled by his behavior toward a trusting and reliable customer. I will never purchase a car or return to their business again. I'm not doubting his ability to be a leader, but he lacks the training and experience needed to sustain business and trust with his customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like to leave my lease early without any penalty or further charges. The care I was promised that I would received was obviously never there. I want it to be listed that I'm not responsible for any charges related to damages that will affect me at the end of my lease even though I'm going through my insurance and have no responsibility for any charges listed from my insurance.

Business Response:

      I would like to first preface my statement with the utmost disappointment that Ms. *****’s vehicle was broken into. No one in any situation should have to go through that. Classic Acura understands this and acted immediately upon the discovery that seven customer’s vehicles were broken into the morning of January 26, 2016.  

      It is stated on the customer “Service and Repair Order” form that all customers sign and date prior to reception that “I acknowledge and agree that DEALER is not responsible and is not liable for any articles left in the above-described vehicle nor any damage to the above-described vehicle in the event of fire, theft, or other cause beyond the control of the DEALER”. I have attached a blank copy with the sentence highlighted for reference.  Classic Acura, in the best interest of our customers, decided not to ask customers to file these claims on their personal insurance but rather to take responsibility and call the customers to ask if we have the authorization to repair the vehicles accordingly to damages discovered with the company’s personal capital. Ms. ***** was the only customer that was not completely satisfied with the service offered. She then had a meeting with the General Manager with intentions of trading her vehicle or terminating the lease due to the circumstances. Once Ms. ***** discovered that Classic Acura could not alter her lease contract with American Honda Financial Services she then demanded that the carpet, insulation under the carpet, and all interior seats be replaced. Once this request was declined if Classic Acura was paying for the repairs, she then opted to pick her vehicle up and have repairs done through her insurance at another location.

     There was a concern noted about the lurching of Ms. *****’s vehicle. On 1/25/2016 Ms. ***** did state that her vehicle was lurching at low speed intermittently while driving on Repair Order #******. Ms. *****’s transmission software was updated and a clutch break was performed as per service bulletin 15-021.

      I cannot comment on what expectations were with the time frame of diagnosis of this vehicle and when the loaner needed to be turned in but it is Classic Acura’s policy to provide loaner vehicles to customers if at all possible for all repairs that take over 1.5 hours to complete.  Classic Acura also has hired additional staff  several months ago to expand pick up and drop off service for customers. It is unclear if Ms. ***** took advantage of this or not.

       Classic Acura has the utmost respect for our customers and in all aspects of our business strive to deliver service that is second to none.  It is my deepest regret that we were not able to resolve this issue personally and I believe that this complaint is not objective, and does not accurately reflect the facts of the situation. Classic Acura does not have the authority to alter or terminate Ms. *****’s Lease with American Honda Financial and has been instructed multiple times on this topic before and after the events of January 26, 2016.



              *** **** 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 11127882

I am rejecting this response because: 

I do not have nor did I sign a document that agree that Classic Acura is not responsible for damages while the car is under their care. He was unable to provide an actual document because he has no proof of signature. They did however have me sign a rental car agreement that states I am responsible for the rental car if it is damaged. It does not mention anything about my personal vehicle. My car should have been kept in a secure area.  *** is leaving out the in-between details of our conversation in which I had two witnesses present and one on the phone.  There are two areas I focused on first and that was the possibility of mold after rain water was sitting in the car for hours because of my allergies and my responsibilities when returning the leased car if everything was not repaired correctly.  My plan was to speak about getting out of my lease due to the chronic lurching issue I experienced since I leased the car before the break in and damage occurred.  So to reiterate, I asked to be let out of the lease in conjunction with the poor service I received in regards to the chronic lurching experienced with no resolution.  I am paying for something monthly and on time, I would expect maintaining at the service level promised when I signed the lease agreement is not too much to expect in return.  What they initially said was they will dry out of the carpets, fix the window and vacuum the glass which turned out to be a lot more issues upon my arrival. Classic Acura called to tell me not to come in but luckily I was almost there and was able to take pictures. The break in, flooding, damage to the door panel, leather, scratches on the glove compartment, and damage to paint was documented by me. They would not of informed me of the other damage if I had not been on site.  In reference to the 6 other customers who were satisfied after their cars were damaged, how many actually saw the cars before they were fixed and how many of them are leasing their vehicles versus owning them.  There is greater liability to someone leasing a vehicle as opposed to one that owns it.  As a customer it infuriates me that after dealing with so much that there is such a lack of compassion for the consumer. We asked if he would follow up with us in regards to the questions we had about my vehicle's lurching transmission issues and helping me contact Honda since he claimed he had no say in releasing my contract for my lease. I never received a phone call from *** or any of his employees. The only time I was contacted was when I reached out to my insurance company to file a comprehensive claim. ***** informed me I did not have to do that as they are taking care of the issues listed in the report. The report I received from my mechanic scaled higher than what they were willing to repair. I have copies of the documents I signed with Classic Acura, their repair report, and the detailed repairs report from my mechanic which I can fax if needed. 


I'm curious as to why his employee, ******* ***** is trying to add my personal account on Facebook as well as respond to my post unprofessionally. She stated they have a lot of "walkers" near their business. Why were our cars parked on an unsecured lot if they are aware there are perpetrators walking the streets? *** **** has responded to all his customers on their Facebook page and never responded to mine. This simply shows he does not care about my ****.


******* *****

Business Response:

Please see the attached document that Ms. ***** signed upon dropping her vehicle off with Classic Acura. It proves Ms *****'s first statement false. Classic Acura does care about each and every one of its customers so much that we, out of good faith, told Ms. ***** that we would take care of the necessary repairs to her vehicle on our own expense so she would not have to file an insurance claim. She wanted all carpet, carpet padding, and seats to be replaced in the vehicle because it had been rained in lightly off and on in one window from ~5am-7am. We understand that these measures are not necessary due to how mold grows in a damp environment. It takes roughly 24-48 hours at the earliest for mold to grow. I tried to explain this to Ms. ***** and her witnesses. They disagreed so I tried to prove it with multiple articles such as the following article put out by the governmental agency FEMA, As for the third issue, please note that Ms. ***** is questioning the dealership, that is franchised to sell, lease, and repair Acura's, in our ability to preform a repair correctly. I believe that does not need to be addressed. Classic Acura has and will continue to repair vehicles to the highest standards.

     In regards to her vehicle lurching, I told Ms. ***** that we updated the transmission software and preformed clutch break as per service bulletin 15-021. Please note that this issue has been addressed and fixed as far as Classic Acura is aware of. I explained this to Ms. ***** while she was here. She understood at the time. 

Thank you,

*** ****

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 11127882

I am rejecting this response because:

***, I did not sign the attached document. That is not my signature nor is that my handwriting. This is illegal and I will not tolerate your actions. I have a copy of all the documents I signed from your service managers and I only had to sign the rental agreement. When I handed my car over to Acura on the 25th, ***** wrote about the lurching issue, oil change, and rotating of tires on a different document which is not presented on this fake copy you provided. Now that I have a **** with BBB and wrote a public review, this document magically appears. *****e told my party that she received a call that morning between 1-2 AM about the break in. The window was not taped and pulled off the lot until or after 10 am, leaving my car vulnerable to the weather conditions. If this happened to your car, would you leave it with someone who blatantly told their customer their service manager was lying? You were unwilling to sit down and talk with us because you were going to be late to an advertising meeting? You failed to call me when you promised you would be in contact. This is not a facility I would trust to leave my leased car with, when you were only willing to do minor fixes. I'm responsible for all damages at the end of my contract, not you. 


******* *****

Business Response:

To whom it may concern, 


    Our "customer write ups" are not triplicates like our rental documents that Ms. ***** states to be in possession of. Customers typically do not ask to retain a copy of this authorization at time of inception and Ms. ***** is no exception. I have attached Ms. *****'s signature as a comparison signature from her rental agreement. Upon review, one will find that this signature is the same as the others on the customer write up. Her blatant lies about not signing a document that every single customer must sign when dropping vehicles off for service severely jeopardizes her credibility. 


Thank you, 

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Classic Acura
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)