BBB Accredited Business since

Cecil Atkission Toyota

Phone: (409) 883-8451 Fax: (409) 883-8481 View Additional Phone Numbers 2500 Ih 10 W, Orange, TX 77632 http://www.cecilatkissiontoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cecil Atkission Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cecil Atkission Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cecil Atkission Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 2004 Business started: 04/09/1981 Business started locally: 04/09/1981 Business incorporated 04/09/1981 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Transportation
8350 Eastex Fwy, Beaumont TX 77708
www.dot.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
aharri2@dot.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
John Starnes, General Manager Tyra Boram, Office Manager/Comptroller Thomas Horner, Service Manager Bill McGough, General Sales Manager Jamie Pridemore, General Manager Dana Wheeler, Title Clerk
Contact Information
Principal: John Starnes, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Truck Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Accessories Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Cecil Atkission Motors, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 2500 Ih 10 W

    Orange, TX 77632 (409) 883-8451

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I went there because of a flyer for a sale.i had gone there that afternoon first . Then I went after my wife . The car I had looked at had been sold before I got back . They brought out a Chevy trailblazer. It was getting dark. And we didn't see the sticker on the window. We were rushed in and pressured to buy the car. They asked for a $5400.00 down payment When we got it home my granddaughters father in law noticed there was a sticker on the window ,that said do not sale this vehicle. The transmission was making a bad noice . He checked the oil and found it to be very black. Then they noticed the right side mirror was broke. We took the car back the next morning. I did not want a car in that bad of condition. They said I could pick another car. They kept my downpayment and they just cleared off the bank I do not feel that I owed $5400.00 and they took unfair advantage of a disabled veteran . We spent three days trying to get our money back.

Desired Settlement: They are a very disreputable company and they prey on older seniors

Business Response: We feel that these complaints are unwarranted.  However, we apologize for any miscommunication that could have occurred which might lead to the ****** feeling the way they do.  We traded them out of their first purchase within 3 days and gave full value for that purchase towards a nicer SUV.  We have communicated and feel this case is closed. 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: 10416270

I am rejecting this response because:  If they will fax you the contracts in question you will see that my down payment was not returned.   The car they traded me into was sold for higher than the blue book and not down payment.  The car was a lemon and I have had to repair it.  I would like my down payment of $5,400.00 back.


Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response:

We have compliance issues with faxing or releasing  a customer’s buying information.  I can assure you that we did not keep someone’s $5400.  If the down payment was part of a deal and the finance company bought the contract under those circumstances, then the customer signed an installment agreement and took delivery of the unit.  We actually went through three different transactions with this customer and they were completely aware and satisfied at time of delivery.

 

If the customer wants to provide you with the paperwork, then we will address any issues after viewing their concern.  

I am sorry that the customer has changed their mind again for the fourth time.  They were completely satisfied the last time we had dealings with them.  We can not give a down payment back to a customer when the finance company has funded the agreement.   In this situation, we have been more than accommodating, gracious, and understanding to the customer’s needs and wishes.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *******

General Manager

Cecil Atkission Motors

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10416270

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,they kept my down payment and I will send the contract to show you. They had dealings with me four times on the same vehiclele. I wanted to get my downpayment back.   

***** *****

Business Response: We have done our very best at explaining the transactions to this customer over four different times.  We apologize for the inconvenience this is causing to our customer.  We are 100% confident that the customer understood the transaction and agreed to all terms.  If the customer would like to visit us again, we would gladly meet about this miscommunication and perhaps clear up this challenging situation.  If they choose not to, then we will consider this matter closed.

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My parents went to Cecil Atkisson Toyota, Orange, Texas on February 1, 2014, intending to pick up a prize they had allegedly won. They were conned into purchasing a 2014 Prius in exchange for their 2012 Ltd. Avalon Sedan with only about 12,000 miles on it. My dad is 86 and my mom is 80. They tried to tell the salesman, ****** *********, that they were too old to buy another car. Mr. ********* told them that Toyota had given the dealership $12,000 to help seniors buy a new car. He appealed at first to my dad as someone who wanted only to help senior citizens and especially veterans like my dad. Then he appealed to my dad that he needed to buy it for his wife. In a textbook-like con he ended by making my dad feel guilty, as "he had taken up 6 1/2 hours of the dealership's time and had used up the $12,000" the dealership was to receive. My parents tried to leave several times and my mom kept saying they had not eaten lunch. After 6 hours, they had not had dinner either. They were given one coca cola to share during the 6 or 6 1/2 hours they were there. My mom is diabetic and my dad has malignant hypertension as well as other serious health issues. Also, the deal kept changing. Mr. ********* told them in the beginning that their monthly note would be $700. He eventually brought it down to $455. My dad finally gave in due to the pressure but as my mom wanted her name on the contract too, they were told to come back Monday morning to finalize papers because my mom did not have any id with her. When they were leaving at closing time (7:00 pm) a salesman told them he was following them all the way home to get a copy of her id. He did just that. When dad finally looked at the papers later that night, he realized that his Avalon had been "stolen" and the so-called deal was not at all what he had been told. He had only been given about $1,500 for his Avalon and the notes are almost $700 a month for 48 months! My parents are very vulnerable now in their old age and I am horrified at all that transpired at this dealership. Monday, February 3, 2014 they both went back to the dealership & got there before the store even opened. When they opened Dad went in and told them he did not want to finalize the deal. He was told it was his car now whether he liked it or not. When they tried to leave in their Avalon, employees of Cecil Atkisson Toyota surrounded them with cars and held them against their will. My mom was in hysterics when she called me for help. I called their attorney and the police. By the time the police arrived, they had been talked out of the car and taken to a very cold room (cold causes my mom to have severe pain). They were left by themselves for 30-40 minutes. The management was able to speak with police first and then show them to the back room where my parents were. The manager walked in ahead of the police and slammed a card down on the table and said "As of now this car is yours!" I am appalled at the behavior of this dealership which seems to condone abuse of the elderly. Also, Monday morning before they even left home for the dealership, my dad called Toyota Finance and told them not to finance the car as the deal was not what he had been led to believe. My parents spoke with an attorney and they faxed a Notice of Cancellation to Cecil Atkisson that day. A couple of days later the attorney called me and told me that since my parents are on a fixed income, they did not have the means to fight this deal as it would cost them thousands and thousands of dollars. But she also told me that **** *******, General Sales Manager, was thinking about letting them out of the contract but he wanted to know what the Laroues were going to give to him. My dad talked with Toyota Finance again on Friday, February 7th. Then on Monday, February 10, the deal was "pushed through." My parents are so confused and their health is deteriorating rapidly. I truly hope that someone will give this complaint serious consideration, as this family is very angry at the way my parents have been treated. The Prius is not even close to being the caliber of the Avalon. Any ethical and conscientious dealership would not have forced any car on senior citizens. My dad will be 90 years old trying to pay off a car if he even lives that long. Unfortunately as people find out about what happened, many are coming forth with their own stories of outrageous methods used by Cecil Atkisson Motors. I hope that someone will give this situation due consideration and make this right. By the way, they did not get their "prize" either or any of the other promises made on Saturday evening. Product_Or_Service: 2014 Toyota Prius Account_Number: Deal #XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) My parents are not driving the car. They want the contract on the 2014 Prius rescinded and their 2012 Toyota Avalon returned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/03/17) */ Mr. and Mrs. ****** came in, bought a vehicle, signed a retail installment agreement, signed a power of attorney for payoff of Trade-in. They took delivery of their new vehicle. At no point during their visit did they seem confused or upset. They did return to the dealership after the weekend stating they wanted out of the deal and we were liars. They stated that we forced them to sign and they wanted out. They also stated that they did this "same thing to ****** in Beaumont and they let us out.." We determined that we would honor the signed agreement. **** ******* General Manager Cecil Atkission Toyota of Orange NOTE from the BBB: We have also requested supporting documents from the business. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** ******* did not address the issues listed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2014/04/08) */ We will continue to honor our agreement with this customer. In regards to this case: ****** ****** has NOT been in our store at all. I spoke to her once on the phone. Her name is not on any of the paperwork. She is acting as a third party in this. That being said, here are a few of the summary points we discussed. The customer came back after several days and began lambasting us, calling us liars and cheats, told us we had them sign blank documents. During their tirade, they mentioned that they had done this to another dealer in Beaumont and THAT dealer took the car back. On several of the forms that they said were blank, we are unable to have a signature line printed without the entire document printing. During their visit, we were having a sale and had food and refreshments for all of our customers. Throughout their visit, they switched vehicles several times, they test drove, they visited about personal items, they finally agreed to the terms after negotiations. At no point during their purchase did they show any signs of being uncomfortable. Also, they have lowered their monthly payment by over $40 and have no maintenance cost (due to Toyota's 2 year/25,000 mile free maintenance for all new car purchases) and get a vehicle with MPG rating of over 45. Their traded-in vehicle gets 17 - 23 MPG. ****** ****** is allegedly their daughter and was never involved with this sale at any point other than a third party observer with no real knowledge of the transaction. The trade-in allowance was not $1500.00, but $15,000.00. Let me know if you need further information. At this time, we do not wish to respond or to pursue arbitration. Appreciatively, **** ******* General Manager Cecil Atkission Toyota of Orange 2500 IH 10 West Orange, Texas 77632 Note: BBB has been informed by Cecil Atkission Toyota that they can not provide documentation of transaction without the consent of the customers. Should the customers wish to provide documentation to the BBB for review, please do so by sending by fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In reviewing my parents' copy of the original contract, I noticed the following statement: "THIS CONTRACT IS NOT VALID UNTIL YOU AND WE SIGN IT." It is not signed by Cecil Atkission Motors. Also, according to Cecil Atkission, a "WE OWE" form dated 1-22-14 (week BEFORE ******* even visited car lot) lists the $1,500 Wal-Mart gift card promised to them but underneath it says, "Nothing Further Owed." This form was sent to **** ********* (attorney) and parents picked it up from his office around 3-7-14. It was not part of their original papers. Now my parents have received 3 checks in the mail (not all at the same time) from Cecil Atkission totaling $2,300. Also, on 3-1-14 my mom told me by phone that they had a new "Porsche." To me that sounds very confused, not at all as Mr. ******* represented their demeanor. Plus he evidently did not meet them until Monday, 3-3-14. I also found a newspaper article in the Beaumont Enterprise dated February 13, 2014 stating that Toyota Motor Corp. had issued a "massive global recall of its Prius Hybrid." Could this be one reason Cecil Atkission was so determined to stick my parents with the Prius? **Correction from consumer: I'm sorry but regarding my last submission I used 3-1-14 as date for transaction. I meant 2-1-14 and 2-7-14 instead of 3-7-14 (the day picked up record from **** *********** I also believe Mr. ******* did not actually meet my parents until Monday, February 3, 2014.

11/5/2012 Delivery Issues