BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

Cecil Atkission Toyota

Phone: (409) 883-8451 Fax: (409) 883-8481 View Additional Phone Numbers 2500 Ih 10 W, Orange, TX 77632 http://www.cecilatkissiontoyota.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cecil Atkission Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cecil Atkission Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 30, 2004 Business started: 04/09/1981 Business started locally: 04/09/1981 Business incorporated: 04/09/1981 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Transportation
8350 Eastex Fwy, Beaumont TX 77708
www.dot.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689
aharri2@dot.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
John Starnes, General Manager Tyra Boram, Office Manager/Comptroller Thomas Horner, Service Manager Bill McGough, General Sales Manager Jamie Pridemore, General Manager Dana Wheeler, Title Clerk
Contact Information
Principal: John Starnes, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Truck Dealers Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Accessories Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Cecil Atkission Motors, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 2500 Ih 10 W

    Orange, TX 77632 (409) 883-8451

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 883-8451(Phone)
  • (866) 566-9059(Phone)
  • (866) 979-0197(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My parents went to Cecil Atkisson Toyota, Orange, Texas on February 1, 2014, intending to pick up a prize they had allegedly won. They were conned into purchasing a 2014 Prius in exchange for their 2012 Ltd. Avalon Sedan with only about 12,000 miles on it. My dad is 86 and my mom is 80. They tried to tell the salesman, ****** *********, that they were too old to buy another car. Mr. ********* told them that Toyota had given the dealership $12,000 to help seniors buy a new car. He appealed at first to my dad as someone who wanted only to help senior citizens and especially veterans like my dad. Then he appealed to my dad that he needed to buy it for his wife. In a textbook-like con he ended by making my dad feel guilty, as "he had taken up 6 1/2 hours of the dealership's time and had used up the $12,000" the dealership was to receive. My parents tried to leave several times and my mom kept saying they had not eaten lunch. After 6 hours, they had not had dinner either. They were given one coca cola to share during the 6 or 6 1/2 hours they were there. My mom is diabetic and my dad has malignant hypertension as well as other serious health issues. Also, the deal kept changing. Mr. ********* told them in the beginning that their monthly note would be $700. He eventually brought it down to $455. My dad finally gave in due to the pressure but as my mom wanted her name on the contract too, they were told to come back Monday morning to finalize papers because my mom did not have any id with her. When they were leaving at closing time (7:00 pm) a salesman told them he was following them all the way home to get a copy of her id. He did just that. When dad finally looked at the papers later that night, he realized that his Avalon had been "stolen" and the so-called deal was not at all what he had been told. He had only been given about $1,500 for his Avalon and the notes are almost $700 a month for 48 months! My parents are very vulnerable now in their old age and I am horrified at all that transpired at this dealership. Monday, February 3, 2014 they both went back to the dealership & got there before the store even opened. When they opened Dad went in and told them he did not want to finalize the deal. He was told it was his car now whether he liked it or not. When they tried to leave in their Avalon, employees of Cecil Atkisson Toyota surrounded them with cars and held them against their will. My mom was in hysterics when she called me for help. I called their attorney and the police. By the time the police arrived, they had been talked out of the car and taken to a very cold room (cold causes my mom to have severe pain). They were left by themselves for 30-40 minutes. The management was able to speak with police first and then show them to the back room where my parents were. The manager walked in ahead of the police and slammed a card down on the table and said "As of now this car is yours!" I am appalled at the behavior of this dealership which seems to condone abuse of the elderly. Also, Monday morning before they even left home for the dealership, my dad called Toyota Finance and told them not to finance the car as the deal was not what he had been led to believe. My parents spoke with an attorney and they faxed a Notice of Cancellation to Cecil Atkisson that day. A couple of days later the attorney called me and told me that since my parents are on a fixed income, they did not have the means to fight this deal as it would cost them thousands and thousands of dollars. But she also told me that **** *******, General Sales Manager, was thinking about letting them out of the contract but he wanted to know what the Laroues were going to give to him. My dad talked with Toyota Finance again on Friday, February 7th. Then on Monday, February 10, the deal was "pushed through." My parents are so confused and their health is deteriorating rapidly. I truly hope that someone will give this complaint serious consideration, as this family is very angry at the way my parents have been treated. The Prius is not even close to being the caliber of the Avalon. Any ethical and conscientious dealership would not have forced any car on senior citizens. My dad will be 90 years old trying to pay off a car if he even lives that long. Unfortunately as people find out about what happened, many are coming forth with their own stories of outrageous methods used by Cecil Atkisson Motors. I hope that someone will give this situation due consideration and make this right. By the way, they did not get their "prize" either or any of the other promises made on Saturday evening. Product_Or_Service: 2014 Toyota Prius Account_Number: Deal #XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) My parents are not driving the car. They want the contract on the 2014 Prius rescinded and their 2012 Toyota Avalon returned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/03/17) */ Mr. and Mrs. ****** came in, bought a vehicle, signed a retail installment agreement, signed a power of attorney for payoff of Trade-in. They took delivery of their new vehicle. At no point during their visit did they seem confused or upset. They did return to the dealership after the weekend stating they wanted out of the deal and we were liars. They stated that we forced them to sign and they wanted out. They also stated that they did this "same thing to ****** in Beaumont and they let us out.." We determined that we would honor the signed agreement. **** ******* General Manager Cecil Atkission Toyota of Orange NOTE from the BBB: We have also requested supporting documents from the business. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/03/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** ******* did not address the issues listed. Final Business Response /* (4000, 26, 2014/04/08) */ We will continue to honor our agreement with this customer. In regards to this case: ****** ****** has NOT been in our store at all. I spoke to her once on the phone. Her name is not on any of the paperwork. She is acting as a third party in this. That being said, here are a few of the summary points we discussed. The customer came back after several days and began lambasting us, calling us liars and cheats, told us we had them sign blank documents. During their tirade, they mentioned that they had done this to another dealer in Beaumont and THAT dealer took the car back. On several of the forms that they said were blank, we are unable to have a signature line printed without the entire document printing. During their visit, we were having a sale and had food and refreshments for all of our customers. Throughout their visit, they switched vehicles several times, they test drove, they visited about personal items, they finally agreed to the terms after negotiations. At no point during their purchase did they show any signs of being uncomfortable. Also, they have lowered their monthly payment by over $40 and have no maintenance cost (due to Toyota's 2 year/25,000 mile free maintenance for all new car purchases) and get a vehicle with MPG rating of over 45. Their traded-in vehicle gets 17 - 23 MPG. ****** ****** is allegedly their daughter and was never involved with this sale at any point other than a third party observer with no real knowledge of the transaction. The trade-in allowance was not $1500.00, but $15,000.00. Let me know if you need further information. At this time, we do not wish to respond or to pursue arbitration. Appreciatively, **** ******* General Manager Cecil Atkission Toyota of Orange 2500 IH 10 West Orange, Texas 77632 Note: BBB has been informed by Cecil Atkission Toyota that they can not provide documentation of transaction without the consent of the customers. Should the customers wish to provide documentation to the BBB for review, please do so by sending by fax (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/03/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In reviewing my parents' copy of the original contract, I noticed the following statement: "THIS CONTRACT IS NOT VALID UNTIL YOU AND WE SIGN IT." It is not signed by Cecil Atkission Motors. Also, according to Cecil Atkission, a "WE OWE" form dated 1-22-14 (week BEFORE ******* even visited car lot) lists the $1,500 Wal-Mart gift card promised to them but underneath it says, "Nothing Further Owed." This form was sent to **** ********* (attorney) and parents picked it up from his office around 3-7-14. It was not part of their original papers. Now my parents have received 3 checks in the mail (not all at the same time) from Cecil Atkission totaling $2,300. Also, on 3-1-14 my mom told me by phone that they had a new "Porsche." To me that sounds very confused, not at all as Mr. ******* represented their demeanor. Plus he evidently did not meet them until Monday, 3-3-14. I also found a newspaper article in the Beaumont Enterprise dated February 13, 2014 stating that Toyota Motor Corp. had issued a "massive global recall of its Prius Hybrid." Could this be one reason Cecil Atkission was so determined to stick my parents with the Prius? **Correction from consumer: I'm sorry but regarding my last submission I used 3-1-14 as date for transaction. I meant 2-1-14 and 2-7-14 instead of 3-7-14 (the day picked up record from **** *********** I also believe Mr. ******* did not actually meet my parents until Monday, February 3, 2014.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/5/2012 Delivery Issues
1