BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

Automasters Collision Center, LLC

Phone: (409) 283-6100 Fax: (409) 283-6105 View Additional Phone Numbers 4295 US Highway 69 S, Woodville, TX 75979 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.automasterscollisioncenter.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Automasters Collision Center, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Automasters Collision Center, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 25, 2008 Business started: 01/22/2007 Business started locally: 01/22/2007 Business incorporated: 01/01/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Alex Torres, Owner Deanna Torres, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Alex Torres, Owner
Customer Contact: Deanna Torres, Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Detailing Auto Renting & Leasing Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)


Additional Locations

  • 4295 US Highway 69 S

    Woodville, TX 75979 (409) 283-6100

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 547-2207(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billing on the work completed is unsubstantiated. I took my custom Jeep to have some body work done and "a show room quality" paint job done. I was told it would take 3 weeks. 10 weeks later nothing was completed except the frame. The work completed on tub of the Jeep was so bad that I had to buy a new tub even though I specifically told **** ****** that if it was going to cost more to repair the tub than to replace it to let me know so he didn't put unnecessary work into it. I was never contacted. I kept checking on the progress but nothing was getting done. Finally **** sprayed primer on some of the part to cover the surface rust but they didn't even bother to prime the back of the parts, only the front. I assume this was to make it appear as though work was being done. After I saw the work done to the tub and the terrible job done on the bed liner I decided to pick up the Jeep on 02/07/14 and take it to another body shop. I received a bill for $4,597.31. The itemized bill was ridiculous. Automasters charged more to "prime" small parts than they did to paint the entire frame. We consulted more than one other auto painter and were told that in the hours that they charged to paint the few things they did, they should have been able to paint the ENTIRE vehicle. The bed liner was so bad that bed liner came off with me just pressure washing the tub. We had to pay the bill to get our Jeep from him but I know for a fact that I was severely overcharged for the terrible work. In fact, he damaged so much that that I am having to invest another $6000 just to try and make the Jeep what I had intended it to be. I have documented this results with several pictures. After I picked up the Jeep I went back to try and discuss the bill and the OWNER, **** ******, would not even meet with me. I am more than unsatisfied with the work AND service that we received and will never use this business again.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay a fair price for the good work completed on the frame of the Jeep but I do not feel that the rest of the bill can be backed up with documentation of the hours they claim as paint labor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/18) */ First, I would like to explain that Mr ******'s 1989 Jeep he purchased used had been wrecked, rolled & was rusted in most areas. There was nothing "custom" about it. Mr ****** came to our shop on several occasions asking us to paint his Jeep & what the time frame would be to do so, we advised him that we have to see the vehicle to give him an accurate estimate on time as well as a dollar amount. After discussing the Jeep we advised him that his would be considered a restoration & we are a Collision Repair & Refinish shop not a restoration shop. We advised that a normal scuff & shoot paint job would take around 3 working weeks to do & a restoration job can take months & even years to do. He acknoldged & said time wasn't a problem & to quote Mr ****** "I just want the Jeep out of my yard & in a shop". We made sure he understood that it was a time consuming process & that we are a direct repair facility for over 18 insurance companies & that ALL insurance jobs would come 1st & we would ONLY work on his as time permitted. Be advised that during the time the Jeep was in our shop we had 3 ice/snow storms & the only other shop in town had caught fire so our work load increased. Mr ****** came by the shop & we told him this as well as showed him the progress we were making on his Jeep. Every time he stopped by he added items he wanted done & his scuff & shoot paint job turned into a FRAME up restoration job. We did repairs in the order they needed to be done to do the job properly. When Mr ****** came by & said he wanted to pick up the Jeep & wanted a dollar amount for what we had completed I wrote an itemized estimate for repairs made up to that point for $6342.61. As a courtesy we discounted our labor cost as well as materials cost & charged him $4597.31. He got a substantial discount of $1745.30. Mr ****** paid his bill & was very apologetic & said if we could finish the Jeep in the next week he would leave it with us. We told him that was not an option due to the intense labor involved. Mr ****** at that time told me as well as my office manager that if he had any other work he needed done as far as insurance work on any of his other vehicles that we would get all of his work, at that time we assumed there was not a problem with anything. Then we start getting calls telling us that Mr ****** was going around bad mouthing our shop & saying things that were just NOT true. I have been an active member of the BBB since 2008 & never had a complaint filed on us. I try to assure each customer is satisified because being from a small town "word of mouth" is the best advertisement. Each time Mr ****** came to our shop he added things to be done that increased time as well as monies. He changed the paint scheme he wanted 3 times. His indecisiveness & lack of knowledge of what a frame up restoration en-tales has led to his undoing & dissatisfaction & it is my personal opinion that he will never be "happy" with his repairs. Any & all repairs we completed were AS IS due to the high amount of rust & prior damage. There is no cure for rust & NO shop will ever guarantee it. So in conclusion we are not inclined to give MR ****** any refund on any repairs made by our shop. He was given a substantial discount & we wish him the best of luck with his repairs but from this point forward we will no longer work on any vehicles for Mr ******. We have photos to document repairs made & to substantiate our charges. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 8, 2014/02/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is preposterous.This Jeep was never wrecked and certainly not rolled. I have full knowledge of what is involved in a restoration and I know good and poor work when I see it. This is poor work. Automasters was fully aware of my expectations BEFORE I even dropped off the Jeep and were given detailed lists of what parts I had and what body work/fabrication needed to be done. The statement that the owner stressed that they were not a restoration shop is just false. He was excited to be able to work on this project and I was ensured that they could do the work. The only timeline that was discussed was three weeks. The owner stated that if he wasn't done in 3 weeks to start bugging him about it. There was NEVER any mention of months or years. I understand that Automasters claims that I made changes and changed the paint scheme. The paint changes we made before the Jeep was even close to being ready to paint and did not affect the body work, in fact we were told by the owner AFTER we dropped off the Jeep to come back on a certain day to pick out the paint colors. Suggestions were made by the owner of Automasters to make changes, including the paint scheme because "if his name is on it he wants it done right" and be show quality. I'm disappointed that this is what Automasters considers work "done right". The statement that there is no cure for rust...again we told the shop that if the repairs were going to cost more than a new tub to let me know and I would just order another one that only needed to be painted. Again, I was never contacted. The bedliner was sprayed directly over rust and very poor welding that wasn't even ground to look decent and under the mild pressure of a pressure washer almost all of it came off the tub. Again in response to the time frame, I think Automasters said it all. They worked on insurance work first (which I understands comes first) and we did have ice storms...so how did they log so many hours on this Jeep? I was told that they only worked on my Jeep 3 weekends yet the bill indicates that much more labor went into this. I was never given an estimate in the amount of $6342.61, only a bill when I went to pick up the vehicle. And if I was given a discount, that disappoints me even more that the charges were so outrageous. In the end I have had to actually purchase a different Jeep to be able to use the tub because it was less expensive to purchase a new Jeep versus trying to repair the tub Automaters worked on. Yes I did apologize to the office manager because I know that she does not have control over the situation and since the owner refused to discuss this issue with me in person, she was the one that I had to complain to. There is no need for Automasters to not want to do work for me because there is no chance I would ever bring a vehicle back to them. In fact I bought a gift certificate for a car detail and I'll take my loss on that before I let another vehicle even enter those gates. My Jeep has since been taken to another shop where I know the work will be done right. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/03/07) */ Enclosed are two estimates for Mr. ******. The higher one is the original cost with no discount and the lower one is the one he paid. You can see we gave him a discount on labor rates and materials. We gave him a considerable discount and will not be offering a refund of any amount. The estimates are attached.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

1