BBB Accredited Business since

McClelland Samuel Fehnel & Busch, L.L.P.

Additional Locations

Phone: (409) 899-4900 Fax: (409) 899-1444 View Additional Phone Numbers 4335 Laurel St, Beaumont, TX 77707 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.msfllp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McClelland Samuel Fehnel & Busch, L.L.P. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McClelland Samuel Fehnel & Busch, L.L.P. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McClelland Samuel Fehnel & Busch, L.L.P.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 08, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1952 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1952
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy
3301 Northland Dr Ste 500, Austin TX 78731
www.txbpa.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 305-7800

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Al Fehnel, Partner Chris Busch, Partner Brian McClelland, Partner Jackie Raney, Practice Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Al Fehnel, Partner
Customer Contact: Jackie Raney, Practice Administrator
Business Category

Accountants Tax Return Preparation Offices of Certified Public Accountants (NAICS: 541211)

Alternate Business Names
MSF Financial Advisors, LLP

Additional Locations

  • 4335 Laurel St

    Beaumont, TX 77707 (409) 899-4900

  • PO Box 7570

    Beaumont, TX 77726

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The CPA demanded my tax documents allegedly to file an amended tax return after I had already filed a tax return. A tax refund was promised and stated on the return that I signed and fedexed back to the CPA. When I did not receive a refund I called the office and sent several emails with no satisfactory response. I then asked for a copy of the amended return to be mailed to my address. The CPA refused to comply and instead requested a different address for delivery by fedex. Upon receipt of the alleged copy, I found a different tax return, unsigned with a fake address (ie. Not my address) on page 1 and a typo on page 2. I refused to sign this new document which was accompanied by a cover letter stating that the IRS had no record of the amended return that the CPA claimed to have filed in October 2014. The CPA has yet to file a return using my correct identifying info and thus he is too dishonest to practice as an accountant.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund and I also want this office to stop harassing me for tax documents which are being used for an improper purpose. He shouldn't be allowed to practice.

Business Response:

Response:

Not all facts were included in the consumer’s complaint. It is important to understand that the tax return being referred to is actually a joint tax return for the complainant and her spouse. The complainant and her spouse divorced in 2014 and were in divorce proceedings early in 2014. The complainant is not our client. It is the spouse who engaged us to prepare the tax return in question and he is paying the entire tax preparation fee. Without seeking any professional advice, the complainant filed a 2013 tax return using a married filing separate status which meant the spouse would also be required to file married separate. When the spouse asked us to prepare his 2013 tax return, we discovered that filing married separate would result in him owing substantial taxes but if the complainant’s tax return was amended and they filed married jointly they would instead receive a tax refund. Under the divorce decree it was stated that both spouses would cooperate and file a joint tax return for 2013 with the complainant to receive any resulting refund. We prepared and filed an amended tax return as married jointly. However, recently upon checking the status of the amended tax return with the IRS, we found that it shows the IRS has not received the amended return, which is not our fault. It was at this point when trying to get the complainant to sign a second copy of the amended tax return to file with the IRS that matters became contentious. We did not ask the complainant to sign an amended tax return with a fake address as she alleges. It was simply that the ex-spouse had moved between the time the original amended tax return was prepared and the time we submitted another to the complainant for signature. The ex-spouse had not notified the complainant of his move. Something we were not aware of until later. The complainant's ex-spouse, who is actually our client, is willing to write a letter to you if necessary acknowledging that McClelland Samuel Fehnel & Busch, LLP has not done anything wrong in connection with this matter. The matter of getting a second copy of the amended tax return signed by the complainant has been placed in the hands of both spouses’ divorce attorneys to resolve.

Sent on: 1/12/2015 3:41:41 PM

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10355930

I am rejecting this response because: Obviously if the IRS did not receive the amended return it is the fault of the accountant who should have paid for tracking and obtained proof of delivery, especially since I enquired repeatedly as to the status of the expected tax refund, and also made repeated enquiries to the IRS which showed that no amended return had been filed. Also obvious is the fact that the accountant should have known that if he was placing a different address on yet another version of the amended return, an explanation should have been provided. Ex-spouses do not generally keep in touch with each other and I was not informed that my ex-spouse was residing at a PO Box in Houston Texas. I do not live in Texas and it is extremely annoying to be asked to sign a return with an unknown Texas address on it. Mr. Fehnel has been most insensitive in dealing with the situation and I am tired of being insulted by my ex-husband's accountant who is aware that I had already filed a tax return for 2013. Failure to simply send a second copy to the IRS within 14 days of the mailing the first copy, shows that no method of follow up was used and no form of proof of receipt was obtained or that the amended return was simply never filed with the IRS. I have now had to waste even more time corresponding with an uncooperative accountant regarding a new copy of the amended return that contained spelling errors, and a different "joint address." It is difficult for me to believe that this level of professional negligence is not deliberate and I should be compensated for the ongoing incompetence associated with this accountant.

Sincerely,

***** *****