BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions and Total Car Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmissions and Total Car Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 05, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1963 Business started locally: 01/01/1963
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Val Rayzor, President Dicky Rayzor, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Val Rayzor, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Transmissions - Truck, Tractor Auto Air Conditioning Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign

Alternate Business Names
AAMCO Complete Car Care
Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 3270 Eastex Fwy

    Beaumont, TX 77703 (409) 899-2001

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 291-5023(Phone)
  • (409) 840-4900(Phone)
  • (409) 840-9628(Phone)
  • (409) 840-9106 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I desired to have a brake line repaired shown on the complaint form, which never took place. On 9/10/2013 my vehicle was transported by tow truck from my home to AAMCO for a brake line leak, parking brake cables replaced, speedometer repair and possible battery replacement. On 9/12/2013 the vehicle was delivered to me saying all repairs have been made. Without looking at the vehicle i drove it around for about two or three days and parked it. On 9/19/13 I intended on driving the vehicle to Port Arthur, TX for a test at Lamar. While checking my fluids i noticed the brake fluid was almost empty or empty, without thinking i drove the vehicle back to AAMCO to address the problem. The technician came back and said the fluid was low and filled it. I brought to the attention of the owner the fact that a proper inspection was not conducted. When the vehicle was received a proper inspection should have caught the low brake fluid in the first place. In my opinion i think the tech didn't check the fluid at all, plus they completely overlooked the fact my first statement was the brake line issue. I drove an unsafe vehicle around and didn't know it. After the fluid was put in the vehicle i pressed the brake pedal 15 times to let the fluid circulate and behold fluid started shooting out of the line. How the brakes was working before that point still baffles me, by gods grace they didn't fail and cause me to wreck the vehicle. The vehicle is 91 ford mustang the invoice number is XXXXXX of AAMCO. As a medically retired soldier of 15 and half years i never seen this type of neglect. The owner could have offered to fix the vehicle for free or discounted price. I'm partially to blame for not doing my due diligence and checking the work but after not driving my car for two months i was excited to have a reliable mode of transportation. Now im stuck with no vehicle. In addition the guy at the front desk told me the speedometer didn't work because of gears inside the speedometer itself, and i was told today it was a gear inside the transmission. He told me two days in a row he was getting quotes for the parts in which he never called. Also the fact they left out telling me about the additional parking brake part that was needed, the tech stated that another cable was stretched and couldn't be adjusted further without being replaced. The lack of communication between the front desk and the techs need to vastly improve.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of 62.50 for the towing fee and partial fee for the speedometer which was never fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/10/07) */ Vehicle was towed and checked in on 9/10/2013. Customers original concern was broken brake line, parking brake cable needs replaced, and speedometer inop, battery dead. Initial check of the vehicle showed parking brake cables seized up, and no speedometer operation, and no brake fluid leaks. Customer approved replacing parking brake cables (supplied by customer), and time to remove the speed sensor at the transmission to determine cause of no speedometer, brake fluid checked as needing service soon and no brake lines leaking although there was rust on the entire underside of the vehicle. After removing the speed sensor from the transmission the speedometer cable and the speedometer in the instrument cluster were found to be good with the problem being in the speed sensor and drive gear whick is on the rear shaft of the transmission. Due to the age of the vehicle it was difficult to locate the needed parts for the speed sensor and drive gear. The customer did not approve the speedometer repair and never questioned our not recommending any brake line replacement. All repairs were completed as approved and a final check and drive was performed and the vehcile was released to the customer on 9/12/2013. Customer called on 9/19/2013, one week later, and asked if we could check his brake fluid. After customer drove vehicle to our shop and brake fluid was checked and found low in the resivour. Resivour was topped off and vehicle was placed on a lift and found a brake line now leaking. Due to undercar rust I made the recommendation to replace all brake lines, fuel lines , and front parking brake cable. Customer declined the repair and said he wanted his vehicle towed to his house which we did at no charge. I have no proble refunding the customer $62.50 for the tow to our shop for the original repair. The charge for the speedometer was to determine the cause of its failure and he declined the repair so there should have been no expectation it would have been repaired.

7/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service