BBB Accredited Business since

All-Tex Waste Water Services

Phone: (409) 246-4739 Fax: (409) 246-3489 View Additional Phone Numbers 2764 Rea Rd, Kountze, TX 77625


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All-Tex Waste Water Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for All-Tex Waste Water Services include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All-Tex Waste Water Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 18, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

http://www.tceq.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 239-1000

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners

http://www.tsbpe.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 458-2145

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Cliff Chambers, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Cliff Chambers, Owner
Business Category

Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Septic Tank and Related Services (NAICS: 562991)


Additional Locations

  • 2764 Rea Rd

    Kountze, TX 77625 (409) 246-4739 (409) 782-0669

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint against All-Tex Waste Water Services and owner ***** ******** This complaint against All-Tex Waste Water Services and owner ***** ******** is quite lengthy. That is because it deals with two closely linked incidents. After the first one, I seriously considered writing at least a caution to current and potential customers of All-Tex. However, last month I convinced myself that perhaps some of the problems might have been a misunderstanding. As of today (February 5, 2016) there I feel there is no misunderstanding. It now appears that negligence, breach of contract, overcharging, and outright lieing seem to be the order of business. For that reason I have attempted to document all that occurred so readers can draw their own conclusions. We became All-Tex Waste Water Services customers in March, 2015 when our previous septic tank company ceased to operate. Our $263 contract called for three inspections over the year and they would provide chlorine tablets (I paid $44 extra for them to provide the tablets). I had the first inspection in May, 2015, and apparently nothing after that. Then, my septic tank alarm went off after 11:00 pm on January 5, 2016, the night before we had to go out of town. I was able to reset the alarm then and called it in to their answering service the following morning as a caution and to ask that they look at it soon. Then the alarm went off an hour later because of our showers so I called to state that the alarm went off again and it could not be reset. The owner, ***** ********, of All-Tex called back soon, just before we left. I described the problem and told him we were All-Tex service customers but I didn’t know that anyone had been to our house since the previous May. He said he was tied up but would try to make it out that evening. I tried to call in the evening (6:51pm) to get the status of my system, but *****’s voice mail was full (a permanent condition) and I couldn’t leave a message. So, I texted him to find out how things went. He said it got dark on him and he would be back at 7:30 am to find out what the problem was. (It wasn’t clear to me whether he went to the house and it got too dark or he didn’t go because it got too dark.) Because I had two black labs which are penned during the day but are free to roam our fenced yard at night, they would still be loose at 7:30 am and I texted him to be careful not to let them out of gate when he got there at 7:30. Our housekeeper would pen them up when she arrived after 8:00 am. After 9:00, I texted ***** to let him know that he didn’t need to worry about the dogs escaping since the housekeeper had penned them up. A little later ***** texted me asking how to get in the gate, I told him the obvious thing – Press the Button. He responded that he must have been at a neighbor’s house the prior night (??). Because he needed access to our breaker box, I had our housekeeper return around 11:00 to open the garage door. We got no status from ***** and my wife texted ***** at 3:45 to find out the status of our repairs. We wanted to know this so that we would know what to tell the housekeeper who would be returning to release the dogs from their pen and close the garage door. He said he had to run back to get a ¾ hp pump since he only had a ½ hp pump. When asked for a time estimate, he said he was about to leave Vidor, but with the traffic it might be about 5:00. After some more text discussion we decided darkness would occur about the same time and he should defer until the following morning. At 10:32 am on Friday, January 8, he texted that we were all fixed up and his service guy had arrived so they would do the maintenance. He said that the pump tank needed to be pumped out after we returned. What a hassle, but it was a relief that all was (supposedly) well. We returned home late on Sunday, and since there had been heavy rains while we were gone, I did not try to have my tanked pumped out immediately. Then, at 11:30 pm on Tuesday – almost exactly 7 days from my first alarm, our septic tank alarm went off and would not shut off at all. I immediately sent ***** a text to alert him of the situation. He texted before 7:00 am that he would bring a truck to pump out the tank. I saw him arriving and went around one side of the house to guide him on the best route to the septic tank. He didn’t appear with the truck. Instead, he walked directly to the septic tank and pulled the aerator before I got there and declared it bad (I’m not sure what that was based on.) Then he pumped out the gray water tank. At my wife’s suggestion, he checked to see if the sprinklers were operational. They weren’t and they had to be cleared. It looked like the pump wasn’t working, so ***** said he would get a new pump since it was covered by a warranty. He left the pump tank cover off while he went to get the new pump. We expected him to return soon. At 12:44 pm, I texted for an estimate of when he would return with the new pump and aerator and whether we could use the water in the house. Since there was no response, my wife resent the same request for a time estimate at 3:43 pm. He said he was on the way. Then my wife noticed that water was heavily splashing out of the pump tank. So apparently the pump had “healed” itself. It might have been an air-lock an air-lock ***** said. Perhaps? So ***** arrived and replaced the aerator (after scavenging the bracket and wiring harness from my old aerator) and pointing out that the bracket feet were badly rusted. Just as it was getting dark, the sprinkler fields were cleared again. I felt that, other than the rusty bracket, at least everything was OK. And so, as the sun was sinking in the west, instead of leaving, ***** appeared at the door with his invoice for which he wanted a check for $2,022.93. Talk about sticker shock!! I wasn’t going to write a check right then and asked if he could take a credit card. He didn’t think so, but he would check with his office manager on the following day. He did that, and said that a credit card would not be acceptable. I had asked him earlier to what extent he felt that his lack of maintenance had caused the problems we encountered. Now I asked how much he could knock off the bill because he had failed to maintain the system. I also pointed out that I had checked prices on the internet for the same aerator and they were half what he was charging (and those had brackets). He said that he might be able to reduce the cost by $75 for the maintenance failure, but he couldn’t come down on the cost of the aerator. He said if I did not want the aerator he could come and get it and take it off the invoice. With the $75 deduction, my cost would be $1,947.93 AND he would give me a new service policy. I texted that I was thinking and would get back with him. ***** responded that he was sorry that he didn’t let me know the cost before he installed it, and that he didn’t mind taking it off – he would “eat it.” Meanwhile, I called the wholesale supply store in Vidor about ¾ hp pumps; they said they almost never sell them except for very large sprinkler fields; everyone uses ½ hp. I called a number of other septic tank service companies and got some feedback that the aerator that was installed shouldn’t have cost that much and it wouldn’t hold up as well as the one for my system. I told one of them that I would rather go with them and that, since I was going to have All-Tex come take the aerator back, I would start over with them. A couple of hours later, ***** texted to find out what I had decided. Having thought it over, I texted ***** at All-Tex and told him I was going to take him up on his offer to take the aerator and reduce the bill accordingly. I asked with any other adjustments, what the new invoice price would be. Needless to say he was not happy, and told me to pay him what I wanted. I told him I also was not happy but I would pay for the overrated ¾ hp pump which was more than I had before or needed, and would pay for the pump-out service, and the 4 new (?) sprinkler heads, and the trip charge, and the labor. I also texted ***** to ask if he had cleaned the filter in the middle tank. He said he did. The only thing I would not pay for was the aerator, so again ***** said, “I am not taking it out, so just pay what you want on it.” So I did. I wrote ***** a check for $1,098.90 on January 15, and he picked it up the following evening. He offered me a free service contract for the coming year. I turned him down. I was not pleased with this whole situation and considered writing a BBB complaint, but decided not to. BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE. I called back the new septic tank service company and told the manager that I did want to engage them for a service contract, but that I would not need the aerator we had discussed at this time; I would just run this one till it died. BUT I did want his company to come out to my house and perform the initial service now. He said he would come out when the tech came out. Great!! So we set up a day when they could come out and when both my wife and I could be here too. Today February 5, was that day. A day of revelation!! Not to go into too great of detail, as the covers were removed we found: 1. There was no aerator. It had been removed (including my bracket and the alarm system was turned off.) Because the aerator was gone and the alarm was off and I wasn’t informed it was gone, I could have burned out my pump without knowing it. 2. When my pump was pulled out, it was a 1/2hp pump!! Does that mean ***** never installed a ¾ hp pump or that he swapped it out when he retrieved the aerator? Don’t know that it makes much difference whether it is fraud or theft. 3. There were only 3 chlorine tablets in the chlorinator. The new crew said they start with 8 tablets. There is no way the other tablets would have dissolved in less than a month between services! 4. When the filter ***** said they cleaned as part of the maintenance was removed it was super filthy and took a lot of effort to clean. 5. As part of my education today, I learned that when you pump out a system, the last tank in line is the least important. It is best if the trash tank, the aerator tank, and the filter tank also be pumped out. In fairness, ***** said that the trash tank might need to be pumped, but since it would entail digging up the yard and it didn’t seem that important we opted not to. However, that doesn’t explain why he didn’t pump out both the filter tank and aerator tank since they were open. I realize this is a long complaint, but I felt it necessary to set out the details before I accuse someone of incompetence, negligence, deception, deceit, fraud, and generally poor business practices. I know of no other way to characterize my treatment. Also, I need to investigate if there are any state agencies to whom this report should be sent. The above does not address my nagging feeling that (1) perhaps my first pump was not really bad but was simply stopped up or (2) that the aerator was not really bad, just the pump was stopped up again, or (3) that I really did need yet another sprinkler in the front yard. Given that the All-Tex maintenance report for January 8, 2016 said everything was OK, things surely turned awfully bad in less than a week. What does the reader believe?

Desired Settlement: The business does not perform work satisfactorily and the owner lies about the charges. The current or potential users of All-Tex Waste Water Services should be aware of the incompetence and deceptive practices of this company. As a settlement I believe I am entitled to the difference between the cost of the 1/2 hp pump that was installed and the 3/4 hp pump that was billed. Also, since only two of the three inspections were performed (and poorly at that) I feel I should be awarded one third of the contract cost of $263. Furthermore, since only half the number of chlorine tablets was put in the chlorinator last month I would like to be refunded half of one inspections cost for chlorine tablets. This comes to: (1) $??? off of the $589.30 cost billed for the 3/4 hp pump that was not installed, (2) $87.67 for the inspection that was paid for and not performed under the contract, and (3) $7.33 for the tablets not provided with the last inspection. This comes to $95.00 plus the difference in the cost of the pump that was installed and the pump that was billed. I am not sure is this is a health issue and whether it may be necessary to notify the appropriate state agency.

Business Response:

We would like to apologize for any confusion or frustration the consumer has experienced, it is our intent to please customers and not disappoint.

We did not charge nor install a 3/4 hp pump for this customer. Originally that was the plan however after discussion with the pump wholesaler it was determined that the system would work properly with a smaller pump. We installed and charged the customer for a 1/2 hp pump, the serial number and price on the invoice match a 1/2 hp pump. Therefore we will not be able to refund any money on the pump.

As for the chlorine tablets, it is our standard practice to put three chlorine tablets in the system. If you put too many tablets in the tube they will become mushy and will not work properly. We do not want the consumer to be dissatisfied so we are willing to refund the $7.33 as requested. We are also more than happy to refund $87.67 for the inspection the consumer did not receive under his maintenance contract.

Again we would like to apologize for any confusion and are hopeful that this settlement is satisfactory to the consumer.

 

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 11127993

 

I have reviewed Mr. ********’ offer of settlement, and have the following comments:

1.      He offered to refund a total of $95.00 for inspections not performed and chlorine tablets not supplied.  That would be fair.

2.      He mentioned that he uses three chlorine tablets per inspection.  That’s only nine tablets a year which could cost him less than $14.  He charges his customers $44 per year.  That’s good business – for him.

3.      I would expect an experienced wastewater service operator to recognize that a ½ hp pump is standard for most residential systems and, since a ½ hp pump was being replaced, it shouldn’t require a wholesaler to     convince him the ¾ hp pump was not necessary. 
            I know the pump that was installed was a ½ hp pump. 
            I also know the entry on the invoice is “1 Franklin ¾ hp pump S/N# 348016 $589.30”.
           Mr. ******** states that the price and serial number on the invoice match a ½ hp pump.  Well, maybe or maybe not. 
          I spoke with Franklin Electric, who manufactures pumps, and they say their serial numbers do not distinguish between ½ hp and ¾ hp pumps and are 10 digits long, not six.
Therefore, I remain skeptical that the invoice entry is correct.

4.      Mr. ******** did not address at all the most disturbing thing about his behavior.  That is returning to my property and removing the aerator which he said he could not and would not take out.  I would not object to him taking the aerator itself. However, I most certainly do object to the fact that he would remove it and turn off the aerator alarm and not have the courtesy to tell me he had done so.  Had I not arranged for an immediate follow-up inspection by a more capable firm, I might not have learned that I had no aerator in my system until May or June, if it did not fail sooner.  That is unacceptable.

Consequently, despite the $95 which I feel I am owed, I cannot accept this settlement.

Business Response: Once again we would like to issue an apology to the consumer. We strive to provide excellent service and want our customers to be satisfied.

1. We are able to issue a $95.00 refund as requested by the consumer.

2. As mentioned before, we use three chlorine tablets in the system in order to keep it functioning properly. If too many tablets are placed in the tube they will become mushy and not serve their purpose. We do this in an effort to keep the system performing properly and not for any other reason.

3. Upon removing the bad pump from the consumer's system, ***** noticed that it was longer than the usual 1/2 hp pump we typically use on a residential unit. It was also a different brand than we typically use. ***** assumed because of the size of the pump it was a 3/4 hp pump. He consulted with the wholesaler about the sizing only to later see that the pump removed was actually 1/2 hp. ***** has 15 years of experience and prides himself on honesty and integrity. He consulted with the wholesaler because he thought he removed a 3/4 hp pump originally and didn't want to replace it with something that wouldn't work properly. He did this in an effort to provide satisfactory service for the consumer. We apologize if this caused any confusion. The consumer was charged for a 1/2 hp pump and received a 1/2 hp pump.

4. As for removal of the aerator from the system. We did remove our aerator from the system, as the consumer did not pay for the aerator and instructed us to do so via text message. ***** said he "would not" and "could not" take the amount out of the invoice not that he would not retrieve the aerator that was not paid for. We apologize if there was a miscommunication through text message. We did however call the consumer before arriving to remove the aerator to let him know however there was no answer. We assumed this would not be a problem as the consumer already told us to come get it. As for the alarm- we did not silence the alarm, if the alarm did not go off then it must be malfunctioning.

The accusations made against ***** go against everything our business stands for and we assure you they are invalid. We apologize for the miscommunication that has occurred and are hopeful that the consumer finds this response satisfactory. We are proud of our business and the service we provide and want to continue satisfying our customers!

Consumer Response:


Complaint: 11127993

I am rejecting this response because:

The business responded to four items.  Two are OK and two decidedly are not.

1.      No issue with Item #1

2.      No comment on Item # 2.  I didn’t challenge his statement that only 9 tablets is enough for one year (even though other companies use more).  Only that $44 is steep for so small a number of tablets.

3.      Item #3 is wholly unbelievable.  I was there when my new wastewater company pulled the pump out and they instantly identified it as a ½ hp pump.  Mr. ******** also did not address why he wrote on the invoice that it was a ¾ hp pump, with a bogus serial number.

4.      Item #4.  There was no answer.”  Really!!!  We have an answer machine, but received no message – it comes on after the 2nd ring.  For something as important as this, I would think a second call to the home, or a call to my cell phone, or a text message might be in order.  (Assuming there ever was an attempt to let me know the aerator was gone.)  The claim that the alarm was malfunctioning is weak: that alarm was the reason that we called out All-Tex two times.  Neither my wife nor I turned off the alarm, and my new company pointed out that it was off immediately on looking in the control box.

I do not believe we are making progress on this complaint.

Sincerely,
******* ********

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All tex installed a new sewer system at my home and left my yard a mess. Now they will not return my calls or address the issue. All tex has hired to install a new sewer system at my home. They came and started the work and were very slow to finish however I was fine with that as long as they completed the project and put my yard back together. Well come to find out the first set of lines they laid were put in the wrong spot so those had to be dug up and they had to dig up the rest of my yard to lay it in the correct place to pass inspection. Throughout the job they were instructed over and over to make sure they put the yard back the way they found it. I know grass would be missing but I just wanted a level yard. They finished laying all the lines and covered everything up and left my yard a complete wreck. I have called them several times to tell them they need to come back out to fix my yard and finally they agreed to come back out and look. That was a week ago and no one, of course, ever showed. I have huge ruts in my yard because of their equipment, the ground is completely unlevel, piles of dirt in places that they didn't spread, and chips out of my driveway were they were digging and missed the dirt and hit my driveway. They even left ruts in the lot next to me that isn't even my property. This company is completely unprofessional, unwilling to correct the horrible job they did, and at this point even unwilling to take my calls. If they don't want to come out and fix my yard then I will demand payment so I can have a professional do so. Because they clearly are not professionals. I have several pictures of my yard and damages to my driveway that I can provide.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a nice level yard and All Tex to correct the ruts in my yard and damages to my driveway. However, if they feel like they can not correct these issues I will seek payment so that I can hire a professional to level my yard and repair the damages. I have images I can provide of the yard and damages.

Business Response: I've had two different waste water companies take a look at this (*** *********** and ***** ***********) and they both said it was better than what they would've done.

It says in my contract that we are not landscapers. We were contracted to do this job through ***** ***********, we didn't go through the consumer. ***** *********** was pleased with the work.

***** ************* ********, Owner

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, *** and ***** ********** is one in the same. And I have spoken with *****, who sold me the home, and *** *****, the owner of *****/ *** Wastewater. Both men are very upset with the service I received and the way my yard was left. So the comments of them being happy is a complete lie. I can provide contact information for both men. I know for a fact that on one occasion *** contacted ***** about my job and *** let ***** know how unhappy he was with his work. I also know that *** said he would be contacting ***** again after reading him *****'s response to this matter.

I understand they are not landscapes but the way my yard was left is completely unacceptable. There was damage to my driveway and ruts left in my yard.

Business Response: Mr. ******** is trying to work with Ms. *****; he is going out this week to talk with her on this matter.

Enclosed you will find the proposal sheet which explains what is covered and what is not. I have highlighted the part that this complaint is about.

Sincerely,
***** ********
All-Tex Wastewater Services


Update 7/10/14

RE: Case #90072162

On case listed above I have made 3 attempts to get with Ms ***** and left cards for her to contact me to set up appointment to try to come to some type of resolution. She has yet to return my calls.

Sincerely,
***** ********
All-Tex Wastewater Services

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** ***** **** Vista Crystal Beach, TX XXXXX I find it difficult to understand how this system had to be pumped out after three years of use every other weekend, during the beach season when my home system has been in service for 13 years and has not had to be pumped out yet. I have called your answering service several times but no one returns my call. I would like to discuss this with you as well as how your service man inspects my blower motor without a ladder. I do not understand how you can pump a tank out without removing the lid and or grass around it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the pump out ticket, with the operator's name, date and time tank was pumped. I did not give you authorization to pump my tank, and I want you to know if I continue to use your service you do not have my permission to perform any other maintenance without my consent. Please call me, XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/02/12) */ On February 12, 2013, Mrs ***** called in to have a tech come out because the system was not working correctly. When the tech arrived at **** Vista the system was overflowing. The tech back washed the systems pump tank, cleaned and replaced the spin filters. System was then back up and working correctly. This is a misunderstanding on Mr ***** because there was not a pump truck involved, just the wording was incorrect. When a pump tank is pumped out it is back washed getting all the sludge out of the pup tank. I have tried to contact Mr ***** and have left messages for a return call but as of this date he has not returned my calls. The only charge was for labor and fuel. Sincerely, ***** ******** All-Tex Wastewater Services


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on All-Tex Waste Water Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)