BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Industrial Safety Training Council meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Industrial Safety Training Council include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Industrial Safety Training Council
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 18, 1998 Business started: 08/20/1994 Business started locally: 08/20/1994
Business Management
Patty Collins, Interim President/CEO Andrea Bernard, Accounting Camille` Philp, Accounts Payable Robert Reynolds, Lead Multimedia Developer Darci Simpson, Communications Coordinator
Contact Information
Principal: Patty Collins, Interim President/CEO
Business Category

Safety Consultants Environmental & Ecological Services Environmental Consulting Services (NAICS: 541620)

Alternate Business Names
ISTC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3166 Decker Dr

    Baytown, TX 77520 (281) 421-0459

  • 324 N Memorial Fwy

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 724-2565

  • 600 Marina St

    Beaumont, TX 77703 (409) 833-2378

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was required to receive safety training for a specific job through ISTC. Upon registering, I was given tho prion of using my SSN or passport as primary identification. When I arrived to the office for training, they refused my passport and would not let me register without using my SSN. Even after pointing out it was illegal, the manager refused my request.

Desired Settlement: In addition to changing the policy, I would like confirmation and verification that my personal information (I.e. SSN) is removed from all of ISTC files and databases.

Business Response:

The requirement of a trainee to supply their social security number is established by the facility the trainee seeks to enter, not ISTC.  The social security number verification is an essential step in establishing the identity of the trainee.  ISTC can conduct training without a social security number if the facility the trainee seeks to enter issues a waiver.    This individual was informed on arrival that they had the option of supplying their passport and receiving non-reciprocal training (non-certified) provided the facility the individual sought to enter would approve the request.  He chose instead voluntarily to supply his social security number. 

 

A requirement that a trainee supply their social security number is not illegal.  They have the absolute right to refuse.  ISTC collects the social security number consistent with the laws of all 50 states.  Our records indicate that Mr. ****** was from New Jersey.  We have previously had customers who are under a misimpression that New Jersey law prohibits this type of request.  Our research indicates that it does not.  The ISTC process is consistent with New Jersey law. 

 

In connection with the delivery of a specific facility’s training program, the retention of the social security number in connection with the certification that that training was received by the individual is mandated by the facility and ISTC cannot remove the record without specifically informing the facility, probably invalidating the ability of the individual to work in that facility.  Without agreeing to do so, we would be happy to review the status of the record if the individual confirms they no longer are working and do not wish to work in the future in the facility in question.

 

If you have any questions or need further information, please feel free to contact me.

 

*****

 

 

***** *******, PHR, CAE

Vice President Operations - Nederland

ISTC

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: 10174748

I am rejecting this response because: at the time that I registered, I selected my passport number as my primary form of identification.  I had my passport with me at the time of registration at the facility and presented my passport to the clerk at the counter.  The clerk and manager refused my passport and I commented that that was one of the options for identification.  The manager then told me they only use the passport for non-US residents and required that I provide my passport.  I refused again and requested they use my passport.  I cited that it was illegal to require the SSN.  The manager told me I must provide my SSN to register and that if I had any complaints, I needed to take it up with client they were working for.  I disagree with this statement.  They had a posted list of identification options on the wall and I had my passport with me.  I presented the clerk with my passport and they refused to register me without providing my SSN.  

Regardless of the companies response, this was the treatment I received.  I did not have any time to persue this matter on-site because the training course was all day and I needed to be at the Plant the next day.  If I had felt that there was an alternative option to leave and return at a later date, I would have. 

Sincerely,

***** ******