BBB Accredited Business since

Byron's RV Repair LLC

Phone: (409) 794-2243 View Additional Phone Numbers 19733 Fm 365 Rd, Beaumont, TX 77705 http://www.byronsrvrepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Byron's RV Repair LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Byron's RV Repair LLC include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Byron's RV Repair LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Byron's RV Repair LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 2009 Business started: 07/12/2007 Business started locally: 07/12/2007 Business incorporated 01/28/2010 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Kathy Barge, Owner Byron Barge, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Kathy Barge, Owner
Business Category

Recreational Vehicles - Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 19733 Fm 365 Rd

    Beaumont, TX 77705 (409) 550-3240 (409) 794-2243

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RV –Refrigerator Drama 03/11/2015 Called Warranty Company to let them know Ice Box had went out was advised to find a certified RV technician that does warranty work to come look at it. I contacted Byron’s RV Repair, LLC, 19733 FM 365, Beaumont, TX 77705 (409-794-2243), He came out on 03/12/2015 and took a look and said the cooling unit had gone out. The Warranty Company was contacted again to appove the work and after their approval Byron’s came back out on 03/15/2015 to make the repair. During the coarse of making this repair they dented the Refrigerator Door, Scratched My Drawer badly and facing on the trim work of kitchen. My husband was home during this time and he said Byron himself apologized profusely and promised to order a new door and a new cabinet door to replace the damage they did. On 03/16/2015 I called Byron’s office to let them know that my icemaker that was working before they took out the refrigerator was no longer working. On 03/18/2015 my husband had already went back out on the road as he is a truck driver received a call from Byron’s office and was told by the lady that all parts were in and they would come fix the damage and check out the icemaker on 03/19/2015. 03/19/2015- I took off work to go meet and let them in they did not show up intil approx 03:30PM. Byron knocked on the door came in flipped the switch down on the icemaker and went around back of trailer to look and something he came back stuck his head in my door and said if its not making ice in about 30 minutes call me. I said wait a minute I was told that you were coming to fix my door and replace cabinet that was torn up. He said oh no those parts have not came in yet. I told him that his lady in his office called my husband said they were in and that you would be fixing it today. He said sorry for the confusion but they are not in yet I will be back to fix it when they come in. I said and by the way I had the switch flipped off on the icemaker because there was no water coming into the icemaker and I did not want to take a chance in damaging it. I told him I am not a repairman but in all my years of living I did know it takes water to make Ice. He said well give it a few minutes and call me if it doesn’t do anything. I left it alone for about and hour nothing happened so I called his personal cell number as directed someone named ***** answered and I told him Icemaker was still not working, ***** said he would tell Byron and have him call me right back. I never received a returned phone call. 03/23/2015 My huband called the main office number and spoke to the lady to advise her still no icemaker working and why had she told him parts were in and things were going to be fixed on 03/19/2015. Basically was told same thing she would tell Byron and sorry for mix up on parts. 04/01/2015 My husband received a call stating they would be out 04/02/2015 to fix icemaker and make all other repairs. I took off work @ 1:00pm again to go meet them I waited until around 03:30pm and called Byron’s Office to see where they were. I was told at that time they were on their way that they had gotten stuck on a previous job and should be a my house in a few minutes. At 4:15pm I called the Office again and spoke to the lady this time I was told that they were not going to make it to Crystal Beach today and would have to reschedule. I did become upset and ask her when she plan on letting me know this and told her this was poor business practice. I explained to her that everytime they come out I have to take off work. I had just hung up from speaking to this lady and my Daughter and Son in law pulled up and said Byron’s repair van was just pulling out of the RV Park about 1 block away and they stopped and ask them if they were on their way to my house and ***** told her no that the lady in the office had called and cancelled the appointment, my daughter said no my Mother took off work and is waiting for you. He told my Daughter he was sorry but it had been cancelled by the lady in the office. I called again immediately and spoke to the lady in the office and I told her at that time there was two kinds of people in this world that makes me irate and one was a thief and the other a liar and she had just been caught red handed lying to me. I told her there had better be someone at my house to make the repairs the next day 04/02/2015. 04/02/2015- ***** and someother guy showed up they installed a new icemaker and I explained to this man that the icemaker was not bad that it was working before they took my refrigerator out to make repairs that it had not worked since they put it back in. He said they were going to put in the new one anyway. They put in the new one and it did not work either. He said it was either a cellanoid or wiring problem and they did not have the parts on the truck so they would have to come another day. I said I was told you would also fixing my refrigerator door and cabinet door today and I was told by ***** that none of this stuff had came in yet. I said no that’s not correct because the lady in your office called my husband and said it had all came in. He called the lady in the office and she told him the door came in but the door they ordered came in damaged also and they had to reorder it agsain and the cabinet door had not came in at all. I explained to ***** that I was tired of getting the run around and being lied to. I told him I just want my suff fixed that you guys tore up. He said he was one of the guys there the day all the damage was done and he knew how I felt and was sorry they would get it fixed. My Son-In Law **** ***** was here and heard all conversations that took place this day. In the interim since 04/02/2015 either my self or my husband called the Office or Byron on a daily basis and we continually get the run around. We will see when we can get you on the schedule and call you back or we will talk to Byron and call you back and they NEVER return the calls. Finally on 04/29/2016 my husband called and was told they would be at the house on 04/30/2015 to make all repairs. At about 03:30pm they still had not shown up and my husband called Byrons cell and he told him they were on another job and would definitely be coming. At 07:21pm they were again another no show so I texted Byron myself (Still Have the Text on my phone) I said this is ***** ******* I was promised by you that you would be here its now 07:21pm where are you? The reply I got was I am still working Mrs. *******, I am sorry that it is 07:30 but think how I feel Ive been working since 7 this morning. Im on job number 8 and have 4 more including you. I havent forgotten about you. Thank you for your patience, Signed Byron. I texted back saying Im sorry Im not trying to be ugly by no means but this has been going on for how long now and I know the dent in my icebox was an accident but this is my home and it makes me sick to look at it everyday knowing that we paid $80,000 for this trailer and its looks like a piece of crap. Not only that I have been without an icemaker since the day you guys fixed the refrigerator. (His Reply Back)> Im sorry for the inconvienience, we will get you fixed up. At 07:59 I text him and ask him if we were not looking at the next day for him to show up but did not receive a reply. Since then we have again called and texted and keep getting told that they would call have Byron call us back and he never has. On 05/05/2015 I texted Byron telling him this has been drug out long enough I need to know when you are going to fix my trailer and got no reply. My husband and I have both have tried calling the office and it goes to voice mail and Byrons voice mail is full you cannot leave a message and he will not reply to text. Effecitve 05/06/2015 my refrigerator has went out again and I have lost a substancial amount of food. We again tried calling and it just goes to voice mail as it appears they are now avoiding our calls. I called the Warranty Company and told them what was going on and they said the part that Byron’s replaced was under warranty through the company Byron’s bought the part from and it was Byron’s RV’s responsibilty to fix it. So now we have an Refrigerator that does not work and icemaker that does not work, a refrigertor door that is dented to high heavens and a cabinet door and trim that is scratched badly and they will not make good on their work. I want all these repairs made and my home fixed as promsied.

Desired Settlement: We want all items that were torn by these people repaired and my refrigerator fixed that has went out again same problem they supposedly fixed to begin with and We need it done in a timely manner as this is our home and We have lost food now twice and We are currently having to live without an icebox. This is not just like you can got out and purchase a new refrigerator ourselves and install.

Business Response:

The refer. cooling unit was replaced.  Client is correct on dent on refer. door, scratched drawer facing. Drawer facing was ordered and was given to customer as requested by Mrs. ****** to be placed in man cave Prior to this claim.  Customer has called may times, parts were ordered waiting manufacture and parts being sent.  We have had contact with Mr. and Mrs. ****** prior to this claim and they were aware of these problems with ordering.  Byron's RV was contacted by Mr. and Mrs. ****** due to the issue again with this refer on.  Byron went out 05/08/15 and discovered that the new cooling unit that was replaced was clogged which is a manufacturer warranty Byron's rv takes no blame for the warranted item failing. The manufacture warranty is sending a new cooling unit which is ESTIMATED to being at Byron's rv 5/20/15.  Byron's rv will schedule an appointment when cooling unit is received.  The only damage that was mentioned by customer is refer. door panel which will be installed after new cooling unit is replaced, and drawer facing which will also be installed after new cooling unit is replaced due to having this problem again.  The ice maker was working as of   05/10/15 said Mrs. Robbins.  
 
Thank You,
***** *****
Byron's RV Repair, LLC,

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10614261

I am rejecting this response because:  Byron came out on 5/28/15 and my Son-In-Law met with him and his people and let them in and they pulled my refrigerator out again and did replace the cooling unit.  My Son-in-Law stayed with the until he was told they were finished.  (Still no door to replace dented one, same old story it has been ordered).  I got home that afternoon and walked into my house, the floor was completely saturated with water and water was pouring out the back of my trailer.  I was distraught and texted Byron and did not receive a reply, I then called my husband who is out of town working and he called and Byron answered.  My husband told him water was every where and he needed to get back to our house right then and take care of this and if it has warped our floors or if we have a mold issue this is going to be a problem as I have asthma and cannot breath mold.  He then called me and he did come back about 7:30pm that evening and stayed until about 9:30pm sucking up all the water and took out drawers and put my fan on it to dry out.  He came back on Friday 5/29/15 and put the drawers back in and checked to make sure floor was dry.  I still have not yet gotten my dented refrigerator door replaced and this was done back 3/15/15, I keep being told that it has been ordered and his office has called my husband a few times and said it was in and they were coming out to replace it, but that did not happen.  My last conversation with Byron himself Friday was that door was ordered and he has ordered a back up just in case, but I have heard this before.  I feel as if this claim needs to remain opened until all repair work has been done.

Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response:

IN RESPONSE TO MRS. ******* COMPLAINT:    THE REFRIGERATOR DOOR IS BEING INSTALLED TODAY 6/04/2015.  The water leak that occurred Tuesday  6/02/2015 was due to a blown or ruptured waterline and had nothing to do with any work performed by BYRON'S RV , I explained this to Mrs.  ******* Tuesday night . I personally (Byron *****) removed the drawers under refrigerator and stove to suck water out of carpet. While in the process of removing the water and removing basement panel to turn off  the valve to the  ice maker line, my helper whom was talking to Mrs. ******* , **** *****  and Mrs.  ******* daughter  was told " you might want to move out of the way, when he (Byron) walks out the door cause we are going to shoot him " at this point my helper was shown the pistol on the bar and the shotgun on the golf cart. Upon exiting the rv  some time later with the shop vac,  Mrs. ******* tells me if my cat gets out I'm killing someone. I at this point asked to use her fan to put on here carpet as it was only surface moisture at this point I was affronted by her daughter and son in law that I couldn't use her fan I would have to go get my own. I explained that this wasn't my fault and that I didn't have a fan with me that I was trying to help her out. then **** (son in law ) wanted me to pay him for the shop vac. that he went and pur*****d and the time he spent sucking water out of the rv.  At this point Mrs. ******* started in on the time line and that she was ready to shoot me she had bail money and didn't mind getting bailed out. After several minutes of this accosting I explained to Mrs. ******* once again that the waterline rupture was not something that we were responsible for and I was sorry for the problem but we were not at fault. Mrs. *******  stated that she didn't care if it was extentened warranty are not get it fixed she didn't care just get it fixed. I texted  Mrs. ******* and **** 6/03/2015 that the refrigerator door  would be installed 6/04/2015 with a hour heads up **** replied fine (txt message to prove) . The previous water leak on 5/28/2015 that happened was inspected by my tech and **** before my tech left and was not leaking, the leak happened after we had left and I was contacted at 5:45 pm about the leak. I responded to the call ( missing my sons high school graduation) and went to the rv  and addressed the water leak fixing it and removed drawers in kitchen slide sucked all water out, put Mrs.  ******* fan on it which she gave me and returned the next morning and put everything back together at which point Mrs. ******* and **** both said that there was no water damage , smell or dampness to the carpet from the leak. I have reported these events to you, (the BBB) to my attorney, and to Galveston county. We will install the refrigerator door and drawers we removed and we will no longer do business with Mrs. ******* and her family.
 
Thank You,
 
Byron's RV Repair, LLC,
19733 FM 365
Beaumont, TX 77705         
(409) 794-2243 Office

6/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They charged me for parts they didn't change.(vent cover) They fail to show any proof of changing out furnace, like warranty. They installed a new radio that you cannot turn the power off resulting in a dead battery when you store trailer. They bent king pin but never told me until they had a welder straighten. It does not measure out to be straightand is hard to hookup. I know nothing about welder.(if certified or shade tree) I know i do not want to lose trailer traveling down the highway. Vent cover $117.00 furnace I need paperwork or $811.00 Need king pin checked out by a different repair shop. I have called and they said they would take care of situation. They have not.

Desired Settlement: Refund for parts not changed.( vent cover & furnace) Fix radio so you can turn it off. They need to pay to have king pin check out.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** has not complained about a radio nor the fifth wheel hitch, he hooked the camper to his truck the day he left with it, and had no complaint until after he took it on vacation and never called during his travel time to complain. The only complaint was the vent and furnace. Both parties agreed when he came back from vacation Byron's RV was to come and install the new vent. Mr. ****** contacted Byron's RV via email and by phone we explained to Mr. ****** the vent could not be changed in the rain we would schedule a day when it was not raining to come install the vent. The next day he requested his money back on the vent and furnace. The furnace was changed. He requested warranty information on this part, furnaces do not come with warranty booklets only an owners manual which was lost along with Mr. ****** entire work history folder which was left in the said  rv by an employee. In good faith to Mr. ****** we will come out to his rv and replace the furnace while he is present to prove to him it was replaced as long as the furnace  in the rv comes back to Byron's RV. Byron's RV will not refund  Mr. ****** for the furnace and him keep the new furnace in his rv.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10621252

I am rejecting this response because:  first, I went on vacation the trailer did not. Second, when I picked the trailer up we had trouble hooking up. If they remember we had to bump receiver several times. We all blamed it on the mud hole it was in. The next time I hooked up it was in my driveway. Same problem. We went to lake for the weekend and when we were ready to leave we had the same problem again.  Mr. ***** says after repair, the  hitch is better  and may be welded better now-I don't know. I do know it is not straight and didn't have trouble before. Next the battery was dead when I picked the trailer up so the radio was off. I bought a new battery, found out it stays on all the time.  We discussed this when Mr. ***** came to my house to look at vent. He said he would install a battery switch. Next he doesn't have to change furnance all I want is make, model or serial number--it had to come with some kind of paperwork.  When Mr. ***** was at my house he told me he forget the paperwork and said he would bring it when he changed the vent.  Missing file must have been there then or it would have been "Can't find the paperwork" and not "I forgot paperwork."If no paperwork can be found it makes me question whether the furnace was actually changed. We have paperwork on everything else that was replaced. Maybe it was overlooked like vent.  There were also new bolts in jack leg that we did not have an issue with. But no one knew why they were changed.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response:

 In response to Mr. ******'s statement:        The radio that was installed in your RV is an upgrade to your stereo, your stereo was no longer in production due to the age of the RV. The new stereos stay on full time and do require a battery disconnect to save the battery from discharge. The hitch was welded by a certified welder of  more than 40 yrs. experience in his trade, when hooking to your RV with your hitch in my truck I experienced no problems with hook up, I'm sorry that you are having trouble hooking up, make sure you are straight with hitch and the trailer kingpin plate is level with truck hitch. Your reimbursement for the vent has already been sent. The snap pin that was replaced on the landing gear leg was replaced because your pin was bent and we replaced it at no cost to you. I  still stand by our prior response to the furnace complaint. We would be glad to make any necessary repairs to fix any of the problems that you have with the work we have done as we have afore mentioned. As shown in your two prior statements you are creating more complaints as you go, we are fast becoming aware that you are unable to be satisfied no matter what we offer or any explanations we give you.
 
Thank You,
***** *****
 
Byron's RV Repair, LLC,
19733 FM 365
Beaumont, TX 77705         
(409) 794-2243 Office
(409) 794-2263 Fax

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10621252
Thanks for refund on the vent. I know I am not getting any kind of paperwork on the furnace,.You must not have, you have had plenty of time to send it to me. That is fine. I say live and learn. Back to hooking up the trailer I have been hooking up that trailer about 10 years. I think I would know if it was more difficult. Just saying, You are the expert. Thanks again for the learning experience.
I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** ******

3/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service