BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Connor Plumbing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Connor Plumbing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1908 Business started locally: 01/01/1908 Business incorporated: 01/05/1968 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners

www.tsbpe.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (512) 458-2145

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mike Connor, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mike Connor, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing - Contractor Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish Plumbing Fixtures, Parts, Supplies - Retail


Additional Locations

  • 1109 Liberty St

    Beaumont, TX 77701 (409) 838-6433

  • PO Box 1389

    Beaumont, TX 77704

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 721-5174(Phone)
  • (409) 832-0078(Phone)
  • (409) 838-6434(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged my elderly mother almost $3,000 for "preventative repairs" when she was experiencing no problems at the time. I am writing this on behalf of my mother, ***** *******, who lives in Port Arthur, Texas. She is elderly, widowed and suffers from Alzheimers. Because of her illness, she is unable understand the situation or write a complaint herself. Unknown to our family, Connor Plumbing sold my mother a service plan where they come 2 times a year for "check-ups". She bought this when they were called to her home last year to repair a leaking toliet. On Thursday, March 27, 2014 they came to her home for one of the yearly "check-ups". Although she was experiencing no plumbing problems, except for a leaking kitchen faucet, they convinced her she needed $2,984.00 of repairs in her eight year old home. They are as follows and their reasons for repair/replacement: New water heater in garage- no pan & not up to code $1,000, New kitchen faucet- slight drip and sprayer didn't covert over $419, Replace all (10) shut off valves under sinks- some corrosion & "old style packing nuts" $800, Replace washing machine hose- replaced with stainless steel $203. My sister spoke by phone to the tech on site, who she says he stated he already started the job, which the tech denies. The tech DID NOT explain to her or my mother that the repairs were preventative rather than necessary. My mother also had a sitter who was present and it was not explained to her either. Had he been clear that there were no immediate issues, the repairs would not have been authorized. Because this was a significant amount of money, particularly for my mother, this morning, Friday March 28th I personally called and spoke with the tech to ask questions regarding the charges. Upon being directly asked, he stated that everything he replaced/repaired was working properly (except for faucet)and that the repairs were strictly preventative. I also spoke to the owner **** ******, Jr. and expressed my concern and unhappiness that they would charge my mother for all these repairs in a relatively new home that were UNNECESSARY at the time. The outcome of that conversation was that there would be no futher repairs in my mother's home without a full detailed explanation and my consent. Both were very cordial and cooperative over the phone, but my mother was offered NO other remediation. My mother trusts Connor Plumbing as they have made repairs in her home before. When the tech explained that she needed these repairs she unfortunately trusted that was the case. She is a senior citizen and on a fixed income and this expense created a financial hardship for her. In summary, I feel Connor Plumbing was not forthcoming in their explanation of the necessity of the repairs until thoroughly questioned after the fact and had they been, the repairs would have never been authorized. I truly believe they were "fishing" for problems to generate charges. As a home owner for over 30 years I have never heard of plumbing needing to be checked two times a year. I believe they took advantage of her and find this to be unethical.

Desired Settlement: I would like to hear what Connor Plumbing would like to offer. I do feel some of the charges were inflated, i.e., $203.00 for a washer hose and $80 a sink to replace the shut off valves. Again, all unnecessary repairs.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/01) */ I talked to Mrs ******* and Mrs ********* both with in the last two days. I was working on a problem Mrs ********* found and called to correct it. I never did not return or phone call or avoid the issue in anyway. The job was explained to the owner, her caregiver, and Mrs ********* before any work was started. We have not been in business over a hundred years by fishing for repairs. In closing I need to know what we need to do to end this complaint. **** ****** President Connor Plumbing Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We do not allege that our calls or the issue was ignored by **** ******. However, the issue that he addressed was the approval of the repairs. After further investigation on my part, it has been discovered, after speaking with her caregiver, that the technician did in fact explain to my mother that the repairs were preventative. It was NOT explained to my sister, via the telephone, who had the final decision. As I explained previously, my mother suffers from Alzheimers and is in no position to make any financial decisions. We had no idea that she had been sold a maintenance plan, that an inspection was scheduled and the technician was on site. Nevertheless, we continue to strongly feel that to even suggest repairs of almost $3000 as "preventative" measures is ridiculous. This is not only based on personal opinions, but rather on professional opinions from two other liscensed plumbers and a liscensed home inspector. Particularly, replacing ALL shut off valves on sinks and toliets at $1400. We are stunned that she was charged $203 for $30 washing machine hoses. In addition, had we not gone through her past Connor Plumbing invoices and received a refund, she would have paid for a $400 kitchen faucet that was under warranty. Based on Connor Plumbing's response to this complaint it appears their concern/arguement is the approval of the repairs and not the NECESSITY of the repairs. Because we acknowledge the repairs were approved we understand we unfortunately have no recourse in the matter. HOWEVER, it does not negate the fact that this is an issue of moral and ethical business practices despite Connor Plumbing's many years in business. To settle this dispute, we would like Connor Plumbing to cancel my mother's maintenance plan and not contact her again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2014/05/09) */ You service club was purchased in July 2013 it has been canceled as previously offered. Replace old and outdated fixtures, valves, and washing machine hoses are done to prevent possible water damage and or loss of its service. Some people choose to replace older items before they go out. Some choose to wait for the day they have no hot water or serious water damage. We have both type customers which is fine. Personlly I like to get things replaced before they go out. To close this completely we can give back $500.00 to Mrs ******* We already returned over four hundred for the mistake on the kitchen faucet. Have a nice weekend. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/04/29) */ Before we accept an offer to resolve this issue we would like you to address WHY your technician/company would recommend the repairs, APPROVED OR NOT. You have not once, in your responses addressed this important issue. We expect and deserve to have an answer. Please comment on the following repairs: 1. New Water Heater in Garage: was told working fine but not up to code and no pan. If overflowed would flood home. This water heater was only 8 years old and working fine with no problems, so why replace it? It was up to code when the house was built. Your technician has the new water heater still draining into the garage like the old one. Because water heater is in garage it would NOT flood house. 2. Replace ALL Shut Off Valves on Sinks & Toliets: was told some corrosion and "old style" packing nuts. We know for a fact that there was very little corrosion, if any, on the toliet shut off valves. My mother has had other issues with her toliets which you repaired on 2/22/13 Invoice #XXXXX and the same tech did not mention any problem with the shut off valves at that time. We fail to believe that every single shut off valve in the entire home needed to be replaced because of some imminent failure with the packing nuts. Many homes, including mine, have these for decades with no problems. In summary, our point is that to even recommend replacing functioning expensive items and explain to the homeowner that there is a high risk of possible failure is ridiculous. At some point, a home will have problems - do you go around replacing everything that may break or fail, is not to code or the newest technology, particularly on a relatively new home? I have placed a call to the Texas State Board of Plumbers to ask this question and am waiting for a response. Also, we are unable to find on any receipt within the last year where a maintenance plan was purchased and the cost. I would appreciate you providing that information as well. Thank you, ***** *******