This business is not BBB accredited.

Contract Builders

Phone: (409) 988-9131 14164 Fm 1442, Orange, TX 77632

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Contract Builders include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Contract Builders
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 2011 Business started: 09/07/1999 Business started locally: 09/07/1999
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
John Ardoin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: John Ardoin, Owner
Business Category

Home Builders Painting Contractors Roofing Contractors Furniture Manufacturers Contractors - General

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Contractors BBB Tips on Foundation Repair

Additional Locations


    14164 Fm 1442

    Orange, TX 77632 (409) 988-9131


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Th roof of the pavilion, built for me by **** ******, leakes. The rain falls inside the pavilion equal to the rain outside the pavilion, except in the centre, where the slats are vented to let the air escape and create an air flow, which it does. The centre remains completely dry, yet the remaining roof leakes "like a sieve". The wood slats are beginning to open up and some have become loose.**** told me the metal posts were fixed with the strongest epoxy builders glue and were fastened by bolts. The metal posts are showing rust where they meet the cement, and are fastened by 1/4 inch screws. I asked that the pavilion withstand a hurricane(150 mph wind) and he said it would. After measuring the screws in lieu of bolts, I am not so sure.The cement floor was left with the design of the pressure hose and builders debris.The grout in the mail box **** ****** repaired has cracks, and I fear lets in the water.The front door lock **** ****** replaced has never been finished, it needs sanding and painting. Product_Or_Service: 10/31/2011 Account_Number: contract builders no

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the roof of the pavilion not to leak, and the moving wood slats repaired. I would like to know that the metal supports are fixed with builders epoxy and fastened by bolts to withstand hurricane winds.I would like the grout in the mail box to be properly finished.I would like the front door lock replacement to be completed.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/11) */ Mrs. **** changed roof design up and I told her it would leak. She said it was ok with her. She decided not to put the steel for support after I ordered it and lost money on it. I put 4 ground drains and had to eat the cost of 2. She let her yard man dig holes around ground drains causing extra work for me and more material. I lost material because she wanted it left outside. She ran over $1000.00 worth of tools. I moved extra bushes and plants, I had to move sidewalk 3 times after it was already formed and ready to pour. I ground top of sidewalk and gazebo for floor-deck and rented machine and I did not get paid for prep work. I installed cat door, worked on front doorlock more than once and ordered several strikers, non-refundable. I had to pour concrete from road to keep it off of the driveway. I had to spread dirt that was not part of deal, just stockpile for yardman to do it causing me to keep machine 2 extra days. I painted 4 colors after she would change her mind, it was finished and she did not want color she picked. I had to re-mill lumber that was stolen, caulk all joints. Buy rock for ground drains and cement. I also had to stop work everytime she went out of town, which was often. She would raise her voice to me one minute and nice the next. Her maid, I believe was causing problems for us. She accused me of breaking her driveway with the weight of my tablesaw. I helped with no charge for ************ repairs and had to clean leaves off roof. Move furniture at no charge. I told her we needed more steel for bracing to pass *********** I ordered it and handrails, she decided she did not want it. It cost me. I will address issues she has if she will pay me $4,500 part of my loss in advance only. I lost around $6,600. Thank you Business' Final Response /* (-10, 9, 2013/07/11) */ I also have a witness to all these events, **** Shelton and ******* Carter, 2 hands *** and ****. My hands also saw what was going on. And trying to help her with her sunroom-the man that installed it pushed me and cursed me, it was something I was doing for free. I also tried to help her on her house foundation for free and she said it was my fault. I did not know her when the hurricane hit in 05-06. I told her she would have to get her insurance company to get her an engineer and she got mad at me. I also furnished her with shavings around plants and shrubs.