This business is not BBB accredited.

Camellia Homes

Phone: (409) 347-0053 Fax: (409) 347-0028 View Additional Phone Numbers 8110 Eastex Fwy, Beaumont, TX 77708 http://www.CamelliaHomesTexas.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Camellia Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Camellia Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 15, 2005 Business started: 04/01/2005 Business started locally: 04/01/2005 Business incorporated 03/07/2005 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kenneth Sirmons, General Manager Bill Reich, President/Owner Mark Zambardino, Superintendent
Contact Information
Principal: Kenneth Sirmons, General Manager
Business Category

Home Builders Remodeling Services Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
BK Maintenance, Inc.
Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Foundation Repair

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8110 Eastex Fwy

    Beaumont, TX 77708 (409) 347-0053

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: leaky roof not even three yrs old

Desired Settlement: need to repair inside and out

Business Response:

Mr. ******* roof leaked during the tropical low that surfaced back in late October.  Mr. ****** filed a windstorm claim and had an adjuster come out to his home to inspect for a leak and roof damage.  The adjuster that came to the ******* home was unable to identify any damage, nor could he find a point of leakage.  The superintendent spoke directly to the windstorm adjuster and was informed that the roof was installed correctly, and there was nothing that was repairable.  The ******* simply had a wind driven rain that entered the home.  Their claim was processed but due to the fact their damage was minimal, the deductible wasn’t met.  The ******* have been informed of this information, have been told that their roof warranty has expired past the 2-10 warranty provided by Camellia Homes. 

Out of kindness to our customer, Camellia Homes decided to send a roofer, at our expense, to inspect the roof, and re-seal around vent areas.  The damage to the ******* home would be considered a homeowners expense to repair.  We would like to advise the ******* to read their warranty booklet again to determine what is and is not within the scope of their warranty.

5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The grout on my shower floor is breaking loose and water is going from inside my shower to my porch outside and no telling where else inside the house I have called numerous times about my foundation cracking on the outside of my house and i got no response from **** ********** and i had to call back two months later to remind him to get someone to look at it because it was getting worse and still no response two weeks later. My air conditioning unit has went out 7 times in 6 moths and its only six months old it was installed by ********* *** in Silsbee and every time i call when it goes out they want to charge me a call out fee for fixing there mistakes. My walk in shower was installed 6 months ago and over half of the grout on the shower floor is gone and its leaking water outside my house and im sure its getting inside my house around my 2 x 4 studs more than likely causing mold issues and i do nto feel like its getting any attention of the guys at Camillia homes because i reported the issue two weeks ago and still nothing, so i called **** ***** the OWNER of Camilia Homes or Priority 1 Mortgage and he did not want to here about the issues i was having he wanted **** to call him, so he was being rude and cussing at me because all i tried to do was take the issues to another level because nothing was getting done in Beaumont. He was a real nice guy when he was trying to sell me the house but know that there are issues with the house he does not want to here it. I have spoken with lawyers in Beaumont and i am not the only one having issues with Camillia homes in the area. My house was also painted on the outside 6 months ago and i have mold spores all under the eves of my wrap around porch and they all start were the nails were install for the facia and no caulck was used to cover the nails before painting. The paint on the Hardy plank siding according to the web site should need to be painted every 7-10 years and its only been 6 months so its just poor craftsmanship on there part all together. Also 1 month into purchasing the house my toilets, sinks and showers were backing up because the contractors that Camilia homes used had the MAIN PEE TRAP TO THE SEWER TURNED AROUND BACKWARDS so when we flushed the toilet or ran water in the sinks or showers it would fill up the MAIN SEWER LINE AND FLOOD THE TUBS AND SHOWERS WITH SEWAGE and my kids were exposed to that. I also agreed to do a STAGE 4 where i paint the whole inside of the whose and clean the mess outside and spread the dirt that was left in piles around the house and while i was spreading dirt i noticed that the MAIN WATER LINE WAS ONLY ONE INCH BELOW THE DIRT,SO HE SENT SOMEONE OUT TO FIX THE ISSUE AND THEY SHOVELED DIRT THAT I HAD SPREAD AROUND MY PORCH AND JUST THREW THE DIRT ONTOP OF THE LINE SO I HAD TO FIX THAT MYSELF. Down my driveway that is 250 yards long i noticed that the MAIN WATER LINE WAS NOT BURIED AT ALL AND SOMEONE (presumbly a contractor that CAMILLIA Homes had hired to bury the water line) TRIED TO COVER THE TRENCH DUG FOR THE WATER LINE WITH LEFT OVER BOARDS AND MATERIAL and when i told **** ********** about the issue he would not get any one to fix the issue. I DID NOT AGREE TO DO THAT WORK BUT I HAD TO DO IT MYSELF BECAUSE IT WAS AROUND 30 TO 40 DEGREES AT THE TIME. I AM SURE THERE WILL BE OTHER ISSUES AND I WILL REPORT THEM TO THE BBB AS THEY COME.

Desired Settlement: I would like all of the issues fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/05/07) */ First and foremost lets start with ****** ****** did not purchase a home from Camellia Homes. He purchased a bank repo home. That being said we would like to have this complaint completely deleted from our file. He purchased this home from Priority Bank in Arkansas, in which the bank hired Camellia Homes as a subcontractor to remediate and complete the home. However, the homes original owner was a Camellia Homes customer to which we completed a Phase 1 shell leaving the rest to be completed by the owner. Camellia Homes did not install the plumbing in the slab as stated by Mr. ******, it was a contractor hired by the original owner. I'll get back to that later in our response. 1. Regarding the cracks in the foundation, Mr ****** did contact me and I immediately went to the house and reported my findings to the bank. Being a bank repo I was under the impression that a representative to the bank would make contact to let Mr. ****** know that his foundation was not failing however just showing signs of hairline cracks. The bank never contacted Mr. ****** to which I later found out when he called. I told him I did and inspection and he refused my findings, in which we were authorized by the bank to hire an engineer to do an inspection on the home. Mr. ****** was present at the time of the inspection and all should be resolved as the engineer, *** **** Jr., conveyed the same findings I did to Mr. ******. 2. Mr. ****** did have a problem with the heating unit installed in his home. It happened that the control panel fried the very first time it was used. There were 2-3 trips involved in diagnosing and replacing damaged defective parts that we are aware of. To our knowledge Mr. ****** has had no problems with his air conditioner, only the heating elements of the unit. It has been resolved. 3. Mr. ******* claims of half of his grout coming out is also an exaggeration. The contractor used for the tile shower sent manufacturer representatives to the house to examine the complaint and have acknowledged a product failure. They have agreed to replace all of the grout in the areas that have had problems notably being around the drains and in the corner near the shower seat. We pushed the manufacturer to agree to replace all grout on the shower floor as well as the shower seat. The water that is leaking from the shower is actually seeping from within the grout and not actually traveling down a wall making contact with any wood products. In, fact the day the shower work was to begin the ******* used the shower that morning causing a delay in progress of repairing the issue due it being saturated. There was an appointment set and they were told not to use the shower and despite being told, they still showered the very morning work was to begin. The issue is being resolved now. 4. I spoke to ****, and Mr. ****** did call to give him a list of problems he was having. **** told Mr. ****** that he would pass *** list on to me, **** **********, so that I can come out to the house and look at the list of complaints together and figure out a resolution. Mr. ****** then continued to repeat the list several times at which time **** told him he didn't want to hear the list again until I had a chance to review the list at the home and report back to ****. 5. Regarding the mold spores Mr. ****** is speaking of, all nails and staples have been caulked and puttied. The result of what he is seeing is a collection of dust and debris gathering at those locations. There will be a painter sent to Mr. ******* house to do additional touch-ups along those areas. 6. It was Mr. ******* job to bring in additional dirt and spread any remaining dirt left on the property and properly grade out his yard, which he has yet to do. Another thing on the list the engineer told Mr. ****** would be a prudent thing to do to keep soil conditions similar all the way around his house. This is something that we told Mr. ****** to do as well. This also included covering the lines along where the main water line was brought in from the road. He did call and say where the water line made the 90 degree turn from the driveway to the house there were spots where the line had little dirt covering it. We sent the plumber who ran that line which to give additional coverage, the 1" deep line is a bit exaggerated, but as Mr. ****** spread dirt over that area he took away some of the fill on top of the line resulting in exposing the line. The only spreading Mr. ****** did complete was the few loads of dirt that were placed around the home. The additional dirt and grading were never done. 7. In response to Mr. ******* claim of a P-Trap being turned around the wrong way ill refer to my opening comments. We did not install the plumbing originally on the home. That plumber was contracted by the original homeowner to install the plumbing in the foundation. The result of the plumbing issue he is referring to was actually a slump in the main trunk line feeding to the septic tank. The slump occurred within the foundation. After using cameras to diagnose the problem, a plumber was hired to tunnel under the home and correct the problem. The raw sewage issue did occur in the master bathroom and half bath only. Again, this home wasn't purchased from Camellia Homes. This home was purchased from Priority Bank as a repossessed home. This complaint should not be filed against Camellia Homes. We were only acting as a sub contractor for the bank. We would like for this complaint to be completely removed from your system. As of now I believe the issues Mr. ****** has left outstanding are the tile shower which is in the process of being fixed. A painter **** touch-up paint the areas where dirt and debris have collected on nail and staple heads. He was present at the time of the engineer inspecting his home and was satisfied with his response.

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have an air conditioning unit outside that is out again. This time it froze up as well as the inside unit. This is the 6th call in 6 years. The outside unit is a Duncan unit put in by a Silsbee ac company for Camellia Homes. I do not know the model number. This unit goes down once a year, The first time was the inside coils followed by a new condensor every year, and now the freezing up problem. We are tired of the problems we are incurring every year with this home Ken ******* has built. We have mold in both bathrooms, septic problems, cracked floors, windows and doors not squared. We went to a stage 4. it was supposed to be where we did cleanup painting inside, etc. As time went on we discoverd that the caulking, clean up painting, etc was all on our shoulders. I have been to several lawyers including Beaumont and Orange. All we want wanted was a home that did not have so many problems.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have all problems FIXED. I mean from mold remediation to bathrooms caulked and fixed, floors fixed, doors and windows fixed. Major stuff new ac unit inside as well as outside plus heat pump with Bell Air, they are doing the repair work. Reimbursement of all monies we had put in repairs for septic as well as ac. We just want this home fixed. A 6 year old home should not be falling apart. I do have receipts for Ac and septic work to show the problems.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/10/15) */ We are contacting the consumer directly to set up a site visit. **** ********** Superintendent


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Camellia Homes
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)