This business is not BBB accredited.

Eugene V. Boone, DDS

Phone: (409) 769-4433 Fax: (409) 769-4418 1090 N Main St, Vidor, TX 77662 http://www.evboonedds.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eugene V. Boone, DDS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eugene V. Boone, DDS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1992 Business started: 02/01/1983 Business started locally: 02/01/1983
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners

Phone Number: (512) 463-6400

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Eugene Boone, D.D.S., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Eugene Boone, D.D.S., Owner
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Orthodontist Dentistry - Cosmetic Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1090 N Main St

    Vidor, TX 77662 (409) 769-4433

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i am 59 years old with a clean record i am also a US ARMY veteran with an honorable discharge. i consider myself honest and trustworthy as anybody that knows me will tell you. i have been on my social security disability for about four years from an injury in the early 1980"S its all the money i get it will take me the rest of my life to pay the 5000 back. in fact i had to get my mother to cosign for me. i just wanted be able to smile again. i had some fillings and a cap on my bottom teeth and all i needed was the upper dentures. he made the dentures i put them on and it still looks like i dont have any teeth. i ask him to fix them and he told me he would for the price of another set. i could not believe he wanted me to pay for his mistake. i have been saving up to get another set but it is hard. everybody that has seen my dentures cant believe either. this was about eight months ago. i wanted to get another set before i filed a compliant but i dont know how long that will be. all i want is my money back so i can get a decent set of teeth. i hope that the bbb can help with this problem. thank you sincerely ***** *. ****

Desired Settlement: all i want is my money back and anyone that looks at my teeth will know why

Business Response:

July 29, 2014

Better Business Bureau
550 Fannin St. #100
Beaumont, TX 77701

ID#:  10142780

Attn:  *** ****

Dear Ms. ****:

This letter is in response to the above noted complaint ID that the BBB received concerning a complete upper denture for Mr. ***** ****.  Mr. **** was initially seen April 9, 2013 for an initial exam, panoramic x-ray and 2 bite wing x-rays.  Mr. **** was given a treatment plan which consisted of the remaining upper teeth, placement of an Upper Complete Immediate Denture (denture is placed the same day that the teeth are removed), tissue conditioner (temporary liner) and a final liner (placed after patient has completed healing).  Lower dental treatment was also suggested. Mr. **** agreed to the treatment plan and had impressions taken on 5/14/13 with the upper teeth removed and the UCID seated on 5/29/13.

Over the course of the next three months, Mr. **** was seen for denture adjustments and the tissue conditioner placement.  Mr. **** was very complimentary to this office for the way his denture looked as we tried to keep the same size and shape as well as position of his original anterior teeth  (this is done when possible for immediate denture patients).  In late August 2013 to mid September 2013, lower dental repairs were started, but the lower treatment was not completed. On 9-23-13, the final reline impression was made for the upper denture.  The denture was sent to a local dental laboratory for the process of adding the final liner, and the denture was returned to the patient the next day (9-24-13).  The patient was told that there was a one month adjustment period during which time problems with the denture, usually pressure point removal, would be addressed at no charge.  Anything after the one month period would generate a fee unless the doctor felt that the patient needed more time to have a problem corrected.

On 9-26-13, the patient returned with the statement that the upper denture looked crooked to him. Evaluation with the denture in his mouth did reveal the denture to be angled incorrectly, evidently caused during the upper reline impression and not noticed when returning the denture.  Acrylic was removed from the inner portion of the upper denture, and a new tissue conditioner was placed, which the patient wore from 9-26-13 until 1-8-14.  An impression was taken for a second final liner.  The denture was left in the patient’s mouth after the impression material was added, and the patient approved the look of the denture while it was still in his mouth. The completed relined denture was delivered to the patient on 1-9-14 at which time the patient was happy with the look of the denture in his mouth.  This second reline was done at no charge to Mr. ****.  On 1-15-14, the patient was seen for an adjustment after which he commented to the
assistant who helped him that the denture fit like a glove.  No mention was made by the patient concerning the look of the denture in his mouth at this visit.  On 4-3-14, the patient returned, stating that no one could tell that he had any teeth in his mouth when talking because the front teeth weren’t long enough. Mr. **** was asked to smile so the length of the teeth could be judged in comparison to his smile line, but he barely moved his upper lip in an obvious effort to minimize seeing the upper anterior teeth.  When Mr. **** finally smiled in a normal manner, the upper anterior teeth were readily seen. When his upper lip was in a relaxed position, the anterior teeth were not readily seen but were near the upper lip edge, which is where they had been placed initially.

Mr. **** was told that he had been given ample opportunity to address any problem, including looks, within the first month after the denture was delivered.  Mr. **** said that his main concern during the reline sessions was the bite and that he really didn’t look at the teeth all that much.  Given the fact that Mr. **** was very adamant about the upper teeth being canted after the first reline seating, it was unlikely that he didn’t make sure that his teeth looked good in his mouth after the second reline delivery.  Due to the amount of time between delivery of the denture and his deciding that he didn’t like the look, Mr. **** was told that there would be a fee involved if the existing upper denture was reworked using the existing denture teeth ($515.00), or a new denture could be constructed at our regular fee of $885.00.  Mr. **** stated that he would have to get the money and would call us back when he decided which way he would go.

In the complaint that Mr. **** sent to the BBB, he stated that he was trying to raise the money to have a new denture made.  This was after his opening statement that he was honest and trustworthy. Mr. **** failed to mention, however, that he called our office on 5-13-14 and spoke with this office’s hygiene coordinator.  He told her that he had raised the funds to get another denture made, but he wanted to let us know that he would be getting it done at another office. He also said that he would contact the BBB to complain that we tried to charge him double.  Mr. **** was apparently truthful when he said he would complain to the BBB but failed to disclose that he already had the funds for a new denture, unlike his assertion otherwise in his written statement. This was verbally confirmed by a knowledgeable third party who, without provocation, told us that Mr. **** had gotten a denture made at another office but didn’t like it and was seeking to get a third denture made.  Our office staff did not discuss or disclose Mr. ****’s treatment with this individual, before or after this person’s statement, due to patient confidentiality.

In conclusion, this office strives to take care of patient problems, usually without hesitation, if the complaint is justified and is made in a timely manner.  This office acted fairly and without question when Mr. **** shared his disappointment that the anterior denture teeth were angled after the first reline.  The problem was corrected without any additional charge to him.  This
office made sure that the patient was happy with the esthetics of his denture after the second reline impression and at the   seating of the denture when the reline was returned from the lab.  Mr. **** has clearly misrepresented his actual dealings with this office.  If our written dental notes are weighed against Mr. ****’s complaint, there is absolutely no doubt of his awareness of the denture’s appearance in his mouth after the first reline.  It stands to reason that he would have been just as observant after the second reline.  He chose to complain about the esthetics only when someone else allegedly said something to him three months later.  His complaint to the BBB took another three months after his last visit in April 2014.

I hope that this lengthy but necessary letter will be sufficient in justifying my office’s handling of this situation.  If you have any further question, please don’t hesitate to contact this office during normal business hours, Monday-Thursday.  Thank you for your attention.

Sincerely,

****** ** *****

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

, DDS ?

 

?

?

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10142780

I am rejecting this response because:  i am not surprised by doctor boones response.  i guess my only other option is file a small claims against him and take him to court.    

if i can get a judge to look at the teeth that are in my mouth  the finger pointing will be over. i know without a doubt the ruling will be in my favor and dr. boone knows it too. i thank the BBB 
for trying to help me on this matter. 

Sincerely,

***** ****

Business Response: This is in response to Mr **** rejection letter to you.  Mr **** states that he's not surprised by my reply.  I can only conclude by his lack of explaining in detail his reasons for rejecting my version of what transpired is that he knows that what I wrote was directly from the patient's notes.  How else could I respond?  I don't see anywhere in Mr ****'s statement that what I wrote was false, unlike several of Mr ****'s claims.

Sincerely,
****** * *****, DDS