BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mobiloil Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mobiloil Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mobiloil Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 1999 Business started: 10/16/1935 Business started locally: 10/16/1935
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration (NCUA)

http://cuonline.ncua.gov/CreditUnionOnline/CU/FindCreditUnions.aspx

Business Management
Bob Hamer, President/CEO Blythe Cox, Branch Manager - Treadway Brenda Dickerson, Jasper Branch Manager Melissa Dominques, VP of Accounting Johnnie Doucet, Sr. VP/COO Melissa Ernst, Executive Secretary Jonathan Haskett Jr., Business Lending Manager Lori Higgins, Business Development Coordinator Sam James, VP of Information Systems/Technology Lisa Miller, Director of Marketing Lacey Parker-Bond, Branch Manager, Silsbee Shelley Perminter, Branch Manager, Delaware Cari Rizzato, Branch Manager, Mid County Lacy Rogers, Silsbee Branch Manager Keisha Smith, Human Resources Director Bonnie Surratt, Senior Brand Manager Pam Trosclair, Marketing Gina Tweekrem, VP of Member Services Clint Walters, VP of Lending Kristin Wkasch, Branch Manager, Carroll Street
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Melissa Ernst, Executive Secretary
Principal: Bob Hamer, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Financial Services Banks

Products & Services

Mobiloil Credit Union offers the following products and services: savings accounts, checking accounts, business accounts, CDs and IRAs, savings bonds, teller services, MOCU Plastics, insurance, loans, and specialized investments.


Additional Locations

  • 1131 South Memorial Hwy

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 727-1111

  • 1810 N Major Dr

    Beaumont, TX 77713 (409) 892-1111

  • 2050 Carroll St

    Beaumont, TX 77701

  • 408 Highway 96 S

    Silsbee, TX 77656 (409) 892-1111

  • 4285 Treadway Rd

    Beaumont, TX 77706

  • 465 E Gibson St

    Jasper, TX 75951 (409) 383-1111

  • 604 South Main St

    Lumberton, TX 77657

  • PO Box 12849

    Beaumont, TX 77726

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2016 Delivery Issues
11/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been banking with Mobil Oil Federal Credit Union for years I have had no problems until this year.I had taken out some payday loans and they were causing me to go into overdraft so I opened another account through the bank which the drafts were not supposed to hit the new account. But I just checked and I am 400.00 in overdraft with the old account and 150.00 in the new account because the payday loans are continually allowed to hit the bank

Desired Settlement: I would like the overdraft fees taken away and let me pay What I originally owe and to stop the overdraft fees and the payday loans continually hitting my account. They were taking all my money in payday loans and overdraft fees

Business Response:

Mobiloil Federal Credit Union has investigated the complaint submitted on 11/15/2015. In reviewing Ms. ******* account we have concluded that the payday lenders are collecting payments from the account listed in the complaint. This has resulted in NSF fees legitimately being assessed to Ms. ******* account.  The fees were charged due to either a negative or zero balance in the account at the time of the ACH withdrawals. Ms. ****** is contractually bound to pay the payday lenders through the account she provided to them. Ms. ****** should contact the payday lenders directly to discuss alternative payment options. The credit union does not control the amount or number of payments nor do we independently provide the ****** account information to third parties. We empathize with Ms. ******’s situation and would like to offer a courtesy NSF fee refund of $90.00.  A credit union manager would also like to phone Ms. ****** to discuss further should she agree.

Response Prepared by:  **** ********, VP of Support and Electronic Services

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to MFCU on 11/17/14 and went to the teller desk and ask for ***** ******* for my personal account. The teller told me to have a seat and she'll get her. I did, the next thing I know the police is coming to escort me out. The teller told them I was talking out of my head. Gave me a citation telling me I can not enter again.

Desired Settlement: I just need help with my personal account.

Business Response:

The credit union provides a safe environment to protect our employees and ******s.  We will impose sanctions on any ****** who does not abide by a basic code of conduct.  In this case, Mr. ****** frequently visits the credit union displaying verbally abusive and disruptive behavior to the staff and ******s.  Assistance from the police was requested on November 17, 2014.  The policeman spoke with Mr. ****** and a Trespass Warning was issued.  The ****** has been told he can no longer visit the branch.  He may conduct his business by mail, internet or call center.

 

Response prepared by:

**** ********

Vice President

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: 10321983

I am rejecting this response because:

I am at a total disadvantage with good credit.  I am owing all money lenders in Beaumont with a small income trying to stay alive in a broke down house with a wife in this state of Texas.  When I came to you the first time to file those forms, she told me the bank told her that the signature is not right on the first set of papers.  Went back to the bank to get a fresh set of copies made with the same signature then we was called in the office and the first thing she me is you and she getting along.  I told her yes then I told her all these years we are waiting and she say we will get in touch with you and all this time people are building houses all around ours waiting on the people to call.  It takes all my money as fast as I make it to keep the house each month waiting on the people to call.

Sincerely,

******* *********

Business Response: The credit union stands by our original response to the complaint.  Mr. ****** will not be allowed in the branch.  He may conduct his business by mail, phone or internet.

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello,My name is ****** ******.....I have had a rather unpleasant experience today at the Mobil credit union on major drive... I went there to close two accounts that I have had for a long time... They were just savings..one was just a kids account. In the process today I learn that I can get my money from one account however I can't get from the other... The FSR told me that it was 54.00, however it was closed one year ago because the credit union charged me INACTIVITY fees..... I explained I worked in a credit union in accounting for Ten years and also there in Mobil in accounting and never heard of the credit union charging these fees... So the branch manager goes on to say that she will speak to the Vice President. I'm not too sure if it was or not, however she explains that other credit unions do charge this fee... So, I contacted mid county teachers credit union and gulf credit union and will proceed to contact five point and so forth to see if they have these fees. So far these credit unions do not charge their members these fees. I called back to explain this to a manager and she says that the credit union has to absorb the cost of keeping dormant accts open. I explained...I know that every members money contributes to the overall investing of the credit union... I know, I used to do a piece of this puzzle at the credit union I worked for. So it was not as if you need to charge fees because of a dormant acct being a liability.... While I was at the credit union, the staff made it seem as if this was my complete fault this happen as she highlighted in a pamphlet for me everything that I didn't o or maintain. What a way to treat someone...so after it was clear that no one would help me I ask to speak to the president who they said would not be back for three weeks. So, since I am unable to get any help, I am doing some research on my own to send this letter out to a few people in hopes that I can get some help on this issue... And I always thought the credit union was about member.

Desired Settlement: I would like my account to be refunded as well as notifying members about incurring inactive fees after six months of non use. It may be in small print in a pamphlet however not disclosed during the opening of an new account. This practice should be looked into because it is fraud to just take people's money. I'm sure it has happened to many members however I'm not sure if anyone has came forth to bring this issue up. This is not common practice of a credit union and what they believe only bank

Business Response:

The Mobiloil Credit Union membership has been notified on a yearly basis of the Inactive Account Fee since March of 2002.  The entire membership receives an annual Fee Schedule as a paper statement insert or an electronic notice for those receiving electronic statements, as well as, notification in the MOFCU Newsletter and at account opening.  In all notifications to the membership the credit union discloses how to avoid being charged the fee. 

Ms. Member opened her account on February 24, 2011.  The last activity date on the account by this member was on April 10, 2012.  The account was charged a monthly inactive account fee beginning October 10, 2012 to September 10, 2013 when the account reached a zero balance.  Account statement history reflect inactive account fees of $59.10 during the stated months.  The credit union will refund the $59.10 in fees charged to this members account should she decide to reactivate her membership under the terms disclosed in our Account and Membership Agreement.

 

**** ********

VP of  Member Services

************

Business Response:

The Mobiloil Credit Union membership has been notified on a yearly basis of the Inactive Account Fee since March of 2002.  The entire membership receives an annual Fee Schedule as a paper statement insert or an electronic notice for those receiving electronic statements, as well as, notification in the MOFCU Newsletter and at account opening.  In all notifications to the membership the credit union discloses how to avoid being charged the fee. 

Ms. ****** opened her account on February 24, 2011.  The last activity date on the account by this member was on April 10, 2012.  The account was charged a monthly inactive account fee beginning October 10, 2012 to September 10, 2013 when the account reached a zero balance.  Account statement history reflect inactive account fees of $59.10 during the stated months.  The credit union will refund the $59.10 in fees charged to this members account should she decide to reactivate her membership under the terms disclosed in our Account and Membership Agreement.

 

**** ********

VP of  Member Services

************

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10130058, and curious about the terms of the agreement.  What is the terms.. With it being my money are they still in control of my money.. Can I make withdrawals at any time?    Or is there any stipulations on any terms go agreement on the grounds of time period that my account must keep that full amount in there? 
Sincerely,

****** ******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10130058, and curious about the terms of the agreement.  What is the terms.. With it being my money are they still in control of my money.. Can I make withdrawals at any time?    Or is there any stipulations on any terms go agreement on the grounds of time period that my account must keep that full amount in there? 
Sincerely,

****** ******

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My last statement from Mobiloil Federal Credit Union was dated 09/30/2011. At some point following the receipt of this statement, my account was closed and a $25.00 fee assessed. My balance on 09/30/2011 was $37.16.I visited two credit unions on 12/13/2013 to close out both accounts: Dupont Goodrich FCU in Port Neches, TX. and Mobiloil FCU at 1131 Memorial Highway in Port Arthur, TX. I was able to close out my account at Dupont Goodrich FCU in Port Neches with no problems or closing fees. I then went to Mobiloil FCU in Port Arthur, TX. and told the account had been closed and the balance of $37.16 sent to the State of Texas and that I would have to call the State at (XXX)XXXX-XXXX to recover these funds. I called the State of Texas and was told the balance was $12.28 which will be mailed to me in the next 14 days. I called Mobiloil FCU back and was told they had assessed a $25.00 fee for closing the account. Product_Or_Service: Savings Account Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I received no notification from Mobiloil FCU telling me they were going to close this account and given no opportunity to close it out on my on with no fees or penalties or I would have done so earlier. I view this $25.00 transaction fee as out and out thievery on the part of Mobiloil FCU and would like them to refund this fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/10) */ We have looked the member's complaint. While no one specifically remembers the member coming to the branch on 12/13/13 to inquire about closing his account, his statement appear accurate. When a member inquires about an account that was escheated to the State, we do give them the phone number that they can call to reclaim their escheated funds from the State. On October 31, 2012, the credit union sent the balance of Mr. **********'s account ($37.28 minus a $25.00 escheatment fee) to the state, as required by Texas Statute (Subchapter B, Section 72-75). The $25.00 escheatment fee is disclosed on our Fee Schedule which is provided annually to all of our members. The account had been inactive since July, 2006, and was presumed abandoned. The credit union was required to mail a notice to all owners of property over $250 that were due to be included in our October 2012 report. Since the balance was below $250, the credit union did not specifically notify Mr. **********. He states in his complaint that the last statement he received from MOFCU was dated 9/30/2011. Our records show that statements were mailed to him quarterly through 12/31/2012 including the final statement that shows that his funds were escheated. The statements went to the same address as the one dated 9/30/2011, which is the last statement Mr. ********** said that he received from us. The credit union provides a fee schedule annually to all members, and in 2012 that was provided in January. The fee schedule reflected the $25 escheatment fee. As a courtesy Mobiloil Credit Union will refund the $25 escheatment fee to Mr. **********. We would, however, need to verify his correct address since he stated he did not receive mail from us at the current address we have on file for him. We currently have the same address as listed on the complaint, however, that appears to be an incorrect address as the member states he did not receive the many mailings from us. Once provided with his correct address we will mail the refund to him.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mobiloil Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)