BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mobiloil Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mobiloil Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 10, 1999 Business started: 10/16/1935 Business started locally: 10/16/1935
Business Management
Bob Hamer, President/CEO Blythe Cox, Branch Manager - Treadway Brenda Dickerson, Jasper Branch Manager Melissa Dominques, VP of Accounting Johnnie Doucet, Sr. VP/COO Melissa Ernst, Executive Secretary Jonathan Haskett Jr., Business Lending Manager Lori Higgins, Business Development Coordinator Sam James, VP of Information Systems/Technology Lisa Miller, Director of Marketing Lacey Parker-Bond, Branch Manager, Silsbee Shelley Perminter, Branch Manager, Delaware Cari Rizzato, Branch Manager, Mid County Lacy Rogers, Silsbee Branch Manager Keisha Smith, Human Resources Director Bonnie Surratt, Senior Brand Manager Pam Trosclair, Marketing Gina Tweekrem, VP of Member Services Clint Walters, VP of Lending Kristin Wkasch, Branch Manager, Carroll Street
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Melissa Ernst, Executive Secretary
Principal: Bob Hamer, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Financial Services Banks

Products & Services

Mobiloil Credit Union offers the following products and services: savings accounts, checking accounts, business accounts, CDs and IRAs, savings bonds, teller services, MOCU Plastics, insurance, loans, and specialized investments.


Additional Locations

  • 1131 South Memorial Hwy

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 727-1111

  • 1810 N Major Dr

    Beaumont, TX 77713 (409) 892-1111

  • 2050 Carroll St

    Beaumont, TX 77701

  • 408 Highway 96 S

    Silsbee, TX 77656 (409) 892-1111

  • 4285 Treadway Rd

    Beaumont, TX 77706

  • 465 E Gibson St

    Jasper, TX 75951 (409) 383-1111

  • PO Box 12849

    Beaumont, TX 77726

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 892-1111(Phone)
  • (409) 924-5184(Phone)
  • (409) 924-5187(Phone)
  • (800) 892-1111(Phone)
  • (866) 245-6328(Phone)
  • (409) 724-6559 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello,My name is ****** ******.....I have had a rather unpleasant experience today at the Mobil credit union on major drive... I went there to close two accounts that I have had for a long time... They were just savings..one was just a kids account. In the process today I learn that I can get my money from one account however I can't get from the other... The FSR told me that it was 54.00, however it was closed one year ago because the credit union charged me INACTIVITY fees..... I explained I worked in a credit union in accounting for Ten years and also there in Mobil in accounting and never heard of the credit union charging these fees... So the branch manager goes on to say that she will speak to the Vice President. I'm not too sure if it was or not, however she explains that other credit unions do charge this fee... So, I contacted mid county teachers credit union and gulf credit union and will proceed to contact five point and so forth to see if they have these fees. So far these credit unions do not charge their members these fees. I called back to explain this to a manager and she says that the credit union has to absorb the cost of keeping dormant accts open. I explained...I know that every members money contributes to the overall investing of the credit union... I know, I used to do a piece of this puzzle at the credit union I worked for. So it was not as if you need to charge fees because of a dormant acct being a liability.... While I was at the credit union, the staff made it seem as if this was my complete fault this happen as she highlighted in a pamphlet for me everything that I didn't o or maintain. What a way to treat someone...so after it was clear that no one would help me I ask to speak to the president who they said would not be back for three weeks. So, since I am unable to get any help, I am doing some research on my own to send this letter out to a few people in hopes that I can get some help on this issue... And I always thought the credit union was about member.

Desired Settlement: I would like my account to be refunded as well as notifying members about incurring inactive fees after six months of non use. It may be in small print in a pamphlet however not disclosed during the opening of an new account. This practice should be looked into because it is fraud to just take people's money. I'm sure it has happened to many members however I'm not sure if anyone has came forth to bring this issue up. This is not common practice of a credit union and what they believe only bank

Business Response:

The Mobiloil Credit Union membership has been notified on a yearly basis of the Inactive Account Fee since March of 2002.  The entire membership receives an annual Fee Schedule as a paper statement insert or an electronic notice for those receiving electronic statements, as well as, notification in the MOFCU Newsletter and at account opening.  In all notifications to the membership the credit union discloses how to avoid being charged the fee. 

Ms. Member opened her account on February 24, 2011.  The last activity date on the account by this member was on April 10, 2012.  The account was charged a monthly inactive account fee beginning October 10, 2012 to September 10, 2013 when the account reached a zero balance.  Account statement history reflect inactive account fees of $59.10 during the stated months.  The credit union will refund the $59.10 in fees charged to this members account should she decide to reactivate her membership under the terms disclosed in our Account and Membership Agreement.

 

**** ********

VP of  Member Services

************

Business Response:

The Mobiloil Credit Union membership has been notified on a yearly basis of the Inactive Account Fee since March of 2002.  The entire membership receives an annual Fee Schedule as a paper statement insert or an electronic notice for those receiving electronic statements, as well as, notification in the MOFCU Newsletter and at account opening.  In all notifications to the membership the credit union discloses how to avoid being charged the fee. 

Ms. ****** opened her account on February 24, 2011.  The last activity date on the account by this member was on April 10, 2012.  The account was charged a monthly inactive account fee beginning October 10, 2012 to September 10, 2013 when the account reached a zero balance.  Account statement history reflect inactive account fees of $59.10 during the stated months.  The credit union will refund the $59.10 in fees charged to this members account should she decide to reactivate her membership under the terms disclosed in our Account and Membership Agreement.

 

**** ********

VP of  Member Services

************

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10130058, and curious about the terms of the agreement.  What is the terms.. With it being my money are they still in control of my money.. Can I make withdrawals at any time?    Or is there any stipulations on any terms go agreement on the grounds of time period that my account must keep that full amount in there? 
Sincerely,

****** ******

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10130058, and curious about the terms of the agreement.  What is the terms.. With it being my money are they still in control of my money.. Can I make withdrawals at any time?    Or is there any stipulations on any terms go agreement on the grounds of time period that my account must keep that full amount in there? 
Sincerely,

****** ******

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My last statement from Mobiloil Federal Credit Union was dated 09/30/2011. At some point following the receipt of this statement, my account was closed and a $25.00 fee assessed. My balance on 09/30/2011 was $37.16.I visited two credit unions on 12/13/2013 to close out both accounts: Dupont Goodrich FCU in Port Neches, TX. and Mobiloil FCU at 1131 Memorial Highway in Port Arthur, TX. I was able to close out my account at Dupont Goodrich FCU in Port Neches with no problems or closing fees. I then went to Mobiloil FCU in Port Arthur, TX. and told the account had been closed and the balance of $37.16 sent to the State of Texas and that I would have to call the State at (XXX)XXXX-XXXX to recover these funds. I called the State of Texas and was told the balance was $12.28 which will be mailed to me in the next 14 days. I called Mobiloil FCU back and was told they had assessed a $25.00 fee for closing the account. Product_Or_Service: Savings Account Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I received no notification from Mobiloil FCU telling me they were going to close this account and given no opportunity to close it out on my on with no fees or penalties or I would have done so earlier. I view this $25.00 transaction fee as out and out thievery on the part of Mobiloil FCU and would like them to refund this fee.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/10) */ We have looked the member's complaint. While no one specifically remembers the member coming to the branch on 12/13/13 to inquire about closing his account, his statement appear accurate. When a member inquires about an account that was escheated to the State, we do give them the phone number that they can call to reclaim their escheated funds from the State. On October 31, 2012, the credit union sent the balance of Mr. **********'s account ($37.28 minus a $25.00 escheatment fee) to the state, as required by Texas Statute (Subchapter B, Section 72-75). The $25.00 escheatment fee is disclosed on our Fee Schedule which is provided annually to all of our members. The account had been inactive since July, 2006, and was presumed abandoned. The credit union was required to mail a notice to all owners of property over $250 that were due to be included in our October 2012 report. Since the balance was below $250, the credit union did not specifically notify Mr. **********. He states in his complaint that the last statement he received from MOFCU was dated 9/30/2011. Our records show that statements were mailed to him quarterly through 12/31/2012 including the final statement that shows that his funds were escheated. The statements went to the same address as the one dated 9/30/2011, which is the last statement Mr. ********** said that he received from us. The credit union provides a fee schedule annually to all members, and in 2012 that was provided in January. The fee schedule reflected the $25 escheatment fee. As a courtesy Mobiloil Credit Union will refund the $25 escheatment fee to Mr. **********. We would, however, need to verify his correct address since he stated he did not receive mail from us at the current address we have on file for him. We currently have the same address as listed on the complaint, however, that appears to be an incorrect address as the member states he did not receive the many mailings from us. Once provided with his correct address we will mail the refund to him.

3/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/7/2012 Billing/Collection Issues