BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Philpott Motors, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Philpott Motors, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Philpott Motors, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1985 Business started: 02/01/1950 Business started locally: 02/01/1950
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Business Management
Bob Thewman, General Manager Diana Jenkins, Accounts Payable Thomas Johnson, CRM Deanna Miller, Owner Relations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Deanna Miller, Owner Relations Manager
Principal: Bob Thewman, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Sonic Automotive
Products & Services

This business sells new Ford, Toyota and Hyundai automobiles. They also sell pre-owned automobiles of all makes and models. They offer parts and service, collision repair, auto accessories and auto rental.

Industry Tips
BBB Tips on Auto Repair

Additional Locations

  • 1400 Highway 69 S

    Nederland, TX 77627 (409) 727-1451

  • PO Box 876

    Port Neches, TX 77651

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 02/13/2013, I purchase a 2013 Toyota Prius, before leaving the dealership an employee came to the car to program the GPS unit. I asked him to put in my home address as he was showing me how to program it. The GPS would not take the address. He told me we had to wait for an update for the unit. It would be coming from Toyota. About three weeks later, I was called to bring the car in to install the update on the GPS unit. An hour later they came and told me it still was not working and they would be getting another update for the GPS. Three months later I was called again to bring the car in for update on the GPS, still didn't work. Mrs. ******* *******, Toyota service manager told me she would be calling a Toyota engineer about the problem with the GPS unit. She said she would do a map discrepancy and mail it to the engineer, it would have my address on it.I told Mrs. ******* there was one other address I was unable to program into the GPS. I also was going to Houston on Hwy 10, about half way there the unit audio came on recalculating to turn around. I had to reprogram the GPS unit to continue on. ****** ****** District service and parts manager from Houston, TX came to see if he could help with the matter. After checking three Prius' on the lot, we found a 2014 Prius that could program my address. The only thing he said was to wait for another update. My Prius has only 9,708 miles and is still under warranty. The 2014 Prius had a Denso GPS unit in it, where as my car has a ****** GPS. I checked with parts service at Philpott on the price of the GPS unit for my car he said that my car had a Panasonic GPS unit, Valued at $2,828.67.

Desired Settlement: I request that the GPS unit be replaced.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** has accurately listed the updates performed to his GPS in attempt to correct his home address not being found; however, his request that the GPS unit be replaced has been denied by Toyota Motor Sales. The navigation systems are not interchangeable from different models or different year models, due to incompatiblility. As with any navigation system there are possible errors and omissions, as stated in his owner’s manual, due to the informational sources used for his particular navigation systems database. As suggested by the technical field specialist at Gulf States Toyota, we contacted ****** ****** (the supplier of database for his GPS system), on his behalf, to submit a map discrepancy and requested an addition to be made for his home address. ****** ****** did not give an ETA on when this change would be made. When relaying his other concern of his GPS recalculating while driving on Hwy 10 in Houston, we were informed by Gulf States Toyota that there is possibly a map discrepancy with the current construction on I-10 depending on when the map was made. Mr. *****' navigation system is operating as designed.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10195618

I am rejecting this response because:  I agree that the GPS may not have had all the information (per the navigation manual),   but the three updates from  ****** ****** should have made the corrections to the GPS unit. Since I bought the Prius in 2013 it was not my first trip to Houston, Texas that the audio came on recalculating to turn  around. There was no construction on I-10 at the time. The last time the car was taken in they was attempting to update the GPS unit and I went to the parts service at Philpott inquiring about the price of my GPS unit. I was told my Prius didn't have a  ****** unit, it has a Panasonic (57032) unit. Could this be the problem with trying to update it?   I was told the price of the unit is $2,828.67. How can the unit be operating as designed when it wont take some addresses and recalculates in the middle of a trip to turn around, after two updates? 

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response:

Mr. *****’s concerns with his GPS is a product issue, having nothing to do with Philpott Motors. We have gone above and beyond to try to assist Mr. ***** by working with Toyota as well as ****** ****** (who is the supplier of database for his Panasonic GPS unit), we would like nothing more than to be able to fix Mr. *****’ concerns; however, since this is a product issue, it is out of our hands.

 

  

Thank You,

 

****** ******

Owner Relations Manager

Philpott Motors, Ltd.

(409) 727-**** Ext. ****

10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WAS AN EMPLOYEE OF PHILPOTT FOR MANY YEARS. I CHOSE TO USE THEM BECAUSE I WANTED A GOOD JOB ON MY TRUCK. MY TRUCK WAS PURCHASED THERE. THEY FAILED. PHILPOTT BODY SHOP REPAIRED MY 2008 F-150 FROM A COLLISION THE OCCURRED ON 5-25-2013. THE TRUCK WAS HIT FROM THE REAR. THE TRUCK WAS EQUIPPED WITH A REVERSE SENSOR AND A FACTORY CONNECTION FOR TRAILER LIGHTS. AFTER 5 ATTEMPTS TO HAVE THEM REPAIR THESE ITEMS--I AM ASKING YOU FOR HELP. THE REAR BUMPER THAT WAS INSTALLED IS NOT FACTORY--NO PLACE TO BOLT THE TRAILER CONNECTION BRACKET. THE REVERE SENSOR THEY INSTALLED WAS NOT THE ONE THAT WAS ON THE TRUCK. IT NEVER WORKED. ALSO THE STEERING WHEEL OF THE TRUCK WAS DAMAGED FROM SOMETHING ON AN EMPLOYEES HAND. I WAS TOLD THAT IS WAS NATURAL WEAR. IT WAS NOT LIKE THAT WHEN BROUGHT IN. THE BODY SHOP MANAGER VERY RUDE AND SEEMS TO NOT CARE ABOUT MY COMPLAINTS NOR DOES THE UPPER MANAGEMENT THAT WOULD NOT RETURN MY CALLS--*** *******. I WOULD LIKE MY TRUCK PUT BACK LIKE IT WAS BEFORE THE WRECK PLEASE.

Desired Settlement: REPAIR MY TRUCK PROPERLY AND PUT FACTORY PARTS ON IT THAT THE INSURANCE COMPANY PAID FOR. FIX IT RIGHT THE FIRST TIME AND NOT HAVE THE CUSTOMER DRIVE SEVERAL MILES TO ANOTHER LOCATION TO REPAIR THEIR MISCUES. TAKE A LOOK AT THE MANNERS OF THE EMPLOYEES THAT WORK IN THE BODY SHOP--**** ********* ESPECIALLY.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/27) */ In reference to BBB Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX; Customer ****** *******. The work that was performed to Mr. *******'s truck was completed properly with the appropriate parts. In regards to the dispute, the bumper that we installed was a Factory OEM bumper, part # 8L3ZXXXXXDPTM. The trailer connection bracket is located on the bumper; however, the bracket was re-located per the customer's request. The after-market reverse sensor that was on the truck pre-wreck, was originally installed by our accessories department. When the sensor was damaged in the wreck, the same brand was not available, as this was explained to the customer. Our accessories department installed a different brand with functions in the same capacity. There was trouble with the operation of the sensor and that was immediately addressed and Mr. ******* left with the reverse sensor in working order. The condition that the steering wheel was in when the truck arrived, is normal wear. Our body shop uses all water base paint along with water base cleaners. There is not any chemicals used at the facility that would cause damage to our customer's vehicles. In regards to the manners of our employees, Mr. ******* asked them to include prior damage to the estimate which was denied not only by the employees but the insurance adjuster as well. It is unfortunate that he feels they were rude, they were upholding to our ethical standards in the most professional way they could under the circumstance. In conclusion, the desired resolution of repairs being done properly and with factory parts on; this was done at the time of the repair. Thank You, ****** ******, Owner Relations Manager Philpott Motors, Ltd. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/03) */ I AM NOT LOOKING FORWARD TO MY SIXTH ATTEMPT TO GET MY TRUCK FIXED BUT I WILL MAKE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THE REPAIRS TO BE DONE. HOWEVER, IF THEY ARE NOT DONE TO MY SATISFACTION THEN ARBITRATION WILL BE NEEDED. THE REVERSE SENSOR PROBLEM--THE STEERING WHEEL PROBLEM--AND THE REAR BUMPER THAT THE TRAILER LIGHTS MOUNT ON. THE REVERSE SENSOR SHOULD START BEEPING AT LEAST 4 TO 5 FEET OR MORE FROM AN OBJECT TO GIVE YOU TIME TO STOP. THE TRAILER LIGHTS SHOULD BE MOUNTED ON MY REAR BUMPER ON THE DRIVER SIDE. THAT IS WHERE THEY WERE MOUNTED BEFORE. ALSO THEY WILL NEED TO FURNISH ME WITH A TRUCK TO DRIVE WHILE MINE IS BEING REPAIRED. I PRAY THAT SOMEONE WILL TAKE THE TIME TO MAKE SURE THAT THIS TRUCK IS FIXED RIGHT AND TO FACTORY SPECS BEFORE THEY CALL ME TO PICK IT UP. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/10/11) */ Good afternoon Ms. ****, I wanted to give you an update from our end of the ****** ******* case. Mr. ******* attempted to contact Mr. ******* this morning, but was unsuccessful. He asked that he call him but he also left a detailed message for Mr. ******* explaining to him we are ordering a steering wheel for him as a goodwill gesture and that when it arrives next week (would not be any sooner than Tuesday) we will call him to make an appointment at his convenience. At that time we will replace the steering wheel, look at the reverse sensor, relocate the bracket placement on the bumper again per his request and that we will put him in a rental car for the day again as a goodwill gesture. Thank You, ****** ****** Owner Relations Manager Philpott Motors, Ltd. (XXX) XXX-XXXX Ext. 1042

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refused to do specified instructions provided by company that pre-approved me. Refused to give me back my property that I provided to them. I was preapproved to purchase a vehicle through a company known as ********* all I had to do was bring in my documents and copies of my financial information. A day and a half later I contacted my finance company to find out what issue was to learn the Philpott had not contacted them at all. When I confronted the Finance Manager I was told they would not contact them and that they had run my credit threw the companies subistary ********* which was done with out my permission. When I was brought to the Finance managers office all of this was disclosed I requested my property back that I had provided...Loan approval, Bank Statements, Financial information. At that time Finance Manager REFUSED to return my property to me and the conversation became HEATED...and threat of police was made by the finance manager I said Go ahead let them get my property back from you. At that point 3 other sales people came into office as the finance manager proceeded to pick up a chair I assumed he was going to throw at me. He sat it down behind his desk and I told him I would leave once I received the Documents that I provided and I made copies of. After VERY MUCH RELUCTANCE I received my documents and left the establishment. I feel there business practices are very shady and I felt in DANGER considering I am one man and there were a total of 4 surrounding me.

Desired Settlement: I Want a Formal Apology From the Business and I want Formal Charges for refusing to return property without having the situation becoming heated. And Charges/termination against the finance manager for making me feel Threatened.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/24) */ Customer came in with a preapproved loan that he received online from ********** and talked to one of our sales agents in our Pre Owned building. This is a company that works with customers with lower credit scores. In their preapproval they give a dollar amount and other items they require proof of in order for us to collect money. One of these items is proof of all income. When we requested this, customer couldn't prove all of the income that was listed; therefore, we do not have a way to collect money. While we were faxing what he provided to **********, trying to get them to further assist, the customer took it upon himself to confront our F&I manager, who was also trying to help him. Customer was upset and used a lot of profanity and racial slurs towards our F&I manager which resulted in having to contact the police department. He requested his personal information back and the F&I Manager returned everything the customer provided us with. Customer contacted our corporate office after leaving here and the situation was reviewed by the Customer Relations Manager there. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Have not received any call or voice mail. Would be best to correspond through email ... **************@yahoo.com Business' Final Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/07/09) */ Per the customer's request an email was sent to him by the General Manager. Customer states in response that his credit was ran numerous times. On June 4, 2013 the credit was ran one time and submitted to the lender that customer had a pre-approval notice from, in attempt to structure a car deal. On January 23, 2013 the customer came to dealer and did not have a pre-approval; therefore in attempt to seek approval to finance the customer, we submitted to several different lenders. Our goal is for all of our guests to have an exceptional experience here and we apologized to the customer his experience was not to his expectations.

5/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service