BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Texas

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kinsel Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kinsel Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 22, 1999 Business started: 11/10/1986 Business started locally: 11/10/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Business Management
Craig Kinsel, Vice President of Kinsel Motors Pat Cerniglia, Executive Assistant Michael Cooper, Sales Manager Jay Richards, GM
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Pat Cerniglia, Executive Assistant
Principal: Craig Kinsel, Vice President of Kinsel Motors
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Truck Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Kinsel Auto Group, Inc. Kinsel Toyota & Scion

Additional Locations

  • 3255 Eastex Fwy

    Beaumont, TX 77706 (409) 899-4000 (409) 299-5136

  • PO Box 2470

    Beaumont, TX 77704

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (409) 299-5136(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2006 Chevrolet HHR that I purchased from Kinsel Toyota with a 2 year or 24,000 mile warranty in 2012. In April of 2014 I was at a place of business, and my car would not start. I tried jumping it with jumper cables and it would not work, so I called Kinsel Toyota. With my warranty I get free towing as long as the issue is covered under my warranty, so they sent a tow truck and let me know if it was not covered I would have to pay cash. The service manager over my vehicle was a man named *****. The next day after it being dropped off to Kinsel he called me and said it was just my battery that caused my car to not start, and that I would have to pay for Towing. So I called the tow company and paid $70.00 over the phone via my debit card. I had a sucpision about it being my battery being that I just replaced my battery a few months prior, but I have a lifetime warranty on it. So I got a ride to take the battery out of my car that was at Kinsel Toyota and take it to Auto Parts to get a new battery. Auto Zone leant me a brand new battery to use so that I could go get my car out of Kinsel Toyota gates before they closed. When I put the BRAND NEW battery in my car, I then had to drive back to auto zone to get my old battery that they recharged and said was perfectly fine. But before I even made it back to autozone, which is less than 4 miles away from Kinsel toyota, the brand new battery in my car was drained and I barely coasted into the parking lot at autozone. So from that point I knew it was not my battery, and had to put my old battery in my car and Pray to God I made it back to Kinsel. When I got my car back, they gate to park my car was still open but the Service manager had already left, so I left a note and my keys in the drop box explaining to them how the car died again and it was NOT my battery. The next day I called to speak with their supervisor and explained the situation to him, he apologized on their behalf for them not running a diagnostic test from the start and saving me all the trouble that I went through. So they had to diagnose the car this time and ended up keeping it an extra week. Once *****, the service manager finally called me back, he said that there was a peice called a rechargable link that was not covered under my warranty that they had to replace before they were able to see if it was my alternator that was bad, and that i would have to pay about 300$ for that part and the labor. I was very furious but agreed because I have a job and a two year old son that I was needing to find a ride everywhere to get me to work and him to daycare. So once they ordered that part, they confirmed it was the alternator, which is covered under my warranty. It was replaced and I got my car back. The check engine light never went off in my car, I called ***** and he said it would reset itself. That whole incident was in 4/2012. Now, on 8.14.2014, during this week my car was saying to check it charging systems, which was the same signal it gave when it went dead in April. On 8/14/2014, not more than 4 months later, on my way to pick my son up from daycare, in traffic my electrical system in my car completely died and I had to coast off into a place of business and park my car. I immediatley called Kinsel and spoke with Lisa which is also a Service manager, and she gave me the number to get my car towed to them. On the phone I gave her my updated number so that she could call me regarding my car. I called friday morning to confirm they got my car, and she said yes but they wouldnt be able to look at it until Monday the 8.18.2014, and verified with her my new number. So I said thats fine, I waited a week after that and had heard nothing from them, so I called again, 8.25.2014. She claimed she misplaced my number, after I gave it to her twice, and had tried to call me Friday, 8.22.2014, with the status of my car. She then began to tell me my warranty just expired less than 500 miles ago, and that legally the warranty I have did not have to put the brand name alternator on my car, so they put a used one from O'Reily's on it. I then asked her " so its the alternator AGAIN?" She said yes, and that she could get the alternator covered but I would still have to pay $160.0 0 for the labor. I asked to speak to a Supervisor and she said her supervisor would not be the person I would need to contact, and that she would find a number for me to call and have them call me, or call me back personally. So in the end, 2 weeks after dropping my car off, I am having to pay $160.00 in Labor on a problem that should have been fixed in april, but clearly never was being that my check engine light never went off and less than 4 months the same problem happened again. I should have gotten a complimentary rental, being that this was an issue on their part the second time, and it took them 2 weeks to fix it. I have a 2 year old son, and a job that I had to find rides to everyday. I am a single mother and I just feel like they were very careless about making sure my vehicle was fixed the first time. I have spoken to many friends and family friends and so many people say so many bad things about this company. I just feel like I was treated very poorly as a customer who purchased my vehicle from them as well as a warranty!

Desired Settlement: I feel like the $70.00 I spent on the tow truck the first incident was money that I should not have had to pay for due to the fact that the problem with my vehicle was covered under my warranty. I feel like the $300.00 that I paid for a part that they needed to replace to "check and see if it was my alternator" was just a way to get money from me since the alternator was covered under my warranty and would have been free of charge. I also feel like the $160.00, in labor fees to fix an issue that should have been properly fixed 4 months prior is also an unnecessary charge.

Business Response: Per *** *********** phone conversation with the BBB office.  Kinsel's General Manager has a meeting set up with this consumer 3:00pm Friday to discuss the complaint.  
We will contact the BBB after the meeting.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10197128, and I have agreed to meet with them. But I let them know if I'm not satisfied with the outcome I will keep my case with the BBB. I plan to contact the BBB after the meeting, because I picked my vehicle up Tuesday and my check engine light came right back on 20 minutes after picking up my vehicle. If conflict is not resolved accordingly I would like to pursue further action through the BBB. 

Sincerely,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THE DEALER GAVE ME A COPY OF THE CONTRACT TO TAKE WITH ME. AFTER REVIEWING IT I SAW THE MONTHLY NOTE WAS NOT $486.00 INSTEAD $530.00. THE DUE DATE WAS SUPPOSED TO BE APRIL 4,2014 INSTEAD WAS MARCH 22,2014. WHEN I TRY TO GET A COPY I WAS SNUBBED OUT. I CALLED TOYOTA CREDIT THEY SENT ME THEIR COPY FROM KINSEL IT WAS A SWITCHED FORGED COPY FROM THE ONE I LEFT THE DEALER WITH.TOYOTA CREDIT CALLED AT THE END OF APRIL THREATENED TO DEFAULT ON THE LOAN IF I DIDN'T PAY. I TOLD THEM ABOUT THE COPY I HAD THEY SAID TAKE IT UP WITH THE DEALER. I TRIED. I CLAIMING THAT FRAUDULANT AND FORGED DOCUMENT WAS USED IN MY CASE. I AM GETTING MY CREDIT DAMAGED THRU THIS. Product_Or_Service: 2013 KIA SORRENTO Order_Number: N/A Account_Number: N/A

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) MY CREDIT STANDING REINSTATED WITH COMPENSATION FOR ANQUISH.

Business Response: Ms. ******** signed all documents in the presence of a Kinsel Toyota representative. She was notified at signing that her notes were to be $515.44 beginning on March 22nd 2014. She agreed to these notes and signed the loan documentation with TFS. We have contacted TFS to ensure they also have a payment of 515.44 associated with this account. They do.

On the 5th of May, a full week prior to her filing this complaint with the BBB, Ms. ******** dropped her 2013 Kia Sorrento she purchased from us at our dealership. She handed the keys to a salesperson and stated the vehicle was being dropped off to be serviced. She then left in a brand new Kia she had since purchased from another dealership.

There has been no fraud committed on the part of Kinsel Toyota nor any of it's employees! In fact, it is our contention Ms. ******** decided to purchase the afore-mentioned "new" Kia after she had made her purchase from Kinsel Toyota. She was most likely talked into "returning" the vehicle she purchased from Kinsel (instead of trading it) and may have even been convinced by someone at the other dealer she had that right. She doesn't. Then once we notified TFS she had dropped her car at the store and had no intentions of picking it up and paying for it, she realized indeed her actions would affect her in an adverse manner.

We feel confident, Ms. ********' dissatisfaction with Kinsel Toyota is the direct result of tortious interference by her new Kia dealer and as such, we are considering appropriate legal action to recover any damages resulting from her repossession.

While we deeply regret we were unable to satisfy one of our customers, Kinsel Toyota will take no action to the benefit of Ms. ********.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Traded in 2002 Thunderbird in August 2012. I purchased Extended Warranty in 2011. Still have not recieved refund. Paperwork has not been turned in. After waiting all this time (since August 2012), I keep getting excuses why I have not received my warranty refund. Salesman says give it a few weeks, its been turned in. Then after a few weeks he needs the sales paperwork for the new FJ he sold me..then I wait several more weeks..then he says he needs my bank payoff paperwork for the T Bird i traded in. I get the requested paperwork to the salesmen then I call back after several weeks and he says "wait a little longer but I will look into why you have not gotten your refund". Never hear back from him. I have to call him again. He says he will check with "****" again. Never hear back from anyone. I have to keep calling to get update with the exception only a couple of times he actually called me back but with no results. Come to find out, the T-Bird payoff paperwork never was turned in to the warranty company, still sitting in ***** office. This has gone on since last year. So just the other day I went in to get the oil changed in my FJ, the salesman walked in to the waiting area and said he will walk down to ***** office and we will have an amount for your refund and when you will receive the refund. **** was out so he said that he would call me that day or the next to let me know. Still getting the runaround. Have not heard from anyone.

Desired Settlement: Refund on extended warranty for the 2002 T-Bird as promised.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/05/08) */ Check was cut and waiting for confirmation from warranty company that everything required had been received. It is being mailed today to Mr. ******. Business' Final Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/05/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you all at the BBB for resolving this issue that I had with ****** Toyota. After months of me negotiating with ****** Toyota with no results, you at the BBB resolved the warranty refund issue in a few short days. Thank you so much.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.