BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cowboy Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, Cadillac meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cowboy Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, Cadillac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cowboy Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, Cadillac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1986 Business started: 10/19/1967 Business started locally: 10/19/1967 Business incorporated 10/19/1967 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

http://www.txdmv.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Tommy Moore, Owner Greg Butts, General Sales Manager Gary Gerngross, Service Manager Fabian Gonzalez, Vidor Location - Manager Morris Moore, Owner Paul Palumbo, Used Car Manager Rita Peyres, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Tommy Moore, Owner
Customer Contact: Rita Peyres, Comptroller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Truck Dealers New Car Dealers (NAICS: 441110)

Alternate Business Names
Cowboy Autos of Vidor Cowboy Chevrolet GMC, Inc. Cowboy of Vidor Cowboy Pre-Owned Morris Moore Chevrolet Buick Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1415 Highway 96 Byp

    Silsbee, TX 77656 (409) 385-5221

  • 21440 Ih 10

    Vidor, TX 77662 (409) 769-5700 (800) 356-1258

  • 710 S Main St

    Lumberton, TX 77657 (409) 755-2130

  • PO Box 905

    Silsbee, TX 77656 (409) 373-0278

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I contacted these people about ordering a car, I was quoted a price of $500 over invoice, and was given a drive out price down to the penny. A week before the car arrived I e-mailed them to verify the drive out price so I could go to the bank. They now gave me a higher drive out price, and when I questioned them they said the original number was only a guesstimate. I don't know anyone that gives guesstimates down to the penny. Being that they had the car I wanted, I let it go, and agreed to the higher price. When the car arrived, I went in and signed the papers put in front of me, without reading each one thoroughly, which is my fault. When I got home I looked through them and noticed that they had charged me over $410.06 for a windshield protection plan, that involves applying something to the windshield to resist chipping. I did not ask nor authorize this to be applied to my vehicle. I called to question this, and had my calls ignored, as has been the practice of these people, throughout the entire process.Since then I noticed another paper I signed , charging me $235.11 for another bogus theft protection plan. I understand that I did sign these papers, and that may let them off the hook, but I believe it to be a less than honest way of doing business. What has upset me the most about the entire process though, is the rude, unprofessional, and absolutely disrespectful manner in which I was treated throughout the process.On 6 separate occasions, I was told that I would be called back in a prescribed amount of time and my calls were NEVER returned. this left me sitting by the phone for countless hours waiting for promised return calls that never came. I find this extremely disrespectful. I am a decorated combat veteran of this country, a long time resident of this area,and a retired small businessman, and I have never filed a BBB complaint in my life. I found this situation so distasteful and disrespectful, that I decided to take the time to write this.

Desired Settlement: Refund.

Business Response:

Products were cancelled and a refund check of $645.17 was given to Mr. **** on 10/26/15.

Respectfully Submitted

***** *****, Director of Financial Services

Consumer Response: I wish to thank you very much for your involvement in this situation. Without the clout of the BBB I don't think much would have happened. I went to the dealership , at their request. The matter was discussed and my money was returned.  THANK YOU again.


Sincerely,

***** L. ****

9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a 2015 Denali . We found scratches on it before we left and they agreed to fix them. We dropped it off and they had it for 4 or 5 days. We got the truck back with deep new scratches on it. Before we left I told the salesman he said okay that he will talk to them. I took pictures of the truck before leaving with it. They didn't want to fix them and we left a review in their page and than they wanted to fix it. My fiancé dropped the truck off only to get it back with the same deep scratch on the fender and a deep new one in the door. I'm having to give 78,000 for this truck. All I want is them to fix it without putting more on it.

Desired Settlement: All we want is them to fix the truck and not put any more scratches on it

Business Response: ***** *******, Sales Manager of Cowboy Chevrolet Buick GMC Cadillac, spoke with Mr. ***** concerning the scratches on his 2015 Denali. ***** ******* did come to an agreement with Mr. ***** on repairing the 2015 Denali. As far as we are aware our customer is happy and the case is closed.


**** ******
Comptroller
Cowboy Chevrolet Buick GMC Cadillac


7/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a complaint against Cowboy Chevrolet-Buick GMC-Cadillac, Silsbee, TX I went into their dealership on May 15, 2015 with the intention of buying two vehicles, a Pickup and a Car. Salesman #1 was ******* ******** and Salesman #2 was **** *****. The deals were supposed to be on a 2015 Onyx Black GMC Sierra Pickup and a 2015 White Diamond Chevrolet Impala. We told them that first day that we did not want a Buick. We were dealing on a 2015 GMC pickup and 2015 Chevrolet Impala, we thought. I was Customer #48316. Drive out on GMC was $22,442.37. The drive out on the Buick, which we did not want, was $11,187.28 making the total drive out $33,629.65. The first figure I got for the drive out was $33,336.77. I was going to pay cash for both vehicles. I called Mr. ****** and asked him to send me the paperwork on the two vehicles and I would go to my bank and get Cashier Checks for the vehicles, When he sent the papers, one was correct on the 2015 GMC pickup, but the other one was incorrect for a 2015 Buick Lacrosse. The base price on the 2015 Buick LaCrosse was $35,000. It had 1,206 mileage, so it had to be a demonstrator. The Principal Balance on it was $11,187.28 and the rebate was $5,000. I DID NOT WANT A BUICK. On the Chevrolet Impala....It was a 2014 with 1,181 mileage, so it had to be a demonstrator. Principal Balance on it was $13,212.97. Rebate on this 2014 was $6,036.00. Base price on this 2014 Impala was $40,240.00. I wanted a 2015 Chevrolet Impala, not a 2014. The new paperwork that was fixed up was for a 2014 Chevrolet Impala. I went to Classic Chevrolet and found a 2015 Chevrolet Impala like I wanted. When I went back to Cowboy, the salesman had already had the GMC pickup and the 2014 Chevrolet Impala washed, and they were sitting side by side. I went in to close the deal on the 2015 GMC Sierra pickup. When I told them where I had bought the Chevrolet Impala, Mr. ***** ******* stepped out and told me to go buy my truck at Classic. He said he did not want to do business with me. Mr. ******** and Mr. ***** did not back me up on the deal that we had made with the drive out being $33,336.77 for both vehicles, which was agreed to by Mr. ******, which he increased to $35,660.00. Mr. ********, Mr. *****, and ******* **** all called me wanting to know what had happened. Mr. ****** also called threatening me that I had signed papers to buy them. Mr. ******* **** called me back at 2:01 PM on May 19, 2015 and told me that the GMC Sierra Truck was no longer for sale. Oddly, they apparently do not honor their advertising "BEAT ANY PRICE IN TEXAS" and they have the ad with the comic character horse talking about deals and saying "FREE". But they do not mention the way they treat customers who drive from Beaumont and try to deal with them. I tried to close the deal on the GMC truck that I had signed for. They refused, the other two deals were not to my benefit. I did not want or agree to purchasing the LaCrosse Buick. I made it real clear to the salesmen and Mr. ****** that I did not want a Buick. And, the Buick in question was a demonstrator with 1,206 miles on it. I did not want or agree to buy a 2014 Chevrolet Impala with 1,181 miles on it and it also had to be a demonstrator. These are the reasons for me filing a complaint against Cowboy Chevrolet-Buick GMC-Cadillac, Silsbee, Texas. ******* and ****** *********

Desired Settlement: To have a decision maker in the company contact me and meet with me to resolve this issue.

Business Response: In response to the complaint filed by ******* *********. Because of the way Mr. ********* handled himself at our place of business we chose to not do business with him. Mr. ********* was disrespectful and condescending towards our sales staff. For the other customers who could hear him, he at times would make them feel uncomfortable also.


We were very clear and upfront with Mr. ********* throughout the entire process. We agreed on the figures on his first trip to the dealership for the 2015 Buick LaCross and the 2015 GMC. Mr. ********* signed the title papers with the promise that he would return the following day with a cashier's check to complete the transaction.  The following day he came back to the dealership and told us he did not want the 2015 Buick LaCross, that he wanted a 2015 Impala that was the same price as the 2015 Buick LaCross.  The only Impala that we had that was in that price range was a 2014 Impala that had some miles on it. Mr. ********* did not want the 2014 Impala because of the mileage and because he wanted a 2015. Mr. & Mrs. ********* then chose to look at two different 2015 Buick LaCross', the one he picked out on his first trip here and a more expensive one that Mrs. ********* liked. They ended up choosing the more expensive 2015 Buick LaCross. 

Mr. ********* called us on the third day and told us he was no longer interested in purchasing either vehicles from us.

Mr. ********* then returned on the fourth day and told us he now wanted to go ahead and purchase the GMC truck from us. He also informed us that he bought a 2015 Impala from Classic Chevrolet. At that time we told him that we thought it would be in the best interest of both parties if we did not do business with one another. Mr. ********* agreed and we parted cordially.

Since then Mr. ******** has continued to complain to whomever may listen that we would not sell him a vehicle. Hence, one of the reasons we chose not to. I did call Mr. ********** today, June 15, 2015, after receiving this complaint. I tried to explain the information that I was provided in regards to the details of our dealings with him and that neither party did anything wrong. We simply chose not to do business with one another. At the end of the phone conversation Mr. ********* informed me that the conversation that we just had was being recorded.  I informed Mr. ********* that he was suppose to inform me of that before our conversation began. I cannot help but wonder what his motive may be for recording the phone call.

****** *****
GSM
Cowboy Chevrolet Buick GMC Cadillac

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 10656357

I am rejecting this response because:  I feel that I was justified in filing a complaint against Cowboy-Chevrolet-Buick-GMC-Cadillac because of the way they conducted business with me.  So much in the response by Mr. ****** ***** was not true.  On May 15, 2015 I went to Cowboy with the good intentions of buying a car and truck, paying cash.  The truck deal went fine.  We were in agreement.  I went into Mr. ***** ****** office and signed the Title Papers to the truck that day.  I did not sign anything else.  I was going to bring my wife to Cowboy the next day, May 16, 2015, for her to select her car.  She immediately told the salesman, ******* ********, that she did not like the Buick LaCross, she did not even want to talk about a Buick.  She told him she preferred a Chevrolet Impala.  The discussion then shifted to Chevrolet Impala, only.  There was no more discussion of Buicks. All that was discussed in Mr. ******* ********'s cubicle on May 16, 2015 was the Chevrolet Impala deal.  After many hours, we thought that all was settled on the Chevrolet Impala.  We were brought into Mr. ***** ******' office where he told my wife to sign everywhere there was a yellow mark.  He had a very large computer which almost covered his desk.   He would spin it around and tell my wife to sign.  Then he would spin it around and he would sign it.  He did this several times as he had done the day before when I signed for the truck.  Not once did he tell her that they had SWITCHED the deal from a Chevrolet Impala to a Buick LaCross.  I asked him to send me copies of the two sales contracts so I could get Cashier Checks to bring when we picked up the GMC and Impala.  But, we were shocked when the two contracts arrived....one for the GMC truck and one for the Buick LaCross.  That was what he had her sign for instead of the Chevrolet Impala that she thought she had made the deal on.  The Impala had been SWITCHED to a Buick LaCross.  That was when the disagreement started.  After this, when they finally produced the unsigned Chevrolet Impala paperwork, it was for a 2014 Chevrolet Impala with 1181 miles on it, obviously a demonstrator. Another SWITCH.  My wife was going to trade in a 2013 Toyota Avalon with 21491 miles on it.  Do you really think that she would have traded her 2013 Avalon for a 2014 Impala?  We had seen what Cowboy had to offer, so we went by Classic Chevrolet and found the exact Chevrolet Impala that my wife wanted, and we bought it.  This is what set Mr. ***** ******* off. When I went back to Cowboy prepared to pay for the GMC truck, which I had signed for, is when Mr. ***** ******* stepped out of his office into the showroom and told me he did not want to do business with me...that I should go buy my truck at Classic.  He could have called me into his office to tell me this, and not said it in front of any customers that might have been present.  I was not the one who was upset and disrespectful.  Mr. ******* **** later called me and said the truck was no longer for sale. This is not my entire response to Mr. ****** ***** response, because my reply is very long because of all of the things in it that were untruths.

Sincerely,

******* *********

Business Response:

We have already stated what business transpired on the four days with Mr. *********. Everything was disclosed to Mr. & Mrs. ********* concerning the GMC truck, the 2014 Impala, and the 2015 Buick. We did not have the 2015 Impala that Mrs. ********* wanted so it was her choice to purchase one at Classic Chevrolet, even though she had agreed to purchase the 2015 Buick from us. We opted to exercise our right to refuse service to Mr. *********. No transaction ever took place with Mr. *********. No funds were given to us from Mr. *********. We trust this matter will be closed.

****** *****,

General Sales Manager

Cowboy Chevrolet Buick GMC Cadillac

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 10656357

I am rejecting this response because: I sincerely believe that they are inorrect in some of their responses to you.  Their responses are unfair to me and  I request a face to face meeting to with the BBB Mediator,  Mr. ********. Mr. *****, Mr. ****, Mr. ******, and Mr. *****. I will continue this Complaint until there is a fair resolution to my complaint. 

Sincerely,

******* *********

5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a evaporator core go out probably about a year ago,when this is done the entire dash has to come out which is a extremely large piece being a full size suv. It is a big job and the wasy they make things with cheap thin plastic The Yucon was purchased new in 2010,it is kept in a garage.I noticed a crack around approx. 2" a few months ago while looking in the glove box I never sit in passanger seat where it is noticeable which that's where the evaporator core is located at.I thought well it doesn't look that bad but Sunday when I was cleaning the dash it cracked and a wedge came out leaving a very large hole I know this was glued and not noticeable unless looking for it.I went by there and she said oh im sure the sun cracked it since its been a year r u would have seen it I said I don't sit on passenger side and never looked r saw the crack it was a fine line. it cost around $900.00 to replace we will pay half and u pay half I said no I cant afford that.I have a picture of it and there is no way the sun did this. I would like it replaced

Desired Settlement: replace dash

Business Response:

On behalf of Cowboy Chevrolet Buick GMC Cadillac we would like to respond to the complaint from Ms. ****** **** ***.

 

Ms. *** presented us with the problem of her cracked dash assembly on April 27, 2015. Her complaint was that the dash was cracked, 8 months prior, as a result of a repair we completed on August 13, 2014. General Motors has a known product quality concern with the upper dash pad cracking. Due to this known concern, I offered our customer half and half participation based off the age and mileage of the vehicle. The dash is cracked in the same location as other vehicles with this concern.  We understand Ms. ***’s concerns and frustrations which is why we am more than willing to pay for half of the dash replacement.

 

Please let me know if you need anything else.


Thank you,

 

****** *****

Service Manager

Cowboy Chevrolet Buick GMC Cadillac

409-385-5221 ext. 1009

11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 29,2014 I signed a purchase contact on the purchase of a new car. They gave me a loaner car since the one I bought was on recall. About a week later they email me and want a paycheck stub which I already provided. So I resent numberous pay stubs to them. Immediately, they told me that I don't qualify for this loan because my income does not cover all of my expenses, even after I already signed the loan documentation with GM Financial as the lender. They wanted a co-signer, so my wife **** stops by the dealership and signs a new contract with the same terms and tells her to have me come by and sign. I signed again on October 11, 2014. Then Monday the 20th, I get yet another email from the dealership asking me if my wife owns two automobiles, I replied yes. They asked if they have leins on both, I replied yes. I ask is there a problem, and no response. So I call GM Financial and they told me that our account is not actively set up, they are waiting on a return of trade. There was no vehicle traded, I put $2000 cash down. I have tried to call the dealership numerous times, talked to them on chat on their website to have a manager call me, but they will not. I have never had such a bad experience at an auto dealership as this.

Desired Settlement: A phone call, an apology, a reduction in the price of the vehicle purchased or the return of the car they purchashed from me.

Business Response: Issue was resolved with customer the same day they filed with BBB. Customer left  with vehicle the satisfied with the outcome.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10277530, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Let it be known that I made repeated phone calls, instant messages, and emails to the dealership and left messages to have the general manager to call me.  I never received a call back from management.   With this being said, I drove three hours to the dealership since I don't live near dealership to confront them about the issue of financing taking over a month, and two different loan contracts being signed.  I talked with a manager at the dealership about the issue and he stated that re-contracting is very common, I disagree strongly.  He also stated that my financing was final and my car was ready for pickup.  The car I purchased was on recall by Chevrolet, so I was currently in a loaner car from the dealership.  I am not sure why they did not call if everything was final and the car was ready for pickup.  It took a visit in person to get anything accomplished.   

Sincerely,

***** ****

10/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business sent me a flyer that included a game that you had to match for cash. My card marched for $2K. When I went to redeem my thought winnings, I was told that the money match only guaranteed that I did win something but not the cash that the card match was. That's not what their game rules explained. It said nothing about you had to match a confirmation number on the flyer to win the cash amount that was matched. To me that's misrepresentation of the rules you mailed to customers. The card said match and win, and it game you the rules for the other parts of the game. Cowboy Vidor leaves out information to make you have to come to the dealership with the sole intention to get you to buy a car. That's tricking the consumer in to making that trio to them.

Desired Settlement: Stop mis·informing the public into believing they are winners, just to get the to your dealership.

Business Response: Cowboy Motors of Vidor hired an outside firm that helps generate additional sales volume.  The mail that was sent out was approved by the Texas Attorney General.  The mailer is real, there is actually an insurance policy taken out to cover the prizes.  30,000 mailers are sent out.  We only receive about 500 people that come in to match their numbers and attempt the stated scratch off card.  Most other people simply throw it away.

We are sending a copy of the mailer that states in the first line "Revealing a winning match qualifies you to play the $25,000 instant Scratch Off Ticket contest".  We even had the publishing company enlarge the disclaimer to avoid this waste of our time and the BBB's time.  Mr ***** is welcome to come and attempt his luck at winning with his scratch off ticket if he would like.  We would love to see somebody win as we would love the free advertisement.  Thank you for your time.

****** ********
Sales Manager

6/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Today is the 4th time they have advertised a Nissan pickup for sale that they don't have. I have stopped twice, even yesterday. Yet it relisted 5/15. I have stopped there twice to look at a truck that just came up on southeasttexas.com and been told it was a mistake that they didn't have it, that it had been sold weeks before. I went again when it posted yesterday. Again I was told they didn't have it, that it was sold weeks ago. I told the salesman that was the 3rd time I'd checked on the same vehicle as soon as it was advertised and I would file a BBB complaint if it happened again. They took it down and then reposted it today. The ad is copied below. Cowboy commits clear bait and switch tactics. 2005 Nissan Frontier Body: Crew Cab, Engine: 4.0 6 Cyl., Transmission: automatic, Color: white, Miles: 122749, Price: Call for price, Features:Power Door Locks Power Windows AM/FM Stereo Radio C.D. Player CD Changer Trip Stock#: ****** Visit our website now N/A Lumberton 05/15/14

Desired Settlement: Run commercials admitting and apologizing for bait and switch advertising 2005 Nissan Frontier Body: Crew Cab, Engine: 4.0 6 Cyl., Transmission: automatic, Color: white, Miles: 122749, Price: Call for price, Features:Power Door Locks Power Windows AM/FM Stereo Radio C.D. Player CD Changer Trip Stock#: ****** Visit our website now N/A Lumberton 05/15/14

Business Response: May 16, 2014

RE: 2005 Nissan Frontier 456649

To whom it may concern:
Due to an error with one of our web host, several of our vehicles that were marked as sold have not been removed from soutrheastexas.com website. I have been in contact with the web host today and have been informed that there are several vehicles marked as sold that will remain on the website. They can only update once per day at midnight. I have been assured that this will be corrected by tomorrow at the latest.
As for Mr. ****** I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience he has incurred due this error. However, there was never any bait and switch intended as my salesman never attempted to sell him a different vehicle. After his second inquiry on the vehicle in question my salesman stated the he informed Mr. ****** this was an error that we were trying to correct and that if he noticed the vehicle again that it was sold and awaiting correction to the internet.
If I can be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,
**** *******

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Let me be clear: 1. I do not want anything from this complaint other than for the business to improve its practices. 2. I appreciate Mr. ********* appology.
The company's response indicates it misunderstood the complaint. This was not a vehicle that was still on the website after it was sold. This was a vehile that was posted to the website at least 3 times after it was sold and twice after I went there to check it out. As for the bait and switch , the salesman I talked to the 2nd and 3rd times did not try to sell me anything. He seemed rather embarrassed. But as you would expect from any salesman, the one I talked to first certainly offered to show me their current inventory which he touted as newer and nicer with lower miles (I.e. more expensive) than the one advertised, which would not even be one they'd keep on the lot in Lumberton.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:
In an attempt to clarify this misunderstanding I will further detail the advertising and marketing function of Cowboy Motors of Lumberton.
Cowboy Motors only posts a vehicle one time, it is posted at the time of acquisition to our website and then via third party web host will post to other marketing agencies. The vehicle will remain shown in inventory until it is marked as sold via our web host. At this point the web host will notify the other third party agencies of the sold status and then the vehicle should be removed within 24 hrs. However, as we all know with computers and humans, things do not always happen as they should.
The consumer seems to think that our office is reposting the same vehicle daily and that simply is not what is happening. We only post the vehicle one time. This vehicle was not removed from inventory as soon as it should have been. However, there was never any intent to bait and switch as we do not and have not engaged in this practice.
Example: If I post a photo to the internet with the caption "1995 Ford" this photo and caption will remain until it is removed. In opposition if I do an internet search for any 1995 ford this caption and photo will continue to appear as many times as I initiate a search but the fact is I only posted it one time.
Unfortunately what I speculate has happened was the customer entered search criteria that included this vehicle or a similar description. Our vehicle was displayed and continued to be displayed in subsequent searches because it had not been removed within the 24 hour period.
I have discussed this matter with our web host and in short was informed that perfection has been a very elusive hurdle in this industry. They did however apologized for the delay.
Again I apologize for any inconvenience to this consumer regarding this matter.

Respectfully,

Mark Compton
Sales Manager

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Around 8/18/13 I received a scratch off card. If numbers match you won a big screen TV. My numbers matched for a TV. Also showed low mileage cars. We checked on cars but they all had well over 100,000 miles. They came up with a 2008 Kia Rio with 59,096 miles. Liked the car, so we bought it. We were told by the sale man, ****** **** we would receive a $100 check in the mail. Each one of us were to receive one. We never received check or TV. The check engine light came on. I was told to take it to Cowboy Motor Silsbee. I took it there. They said they cleared the codes out of the car and they never came back on. They told me if I have any more problems with car don't take it to them, they don't have anything to do with Cowboy Motors of Vidor. When I bought the car I was told everything was working and in good condition. I drove the car and steering wheel shook and vibrated a lot. Modica Brothers of Vidor changed two tires, the A/C didn't work right. It was worked on three times. Finally got it to work right. The CD player takes disks but won't play it or won't eject it. They had the car about 10 days the last time, but didn't fix it.

Desired Settlement: Do what he said he would do and fix the CD player.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/15) */ In reference to case #XXXXXXXX Mr. ******* bought a 2008 Kia Rio AS/IS with a 50/50 power train warranty on 8/21/13. At the time of purchase we hired an outside firm to help liquidate inventory. The flyer he received in the mail clearly stated in the disclosure that the numbers had to match the board at the dealership. Mr. *******'s numbers did not match, so he was given a $5 Walmart gift card. I have personally talked with Mr. ******* several times and none of this has ever came up. The day after the car was purchased, Mr. ******* and his wife came back to the dealership to haggle over the price of the car again. Their reasoning for haggling kept changing and they got very rude and loud while calling my employees dishonest. I realize now I would have been better off just taking the car back and parting ways. However, to show good faith we addressed the concern of the light vibration and had two new tires installed for $221.76. Once this was done, total personality change leaving while hugging several of my employees. The Kia was taken to "OUR" Silsbee location and old codes had never been cleared from previous repairs that must have been done prior to us obtaining it. We received a $96.50 check out fee from our service department for this. On 9/18/13 the car was brought in by customer with complaint that the air conditioner was turning on and off. We once again showed good faith and replaced fan blower with no cost to customer for $347.98 paid for repairs a month after purchase. At this time Mr. ******* complained to me that the CD player was not ejecting the CD. At this time I made it perfectly clear to Mr. ******* that I had spent quite a bit of money on his car and had not charged him the 50% of the money he was to pay as part of the 50/50 3 month 3,000 mile power train warranty. He understood and asked if I could at least get the CD out of the CD player, which we did. Mr. ******* came in 11/4/13 stating the AC was acting up again, we sent it back to the shop and had it repaired. I must add that we provided Mr. ******* a vehicle to drive while his car was worked on always bringing the car back dirty and empty on gas. We did call his wife and told her that the car was ready. She claimed she did not drive over a bridge on the way here so we had to wait several days to pick up the Kia. We are providing copies of the paperwork signed by Mr. ******* showing he was never promised anything, accepting the condition of the vehicle at time of purchase and the 50/50 power train warranty. I will be happy to replace the CD player if: 1. I'm reimbursed for his 50% of the service repairs not owed totaling $333.12. 2. Pay half of my cost to replace CD player through my sources for $343.75. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/26) */ Cowboy Vidor has had the car more than we have had it. Were going to fix the CD player 3 or 4 times, has not did anything about it. It will take the disk, not play it or reject. Red service light has come on again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/12/10) */ In response to claim #XXXXXXXX, The vehicle was purchased 47 days prior to the filing of this complaint. We had the car for a total of 10 days while we repaired items that were not covered by the 50/50 power train warranty. As stated in our original response we never promised Mr. ******* any such repairs. Promised repairs are written on a WE OWE form signed by management. The copy we have on file clearly states nothing promised. We have sent numerous forms backing up all our statements. We have provided what we would be willing to do for Mr. ******* in our last response. Cowboy Motors of Vidor has shown good faith in fixing items not covered by the 50/50 power train warranty. We have obviously come to an in pass.

11/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cowboy in Vidor, TX broke a verbal agreement that was set with the manager of the location and between my fiancee and I. On October 2, 2013, my fiancee and I purchased a vehicle from Cowboy Vidor. We were given a set amount of money on our trade in, and had to pay an additional $500 to cover the full cost of our down payment. We had a verbal agreement with the manager at the location that we would write a check to be held until October 15 to cover the additional $500. We went back to the dealership on October 12 and paid the $500 in cash. Upon requesting that they give us back the check that we had wrote, we were told that it had been sent to the Silsbee location and that they would have it the following day for us to pick up. On October 13, we received a statement from our bank that was dated for the 11th stating that the check had been ran through the bank and was returned due the funds not being there. I went back to the dealership with the statement from our bank, and was told that they would make it right and wrote us a check for the $32 handling charge that we were charged by our bank. On the morning of the 17th, I signed onto our online banking to see that they had again put the check through our bank, and yet again it was returned and we were charged another $32. I then returned once again to the dealership with a print off of our bank account showing that they has sent the check in again, and that we were charge the $32 again. They are supposed to write me another check today. I have requested several times that they return the check that we had wrote them back to us, and keep being told that they do not know where the check is at. I feel that this is horrible customer service, and we will not ever purchase another vehicle from any Cowboy location. This was our first time ever dealing with this company, and it has not been a very good experience.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking that this company make our bank account right again, since it is all messed up due to them breaking our verbal agreement. I am also requesting that this company either give us back our check immediately, or pay the fee that we will be charged to do a stop payment on the check. It is not right that we have given them the full amount of money in cash, which is what we had agreed upon, and they are still trying to get more money by running our check. This has been a very embaressing experience for us, because we have never had this problem, and the employees at our bank location have been lead to think that we are trying to pass * check that there are no funds to cover.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ Cowboy Motors of Vidor took full responsibility of bank charges that were charged to Mrs. *******. We have a new finance manager that was not aware of company protocol on down payment owed. We have worked with the consumer from the day she was notified by her bank. We quickly refunded her NSF fee of $32 after questionable amounts she was originally claiming. Our bank will automatically run an NFS check twice if the customers bank will allow. We quickly refunded that money as well. My office even made plans to bring the license plates ad check to Mrs ******* house. We have kept in constant contact with the consumer so we are not quite sure the consumers reasoning for filing a complaint. As to the matter of the original check being returned to the customer, we do not get the original check back from our bank. The bank will give us a certified hard copy. We have told this to Mrs *******. Our bank will not longer attempt to run the check again. We have apologized and made good on our mistake. We are more than willing to have them return the purchased vehicle (providing condition and mileage) if she is not happy about doing business with Cowboy Motors of Vidor. We truly strive for ultimate customer satisfaction. Unfortunate things do happen; however, we are quick to handle resolution.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cowboy Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, Cadillac
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)