BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1983

MCDOUGAL COMPANIES

Phone: (806) 797-3162Fax: (806) 577-46915001 W Loop 289, LubbockTX 79414-1614

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

McDougal Companies started in 1982 in Lubbock, Texas. Today, a diverse strength characterizes the company and stems from the leadership and direction of Delbert McDougal, who founded the company. The entire McDougal family is instrumental in the day-to-day operations of the company. Over the past nearly 30 years, the company has grown into three separate divisions including McDougal Properties, McDougal Realtors and McDougal Construction. The integration of these businesses - multifamily housing, real estate and construction - adds a level of flexibility, which is unmatched in the West Texas region.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1983

BBB has determined that MCDOUGAL COMPANIES meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised MCDOUGAL COMPANIES' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MCDOUGAL COMPANIES

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on 05/22/2015 the water was leaknign fromthe ceiling. on 10/06/2015 my ceiling caved in on my bed and water came out from the roof which was damaged.
on 05/22/2015 the water was leaking from the ceiling. on 10/06/2015 my ceiling caved in on my bed and water came out from the roof which was damaged. they only put a plastic bag on the ceiling and tarp onthe roof. but they have not come to repair the ceiling. my throat and head is hurting and i am now coughing along eith my son. We have gone to the doctor. I would like 2 months of full rent returned to me since they will not let me out of my lease. My daughter is going to pay for my law suit if the problem is not resolved very soon.

Desired Settlement
i want full 2 months refund and repairs done on the apartment.

Business Response
Due to a roof leak, a small part of the bedroom ceiling was damaged by the rain water. We were able to put a tarp on the roof and cover the hole in the bedroom ceiling with plastic until the roof repairs could be made. The roofers have been out and have suggested the decking be replaced. That is what is currently being worked on and the hole in the ceiling will be repaired.

Consumer Response
Consumer called stating the issues were resolved according to what the business had submitted. Closing the case out resolved.

07/16/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Authorized a one time debit for application fee of $60 and $ 600 for apartment deposit in May. The Dominion removed $6000 and $600 from my checking .
Have made contact with my bank, there are no deposts pending for the $6000 error and I am unable to reach anyone to correct the error except the the property manager.
People
Cindy ******** Jun 5 at 4:52 PM
To
**** ******
****,

I emailed the bookkeeper to ask about tracking numbers and will let you know what I find out.

Sincerely,
Cindy

On Fri, Jun 5, 2015 at 4:24 PM, **** ****** <********@yahoo.com> wrote:
Cindy,

I have just checked my account on line and there no pending deposits or credit from you. Is there a tracking number associated with the deposit that I can give the bank to follow up ?
Thanks,
****

From: Cindy McKinney <**************@********.com>
To: **** ****** <********@yahoo.com>
Sent: Friday, June 5, XXXX X:XX PM
Subject: Re: The Dominion 1402

****,

I have just heard back from my bookkeeper, she had gotten with her supervisor, who in return had checked to see if your funds had posted to our account. As of right now the $6000.00 has not posted, we do not have the funds in our account to process a refund.

Is the $6000.00 debit on you account a pending transaction?

Sincerely,
Cindy





On Fri, Jun 5, 2015 at 2:50 PM, **** ****** <********@yahoo.com> wrote:
Dear Cindy,

Have you followed up with your bookkeeper regarding the $6000 debit ? My bank account does not reflect any deposit from your company as we discussed this morning to correct this .

Thank you,

****
.

From: Cindy McKinney <**************@********.com>
To: **** ****** <********@yahoo.com>
Sent: Thursday, June 4, XXXX X:XX AM
Subject: The Dominion 1402

****,

I have attached the documents for the transactions. I want to apologize for the error we made. Please let me know if your bank received the refund request yesterday or if we need to communicate with your bank.



Sincerely,
Cindy



CINDY MCKINNEY
Community Director

p: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
f: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
**************@********.com



The Dominion




Desired Settlement
I want my $6000 returned to my checking account and I am getting no action from them. I realize it was an error on the Dominion's side but they have not done anything to remedy this. My bank account has been over drawn .
I am requesting all monies returned to my account immediately. $6000 was NEVER authorized by me.

Business Response
The transaction was made in error and the funds have been returned to the applicant.

02/21/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Rental Service, Rental Property Management, Property Management, Real Estate, Leasing Service, Apartments, Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/1983Business started: 06/01/1982
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

REAL ESTATE COMMISSION (Texas)
(512) 936-3000
http://www.trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1982, TX

Business Management
Marc McDougal (CEO)
Contact Information
Principal: Delbert McDougal (Chairman) Carolyn McDougal (Vice Chairman)
Business Category

Real Estate Rental Service, Rental Property Management, Property Management, Real Estate, Leasing Service, Apartments, Home Builders

Products & Services

This company offers apartment & condominium building.

This company offers apartment rentals and real estate brokerage services.

Alternate Business Names
DOMINION APARTMENTS, 2012 MAIN STREET, ASHTON POINTE APARTMENTS, D C M C, LC, HIGH PLAINS RESEARCH, MC & MC PROPERTIES, LC, MCASHTON POINTE, LC, MCCOUNTRY PARK, LC, MCD EQUIPMENT LEASING, LC, MCDOUGAL + SERVICES, MCDOUGAL COMMERCIAL REAL ESTATE SERVICE, MCDOUGAL FAMILY PARTNERSHIP, LTD, MCDOUGAL PROPERTIES, MCDOUGAL PROPERTIES, L.C., MCDOUGAL REALTORS, MCDOUGAL'S PROPERTY MANAGEMENT, MCFARRAR WEST, LC, MCINTERN OF LUBBOCK L.C., MCSALEM OAKS, LC, MCSALEM VILLAGE, LC, MCSTRATFORD PLACE, LC, MCUNIVERSITY SQUARE, LC, MCWINDMILL HILL, LC, PIONEER HOTEL, SALEM VILLAGE SHOPPING CENTER, STRATFORD PLACE APARTMENTS, THE DOMINION, THE DOMINION APARTMENTS, THE PARK APARTMENTS, UNIVERSITY SQUARE APARTMENTS
Industry Tips
LUBBOCK BUILDING PERMITS
APARTMENTS - LEASES & DEPOSITS
RENOVATION, REPAIR & PAINTING (RRP)

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MCDOUGAL COMPANIES

5001 W Loop 289

Lubbock, TX 79414-1614

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5001 W Loop 289 

    Lubbock, TX 79414-1614(806) 797-3162
    Fax: (806) 577-4691

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the South Plains of West Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MCDOUGAL COMPANIES is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.