BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
South Plains of West Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/10/2013

AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN

Phone: (806) 745-2515Fax: (806) 745-2249View Additional Phone Numbers150 Slaton Rd, LubbockTX 79404-5202View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/10/2013

BBB has determined that AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I made reservations through ******* to stay at a hotel called American Best Value Inn.This American Best Value Inn was located at 150 Slaton Road, Lubbock, TX - 79404.These reservations were for 10/9/14 through 10/11/14.We had travelled 8 hours and when we arrived at the hotel, they accused us of reserving 2 rooms and said that we would be charged for the 2 rooms.The clerk was rude and said that we would have to pay for 2 rooms. I told her,"... why would we book 2 rooms when it was just me and my husband?" She did not listen, so I called ******** ******* called the hotel and I was watching and listening to the same rude clerk be rude to ******** Additionally, as I was listening to the conversation, a bug dropped from the ceiling onto my head. I guess I should not have been surprised since the hotel had a sign stating..." to forgive them while they exterminate." Also, upon entry into the lobby, the hotel smelled of dog.I asked ******* if we needed to stay at the hotel that night and they said "No." I was concerned about where we would stay because it was late and due to TTU Family Weekend we were not sure if we could get another room in town. Luckily, we were able to get a room at the hotel next door. However, I was upset over this because I had made these reservations through ******* months ago. I spoke to ******* several times that night as well as throughout the next day. What the representative concluded was that the hotel was at fault and double booked us when I called to asked if we could have the room early if we arrived early on 10/9/14. The hotel went ahead and booked another reservation when I called versus checking/ confirming a previous reservation with ******** American Best Value Hotel charged to my credit card $79.10 and $73.45 for the date of *************** stated that once I send them the credit card bill that they would refund the money. However, I do not want others to have to suffer this same treatment. This is why I am contacting you.
Product_Or_Service: hotel booking

Desired Settlement
Mainly for BBB information.If possible a refund.I would like them to refund my money that was billed to my Credit card on 10/9/14. The total being $152.55 so I do not have to go through ******* nor involve my Credit card company. This is time and much effort.

Business Response
We are very sorry your husband and yourself had a sub par experience with our lodging facility. We take pride in our customer satisfaction and would like to clear any misunderstanding with your reservations. The reservations that were made for that weekend were made through a third party reservation site ********** The hotel could not have made an duplicate reservation because both were sent via ********** reservation interface with two different confirmation numbers. I apologize if there was any confusion regarding the stay but we did not make a second reservation.

Adding on, we apologize that your impression of our hotel's cleanliness was in a negative direction. We do our best to make sure everything is in a clean and fresh condition for our guests. We feel that if given a second chance, our hotel would exceed any and all expectations.

Again, We are very sorry your stay here was not as expected.

Thank you,
Americas Best Value Inn-Lubbock

09/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bed bugs, no refund
We checked into Americas Best Value Inn on Saturday 08/30/14. After spending one night we woke up to my son being covered in bed bug bites. He is highly allergic to bed bugs. He had been bitten a few years back in *************** and had the same severe reaction this time. I went to the office and they assured me my room charge would be refunded and would not charge me for the 2nd night. I returned home and not only had they charged me for the first night but for the night we did not stay there. I called the office first thing Tuesday 09/02/14 morning and spoke to *******. He informed me they had closed the room we stayed in, room 110. But they could not refund the charge. I asked to speak to the owner/manager and was told they would have him call me at his convenience but the charges "most likely would not be credited/reversed." Now not only am I paying for a room that caused my son pain, having to find a laundry to wash all the clothes we had on, find a new hotel but I have to pay for a night that we didn't even stay. I called the health department but they didn't seem too interested in a complaint for bed bugs.

Desired Settlement
I want the charge for $141.25 credited back to my debit card.

Business Response
Dear ***********,
I want to again apologize about the incident that occurred at our lodging facility. I spoke with you recently in the past regarding the issue and would like to re-confirm that we did refund charges for both nights. I had immediately refunded the second night and the night that that your family stayed the next day. I believe it just took the bank you have the card with a few days to process the refunds. If that is not the case, please let us know and we would be more than happy to look into the details. However at this moment the charges have already been refunded. I hope you give our facility another try in the future because problems like this are not common and we would like to show you how clean and well kept we try to maintain our rooms.

Thank you,
*******

07/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Credit card charged twice
I booked a room through Booking.com and was charged for that room of $124.30 for 2 night. Upon arrival at the motel I was ask for a drivers license and credit card to varaify the information. I then about an hour later was on line in my bank account and found I was charged twice. I called the front desk and was told they will refund the overcharge of $124.30, this has not happened. I do plan to seek legal advise, this is nothing more than theft.

Desired Settlement
Refund of overcharge ASAP

05/24/2012Billing / Collection Issues
05/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was evicted from my hotel with no reason given. It had been agreed upon that I would need the room for two nights. But I was awakened form my sleep before checkout and told to leave with no explanation. My vehicle was in the repair shop and I had no transportation. The hotel would not offer me another room nor would they accept payment for another night as had been agreed upon during check in. I had to leave behind some personal items as well as 40 dollars worth of food ordered from a vendor that had been recommended by hotel management. I was unable to retrieve all of my belongings because as soon as I left the room the first time my room was locked and my card key all of a sudden would not work. Therefore they kept some of my personal items and my food. I was put out on the street with only the belongings I could carry, no transportation and no other vacancies at other nearby hotels. Then Americas best Value Inn billed my credit card for a full nights stay even though I was forced to leave before checkout time. Being put out on the street caused me to be put in a discomforting and dangerous situation. I have supporting emails from hotel management that will validate my claim.
Product_Or_Service: hotel stay

Desired Settlement
I want to be compensated for the mental stress, discomfort and danger of being put out on the street as well as for the fraudulent practices of Americas Best Value Inn of Lubbock.

Business Response
There is no way that we would "evict" a guest from a room. The only reason that we were unable to extend your stay was because we did not have any available rooms. The reason it was not done at arrival was because you were uncertain of staying another night, due to the fact that your vehicle may have been fixed sooner than the two nights.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The entire response from Americas best Value Inn is a lie. First, I specifically told the desk clerk at check-in that I would need the room for two nights and to bill my credit card. That's the reason that I had purchased such a large amount of food from a vendor recommended from them. Second, how were no rooms available when I was already in a room? Third, the female that evicted me was rude and obnoxious even sending someone to bang on the door before I could get out of bed and before checkout. Fourth, as I could not carry all of my belongings to the lobby in one trip, I returned to the room to get the rest only to find the door locked from inside and I was forced to leave some personal items as well as nearly all of the food I had delivered. The rude desk clerk would not give me access back in the room. I assume the person that was banging on the door entered the room and locked it as soon as I walked around to the lobby. I strongly suspect that the person who evicted me saw my picture ID and wanted me out. This was not the person who checked me in the previous evening. The person that evicted me was extremely rude and obnoxious. This hotel should be reported to authorities and the public. Their actions should be considered criminal and they should be prosecuted. I was forced to call a cab and sit at the repair shop until that night causing extreme mental and physical stress. And please understand, these people would not even simply bill my credit card for another night for a room I was already in. They evicted me.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Motels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/26/2000Business started: 05/01/1995
Contact Information
Principal: Kenny Patel (Owner)
Business Category

Motels

Products & Services

This company offers daily, weekly, monthly room rental and lodging.

Alternate Business Names
AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN-LUBBOCK, L & J INVESTMENT, INC.
Industry Tips
HOTELS and MOTELS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN

150 Slaton Rd

Lubbock, TX 79404-5202

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 150 Slaton Rd 

    Lubbock, TX 79404-5202(806) 745-2515
    (888) 315-2378

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the South Plains of West Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AMERICAS BEST VALUE INN is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 315-2378
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Motels

HOTELS and MOTELS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.