BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

HAWTHORN SUITES BY WYNDHAM

Phone: (806) 792-3600Fax: (806) 792-3601View Additional Phone Numbers4435 Marsha Sharp Fwy, LubbockTX 79407-2519http://www.hawthorn.com/hotels/texas/lubbock/hawthorn-suites-by-wyndham-lubbock/hotel-overviewView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

HAWTHORN SUITES BY WYNDHAM is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised HAWTHORN SUITES BY WYNDHAM's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on HAWTHORN SUITES BY WYNDHAM

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1 of 2 rooms reserved had NO maid service. Woken up many times through out the night due to under managed hotel.
02/14/2014 checked in by a man named *******, supposed to have a king suite and a double suite next to each other because we were traveling with children. We were given two double suites, one of which had not had any maid service and was lived in. The front desk offered to give us a king across the hotel from our children. We ended up sleeping six people in a double suite and were not compensated for the lost room because no one on site could authorize a refund. We were woken up multiple times through out the night by running, jumping, loud children, and tv volume. We called 5 times between the 10:00 p.m. and 12:00 a.m. hours. Each time we were told it must be in the hall, even though our light fixture was rattling. At 12:30 went down to the lobby to settle the noise problem spoke with a girl named ****. Upon entering the lobby area I was bombarded with a large group of children and teens leaving the pool, which was supposed to be closed at 11 p.m. S It was really loud down there. **** told me that she had called up there twice and both times was told the children in that room were asleep. She also said she sent someone to listen in the hall and it was quiet.There were many adults drinking in the resturant,which is fine. However, while making my complaint with **** a gentleman came over and said, "Oh, I bet that's my grandkids. I'll tell them to stop." Ironically the noise stopped within 15 mintues and we didn't hear it again until about 7:30 a.m. again. **** also told me she didn't have authority but I could speak with the general manager in the morning.

Upon leaving the hotel the next morning we asked to speak to the manager. Imagine our surprise, he doesn't come in on the weekends, we were told. I was given a complaint form, which I filled out. I was also given *** ******'s card with XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 505. My husband has called and left message, still waiting a reply it is now 02/18/2014. I feel we should have at least had a reply of some kind in four days.

We spent $180.58 between the two rooms, one of which was unusable and not even the right type of room. We only slept 4-5 hours due to noise. Overall most unpleasant experience in a hotel to date. I've never encountered a staff that could not correct a complaint and make it right. I've never had a manager so absent. I've never had to make a complaint such as this. I just feel like we aren't being heard in this matter.

We came to Lubbock the night before a piano competition. Due to the time zone change,we didn't want to be exhausted from driving in the early morning hours. Joke on us!

Desired Settlement
We would like a full refund of $180.58. We feel neither room was to the high standard a Wyndham Hotel should have. We were given a filthy, lived in Double Suite instead of a King Suite. The Double Suite we did stay in was so loud we couldn't rest.

Thank you for you time on this matter.

Business Response
BBB received notification from the consumer stating:

"Yes, we were contacted by email on the 27th of Feb and an told a refund would be issued for our stay. That refund reached us on March 2, 2014."

09/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
General Manager promised a $100 dollar settlement check for five jackets taken by hotel staff from hotel storage room.
My family was a frequent guest of this hotel. On 20-21 April 2013, we accidentally left our jackets (5) in the room closet on check-out 21 April 2013.

We departed Lubbock and notified the hotel telephonically around 1600 the evening of April 21. Hotel staff confirmed they located our jackets, placed them in a bag with our name on the bag and placed that bag in storage. I explained that we would not return to Lubbock until August; and, was assured the hotel would safeguard our personal property until we returned.

On or about 01 August 2013, I called the hotel to confirm our arrival on 08 August, and that our jackets were available. Again, we were assured our jackets were available for pickup on 08 August.

On arrival 08 August, I was told our jackets were locked up in storage; and, only housekeeping had a key, and they had left for the day.

Visited the front desk at 1045 on 09 August and was informed there was no one on site with a key to the storage room. Spoke to the General Manager and he confirmed that only the housekeeping manager had a key to the storage room. There was nothing he could do.

We checked out and proceeded to our appointment and called the hotel and spoke to the General Manager on or about 1300. The General Manager stated our jackets were no longer in storage as he permits housekeeping to take them home. I reminded the General Manager that I called on 21 April and notified the hotel that we would return in August. The General Manager was also reminded that the hotel acknowledged possession of the jackets on 01 August. The General Manager again stated the best he could do was file a claim with the hotel's insurance company and their adjuster would contact me by the end of next week (16 August).

Not having heard from Wyndham's insurance carrier, I called the General Manager on 30 August 2013 for an updated status. The updated status was he "was just too busy." The General Manager offered a settlement of $100 (less than the stated value of the jackets). Frustrated and disappointed, we agreed, only to be informed by the General Manager that he would have to wait until Tuesday 03 September 2013 because the accountant had gone for the day. He stated he could provide a $100 credit towards our next stay with them. We declined the credit and the General Manager emphatically stated a check would be sent on 03 September.

We called the General Manager twice on 03 September, and were told he wasn't in the office either time. We left a message each time, but he did not return the call.

Desired Settlement
Original replacement value was $125. We are back to that number.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/17/2008Business started: 11/15/2008New Owner Date: 08/01/2014
Type of Entity

Limited Partnership

Business Management
Principal: Steven Skolnik (General Manager)
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
HAWTHORN SUITES, TAO - LBBH, LP, PEARL HOSPITALITY
Industry Tips
HOTELS and MOTELS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for HAWTHORN SUITES BY WYNDHAM

4435 Marsha Sharp Fwy

Lubbock, TX 79407-2519

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4435 Marsha Sharp Fwy 

    Lubbock, TX 79407-2519(806) 792-3600
    (806) 414-2749
    Fax: (806) 792-3601

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the South Plains of West Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*HAWTHORN SUITES BY WYNDHAM is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (806) 414-2749
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.hawthornlubbock.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Hotels

HOTELS and MOTELS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.