BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/30/1993

BETENBOUGH HOMES

Phone: (806) 797-9494Fax: (806) 797-4413

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
02/18/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have a cracked tub/shower. Repaired 2 times and still not fixed.
I moved into a brand new Betenbough home in October of 2013. As we were cleaning we found a crack in the guest tub. We notified Betenbough and they sent a local company to repair the crack. I asked that the tub be replaced at that time with no success. Within 4-5 months it cracked again in the same place. Betenbough then had the bathtub company ******** **** come in and repair the crack again. I again asked for a new tub with no success. In November of 2014 the tub cracked again in the same place. I called Betenbough who told me the tub was out of warranty. They sent me to ******* ***** out of Anaheim, CA to repair the tub. I asked for a new tub again, which I was told by ******** that they would supply a new tub but I would have to pay several thousands of dollars to install. I told him just to repair it again because I did not feel it was my responsibility to pay since it had been a problem since day one. He first showed up the week before Christmas 2014 and as of today February 2, 2015, the tub is still cracked and not repaired. The service man from ******** has stood me up 2 times. I want this tub fixed and fixed the right way. I bought a brand new home to avoid all these problems and have been dealing with these "patches" for over a year. Please do the right thing!

Desired Settlement
I would just like for this patched up tub to be removed and replaced with a new one. I will not incur any expense for this being done. It was cracked the first day I moved in and should have been taken care of the right way the first time. It would be no different than buying a brand new car that had a cracked windshield and instead of replacing the windshield they put a filler in the crack.

Business Response
I have contacted *** ***** and discussed the issues with his tub and his concerns. We have come up with a solution that we have both agreed upon and we are scheduled to be there on 2/23/15 to resolve the issue.

12/29/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Issues still have not be resolved, a month after reporting them.
On 11/7/14, I call *********** warranty with several problems. ***** scheduled an appointment to fix the issues on 11/17/14. The worker came out and fixed only three of the issues, (Painting peeling and Kitchen window not closing properly and the carpet) but the kitchen lighting fixtures, dish washer seal, and faucet repairs were not repaired. He told us that he would order the parts and contact me by that Friday to schedule a new date to replace and repair everything else. No one has contacted me to fix these issues.
I have had previous problems with ********** dragging their feet on previous repairs and this is uncalled for. They have guaranteed me under the warranty contract that any issues would be repaired but I have to complain or send in BBB reports before they will do anything about it.

Desired Settlement
I want all of the issues fixed in one week. No later.

I also will want an extended warranty on the dish washer after the 1 year warranty is up. This is the third dish washer that has issues.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** ********* ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@**********.com
We have been in contact with the homeowner and have resolved all issues.

This is the record we have of our interaction with the homeowner concerning these issues...

On Monday 11/17 ********** Homes' warranty specialist went to a scheduled appointment with the homeowner to evaluate some claims he asked us to look at. At that time the warranty specialist noted manufacturer defects with the Dishwasher, kitchen faucet, and an electrical problem with some recessed lights in the kitchen.

On Tuesday 11/18 the warranty specialist sent out work order to an electrician to fix the light problem, ordered a new faucet to be installed in the kitchen, and setup a service call with a ** ******* ********** for the dishwasher.

The homeowner called in on 12/5 requesting a call back from a ********** warranty representative.
Later that day (12/5) I called the homeowner back and he said he hasn't heard from the Electricians concerning the lights, or the plumber concerning the new faucet. The GE Representative had called him requesting the model and serial number of the dishwasher but he "was not able to get it to them due to work."

At this point, I personally scheduled the electricians, plumbers, and dishwasher installers to do all the work needed on 12/11. I also bypassed *** normal ** warranty protocol and just bought him a new dishwasher on **********'s money so the homeowner wouldn't have to wait for ** anymore, and scheduled the install for 12/11 also.

On 12/11 The lights got fixed, the faucet got replaced with a new faucet, and the new dishwasher was installed. However, the homeowner's father was not happy with how the new dishwasher sat in the opening, so our supplier shipped us an upgraded dishwasher and ********** paid for it to be installed for the homeowner
the next morning (12/12).

All issues are resolved.

03/31/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Betenbough sold me a home with the promise of any issue being fixed but does not follow through.
I was giving a number to call if any warranty issues that I needed to have fixed, I was told to call a plumber and then hung up by their representative. I have had several security issues (doors that will not properly lock) since I bought the property ********* I had to wait over 3 weeks for an installation of a dish washer because the one they installed leaked. The wiring was incomplete (coax/ethernet). I have a leak in the middle bathroom which I was told by *** and ***** when the plumber came to fix the dishwasher, they would fix that.They refused to even look at it. I have cracks that have formed in the brick and holes around the windows. I have a screw that underneath the sink that is just sticking out of the side. I have walls that did not get painted and holes in the ceiling. Doors have enough of a crack underneath to let air and dirty enter. I was told by Mike (?) the guy who did a 30 day walk through that he would call me in a couple hours to schedule all these repairs, it's been several days now. All of these problems I have been told would be fixed but not even a date has been scheduled. I have been in the house for a month and half now.

Desired Settlement
I want all the repairs done on the items I have listed above within the week. I want an apology for everyone who has dropped the ball on this in writing. Lastly, I want a direct line to someone who will take care of any warranty issues, without me having to call three different people, be hung up on, or jump through the many hoops I have to have gone through just to get the couple repairs done, that I was able to actually get them to do.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Warranty
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******@**********.com
We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with your new home. Our warranty team has communicated with you multiple times in recent weeks to address and complete many of the repairs listed in this report. As agreed upon between you, the homeowner, and the Betenbough Homes warranty team, all other unresolved issues will be addressed once parts are delivered. The warranty team will wait until all parts are received in an effort to be efficient with your time by scheduling just one appointment. Our goal is to serve every customer that we come in contact with to the best of our ability, which is why we have so many warranty team members. Please continue to call our warranty line with any concerns and we will work to address your needs in a timely manner.

09/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inability of betenbough homes to respond to warranty requests in a timely fashion as listed in their homeowner manual.
We closed on the purchase of our new home, on 3/28/2013. To find many issues from our final walk through were not resolved or handled properlly. It has been down hill since. When we closed on our home we immediately found the fence was still not repaired or backfilled, as well as a still cracked driveway which we were insured at closing would be resolved promptlly. The fence took right at two months to be resolved, and the driveway took three. Since then we have encountered many issues that most times have taken 60 days to be repaired. According to the betenbough homeowner manual "We intend to complete non-emergency work orders withing 15 workdays of the inspection unless you are unavailable for access. If a back ordered part or similar circumstance causes a delay, we will inform you." We have had very few of the requests we have made be corrected in that time frame. Here is a list of all the issues we have reported, cabinet molding falling down, paint overspray on cabinets, master closet not shutting, master closet door cracked, crooked bathroom light switch, stone on the front of the house missing mortar, all entry doors don't close well, air condinter froze up and water damaged living room, septic tank sinking, screw pops in garage and utility, water leak under kitchen sink, fraying carpet at front door, fence falling down, fence not back filled, cracked driveway, dining room ceiling streaked from painting, and garage entry door bubbled. Most of these issues have been somewhat resolved at this point, but we have found the warranty departments work to be hap hazard at best. Most of these issues were reported to Betenbough within the first fifteen days we lived here and were not fixed until between 60 and 90 days. I count 17 issues which to me is a tremendous amount for a home that is roughlly 90 days old. I have spoken with *** ********** on the phone about these issues, and he would not let you get a word in before he was trying to push me off to someone else, the exact same gentleman I had already been working with on most of these issues, his name is ****** it seemed to me that *** did not care. I expected the service received to meet what was outlined in the homeowner manual. I also want to point out the manual lists a 30 day check up and they actually now perform a 60 day check up. One last thing in reguards to the complaint is that I have heard multiple times that we are really busy in Midland/Odessa, and have even been told you know you are not the only home we have to take care of, we have many other homeowners. These issues and the delayed response, along with the improper repairs have caused us to loose all faith in our new home.

Desired Settlement
The settlement I am seeking is multiple parts. Me and my wife would like the water damaged carpet in the living room replaced, we would like the dining and living room ceiling painted properlly without streaking, all entry doors hung properlly (not using these black rubber things they added), mold testing performed twice on our home in the next year from water damaged cause by air condtioner, baseboard in utility room adjusted, corner molding in living room repaired from damage caused by baseboard replacement, second driveway square repoured due to damage cause when replacing first square, septic tank back filled correctlly (which is in the works), septic tank checked by licensed septic tank service, the first year warantty extended for one year from the date of when all repairs are properlly made, and Copensation for the roughlly 30 hours I have had to take off of work, spend on the phone, file this complaint to make sure we get the issues in out home correctlly resolved, and the time we back filling the fence which betenbough never did. I would also like to know that we will get better response times in the future.

Business' Initial Response
We are sorry to hear about your discontent with your new home. Our warranty team has worked diligently to address each and every one of your concerns and after our last conversation, we understood that you were happy with your new home. As promised, we will continue to serve you in the manner outlined in our warranty guidelines; but because the nature of many of your requests fall outside of our agreed upon warranty, we will not be able to resolve each issue that you have mentioned. We hope that our efforts will bring you peace in your new home.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this as a valid response. "We are sorry to hear about your discontent with your new home. Our warranty team has worked diligently to address each and every one of your concerns and after our last conversation, we understood that you were happy with your new home. As promised, we will continue to serve you in the manner outlined in our warranty guidelines; but because the nature of many of your requests fall outside of our agreed upon warranty, we will not be able to resolve each issue that you have mentioned. We hope that our efforts will bring you peace in your new home." This response confirms my exact complaint with betenbough homes. When me and my wife last spoke with ***** in our home, she told him she was not happy with the new home, and he offered nothing to help resolve this. He said he would have a carpet expert here on Monday to but the carpet back down in our living room, and advise if it needed replaced. The carpet was but back down, but the carpet expert must not have been much of an expert, because the carpet was not put back down good or correctly it is now fraying at the tile in the entry, as I noted in the original complaint. The carpet in the living room needs replaced as it all seems loose now. When they removed the water damaged base boards from out home, the betenbough rep, damaged some of the tape and bedding on one of the corners, the closet door in the master bedroom is dinged and damaged worse than the first one that they took down. The septic hole that they filled is still not correct and needs several more wheel barrows full of dirt brought in. The driveway is still damaged from where they broke out the first square and got into the second square. The baseboards that were replaced in the utility room one of the corner pieces is protruding out because it is to big. In the mechanical closest in the garage there is a black spot from the water damage that occurred, this is why mold testing is being requested. The septic tank needs to be checked by a licensed septic tank service company as it appears the whole thing has settled and now the sewer line has also moved. I would also like to point out that no Betenbough employee has stepped foot in our backyard to personally look at the septic tank, they looked through a bedroom window due to rain. As per our warranty agreement there is a 6 foot rule, all of these issues can be seen from at least 6 foot, so per our agreement they should be covered. I will say it again the homeowner manual says that issues reported will be resolved within 15 business days, basically. We are going on 4 months having the driveway properly repaired, the mold stain in the garage is over a month out, the carpet was originally reported with the mold damage as well. As a customer I am yet again having to take more time to deal with issues that were not resolved correctly or given the proper care and concern the first time. The funny part is I cannot find anything that deals with sub par repair work by the builder in our warranty manual. I do not expect to continue to have address the same issues over and over again when we are having new issues pop up.

Business' Final Response
BBB received the following response:

"After the last response of ****** ****** we asked him in to have a meeting with him. Myself and ***** **** our Chief Construction Officer. ****** brought a list of demands which were primarily outside of the warranty requirements. To ensure that Mr. ****** had a good experience with Betenbough Homes we decided to go above warranty requirements and meet his demands. To date the only thing left to resolve is a door replacement which we are simply waiting to schedule with him at his convenience. All demands were also met within a two week time frame from the meeting. Attached you will find the list of demands provided by Mr. ****** as well as an initial by him and his wife showing completion of each one except for item #10 the master closet door that we are waiting for his schedule to free up to have it replaced."

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Construction Management, Real Estate Developers, Landscape Designers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.