BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited


Find a Location

Phone: (806) 742-3606Fax: (806) 742-3699View Additional Phone Numbers1802 Texas Tech Parkway, LubbockTX 79409-1072http://www.texastechfcu.orgView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation


Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised TEXAS TECH FEDERAL CREDIT UNION's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on TEXAS TECH FEDERAL CREDIT UNION

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

TTUFCU cancelled my credit card account of over 25 years with a $124.85 credit balance. ******* refuses access to my credit report;TTUFCU won't help.
In November, I sent payment checks to, among others, TTUFCU; several checks were returned to me by the post office having been mangled. This made my credit card accounts, including TTUFCU, overdue. When contacted by TTUFCU, I paid the entire credit card account and now have a $124.85 credit balance. TTUFCU's credit reporting service, ******** will not allow me or TTUFCU access to my credit file. Although all other credit card companies dealt with this problem quickly and courteously, TTUFCU (****** ***** are insisting that I provide them with an access code, but ** **** refuses to use the code I received from ******* and refuses to reinstate my account (I can't even use the $142.85 credit balance in my account). She says my credit problem with TTUFCU is serious. After more than 25 years as a TTUFCU customer, I believe ** ******* customer service approach requires review along with closer supervison.

Desired Settlement
I only ask that my >25-year-old credit card account be reinstated.

Business Response
The credit union confirms this case has been resolved to *** *********'s satisfaction.

08/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I had an account here when I was a student. My account was recently closed and the money in my account has not been returned to me.
The account was closed for inactivity. My account number was XXXXXX. I was not notified. When I called today, I was told that they called (I received no phone call) and they don't send notices for the amount I had in the account. I was told to go to **************** to get my money. However, when I went to the website, it does not show that I have money to claim. The credit union needs to send me a check - they closed my account (I didn't owe anything and simply don't live locally in order to exchange money regularly) and the credit union has not made my money available to me.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to send me a check. I believe this money should be immediately available to me. It has been over 15 days since my account was closed and I cannot access the money. Although I recognize that $214.12 might not seem like a large amount, I would have withdrawn the amount if I had been appropriately informed that my account was being closed. I was forced to open this account to get a student loan through them and now they have closed an account with money in it without making it possible for me to access my funds.

Business Response
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by this process. I completely understand why a situation like this is upsetting.

Per state law, financial institutions are required to report unclaimed or abandoned property to the state. This particular account had not experienced member-initiated contact in at least three years. Financial institutions are not required to notify members whose balance is less than $250.00. However, we have updated our procedures related to this process as we recognize the inconvenience caused by reporting funds as unclaimed when the member would prefer their account remain active. In the future, all members will be notified prior to the start of the reporting process, regardless of the remaining balance in their account.

As *** ***** requested we have mailed a check for the balance of her account. TTFCU appreciates *** *****'s constructive criticism and we are grateful for the opportunity to rectify the situation.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/26/1999Business started: 01/01/1959New Owner Date: 01/01/1959
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Hutson (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Todd Ehlers (COO)Mrs. Abbi Brickey (CMO)Mr. Jacob Hubik (Loan Manager)Mr. Eric Lundberg (CFO)
Business Category

Credit Unions

Products & Services

This company offers checking, savings, loans,and credit cards.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions


1802 Texas Tech Parkway

Lubbock, TX 79409-1072

To | From


4 Locations

  • 1802 Texas Tech Parkway 

    Lubbock, TX 79409-1072(806) 742-3606
    (877) 546-1818
    Fax: (806) 742-3699
    Fax: (806) 742-3699

  • 3601 4th St 

    Lubbock, TX 79430

  • 4005 98th St 

    Lubbock, TX 79423

  • Box 41072 

    Lubbock, TX 79409-1072

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the South Plains of West Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.



Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 546-1818

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Credit Unions


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.