BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/14/1995


Find a Location

Phone: (806) 785-9882Fax: (806) 780-2196View Additional Phone Numbers7002 Indiana Ave, LubbockTX 79413-6114

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/14/1995

BBB has determined that SCOTT'S COMPLETE CAR CARE meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SCOTT'S COMPLETE CAR CARE's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on SCOTT'S COMPLETE CAR CARE

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
10/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

BBB received the following written complaint,

"Fact #1 Early in June (2014) my ********** (2002) would hesitate upon turning on the ignition and sometimes go out completely. I would then have to start it all over again and rev-up the engine to get it going.

Fact #2 (In June) I was on my way to *********** to visit my husband and stopped to get lunch at ****** on the **********************************.). After my lunch the car wouldn't start, so I called Scott's Complete Car Care and my *** had to be towed to Scott's. At first we all thought it was the starter and not the battery since the battery was less than a year old.

Fact #3 Scott's decided it was not the starter but something in the ignition so they sent the vehicle to a locksmith to replace whatever assembly was in the ignition. All I know the locksmith took out something and replaced whatever with something else.

Fact #4 I picked up my**** on June 26th and paid $379.80 for ignition repair and also the towing charge.

Fact #5 Immediately after the**** was supposedly fixed, the locks would go on and off the entire time while driving. At first it was intermittently then constantly. One evening on a short trip to the grocery store, the locks went on and off at least 104 times. I quit counting after 104.

Fact #6. I returned the**** again to Scott's and after several days they decided I needed to pay another $600.00 to replace some module. I then told them we never had any problems with the locks until the locksmith supposedly "fixed" the ignition (or replaced it).

Fact #7 Scott's did replace a gas cap o ring and another small item and returned to us a broken car. They put the**** in our garage and disconnected the battery (so the locks wouldn't drain it) and put the hood up where it still remains in our garage today (9-13-'14)

Fact #8 Sometime after the car was returned, I called and spoke with the owner over the phone, (about a month ago). I explained about the locks never giving us any trouble and asked for a refund of my $379.80, since I still have a broken vehicle. He refused to give any refund."

Desired Settlement
"I want my money totally refunded and for Scott's to pay for the *** to be towed to another shop of our choosing."

Business Response
********* and I have discussed this matter and it was resolved a month ago. There was no correlation between what we fixed originally and the issue at hand. I have also spoke to one of *********'s family members on this. We worked this out via telephone already.

09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

BBB received the following written complaint,

"After purchasing a used car, 2004 Buick *********** I was concerned about a rubbing sound in steering wheel. I took it to Scotts Complete Care. They kept it most of day, My bill was $1095.95. I was told it would take some time to smoothe out. I am disabled and only drive when I have to. I took the car back and they looked it over and returned it to me saying the was something in it. It was supposedly something "They had never seen or heard of before." They refused to fix my car. I am bed ridden and drive only when I have to as I have no one to help me. They accused me because I was so ill and couldn't come in. I want my car fixed. I feel they didn't care. ********* ********

Desired Settlement
"Fix my car."

Business Response
We, Scott's Complete Car Care did replace the rack and pinion on ******************* 2004 Buick. The rack and pinion was initially replace because the part was leaking. The noise that ************* is hearing is on the complete opposite end of the vehicle and has absolutely nothing to do with the steering components of her car. The part that was replaced was needed to keep the vehicle safe and to prevent any more leakage. The noise is coming from the back of the vehicle and has no direct correlation with the steering.

01/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Wrongful Placement of Inspection Sticker, Wrongful advice when asked about it directly
I had my vehicle inspected at *****'s Complete Car care on 12/17.

I called Scott's Complete Car Care on 12/16 to confirm a vendor could bring my car in for an out of state vehicle inspection. *****'s said yes, so I asked my vendor to have the car inspected.

The inspection was completed and I stopped by my vendor on 12/17 to pick up my insurance information and ***** ***** form to have the registration process completed on 12.18.

Upon arriving, my vendor immediately said, ***** the inspection sticker is above your old one. I was directly told by the ******** *** ****** directly the ***** ************ must go above the Inspection sticker by law.

I then called the ******* **** tax office to confirm. Once I confirmed this, I called *****'s and explained this to the person who answered the phone. I was advised improperly it was ok to break the law and that they in fact had 2 cars with the registration sticker below the inspection sticker.

Improper placement of a sticker can result in a large fine. I stated this to the person at Scotts and was abruptly hung up on. I called back and asked for a call from *****. I also asked if I was hung up on and was told yes because I was stating they didn't know what they were doing.

I received a call from ***** shortly after and ***** directly stated that he didn't give a SH*&(Explicitive), what the tax office said because the tax office didn't know what they were talking about.

***** additionally said that his staff was unsure what my ** inspection sticker was. I stated to ***** that it states clearly on the sticker, ** ***** inspection.

*****'s staff were polite on the 16th but now I have asked them to place the sticker in the proper position, they have become vulgar. This is unacceptible.

Desired Settlement
I ask ***** place the sticker in the appropriate position or compensate me for the amount of money required to have it done elsewhere.

Business Response
The state inspection sticker was placed in the correct location. We do certified state inspections all day, every day, and have never had a complaint on the placement of a sticker. Not only do we do them every day, but we do them on DPS vehicles, government vehicles, and city vehicles. We do not wish to refund the customer due to the fact the sticker was purchased and put on the vehicle in the correct location.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
*****'s placed the ***** inspection sticker above the ** state inspection sticker even though they were aware this was an out of state car for a nex ***** inspection. The sticker is sitting too high on the window to put the registration sticker and maintain good visibility and be in compliance with ***** state law. *****'s additionally said that it was ok to place the registration sticker below the inspection sticker, which is in clear violation of ***** code....I ask for the sticker to be placed in the correct location and send a message to *****'s that it is not correct to suggest wrongful placement of the registration sticker. I am the one who has to drive around for a year with stickers that are wrongfully placed or look improper. Again, *****'s used explicitives, hung up and essentially said it was ok to violate code....this is wrong of them.

01/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Refusal to stand behind their work.
On 7/10/13 Scott's charged to flush radiator and replace radiator cap to cure an over heating issue. On 9/18/13, while on a trip the vehicle over heated in *********** TX. **** ********** & **** in *********** TX repair bill states, "packed with sealant in radiator" & Replace and add coolant. Scott's stated the other garage must have been trying to charge for something not needed. I speculate Scott's may not have done the work they claimed to have done.. Obviously the radiator cap supplied by Scott's did not fit the vehicle.

Desired Settlement
Refund the $86.84 charged by Scott's

Business Response
To whom it may concern,
I attempted to go online to provide a response to an open complaint case against our business. The case ID is: XXXXXX and the Password is: *********

We do not wish to refund the customer. The radiator flush we did on the vehicle had nothing to do with it overheating. The shop in *********** TX said that his radiator was "packed with sealant". We did not add a sealant. When you flush a radiator, you rid of materials that could clog it. Sometimes a radiator needs to be flushed a few times. However, If the customer made it from Lubbock to Gainsville, a 5 hour drive without it overheating, this leads me to believe this had absolutely nothing to do with us. A vehicle takes less than ten minutes to overheat. Also, the customer stated that we supplied the wrong radiator cap. Once again, the coolant would have boiled out before he left Lubbock, not after making a 5 hour drive. This concludes our response.

For any questions or concerns please contact:
Scott's Complete Car Care

06/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Paid to have breaks repaired. Have returned 6 times and now Scott wants additional funds to have breaks properly fixed.
Paid to have breaks repaired. Have returned 6 times and now Scott wants additional funds to have breaks properly fixed.

Desired Settlement
Would like a refund nothing else from this vendor.

Business' Initial Response
Scott visited with the couple about 1 week ago. The couple said that they had taken the vehicle to a dealership and the dealership said that it needed new rotors. When we originally did the brake job, the vehicle had 29,000 miles. When they brought the car back to us the vehicle had 80,000 miles. Our warranty covers 12 months or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first. We inspected the brakes and the pads still had about 20% life left in them. This is far beyond point of warranty.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I initially took my vehicle back because the work hadn't been performed correctly and asked for a refund it was within the warranty standards and I was told to bring it back that the work would be taken care of. Why else would ***** agree SIX times to bring the vehicle to TRY to correct the work performed?

Business' Final Response
The brakes that were originally on the automobile only lasted 25,000 miles. The brakes we put on lasted 60,000 miles.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Brake Service, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Air Conditioning Equipment

Additional Information



BBB file opened: 11/16/1994Business started: 11/16/1994Business started locally: 12/01/1994New Owner Date: 11/16/1994
Type of Entity


Incorporated: December 1994, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Scott Egert (Owner/President) Ruben Palacios (Mgr.) Taylor VanBuren (Accounting)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Brake Service, Tire Dealers, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Air Conditioning Equipment

Products & Services

Automobile engine repair

Alternate Business Names
Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions


7002 Indiana Ave

Lubbock, TX 79413-6114

To | From


2 Locations

  • 2506 34th St 

    Lubbock, TX 79410-3518(806) 785-9882

  • 7002 Indiana Ave 

    Lubbock, TX 79413-6114(806) 797-9882
    Fax: (806) 780-2196

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the South Plains of West Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SCOTT'S COMPLETE CAR CARE is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (806) 797-9882

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (806) 785-2444

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.