BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/27/1992

COMPLETE AUTO REPAIR

Find a Location

Phone: (806) 792-1999Fax: (806) 792-0236View Additional Phone Numbers3704 Slide Rd, LubbockTX 79414-2724

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Full service auto repair

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/27/1992

BBB has determined that COMPLETE AUTO REPAIR meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised COMPLETE AUTO REPAIR's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on COMPLETE AUTO REPAIR

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BBB received the following written complaint - "Air conditioner in my truck went out, took it to be repaired at Complete Auto and a week later I noticed it blowing and not cooling by what the thermostat was indicating, kept going back cause *** kept insisting it blowing cold, I took it to a couple of repair shops and a ***************************** and they all agreed it was not blowing as it should. All three places told me *** way over charged me for what he done and it still isn't blowing as it should (cold). We visited this company at least 5-7 times trying to get him to fix it and he says theres nothing more he can do and still insists its blowing cold. It is not."

Desired Settlement
"I want a different location ****************** to fix it and Complete Auto Repair ***** to be responsible for the bill. Refund the difference cause I was overcharged."

Business Response BBB received the following written business response,
"In response to ************** complaint, each and every time the vehicle was brought in to our facility prior to June of this year; the air conditioning was working properly. ************ was taken for rides and shown with a thermometer, the duct temperatures. Temperatures were within specifications. His problem was intermittent; we did find and recommend a Technical Service Bulletin ****************** put out dealing with an issue they were having on some of their trucks. Technical Service Bulletins or TSB's are put out addressing common issues they are having on their vehicles. The TSB sounds very much like ************** issue:
TSB.08-23-6. Some 2005-2008 F 150 and 2006-2008 Mark LT vehicles equipped with Electronic Automatic Temperature Control (EATC)may exhibit intermittent periods of warm air output in auto mode with the temperature control set between 68-72 degrees Farenheit (18-22 degrees Celsius. Some 2005-2008 F 150 vehicles equipped with Electronic Manual Temperature Control(EMTC)may exhibit periods where the cabin temperature cannot be maintained with the control knob. Some customers may also complain the heat cannot be reduced without rotating the control knob well into the Cool/Blue range. The condition may be caused by a faulty temperature blend door actuator.
**** has an updated part to address the problem; ************ declined having the TSB performed.
In June he brought the vehicle in with concerns about duct temperature, this time there was an issue with the compressor. We replaced the system under warranty with no cost to ************; the system was working perfectly at that time.
The last time the ************ brought the truck in the system appeared to be low on refrigerant. It had a visible leak at the compressor. It appeared to be from an impact. The condenser is mounted in front of the radiator, thus is susceptible to damage from road debris. System pressures were not checked on this visit, and leak was not verified. ************** vehicle has over 24,000 miles on it since the repair thus outside the warranty due to mileage. ************ wanted it worked on elsewhere.


Consumer Response
BBB received the following written consumer rebuttal, "In response to ***** answer, *** insists each and every time the vehicle was brought in to his shop the A/C was working properly. Had that been so we would not have visited the shop as many times as we did and continue to complaint about the same thing over and over. $2489.93 later we are still having the same issue and he say the temperatures with his thermometer were to our satisfaction which was not true. It was to his satisfaction. We told him over and over that it was not blowing cold. He says it's the best he can do. Cold never happened. He would make excuses like, "The inside of the truck is black." Well it's always been black. He wanted us to put our hands and face pluggged up to the vents. We told him we didn't drive around that way. We never agreed with him that it was blowing cold because it wasn't. That was his assumption.

He talks about a TSB from ****. We went to *********** **** and they had no recalls on the 2008 **** F150 P/U A/C and I have a copy of the TSB in my possession. The service advisor gave me a copy and he looked it up and said that was not the problem. *** says we declined having a TSB performed. We went to *********** and they said that wasn't the issue. They informed me at the time it was obvious the work on the A/C was not done properly. Even spoke to the mechanic.

Time has gone by and now a year later, and the heats getting worse. I had no choice but to go to a reputable service shop and spend more money having it fixed. I tried talking to *** about it before I took it there and he said, "I am washing my hands of you," "I'm done with you." I am not looking at this truck again and insists that my sister and I were rude. No sir, not rude, frustrated maybe but not rude. He can now say all this because the year is up on the warranty but it was never fixed to begin with. Condensor had a leak (that he replaced) charged us as though he had bought it at the **** dealership, but it was an aftermarket one and so was the orfice tube, which was very dirty, said he flushed the system which had he done so the orfice tube would not be full of dirt. I have in my possession his aftermarket orfice tube and condensor. The one I bought cost me $139 plus labor.

He also said he had replaced everything again at his cost. Well it still wasn't blowing cold so that part is also in question. All I had to do is take it to a reputable service center and now it's blowing cold as it should.

*** is confusing rude with frustration. We kept going back to get results and all he could do was make excuses.

In reference to the mileage being 24,000 miles over, it was not out of warranty when we went to him to complaint, over and over, and also I did not want it worked on elsewhere. I didn't want to have to pay again, that's why I went back to him and he said, "I'm done with you.""

Final Business Response
The last time that ************ brought his vehicle by the shop, as stated before; it appeared to be low on refrigerant. It also appeared that the condenser was the source of the leak. It looked like the condenser was hit by something causing it to leak. The manufacture does not warranty their products from impacts.
In regards to the TSB, it addresses and intermittent issue having to do with duct temperature. We know that it is an intermittent problem because whenever he brought it in to the shop the temperatures were fine. A TSB is not a recall, and being intermittent it would appear to be fine unless it was having the problem at the time it was being checked.

10/01/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Per written complaint - "Overcharge for auto repair
Replace alterator
Replace battery
in 1996 Mercury Cougar
Engine V8281 4.6L Sohc
Mileage 88736

Parts $615.11
Labor 215.60
Other fee 3.00
Super/Eng fee 36.00
Sales tax 50.76
Total $920.46

WITH NO WARRANTY"

Desired Settlement
"Refund for overcharge"

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Service Manag
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****@completeautorepair.net
I contacted Mrs. ***** she stated that a friend had sent the letter to you. I asked her what she thought she was over charged for and she said that she didn't know. She was supposed to meet me Wednesday 9.11.2013 so I could go over billing and warranty. I called her and she was sick and couldn't make it. She said that she would meet with me today 9.16.2013. will respond after meeting with her in more detail.

Final Business Response
I met with Ms. ***** and her friend on Monday the 16th. First I addressed that her friend had stated in her complaint that there was no warranty. We are a NAPA Autocare Center, this allows us to offer a nationwide warranty. Ms. ***** was not aware of this service; I gave her a copy of the warranty.
As for the overcharge claim, Ms. *****'s friend believed that we had overcharged her because she had called and obtained prices on the alternator we replaced from 4 different places. Her friend stated that we charged $165.00 above the average. Ms *****'s friend said that she had called 3 part stores and 1 shop. She did say the alternator she priced from the shop was about the same price. I explained that pricing the alternator from parts stores was an unfair comparison due to the fact that parts stores do not sell over the counter at list price. Professional automotive service centers typically sell installed parts at the manufactures list price. This is due to additional expenses involved in operating the business. Warranties, overhead, and insurance are examples of expenses that have to be passed on the customer. As with any service industry business customers can save significant money doing the repair themselves. This is why we say that the comparison Ms. *****'s friend is making is unfair. The comparison has to be made between facilities of similar size and services provided.

10/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
12/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their Careclub coupon card is vague and misleading. We purchased this card but were charged for the "free" services.
I purchased a Careclub coupon book from Complete Auto Care on May 21, 2014. The gentleman who sold it to me promised me that it was a great deal for 129.99 plus tax (it ended up being 152.37 due to a hidden fee). The coupon book states on the front that Complete Auto Care would perform services on my or my husband's vehicles for free, including things such as a 5qts. oil and filter change free (4 of these), a free tow to their shop, check and adjust brakes for free, free flat tire repair, and several other free or discounted services. So, after months of not needing to use any of the coupons we finally scheduled an appointment to take my husband's camry in for a free oil change on Saturday November 8, 2014. After waiting for almost an hour to have the oil changed, a serviceman came to the waiting room and asked ***** (husband) if he wanted the filter changed. ***** said yes because he saw that a filter change was part of the free oil and filter change on our coupon book. When they finally had our car ready they charged us $28.37. The bill states that $4.00 was for an oil disposal fee and %20.86 was for an air filter. When my husband mentioned that we were using a coupon for a free oil and filter change they told us the coupon was for an oil filter, not an air filter and that they always charge an oil disposal fee. I called them as soon as my husband returned and spoke to a guy named **** about my issue and that we were promised when we purchased the coupon book that the service would be free as it states on the coupon. I told him it was misleading because the coupon did not specify that the free filter had to be an oil filter, the coupon only says "filter". He became argumentative with me and told me that I didn't understand. After arguing back and forth over the phone I told him we felt mislead about purchasing the coupon book since every time we bring our vehicles in for "free" services that we would be charged additional fees to use the coupons. I said I would like to have a refund of my money for the coupon book minus the cost of the one oil change that we had just used. He refused and said the owner *** would call me on Monday. I said ok and we hung up. *** called me bright and early on Monday, as promised, and before I could even finish explaining the situation he also became argumentative with me and said they could not refund my money. I asked him for an explanation of the fees and he told me that every ticket has a supply parts fee and an oil change charges a disposal fee. So I said to him, "then it's not free if you charge me money to use the "free" coupon." He said back, "well, do you want to haul off your used oil yourself?" I said, "well I assumed that an oil change included all aspects of an oil change, including the disposal of the used oil." He refused to work with me, make anything right, or even apologize for the misleading coupons. After hanging up I actually turned the coupon book over and started reading all of the fine print on the back. Although they do mention the oil disposal fee there is no other mention of supply and parts fees. When they sold me the coupon book they never turned it over to show me all of the rules and exceptions. There is a blank line on the back of the coupon book where I, the customer, am supposed to sign it. It states "I have read and agree to the terms and conditions of this promotion. I understand that the oil changes are free, and that I am responsible for the oil disposal fee plus state and local taxes that apply." The only problem is that Complete Auto Care signed it for me and conveniently NEVER showed me this part. It's not my signature or handwriting in the blank. So, we definitely feel like we were purposefully never shown the back of the coupon book where all of the fine print is located. I don't trust them and do not want to take my car in to use the "free" coupon services out of fear that they will charge me additional fees to use the "free" coupons.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for a refund of the coupon book that we purchased for $152.37 minus the cost of one oil change since we did use that one coupon. I am not sure what they usually charge for an oil change.

Business Response
In response to ** *****'s complaint, we don't feel that the Car Care Club Coupon card is either vague or misleading. An oil and filter change would consist of engine oil (up to 5 quarts) and engine oil filter change. An air filter is never included in an oil change but is always inspected. *** *****'s husband was informed that his air filter was dirty and needed to be replaced at a cost of $20.86. At that point he decided to authorize the air filter replacement. Our standard oil change cost is $48.95 plus tax. The Club provides significant savings. If *** ***** had not replaced the air filter, the cost of the oil change would have been $4.33. Shop supplies and oil disposal fees are common in the industry. It is not uncommon, vague or misleading. The Car Care Club has been in existence for more than 10 years now and ** ***** is the first to claim that it's vague and misleading.
*** ***** was informed of the need and the amount of the air filter and he could have opted to replace the air filter himself. He chose to have us replace the filter and never indicated that he believed that the air filter should have been part of the oil change. He paid out with no discussion or mention that he thought the air filter was included in the oil change.
*** ***** has stated that we became argumentative with her, this was not our intention. *** ***** stated in our phone conversation that she understood the difference between an air filter and an oil filter. Our Car Care Club coupon says "oil and filter change", she was unable to grasp that the "filter" indicated was an oil filter not an air filter.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Let's start at the end of Auto Care's response. They claim that they have "no intention of being argumentative", but the entire reason I had to file a complaint with BBB in the first place is because they have done nothing but argue with me over the phone. Not once did they offer to make things right, apologize, or work with me even a little. Funny enough, the back of their coupon book states exactly "we would like to keep you as a long term customer and friend" but they do not live up to that promise one bit. Secondly, let me point out once again that *** chooses to insult me over and over by saying that I cannot "grasp", in his words, the difference between an oil filter and an air filter (so indicating that I am lacking in intelligence, very insulting). Although I am no mechanic, I am knowledgeable enough to understand that those are two different types of filters that serve different functions within my vehicle. Got it. What *** doesn't seem to "grasp" is that my issue is his coupon does not specify which type of filter is free. It simply says "filter" on the coupon (hence the vagueness). For the record, my husband did call and mention that he thought the air filter was included in the oil change coupon, and your technician never specified what type of filter he was changing or that it would be an additional cost, he just said filter, but my husband paid anyway because he is a decent human being. But enough over the filter issue, let's move on because like I said, my complaint is over the vagueness of your coupon book and how it mislead us into thinking we would pay a one time fee of 129.99 to purchase the coupon book then be able to use it for "free" auto care services. Out of their own mouths, we found out after we used the first coupon for an oil change that no matter what "free" coupon service we use, we will be charged at minimum some sort of supply and parts fee to use the coupon, something that was never mentioned to me when I purchased it, nor is it written anywhere on the coupon book. We would also be charged an oil disposal fee for all of the oil changes so that, I quote, "do you want to haul off your used oil?" Now, you claim that shop supplies and oil disposal fees are "common in the industry", so I did a little research of my own to see if this was true. I called 5 different auto service centers to find out what they charge for an oil change, what that cost included, and if they would charge me an additional oil disposal fee or supplies fees. And what do you know, not a single one of them charges oil disposal fees, several of their oil change prices included an air filter & an oil filter, and none of them charged over 39.99 for all of the things I mentioned. So, Auto Care's claim that this is common is simply not true (and by the way, your oil change price of 48.95 plus tax is grossly overpriced.)

So here we are, arguing over the details of your coupon book (vague and misleading, like I said). Can you please just admit that you might have made a mistake when you sold it to us? Can you admit that you did not show me the user agreement on the back of the coupon book because my signature is not on the line (your guys filled in the part where I was supposed to sign it saying that I agreed to these terms and conditions).I do not wish to ever use another coupon from the coupon book, which is why I asked for a partial refund (the cost of the book 129.99 minus the cost of one oil change 48.95). I can send the coupon book back, you can send me my partial refund of 81.04, and we can move on with our lives! I have better things to do and I know you guys do as well. Issue me a partial refund, please, and let's move on.

Final Business Response
See attached items.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please propose a reasonable solution Complete Auto Repair. Also, please quit claiming that you have performed any services for us for free. You have been payed a grand total of $180.74 by us & have only done one oil change, an air filter replacement ($20.00), and a "preventative analysis" (aka, you looked under the hood of our vehicle). None of these were free, you were paid generously for every one.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment, Transmissions - Automobile, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Brake Service, Auto Warranty Processing Service, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Customizing, Auto Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/24/1991Business started: 12/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

TRANSPORTATION (Texas Department of)
(512) 416-4800
http://www.dot.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1995, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Ted Pisarski (President) Tami Pisarski
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment, Transmissions - Automobile, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Brake Service, Auto Warranty Processing Service, Auto Inspection Stations, Auto Customizing, Auto Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
PISARSKI SERVICE PROVIDERS GP, INC.
Industry Tips
AUTO REPAIRS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for COMPLETE AUTO REPAIR

3704 Slide Rd

Lubbock, TX 79414-2724

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3606 50th St 

    Lubbock, TX 79413-3996(806) 792-9795
    (806) 686-4905

  • 3704 Slide Rd 

    Lubbock, TX 79414-2724(806) 792-1999

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the South Plains of West Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*COMPLETE AUTO REPAIR is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (806) 712-1999
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

AUTO REPAIRS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.