BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

BIGHAM AUTOMOTIVE & RV SERVICE CENTER

Phone: (806) 763-8291Fax: (806) 763-44641420 19th St, LubbockTX 79401-4961http://www.bighamautomotive.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

BIGHAM AUTOMOTIVE & RV SERVICE CENTER is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised BIGHAM AUTOMOTIVE & RV SERVICE CENTER's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on BIGHAM AUTOMOTIVE & RV SERVICE CENTER

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
10/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle was involved in an accident and take to Lubbock Truck Sales to be repaired body wise, the transmission was taken out the truck there and sent to Brigham Automotive were transmission was repaired and brought back to Lubbock Truck Sales and installed. The transmission did not work correctly so Brigham towed the truck to their shop and redid the job. The transmission worked for a few months then it started to malfunction. It was taken back to Brigham to be repaired, they said the problem was electrical and had not worked on that part of the truck. We paid about $8000 to get it fixed. It worked for a few more months and did the same thing, this time we took it back and paid another $6000 to get it fixed. Drove it again and the same thing but this time they said they needed to replace all the electrical so we paid another $4000 to get that done. We went and picked up the vehicle and by the end of the day it broke down AGAIN, so it lasted one day. Because they kept saying the problem was electrical the warranty would not cover the cost but it is obviously not electrical since they have replaced all the electrical and it still does not work.
Product_Or_Service: 2008 Sterling

Desired Settlement
What we would like is for the vehicle to get repaired correctly and a refund of at least the last two time the vehicle was taken in since all this should have been covered by their warranty.

Business Response
This transmission first came to us as a bench unit, without the body of the truck, for possible repairs due to an accident the vehicle was involved in and this was 6/1/2011. The customer had an insurance deductible of $460.00 and the rest $5027.47 was paid by the insurance company. the next time the customer came in was on 10/20/2011. The repairs needed were not covered under warranty due to customer neglect/abuse. This cost the customer $5703.83 and started a new transmission warranty.The customer came in again 3/29/2012 and due to electrical issues, the repairs were not warranty - cost $1257.77. The next time was on 5/21/2013, the repairs were done under warranty and paid by ******* ***** ****** for $1475.85 and no cost to the customer. The customer came in again on 3/11/2014, customer declined any repairs as they would not be covered under warranty - again for abuse/neglect on the part of the customer. The customer came in 1/6/2015 for major electrical repairs and cost him $3840.00. The customer came in again 5/29/2015 and repairs were done under warranty at no cost to the customer. The customer called on 6/5/2015 stating that there was an issue with the vehicle. We offered to tow it in which would be a considerable cost to our company and is not something that warranty covers. The customer refused to let us tow it in unless we could guarantee that any repairs would be covered under warranty and no cost to the customer. Told him that if it is a transmission issue, then the transmission would be covered since it has a 90 day warranty. If it was an electrical issue, then that would be covered because the electrical had a 90 day warranty. He refused to have it brought in unless we agreed to give him back everything he has paid on the vehicle since the first time it was brought to the shop. I told him that a refund of all the monies paid on this vehicle was never going to happen since the repairs were completed on the vehicle and it was working properly when it left the shop. Since he refused to let us bring the vehicle to the shop and recheck the transmission and electrical this time to determine the cause of his issues, the warranty of 90 day warranty on those repairs expired 9/5/2015. The customer account notes are as available if they are required for your decision (we also have pictures of the previous time the vehicle came in on 1/6/2015).

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The transmission did indeed go as a bench unit the first time. It was worked on by Bigham and sent back to ******* ***** ***** were it was installed. The transmission did not function correctly so a wrecker was sent to pick up vehicle so Bigham could work on the transmission again. After transmission was working correctly the vehicle was picked up. The next time vehicle was taken back (10/20/11) for repairs on transmission I was told that warranty would not cover due to abuse/neglect. I was told it had cut and loose wires and that the chassis was full of mud. When I went to see it they were not able to show me the cut or loose wires not to mention that this is a farm truck. This vehicle was driven on dirt roads and used on the farm everyday. We ended up paying for the cost even though it should have been covered by warranty because we needed the truck to work. This vehicle was taken back a number of times and each time I was told warranty would not cover due to neglect/abuse. On 03/11/14 Bigham stated that the vehicle was taken back and we had declined repairs because warranty did not cover. That is false, I have an invoice and proof of payment were repairs in the amount of $6000 were made for the same issues. Bigham also stated that the vehicle was taken back on 01/06/15 and it was but the vehicle was not picked up until 06/04/15 due to them not wanting to cover with warranty. When the vehicle was finally picked up a payment of $3839.79 was made, warranty did not cover like Bigham stated. The same day the vehicle was picked up I started having the same issues and the vehicle would no longer work leaving me stranded. The warranty given by Bigham for their repairs never covered any costs because each time they would say the vehicle was abused or they would say something else was wrong with the vehicle. The vehicle would then be repaired, I would pick it up and I would start having the same problems all over again.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Based on the information that you provided in your response it is evident to me that you have no recollection of the events.
The vehicle was dropped off on January 2015 and was never picked up due to a dispute in the warranty coverage. It was evident to me that Bigham Automotive had no intention of providing quality customer services and was claiming, once again, that the damage was abuse/neglect. On May 2015, I finally gave up and paid the initial amount requested on the repairs and invoice dated for January 2015. Bigham Automotive NEVER repaired anything "at no cost to the customer as stated in the response".
On June 4, 2015 the vehicle was finally picked up, was driven less than 100 miles from Bigham Automotive, and that same day failed leaving me stranded on the side of the road. For the record, the vehicle was not driven further, and at this time (3 months later), is still in the same place where it broke down that day. At this point, Bigham Automotive was contacted and advised of the problem to which the response was, they would tow it and check to see what was wrong but would not guarantee that warranty would cover repairs. Driving it less than 100 miles and breaking down the same day with the same issues, and Bigham Automotive not be able to guarantee the repair under warranty was not acceptable.
My vehicle was to be repaired by Bigham Automotive on January 2015, this was the service I paid for, and I picked up the vehicle on June 2015 with this expectation. If the vehicle was not ready to be picked up or needed further repairs, Bigham should have contacted me prior to the vehicle being driven off the lot.
When I have contacted Bigham Automotive, I have received nothing but unprofessional and rude responses, and never any intention of working with a long time customer. As listed in your response, I have taken in my vehicle to Bigham Automotive multiple times, sometimes for the same issues, and never has your "warranty" covered, and always the response has been "due to abuse/neglect". If Bigham Automotive was not capable of repairing my truck "due to the abuse/neglect", they should have stated this and not agreed to repair my vehicle nor provided "warranty" after every time they attempted to repair the issues.


Final Business Response
We have sent in all of the information that we have available on this customer and the repairs that were performed at our shop. We have tried to get the customer to bring in the vehicle to determine if the current issues were warranty, either transmission related or electrical related, but the customer refuses to allow us to make this determination. The customer has made an unreasonable request to get all of the monies back on repairs for this vehicle when they were necessary and warranted repairs. We are not offering any type of monetary compensation but we are offering to find a solution to the customer's issue, even though they are past the 90 day warranty that the customer agreed to at the time the repairs were performed. This is the offer we are making and have made to this customer prior to this issue getting to your office.

05/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our brake job was done with low quality parts and workmanship.
My son had his F150 in Bigham Automotive on 2/3/14 to have the rear brakes serviced, which resulted in having the both rear rotors and pads replaced. After he picked up the truck he noticed the mechanic had installed 2 different rotors. This was obvious when you look at them. I brought up the issue on a phone call and service adviser refused to do anything about it. We had to bring the truck back on 2/20/14 due to a new squeak in the brakes and again the rotors were brought up. She said they would put a caliper on them, but nothing was replaced and the squeak still exited. I mailed Mr.****** at Bigham Automotive a Certified letter on 3/3/14 with pictures explaining my complaints about the work done at his shop. He received and signed for the letter on 3/10/14. To date I have not heard back from Mr. ******. While our son was home for spring break I took the truck to my mechanic. He noticed the two different rotors, some loose bolts, and parts that had not been cleaned or lubed. He also advised me that the rear axle seal was leaking and had been leaking for a while and had already saturated the parking brake shoe. This issue was not caused by Bigham Automotve but it should have been noticed by them and brought to my attention.
After considering all these issues and safety concerns, I decided to have all the work redone correctly and am asking for a refund of the money I paid, $532.56 from Bigham Automotive and they are welcome to have their parts back.

Desired Settlement
After considering all of the above issues and safety concerns, I decided to have all the work redone correctly and am asking for a refund of the money I paid, $532.56 from Bigham Automotive and they are welcome to have their parts back.

Business Response
The customer, **** *******, brought his vehicle in to the shop stating that there was a noise coming from what he felt were the brakes. He wasn't sure what the problem was but needed it to be looked at and suggested repairs called to him or his parents. After looking at the vehicle and doing a test drive, the technician recommended to have the rear rotors replaced along with the pads on both sides. The repairs were approved by the customer's father and the repairs were done as quickly, efficiently and professionally as possible. The parts were ordered at the same time, from the same parts store and made by the same manufacturer. The rotors were installed, the brakes installed, the vehicle test driven and all repairs were functioning as made to function. After picking up the vehicle, the customer called to ask about the rotors be installed because they didn't look alike. I asked him if he was having any trouble with them and he stated that there wasn't anything wrong except he didn't like the way they looked. I had him bring the vehicle back, the same day he picked it up, and he showed me the rotors. One was sort of a dull, bumpy chrome and the other was a smooth, shiny chrome which is the one that he liked. He wanted to have the one on the one dull rotor changed to look smooth and shiny like the other side. I explained to him that if the only issue was the way they looked, then the rotor would not be covered by any type of warranty so he would have to pay to replace that rotor. The customer stated that he didn't want to buy one and left the shop again. A couple of days later, he called stating that now there was a noise coming from the rear on the side with the rotor that he was trying to get replaced. I had him bring the vehicle in again, my shop foreman went on a test drive with him and was unable to hear any noise issues. The brakes and rotors were functioning as designed. The customer left again. Later that same afternoon, the customer's father called and asked how we could put two obviously different rotors from different manufacturers on the same vehicle. I explained to him that they were exactly the same rotor, from the same parts store, the same manufacturer and the same part number. One was smooth, due to the mold used by the maker and the other was a little rough due to the mold used by the maker. The part of the rotor that the customer doesn't like has nothing to do with the function of the braking system. The actual part that the brake pad clamps down on when braking is along the flat metal surface to the back of the rotor. The smooth shiny surface and the dull surface on the other one, has nothing to do with how the brakes function or sound when applied. I told the customer's father, and the customer, that we would be more than happy to do a warranty brake system diagnostic if he could bring the vehicle in and leave it for more than just the 5 or 10 minutes he had been staying previously. If we found something wrong, then we would process the repair under the part supplier's warranty which would be at no charge to the customer. We never heard from the customer again after that conversation. I had come to the conclusion that the son, the driver, had admitted that there was nothing wrong with the rotors or brakes, he just didn't like the "look" that he got with the dull rotor when looking through the spokes of the tire rim.

We would have been more than happy to resolve the customer's issue had they given an opportunity to do so as requested. Without having the vehicle in the shop for more than 5 to 10 minutes, there was nothing that could have been done to determine a defect, if any existed, in the rotors or the brake pads themselves. Due to the fact that the customer has already had more work done, there is no longer a warranty on the rotors or pads that we installed at our shop. We would be happy to return the cost of the rotors to the customer if they would like to return them to our shop. However, as we were not able to determine if there was an actual wearing issue with the rotors, we do not agree to return the cost of labor or the cost of the brake pads placed on the vehicle since there was never an actual complaint of the brakes not functioning as designed by the manufacturer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In their response, Bigham Automotive stated "rear rotor replaced along with the pads on both sides", that is correct but that is all they did. No other parts associated with the rear brakes were cleaned or lubed. They also stated that the rotors were from the "same store, manufacturer, and part number". I disagree with that because one was a smooth casting (not chrome) and the other was a rough casting. One rotor had 2 extra holes in it and the other one didn't. Also the smooth one had a part number stamped into it and the rough one did not. The only similarities between the two, was that they were both round.
We did take the truck back due to a noise (squeak) at low speeds when applying the brakes and they applied "stop squeal", but the noise continued. At that point when they had the wheels off the truck they should have seen that there were two different rotor and contacted they parts supplier.
They said they "had not heard from the customer again" and that is false. Mr.****** received a certified letter from me explaining my issues and concerns along with pictures of the two rotors 12 buisness days after the truck was in their shop. We never heard back from ****** Automotive. They had the opportunity to resolve this twice.

If there was away to attach pictures to my responce, I would.


Final Business Response
Email statement for business rebuttal:

This email is in response to the customer's rebuttal made to our previous response. We are still offering to return the customer's money paid for the rotors only as long as the customer returns the parts so that we may try and process the warranty from the manufacturer.

If you need anything rlse, please let me know.

Thank you,

****** ****
******* *******
Bigham Automotive


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will not accept an offer other a full refund. Due to the mismatched parts, over sight of the leaking axle seal, squeak, and parts not being cleaned or lubed, I was forced to have the work redone elsewhere. For these reasons I want a full refund, parts and labor. They had 2 opportunities to correct this, plus I sent Mr. ****** a certified letter prior to spring break telling him I would have the truck checked at our mechanic during spring break if I didn't hear from him. I did not hear from him, so I was forced to have my mechanic look at it and fix it.

01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Business refuses to release the vehicle. The car has been there since October 31 for a simple repair. The repair has not been completed.
We took the car to get repaired on October 31st. The repair was supposed to take 2 or 3 days. A week later, I found out they had not provided the warranty company with the required paperwork to approve the repair. I was upset that they had wasted a week and I wanted to move the vehicle to another shop. They claimed they would have it done by the end of the day or early next day. After speaking with the warranty company and realizing we would have to start the whole process over, I told them if it's not fixed in the next day, I was moving it. The next day it wasn't fixed and they kept blaming it on the warranty company that they were not getting calls returned and that they faxed the estimates to the warranty company 3 times. I called the warranty company and was told that they in fact have been waiting on the shop for information and the shop had not provided it. I called the shop back and asked for copies of the fax showing the paperwork was sent 3 times. ****** at the shop told me she didn't have the confirmation pages. I told her I was done with all the excuses for the past 2 weeks and I was sending a tow truck to pick up the car. She told me they would not release the car to the tow truck driver unless I paid the breakdown fees. I then asked who authorized the breakdown fees, when and for what amount. She claimed I did on November 4th. I told her that was impossible since the first time she ever spoke with me was on November 7th. I asked for proof of her conversation with me on November 4th per phone records. She has not provided that. This has been going on for 5 weeks now. The car is not repaired and they will not give us our car back. I have faxed letters to the shop and have confirmed with them that they have received it, yet they do not responded.

Desired Settlement
I want our car released to another repair facility.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:
This response is in regards to the complaint filed with you on 12/4/2013 by ****** ******. I have read her complaint and I am attaching all of the notes from our computer system showing the dates that we did anything on this customer's vehicle. The notes more than address any of the issues the customer filed with your company. If you need anything else, please do not hesitate to contact me.

12/11/13 -******* PICKED UP VEHICLE. LET KNOW THERE IS POSSIBILITY TRANSMISSION HAS SOME DAMAGE BASED ON HARD SHIFT AND LOW FLUID.FLUID IS BURNT/VARNISHED.TRANSMISSION WORKED ON DURING SUMMER PER CUSTOMER AND WILL TAKE IT THERE.TOPPED OFF FLUID. HELPED A LITTLE. NO CHARGE. *** 12/11/2013-FAXED PAGE TO CUSTOMER TO SIGN TO FORWARD TO WARRANTY COMPANY FOR PAYMENT. GET PAYMENT INFORMATION FOR CC OVER PHONE THEN VEHICLE CAN BE RELEASED SON. CALLED ******* LET HIM KNOW AS SOON AS MAKE THE PAYMENT, HE CAN HAVE VEHICLE.STATED THAT HE DIDN'T KNOW IF HE CAN MAKE IT.*** 12/11/13 -CALLED WARRANTY COMPANY AND GOT NEW AUTHORIZATION NUMBER HAD TO ADD GEAR OIL. SAID WE HAVE TO GET WITH *** TO PAY LABOR WARRANTY ON SECOND REMOVE/INSTALL. NEW AUTHORIZATION XXXXXXXXXXXXX. WILL FAX TO ****** TO SIGN AND THEN TO WARRANTY COMPANY FOR PAYMENT. *** 12/10/13 -RECEIVED REAR END. INSTALLED AFTER WRITTEN APPROVAL FROM THE CUSTOMER. *** 12/6/XX - X:XXpm -Received return call from *******. explained conversation with ****** @ Warranty company. he needs to call or have his mother call (again I told him) warranty company to see about rental vehicle since have now misplaced the second part and doing a trace to see where it is. Let him know faxing information to his mother. ljh 12/6/XX - X:XXpm -Returned *******'s phone call, reached vm again. still full.no message left Ljh 12/6/XX - X:XXPM -******* called in to speak with ******. on another line. will return his call. ** 12/6/XX X:XXPM -Called warranty company again to see if they have an invoice number from *** or a PO# because ***** out of Houston is not showing anything shipped to us from *** except the part we already received. Spoke with ****** at the warranty company, she placed me on hold, called Oregon ***, *** closed due to the weather, person there said definitely had been shipped but needed her to email him some more information and would get the tracking number and see where part last scanned/reported. will contact me with information as soon as *** gets it to her. *** 12/6/XX - XX:XXPM -SPOKE WITH **** AT WARRANTY COMPANY. HE CALLED *** FOR ME. UNFORTUNATELY DUE TO WEATHER, HAVE NO POWER OR PHONE SERVICE AT LOCATION IN *** AREA. WAS ABLE TO LEAVE A MESSAGE. THEY ARE ROUTING CALLS TO ANOTHER LOCATION. WAS ABLE TO FIND A NUMBER TO PERSON WHO PULLED THE PART AND CALLED BUT HAD TO LEAVE A VM DUE TO WEATHER, NOTHING ELSE CAN BE DONE AT THIS POINT *** 12/05/XX - X:XXpm Called *******. let know the rear end not delivered today. No answer. mailbox full unable to leave message. RM 12/5/XX - X:XXpm -Spoke with ******* let know that part shows to be in Lubbock. Waiting for delivery. He said okay. *** 12/5/XX - X:XXpm -Spoke with ***** at warranty company. did verify with ****** delivery company, that part left Ft Worth Tuesday on way to Lubbock. Should be today per ***.(Due to the weather on our end, might not make it before closing time). 12/4/XXXX - X:XXpm -SPOKE WITH *******. LET KNOW PART WOULD BE HERE TOMORROW. DUE WEATHER, NO TIME EST. WILL CALL WHEN PART DELIVERED AND AFTER TEST DRIVE COMPLETED AND READY TO GO FROM SHOP FOREMAN. *** 12/4/2013 -TRIED TO CALL ******* TO LET KNOW SPOKE WITH WARRANTY COMPANY. DID VERIFY WITH PARTS SUPPLIER PART IN TRANSIT.COULD NOT DETERMINE IF TODAY OR TOMORROW.WANTED LET KNOW THAT WARRANTY COMPANY SAID TO HAVE MOTHER CALL THEM AND WOULD SEE ABOUT RENTAL BASED ON ISSUE WITH ORIGINAL PART. VM FULL COULD NOT LEAVE MESSAGE. *** 12/4/13 -******* CALLED WANTING STATUS OF VEHICLE STATING THAT HE WAS ONE THAT DROPPED OFF AND WANTED US TO FIX IT. NO ONE HAS CONTACTED HIM. EXPLAINED TO HIM SINCE WARRANTY IS IN MOTHER'S NAME,REPAIR ORDER IS IN HER NAME AND THAT IS WHO WE HAVE BEEN IN TOUCH WITH.STATED AGAIN THAT SINCE HE DROPPED OFF AND SAID TO REPAIR, WE NEED TO CALL HIM WHEN IS FINISHED AND WHEN PART ARRIVES.TOLD HIM WOULD CALL AND LET KNOW AS SOON AS PART ARRIVES.FIRST ONE DEFECTIVE AND WARRANTY COMPANY HAD ANOTHER ONE SENT OUT WEDNESDAY BEFORE HOLIDAYS. SAID THANK YOU AND WOULD WAIT FOR MY CALL. *** 12/3/13 -SPOKE WITH ****** ******. FEELS THAT WE SHOULD DO ALL REPAIRS ON VEHICLE FREE OR DISCOUNTED FOR TIME THAT SHE HAS BEEN INCONVENIENCED BY WARRANTY COMPANY AND OUR COMPANY.THREATENING TO GO TO BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU,RUIN OUR REPUTATION ONLINE AND WE ALL NEED SEVERE CUSTOMER SERVICE TRAINING. ESPECIALLY OWNER WHO WAS VERY RUDE ONE AND ONLY TIME SHE SPOKE WITH HIM. TRIED TO CORRECT SITUATION BUT CALL WENT FROM CORDIAL TO RUDE AND UGLY. SHE WANTS PRINTOUT FROM FAX OF TIMES ESTIMATE SENT TO WARRANTY COMPANY. THEY ARE CLAIMING NEVER RECEIVED IT. TRIED TO EXPLAIN TO CUSTOMER WE DO NOT HAVE TO FAX ANYTHING TO COMPANY UNTIL WORK IS COMPLETED. ALL ESTIMATES WERE VERBAL OVER THE PHONE.STILL WANTS SOMETHING SHOWING WAS FAXED IN AND COPY OF ALL COMPUTER NOTES *** 12/2/13 -TRIED TO REACH CUSTOMER ON CELL PHONE. REACHED VM AGAIN. AGAIN FULL. NOT ABLE TO LEAVE MESSAGE.TRY LATER. *** 11/28/13 - 12/2/13 -CLOSED FOR THANKSGIVING 11/27/13 - TRIED TO REACH ****** TO LET KNOW ABOUT CALL WITH ****** AT WARRANTY COMPANY REACHED HER VM WHICH WAS FULL COULD NOT LEAVE MESSAGE TO CALL ME. *** 11/27/13 -SPOKE WITH ****** AT WARRANTY COMPANY, HE CALLED *** AND THEY OPENED A WARRANTY TICKET. WILL BE CALLING ME DIRECTLY TO LET ME KNOW WHAT THEY WANT US TO DO ON REAR END. VERIFIED APPROVED REPAIRS AND ORDERED HUB BEARING ASSEMBLY FOR BOTH SIDES-FRONT *** 11/27/13 - SPOKE WITH THE CUSTOMER THIS MORNING. LET KNOW THERE IS A LOUD "WHINE"COMING FROM REAR END UPON ACCELERATION. GETTING WITH WARRANTY COMPANY TO SEE WHAT THEY WANT TO DO SO WE DON'T VOID HER WARRANTY. *** 11/26/13 - TRIED TO REACH THE RIGHT PERSON AT WARRANTY COMPANY AND NOT ABLE TO GET ANY RESPONSE.GETTING TRANSFERRED AROUND UNTIL FINALLY HAD TO HANG UP TO CONTINUE OTHER COMPANY BUSINESS. *** 11/26/13 - TECHNICIAN FINISHED INSTALL AND WHEN TOOK IT TEST DRIVE HE NOTICED THERE IS A HIGH PITCHED WHINE COMING FROM GEARS INSIDE PUMPKIN.HAVE TO GET WITH WARRANTY COMPANY TO LET KNOW THAT SOMETHINGS WRONG WITH REAR END. CAME FROM ***. *** 11/25/13 - REAR DIFFERENTIAL SHOWED UP AND IS BEING INSTALLED. ***
11/20/13 - *** SPOKE WITH WARRANTY COMPANY AND CUSTOMER. GOT THE REAR END COMING AGAIN. SHOULD BE HERE MONDAY THE 25TH. 11/20/13 *** CALLED CUSTOMER TO LET KNOW THAT PARTS DIDN'T SHOW UP. FOUND OUT SHE HAD CALLED WARRANTY COMPANY AND CANCELLED THE PARTS REPAIR AFTER THEY WERE TOLD TO SEND THE REAR ASSEMBLY. *** - CALLED WARRANTY CO - MANAGER BUSY 11/13/13 - SPOKE WITH WARRANTY COMPANY.APPROVED REPAIRS.SENDING COMPLETE REAR ASSEMBLY.WILL BE HERE MONDAY OR TUESDAY.*** 11/13/13 - SPOKE WITH ****** LET KNOW PARTS AND ESTIMATE WERE CALLED TO **** AT WARRANTY COMPANY. SUPPOSED TO CALL ME THIS MORNING WITH APPROVAL OR DENIAL OF REPAIRS. EXTREMELY UPSET THAT VEHICLE HAS BEEN HERE THIS LONG.EXPLAINED THAT WHEN DEALING WITH EXTENDED WARRANTY COMPANY IT TAKES A WHILE TO GET ALL INFORMATION,GET APPROVAL/DENIAL AND PARTS ORDERED.SHE BECAME IRATE STATING SHE DIDNT WANT WORK DONE UNTIL SEES AN ESTIMATE.EXPLAINED WARRANTY COVERED WORK COVERED 100%SHE WON'T BE RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY OF THAT WORK. 11/12/13 - SPOKE WITH **** AT WARRANTY COMPANY.GAVE PART NUMBERS.ESTIMATE FOR REPAIRS.WILL CALL TOMORROW IF NEED ADJUSTER TO VIEW DAMAGED DIFFERENTIAL. CONTRACTED WITH ***** AND WANT REPAIRS UNDER ****** 11/7/13-SPOKE WITH ****** LET KNOW WHAT WARRANTY COMPANY DID/DIDN'T COVER/GAVE EST ON NON-COVERED REPAIRS. DECLINED.I WANT ALL OF THE REPAIRS DONE THAT THE WARRANTY COMPANY WILL COVER 11/7/2013 - SPOKE WITH WARRANY COMPANY AND GAVE PARTS/LABOR INFORMATION. ASKED IF NEED TO FAX THEY STATED NOT AT THIS TIME. WHEN WORK IS COMPLETED AND CUSTOMER SIGNS COMPLETED RO,THEN FAX FOR PAYMENT. 11/7/13-SPOKE WITH WARRANTY COMPANY.THEY COVER DIFFERENTIAL AND FRONT HUB ASSEMBLIES.NOT SWAY BARS OR TIE ROD ENDS. NO DEDUCTIBLE.WILL NEED TO TAKE DIFF DOWN TO POINT OF FAILURE AND CALL BACK. *** 11/7/2013-FINALLY SPOKE WITH CUSTOMER AND LET KNOW THAT DID FIND OUT FROM WARRANTY COMPANY THAT CUSTOMER WILL NEED TO GIVE GO AHEAD TO REMOVE REAR END.SHE GAVE GO AHEAD.REPAIR EVERYTHING THEY WILL COVER. 11/6/13 -TRIED ******,VM STILL FULL.TRY TOMORROW. *** 11/5/13-CALLED WARRANTY COMPANY. REACHED CLAIMS REPRESENTATIVE. WILL CALL BACK OR CAN HOLD. WAITING FOR CALL BACK TO START CLAIM AND WHAT WILL AND WON'T ********* 11/4/2013 -CALLED NUMBER GIVEN TO ME BY SON FOR MOM ******.GOT VM.FULL.TRY AGAIN LATER OR ************ 11/4/2013-CUSTOMER CALLED 10/31/2013 ABOUT DROPPING OFF VEHICLE FOR REAR END ISSUES.DROPPED OFF 11/4/2013. WILL CONTACT WHEN INSPECTION COMPLETED

08/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Took my car in for free diagnostics tes pt and they fixed transmission and 4200 of new repairs without permission.
I took my van in to do a air conditioner. i said do u do transmissions cause i have a 2002 cougar he said we are the number one transmission shop in lubbock and they would run a free diagnostic test. that sounded great i told him i would have it towed there. When i got it there they said it wouldn't turn on so they told me they were gonna charge me $79 so they could put a battery in so they could turn it on to perform the diagnostic test. ****** said they were busy and it would be a while before they could give me an estimate. I said that's fine I told them not to do anything else until they call me they said they won't that they always call first. So I said ok then two weeks later ****** calls and says your car is ready I said ready what do u mean ready she said we fixed the transmission and put new motor mounts on it And that it would cost 4200. I said I didn't even tell y'all to work on it the car is not worth 4200. I wouldn't have even fixed it. I said why didn't y'all call me. she just said , "oh" I said I'm coming back into town ill be there Tuesday so I went up in person and told ****** why did yall fix it why didnt yall call me i dodnt sign anything and i never gave yall per,ission to fix it. all i said ok was to the battery. y'all didn't call me and y'all didn't have permission ****** just apologized and told me all these news parts they put on because when they were fixing it stuff kept falling off. They used new parts and a new transmission and motor mounts for a 2002 cougar with over XXXXX miles! I was irate and kept saying I didn't tell you you could fix this ****** said I'm sorry we didnt call what we can do is a payment plan of 92 a month I said I'm not even working to do that. ****** said sorry they is nothing we can do until u pay us and they would hold it. I asked for the owner and corps number and she said we are privately owned I said well I need to speak to the owner she became rude and said wells he's in Chicago. I said how could I get a hold of him she said he'll call you when he's in town she gave his name **** ******. i asked for cell number she regused to give it out. i said I was getting a lawyer because i never said they could fix it and she that's fine I'm sorry we didn't call you to get permission but bottom line we fixed it and u owe us money they have kept my car hostage since. I have since took ill and have become legally disabled and can not afford an attorney.

Desired Settlement
I want my car back they can take their parts off and put mine back or I am willing to pay out price of used transmission. I also want them to never do this to anyone again.

Business' Initial Response
This customer first brought in his wife's vehicle, a 2002 Dodge Caravan Mini Van, on 2/28/2013 at which time he stated that he would think about repairing her vehicle. He still owes us $110.70 for the diagnostic done on this vehicle. At the time that I called him about the repairs on the van, he stated that he would rather repair his vehicle, a 2001 Mercury Cougar, instead which he brought to us on 3/11/2013. The conversation to repair his instead of his wife's took place on 3/19/2013 at which time I went over our "In-house" finance program called ICare. The customer agreed to all of the transmission and engine work on his vehicle which was completed, per his request, on 4/5/2013, after many conversations about the repairs. I finally was able to reach the customer and agreed to meet him at the shop on a Sunday, April 7th, even though we do not open on the weekends. The customer was told that the down payment had to be done with a debit card and still he brought cash with him on that Sunday. Explained again that he would have to put that money in the bank and use a debit card. He said that his wife is the only one with a debit card right now since he is not employeed currently. He stated that he would have her put the money in her account that Monday, April 8th, and then they would both come in to sign the finance papers and pick up the vehicle. All of the phone conversation notes are as follows:


5/8/13 - CALLED THE CUSTOMER AGAIN AND REACHED VM. LEFT ANOTHER MESSAGE ABOUT PAYING FOR THE VEHICLE AND FILLING OUT THE ICARE PAPERWORK. ***

4/30/13 - CALLED THE CUSTOMER AGAIN TO SEE WHAT THE STATUS OF HIS FINANCES ARE SO HE CAN PICK UP HIS VEHICLE. REACHED THE VM AND LEFT A MESSAGE. ***

4/11/13 - CALLED THE CUSTOMER AGAIN TO SEE WHEN HE WOULD BE COMING IN TO GET THE VEHICLE AND FILL OUT THE PAPERS AND HE STATED THAT HE IS OUT OF TOWN AND STILL ISN'T WORKING BUT AS SOON AS HE WAS ABLE TO GET THE MONEY TOGETHER, HE WOULD BE IN TO COMPLETE THE PAPERWORK AND PICK UP THE VEHICLE. ***

4/8/13 - NEVER HEARD FROM THE CUSTOMER ABOUT THE PAYMENT AND LEFT A MESSAGE FOR HIM TO CALL ME ABOUT GETTING THIS TAKEN CARE OF. ***

4/8/13 - CALLED THE CUSTOMER TO SEE IF HE HAD MADE IT TO THE BANK AND HE STATED THAT HE HAD NOT BUT WAS GOING TO GO. HE WOULD COME HERE AS SOON AS IT WAS POSTED. ***

4/7/13 - CUSTOMER CAME IN BUT BROUGHT CASH. EXPLAINED TO HIM AGAIN THAT THE DOWN PAYMENT HAS TO BE ON THE CARD THAT HE IS GOING TO USE TO MAKE THE MONTHLY PAYMENTS. SAID HE WOULD PUT THE MONEY IN THE BANK SO THAT HE CAN USE HIS WIFE'S CARD MONDAY AND WOULD CALL ME AS SOON AS IT IS POSTED TO THE ACCOUNT THEN HE WILL BE IN TO DO THE PAPERWORK. ***

4/6/2013 - SPOKE WITH THE CUSTOMER AND HE IS GOING TO COME IN 4/7/2013 (SUNDAY) TO PAY THE ICARE AND GET THE VEHICLE EVEN THOUGH WE ARE NOT OPEN ON THE WEEKEND. TOLD HIM I WOULD MEET HIM UP HERE. ***

4/2/13 - CALLED THE CUSTOMER TO LET HIM KNOW THE STATUS OF THE VEHICLE AND GO OVER THE ICARE.

3/28/13 - CALLED THE CUSTOMER TO GIVE AN UPDATE ON THE REBUILD ***

3/25/13 - CALLED THE CUSTOMER TO VERIFY THAT HE WANTS TO REBUILD THE TRANSMISSION BASED ON THE ESTIMATE I HAVE FOR HIM. HE SAID TO FIX IT. HE IS NOT IN A HURRY BECAUSE HE IS LOOKING FOR A JOB RIGHT NOW AND WHEN HE GETS HIS JOB HE WILL HAVE THE MONEY TO PAY FOR IT. EXPLAINED SOME ABOUT THE ICARE PROGRAM (IN-HOUSE FINANCING PROGRAM) AND WE WILL DISCUSS IT MORE WHEN HE IS ABLE TO COME IN. ***

3/15/13 - CUSTOMER CALLED AND SAID TO GO AHEAD WITH THE PULL/INSPECT AND IS GOING TO DO ICARE FOR THE THIS TICKET. ALSO, WANTED TO GO AHEAD AND GET A BLEM BATTERY. ***

3/13/13 - SPOKE WITH THE CUSTOMER AND WILL CALL BACK TO LET ME KNOW IF HE WANTS TO REBUILD THE TRANSMISSION. ***

They are in reverse order so that the final conversation is the first one and the first conversation is the last one.

I have not spoken to this customer since 5/8/2013, most of the conversations were with the answering machine. The conversation the customer is stating that they had with me about the owner being in Chicago and not giving them his private cell phone number took place on 7/10/2013 and the caller id showed a name of **** ******* She did not explain who she was or why she was calling except that she was a very unhappy customer. Two days later this letter of complaint came in the mail.I have never spoken with anyone named **** ****** and we do not have any repair order with this name on it so I can only assume that this is the customer ******* *******' wife.

Please excuse the bold lettering on the conversations posted as they are in bold due to the program we use typing everything in capital letters.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Warranty Processing Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/01/1981Business started: 01/01/1949
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1953, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Rick Bigham (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Warranty Processing Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
BIGHAM AUTOMOTIVE & ELECTRIC CO. INC.
Industry Tips
AUTO REPAIRS

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for BIGHAM AUTOMOTIVE & RV SERVICE CENTER

1420 19th St

Lubbock, TX 79401-4961

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1420 19th St 

    Lubbock, TX 79401-4961(806) 763-8291
    Fax: (806) 763-4464

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the South Plains of West Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BIGHAM AUTOMOTIVE & RV SERVICE CENTER is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

AUTO REPAIRS
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.