BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
South Plains of West Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/20/1993

GENE MESSER TOYOTA OF LUBBOCK

Find a Location

Phone: (806) 748-4800Fax: (806) 748-4829View Additional Phone Numbers6102 W 19th St, LubbockTX 79407-1602 Send email to GENE MESSER TOYOTA OF LUBBOCK

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We are a leading Automotive Dealership that offers New and Pre-Owned Vehicles with Great Service and Great Prices! We also have a Top Rated Service Center as well!

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/20/1993

BBB has determined that GENE MESSER TOYOTA OF LUBBOCK meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised GENE MESSER TOYOTA OF LUBBOCK's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on GENE MESSER TOYOTA OF LUBBOCK

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
11/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lubbocks Gene Messer Toyota Home webpage has a giant add that reads New Toyota Camry LE 19990 and 0% interest for 72 months. They won't honor that.
Called Gene Messer Toyota in Lubbock after seeing an add offering a great deal on a Camry LE model. The add read "The New 2014 Toyota Camry LE 19990 with zero down AND 0% financing for 72 months." I saw the add first on Sunday 10/26 then called Monday 10/27 to discuss a test drive and potential purchase with the advertised special. Upon being transferred to the sales department **** spoke with me and said that he would need to call me back regarding the add I was referring to. He called back about 15 minutes later and stated the add was incorrect and instead of saying the low price AND special financing, it should have stated OR. He went on to explain they cannot honor what their add clearly stated. He then said they would fix the add. Six hours later the add still reads the same thing and they are not willing to honor it.

Desired Settlement
I would like the add honored exactly as it read on Sunday and Monday 10/26-10/27. I do have a picture with proof of the adds statement directly from the website. I also do not want this to effect our eligibility for the new grad discount which we qualify for $750 cash-back.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** **** GM
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@genemesser.com
Gene Messser Toyota had a error on our website banner that read Toyota Camry Le 19,990 and 0% interest for 72 months. When we found out that it was incorrect we took immendiate action and had it fixed with 48 hours. Sales Manager **** ****** did speak with ****** ******* and told her that we would honor the price and get her 0% for 72 months with approved credit. ****** came in and spoke to **** and look at our inventory and told **** that she did not find anything she like. This was on October 31st. The new banner reads $19,990 or 0% for 72 months.

06/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Multiple issues with finance dept, contract fulfillment, and title problems.
I went to Gene Messer Toyota about August of 2012. I traded in a beautiful 2010 Camaro that was mint condition. I knew the trade value was $32k. They would only give me $28k and I purchased a new Toyota Venza for business. Overall it was a pleasant experience. After a few months, I did not like the Venza. It was not comfortable for me. I took it back to trade it in for a different vehicle. They told me they would give me near what I owed since it was so new and there was no trade value for it. I chose a 2009 Buick Enclave. It was a beautiful SUV with every option I wanted, and the right color. There was a rattle and a pop in the right front that really concerned me and they assured me they would fix it if I purchased the vehicle. They replaced a strut on the right front and said it was fixed. It was not fixed. I signed papers for the trade on 2/20/13. They advised me on 3/3/13 that there was a problem with the loan papers and I would have to come re sign the loan papers. I returned to the dealer on 3/5/13 to re sign and was advised they lost the down payment check and I would have to write another check. I told them I was unhappy with the Buick as it still had a rattle in the right front. I asked if I could get a different vehicle instead and was told that I could not, that I had already committed to the Buick. THey said I could trade it back in and purchase another vehicle, but since they rolled in $8000 in negative equity from the Toyota, they could not help me with a trade because I was too upside down. Then, I waited for my registration and contacted them on 4/21/13 when my paper tag expired and they advised me there was a problem with the title and that I would have to pay for a new paper tag. I refused to pay and they got me another tag which expired 5/23/13. I called them on 5/20/13 and asked about the registration and they said they didn't know. I called the local tax office and found that they had not even submitted a title application in my name as of 5/20/13. A dealership by law must do this in 45 days if there is a lien on vehicle, which there was when it was traded in. They did not do this for 88 days from time of purchase. I went back to the dealer today 5/21/13, and they handed me my registration, after I told them I was contacting the TX DMV. I did file a complaint with TX DMV about the dealership on the registration.

Desired Settlement
I have paid of the Buick, and paid $30,000 for it. It's value is only $22,000. I would like a refund for $8000 for the difference. Otherwise, I would like a replacement vehicle, with equal value ($30,000)and amenities(Leather, navigation, all electric, etc). I do not like the rattle in the left front that is not repaired and was part of the contract for purchase.

Business' Initial Response
First thing Gene Messer Toyota is welling to work with **** ******* and getting his car fixed.

Today I spoke to *** ******** with TXDot who is investageting this issue. TxDot is going to call Mr. ******* and example that we did everything correct on the car transaction and getting him his tags. Also, TXDot is going to ask Mr. ******* to bring his car back, so we can take it back to Gene Messer Chevy to get fixed to fulfil our agreement.


I do not believe we owe Mr. ******* any money from his 2 cars that he purchased from us. I do blieve we need to fix the noise on his car.**** ****** our Used Car manager asked him to take it back to Gene Messer Chevy where we had the work done. Hopfully TXDot can get Mr. ******* to bring back his car for Gene Messer Chevy to fix.

thanks

04/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/05/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1982Business started: 01/01/1982Business started locally: 05/03/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
4000 Jackson Ave Bldg 1
Austin, TX78731-6058
(888) 368-4689
http://www.txdmv.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Brady Keys (Gen. Mgr.) Tiffani Eager (Customer Relations Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

We offer New Toyotas and a wide range of Makes for Pre-Owned also! We have a Service Center ready to take care of your Vehicle needs!

Alternate Business Names
LUBBOCK MOTORS - T, INC., GENE MESSER AUTO GROUP
Industry Tips
BUYING A USED CAR
AUTO REPAIRS
NEW AUTOMOBILES
TEXAS LEMON LAW and BBB AUTOLINE
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for GENE MESSER TOYOTA OF LUBBOCK

6102 W 19th St

Lubbock, TX 79407-1602

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 6102 W 19th St 

    Lubbock, TX 79407-1602(806) 748-4800
    (800) 628-4300

  • PO Box 16305 

    Lubbock, TX 79490-6305

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the South Plains of West Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*GENE MESSER TOYOTA OF LUBBOCK is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 628-4300
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.