BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/05/1997

ARCTIC AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING

Find a Location

Phone: (806) 749-2327Fax: (806) 749-0705405 30th St, LubbockTX 79404-1519



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/05/1997

BBB has determined that ARCTIC AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised ARCTIC AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on ARCTIC AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was forced to use Arctic Air by the home warranty company. Arctic Air fabricated additional repairs and demanded more money.
I placed a claim with my home warranty and they sent Arctic Air to fix my HVAC. The repair man simply stated I needed a new coil and may have a small expense for added freon depending upon what the warranty would pay. I paid him $60 and he said he would turn the order into the office. The next day **** ******** called and stated I needed a new coil, major modification to allow the coil to fit, a spill safety swtich, a new vent pipe and a new hard pipe and drop leg. None of this was mentioned by the repair man initially and I even asked him if the coil was all I needed. **** said it would cost me $700 out of pocket on top of what warranty would pay. **** then went on to say I could "upgrade" to a "rifle quality metal" coil for another $525. He recommended I upgrade because the cheaper "generic" metal would only last one year whereas the better metal would last 10 years.
I called another plumber for a second opinion. The second plumber came out and said **** was out and out lying and trying to extort more money from me. While he was standing in my garage, the plumber called the manufacturer for the new metal coil. They told him there is only one coil made for my unit. They said it fits without any modification. He asked if there was a better quality metal coil and the manufacturer stated there is no such thing.
I called **** and asked him to send me what he told me in writing. He then started to change his story and say the second coil was a "dual refrigerant coil". He also said the repair man observed the vent pipe was bad, even though on the phone he told me the vent pipe "could maybe" be bad causing the spill switch to not operate properly.
It is obvious they are trying to extort more money from me and these extra repairs are a complete fabrication. Upon my further review of this company I have found that this is a common theme with them as most people are ignorant when it comes to their HVAC systems.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the $60 I have already paid them as well as them to be investigated for these actions. If they are comfortable doing this to a customer they know to be a Lubbock Police Officer, I am certain they are far more comfortable trying to extort money from other citizens.

Business Response
Responses for the Better Business Bureau by **** ********* Arctic Air, in relation to the Mr. ***** complaint:
Response to Mr. *****'s comment about fabricating repairs:
When dealing with a home warranty company, the warranty company determines what portion of the repairs they pay for and what portion is the responsibility of the home owner. The home warranty company does not pay for duct modifications on his policy. It is up to our company to relay this information to the customer. Newer policies no longer pay for the old style Freon (r-22); therefore, the bulk of the cost is going to the homeowner. This is, again, the home warranty company's policy, not Arctic Air's policy.
Response to the spill switch:
I informed Mr. ***** that his spill switch had been bypassed to make his furnace run, and that our determination is that it was done because the vent pipe was bad or blocked. The purpose of the spill switch is to prevent back drafting from a blocked or damaged vent. Unfortunately, our service technician did not write this on Mr. *****'s invoice since he was there for an a/c call. Because the technician did not write this down, I explained it to Mr. *****. When speaking with Mr. ***** on the phone, I even had him go over to his furnace and pull off the top door panel. I then explained where the spill switch was located. Mr. ***** then stated he did see where the wires had been taken off and had a wire nut put on them. I told him the warranty company will not pay to replace his vent pipe. Home warranty companies do not ever pay for vent pipes on any of their policies. I then told Mr. ***** that we cannot do a major repair, and just leave that like it was because if something did happen, and we were the last company out, we could be found responsible for leaving it in that condition; and even be sued if something occurred. I also stated to Mr. ***** that since this is a major safety switch, I was certain he would want it fixed so it would be safe, and he agreed. I also told him we would replace the spill switch at no cost to him when replacing the vent pipe, just so it was new also. There was also a large piece of paper taped to the door of his furnace that said: "If furnace stops push the red button to restart." The button that is being referred to is another safety switch called a roll out switch. This indicates that this
furnace has had problems. We were trying to make it safe for him and his family.
Response to the allegation of statement that the coil would only last one year:
Never did I state to Mr. ***** that a generic coil would only last one year. I did tell him it had only a one year warranty on it; and that high end coils have a ten year warranty, but were more expensive and the warranty company will not pay the extra for the higher-priced coil. I also explained to Mr. ***** that if, in fact, he chose the high-end coil, he could pay the difference of $525 for it knowing it had a ten year warranty, and that this coil could use both the new and old Freon.
Response to the allegation of lying, made by another contractor:
Mr. ***** stated that he called another company to come out. Once there, Mr. ***** stated that the technician called the manufacturer of Mr. *****'s brand name coil, and was told that it was the same one and did not require duct modification. However, the warranty company does not pay for the name brand coil--just a generic coil. The dimensions are not the same for a name brand coil and a generic coil, which require a change to the entire coil box, and therefore required duct modifications. Arctic's employees were not lying. Instead, they tried explaining to Mr. ***** that the warranty company would not pay to replace that exact coil, only a generic coil.
Response to the allegation of Arctic trying to extort money out of him:
It is very interesting that Mr. ***** used the word extort to describe our company. According to Google's Online Dictionary, the meaning of extort is: a. to wrest or wring (money, information, etc.) from a person by violence, intimidation, or abuse of authority; obtain by force, torture, threat, or the like. b. to take illegally by reason of one's office.
From the onset of dealing with Mr. *****, he let us know he was a Lubbock City police officer. He continued to highlight his position as a police officer through his email communications with Arctic. He sent emails on his official police departmental letterhead from the City of Lubbock, through the City of Lubbock email system, and signed as 'Sergeant *****, Lubbock Police Department.' After he stopped payment on his check, he came to Arctic's office in a city police car (while off duty), came into the office, and tried to intimidate the secretary. He did not pull in the parking lot and park with the other cars, but rather parked right outside our front gate as though he was responding to a call. It is the opinion of Arctic that Mr. ***** was the one using extortion. As evidenced by the complaint filed by Mr. *****, he could not even file his report of the incident without mentioning that he was a Lubbock city police officer. If anyone is extorting anyone it would be Mr. *****, and not Arctic Air. If he so enthusiastically made known his occupation in his report to the BBB, one can only imagine the degree to which his "abuse of authority" was revealed to the employees of Arctic Air.
Response to statement that coils are not of different quality, but all the same:
There are a plethora of coil manufacturers, all with coils of differing price, quality, warranty, and type of Freon capabilities. To say there is only one kind of coil is ludicrous as in most all products manufactured one can find different prices and quality from different manufacturers.
Response to Mr. *****'s accusation of Arctic having a common theme of extortion:
Arctic Air just won the Best of Lubbock for the 3rd time in 4 years. Arctic has come to the realization that most customers with a home owners' warranty are under the misconception that the company that is called out by the warranty company is the warranty company. In reality, the company called out by the warranty company is a contractor hired by the warranty company to do the repair work. The warranty company dictates to the contracted company what, and how much the customer will be responsible for. Unfortunately, the customer most always believes that the home warranty company will pay for everything. When the customer realizes that in fact is not the case, the customer often becomes frustrated with the contracted company-not the home warranty company. If Mr. ***** had called Arctic on his own, outside of the warranty company, and asked for a price to replace his coil, Arctic would have quoted a total price for the job; and Mr. ***** would say whether or not to complete the job. There would not have been any discussion as to the details of how that price was obtained. Arctic would have told him at that time about the vent pipe and included it in the job quote. Mr. ***** could have then said yes or no to the job. However, since Mr. ***** has a home warranty, it seems he was looking for someone to blame once he found out he would be "out of pocket." His complaint should be with his home warranty company, not Arctic. Furthermore, if another A/C company has the opportunity to throw Arctic "under the bus", they often do so, trying to get the work themselves.
Response to the request for refund:
The service fee of $60.00 was due upon arrival, and was for diagnosis of the problem. Not only did the Arctic technician diagnose the problem, but Mr. ***** did use the said diagnosis to collect money from the warranty company, which was to buy a new coil. Without this diagnosis, Mr. ***** could not have collected. Arctic did send Mr. *****'s "stop-pay" check to the District Attorney's office for assistance in collection. It is the understanding of Arctic that Mr. ***** did meet with ***** at the District Attorney's office, and the result of that appointment was that Mr. ***** did pay ***** the amount of the check in full after explaining his side of the story to *****. That in itself speaks volumes. In short, Mr. ***** made his case to the DA's hot check office. The charge was found by the District Attorney's office to be valid and due. Mr. ***** fulfilled his obligation of the business agreement entered into when Arctic responded to the call to his home.
Response to Arctic Air needing investigated:
I think the facts speak for themselves. Here is an off duty police officer using the city of Lubbock's e-mail server to conduct personal business as well as a city of Lubbock marked police car to come to our office to try and intimidate us after he stopped payment on a check that we sent to the district attorney's office for collection. If anything needs investigated I believe this does.

Sincerely,
****

11/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In 2010 we purchased a brand new heating and air unit from this company. According to the warranty we have 10 year warranty parts and labor, lifetime unit replacement for the furnace and condenser. Last year our heating unit stopped working so I contacted Arctic. Their initial response was they have stopped servicing our area because they were too busy. But they did say anyone would honor the 10 year warranty for parts and labor. So we contacted numerous heating and air companies in the area, and all of them said they would honor the parts but not the labor because they did not put the unit in. So I contacted Arctic again and told them the issue I was having with the labor, and their response was that the labor should be covered with other companies as well but those companies just do not want to mess with the paperwork. Arctic did agree to come out a week later and fix our unit. Now we are having the same issue this year. I called Arctic just to have them come out to service our heating unit before the weather starts getting bad. We are not having a problem with the unit, just want it serviced. I told them we purchased the unit from them and that was why I contacted them. Their response was they no longer service our area because they are too busy. They also said that anyone would honor our warranty. I told them that we were not having a problem just wanted it serviced, and I contacted them because they were the ones who installed our unit. I told them this was the same problem we had last year, and no one would honor the labor part of the warranty because they did not install the warranty. I told them that I did not understand them being too busy to service us when we bought the unit from them. They weren't too busy in 2010 when we were ready to spend thousands of dollars for a new unit. But when we have 10 years warranty on parts and labor, they are too busy and they no longer service our area.
Product_Or_Service: Amana Heating and Air Unit
Account_Number: ****

Desired Settlement
I just want for Arctic Air to honor their 10 year parts and labor and not try to push it off on another company, where that means we have to pay for the labor. Arctic should make time for their customers that have purchased units from them. I just called to have the unit serviced, and I understand that we do have to pay to have the unit servied. I do not have a problem with that. I have a problem with them saying we will take care of it this time, but we will have to find another company.

Business Response
Our company did install the system in 2010 for Ms ****** She did also purchase a 10 year parts and labor warranty from our company. Our obligation is for the first year where we must honor all labor cost. The extended 10 year warranty purchased is through the manufacturer and is not tied to our company. Any A/C contractor can honor the extended warranty for both parts and labor. Whether they are willing to file the paperwork and submit warranty claims is a different matter and up to each individual company. Our company continues to service Levelland in our off season when we are slower and during our peak season with the understanding that several days in delay will occur if we are heavily commited in the Lubbock area. It is unfortunate that the confusion occured in this matter. When we sell a system out of town we do encourage customers to purchase 10 year parts and labor warranties to help reduce cost on repairs being that they are out of town and typically subject to higher repair prices. We have done this for many years and our customers utilize local companies for the repair under these extended warranties without issue. It is unfortunate that Ms ****** cannot find a local contractor. Again these extended warranties are offered by the equipment manufacturer and not through our company. Any licensed a/c contractor can file under this warranty it is not tied to our company. Our obligation ends after the first year is over. All this being said if Ms. ****** is willing to wait to be placed on our out of town schedule we will gladly do planned manitenance on her system and gladly file and work under the extended warranty she has. During the off season this typically has minimal delay however during the busy months it can cause several days delay. This matter never escalated beyond our receptionist and I do apologize for the confusion. Please recontact our office and we will work you into our schedule again if you are willing to wait as needed for placement on our out of town schedule.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I just want to be clear on a couple things. I do not see anywhere on my contract saying that Arctic Air is only responsible for the first year of the labor costs. The only thing I see is an "X" marking the area for 10 year warranty parts and labor. Is it in fine print somewhere? If so please provide a copy to me please. Furthermore, I spoke to a *******, who said she was the Office Manager, she did not say she was the receptionist. She told me that they are too busy to service the Levelland area, and we would need to find another company. According to her, this was a company wide decision. When I persisted, she said they would get us in "this time". It's not about not being able to find a local contractor. I have spoke to several different companies, local and Lubbock, and all have told me the same thing. Which is they will honor the parts but not the labor. I have no problems being put on your out of town schedule, but that is not what I was told. I don't feel your response to the BBB was accurate. There was no confusion, it was said your company does not service the Levelland area because you are too busy, and it was a company wide decision.

Final Business Response
I am sorry you had the experience you did when contacting our office. After further discussion with our office staff I believe the confusion occurred when we decided several months ago to no longer sell new equipment outside of the immediate Lubbock area. This is policy for new customers and not for existing customers. Our primary reason is we are so heavily loaded on call volume in Lubbock we cannot quickly get to the outlying areas as promptly as customers want. We very much pride ourselves in offering exceptional customer care and have for the past several years been awarded the Best of Lubbock and the Best of the West a/c contractor. In an attempt to make sure customers do not get upset waiting on service when outside of the immediate Lubbock area we have chosen to make this change. As stated in my last response we have no intent of discontinuing service to you under your 10 year parts and labor warranty. To address warranty issues in your last communication: It is required by all manufacturers that we cover the first year labor warranty at our expense. Outside of that warranty it would be any additional labor warranty purchased, which in your case is for 9 additional years. I did just reconfirm with ******* the local Amana/Goodman dealer in Lubbock that any dealer who registers under the Goodcare extended warranty program can gets parts and labor paid. It is a simple process requiring little effort from the dealer. If our company went out of business tomorrow the warranty we purchased for you is still valid as it is not tied to our company. This is the best kind of warranty to have as it is a manufacturer extended warranty and not a dealer warranty or a third party warranty. I do see your side and can see your confusion given it is all written on our proposal and does not differentiate who the warranty is through. Amana/Goodman should have mailed you information about the warranty purchased explaining how it works. I have requested that they again send you this information which should clarify in detail how the extended warranty is handled, and how the warranty is between you and the manufacturer of the equipment. Our company simply sold this warranty to you acting as an intermediary. This is no different than how a extended warranty is handled on a new automobile purchase. Any approved dealer can handle your warranty for you and you are not tied to one specific service department.

Please contact our office as mentioned in my first response and we will continue to provide you service as an existing customer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/08/1996Business started: 01/08/1996Business started locally: 01/12/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

LICENSING (Texas Department of)
920 Colorado St
Austin, TX 78701-2332
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1996, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Stacy Nichols (President)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors

Hours of Operation

We are open 8am to 5pm Monday thru Friday but offer 24 hour emergency dispatched service 7 days a week

Service Area

We service Lubbock and the surrounding communities

Industry Tips
AIR CONDITIONING, HEATING and REFRIGERATION
TAX CREDITS for ENERGY EFFICIENCY

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for ARCTIC AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING

405 30th St

Lubbock, TX 79404-1519

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 405 30th St 

    Lubbock, TX 79404-1519(806) 749-2327
    Fax: (806) 749-0705

  • PO Box 5577 

    Lubbock, TX 79408-5577

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the South Plains of West Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*ARCTIC AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

AIR CONDITIONING, HEATING and REFRIGERATION
TAX CREDITS for ENERGY EFFICIENCY
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.