BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

The Wedding Experience, LLC

Phone: (305) 421-1260Fax: (305) 421-1267

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company advertises packages and then does not include the items in your package.
On March 3, 2015, Mrs. Liz ******** ****** sent me a detailed brochure about which package I could choose for my wedding. Upon reading all the options and packages, I was told that the diamond package would best suit my needs. On 4/21/15, I paid $2,976.67 plus tax on the package. Throughout the entire planning process I was rarely responded to unless I contacted the coordinator multiple times. The package specifically states that I would receive a wedding website. I did not get this website until October 2, 2015. This was 7 weeks after my August 22, 2015 wedding. It was also not complete at all. The only thing it included was the wedding photos that I did not want on the website. I do not want my friends and family to see some of the more private pictures that were taken that day. I was also promised a decorated cake that came plain and dinged up. The package stated that I would have tiki torches and silk floral arrangements on the day of, which I did not receive at all. Upon returning from my wedding, I was in contact with my wedding coordinator, the day of coordinator, and the operation manager. This has been over a week with no resolution. I asked for a breakdown of the charges for the package so I could know how much I was paying for these services and they will not respond. I just want to know why I paid an extra $900 for a package that included these things and did not choose the lower package, yet did not receive these items.

Every time I call, the customer service manager is either not available, or no one answers at all. The operations manager finally called today and was completely rude and did not answer any of my questions. I just wanted a breakdown of my charges or an explanation about where my missing items had gone. Neither was answered. He seemed as though he did not know what I was talking about. I asked if there was a GM or owner that I could call and his response was "no, that is me, I am the furthest you can talk to".

I tried to go online and write a review about this company but I could not find any information. The company is listed nder three different names. Three different named companies have contacted me throughout this entire process. Imagine weddings and events, ImagineVIP, and The Wedding Experience. Which one is it? They all have the same registered toll free number. Why can I not get an answer?

Finally, the wedding brochure that I initially received when deciding on the packages stated that I would get one hour of photography. Little did I know that this was only for the service and did not include the photos. I understand that the photos may be separate, but this was not stated to me until after I purchased the package. It is no where to be seen in the brochure and is very misleading. I am now stuck, not only paying for the photography service, but also the $650 CD for the rights to my photos. I feel mislead and overcharged. It was the most expensive hour of photography that I could imagine. I do not even know what I ended up paying the photographer because no one will give me a cost.

I am appalled on how this is being handled and I would not think twice about suing the company if I was in Florida. Unfortunately, I am in Pennsylvania and I do not have the access to go down to Florida for such a petty company.

This was my wedding day. I only get one wedding and now I have to look back and think negatively because the unprofessionalism and lack of service that this company provided.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for my wedding website, the wedding cake, and the decorations that I did not receive.

I would also like the option to choose which photos I want to purchase instead of having to but all of the photos (which include many duplicates) for $650. The packages were very misleading and I do not want to wait any longer for th photos to my wedding.

I would like the company to change thier brochure that they give out to brides so this does not happen to anyone else.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to express our dismay that Mr. and Mrs. Gatto were not entirely happy with their wedding experience facilitated through our Imagine - Club Med product.
Mr. Gatto deal directly with the Supervisor for this department, Mrs. Bernal. He was guided through and received answers for all his questions prior to booking. In Total, 15 emails from both the bride and groom and numerous phone calls. The issue of the package inclusions was discussed regarding the Gazebo being the option at this resort, if desired, and that tiki torches with silk flowers were not be provided there. Also, the photographer would be present taking photos for an hour but that the photographs themselves and product are not included. But, are available for purchase. Mr. Gatto asked if he could provide his own photographer, the answer was yes, but that a photographer comes with the package as well, and this person would also be taking photos. The cake was described in the Final Confirmation Letter as a plain white cake. This cake was provided with white piping along the layer. We also provided a beautiful cake topper at no cost for the couple because they had not brought one with them. The wedding website was provided after the wedding due to software issues. This website enables the guests to order pictures and leave posts on the blog. Because it was experiencing a glitch, we will be crediting the couple $20.00 towards this. Our Customer Service Manager also travels to the weddings at various times, depending on the group. Therefore, after all concerns were answered but did not meet the Gatto's expectations, the concerns were escalated to the Operations Manager who is our senior person in the office, Mr. Okomo.Attached please find the final confirmation letter signed by the Gattos and their wedding agreement, also signed by both of the Gattos. The wedding was beautiful, the officiant they brought with them did a wonderful job and it was a picture perfect summer day in a beautiful gazebo by the St. Lucie River. The Wedding Experience wishes the Gattos all the best in their lives together.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the same response that I have received from every person that I have talked to with this company. I STILL do not accept the response. This business is misleading brides on one of their most special days in their lives. I would like my money for the services that I did not receive and I would like the company to change the brochure that they hand out to potential brides. This was one of the main reasons that I chose to go with this company; however, I did not receive some of the things that were included in the price. I know I am being overcharged for the services such as the photography and the wedding website that I did not receive until 7 weeks after my wedding. I asked a few simple changes such as uploading the pictures in order so I can compare the 300 series of 5 pictures that are exactly the same. They said that they couldn't even do that! I wish that this company was listed under the proper name from day one. Under their name "The Wedding Experience", they have multiple complaints and bad reviews regarding the same issues (paying for things that are not received). If I would have known these things, I wouldn't have chosen this company to work with for my special day that is ending in a nightmare. This is the one day that I am supposed to look back on and be ecstatic, but instead I am dealing with the same cookie cutter response. I am appalled by the behavior from the weddings coordinator's son that I had to pay an additional $375 dollars for. I am appalled by the poor customer service that I have received since the day I started communicating with this company. I hope that people can see this and are not mislead by the same lies that I fell into.

Final Business Response
Good Afternoon,
The Wedding Experience will be offering Mr. and Mrs. ***** a 25% reduction in the photography CD price as a resolution for Mrs. *****'s wedding related concerns.
This offering of compensation is based on the wedding website being delayed due to a software glitch, the couple's confusion over Club Med Sandpiper's offering of an upgraded Gazebo site versus a beach location with tiki torches; the "dent" in the back of the wedding cake; and the photos not loading to her expectations. The additional coordinator was required due to the amount of guests as required by Club Med. This coordinator provided assistance throughout the day to the lead coordinator, such as assisting the photographer, testing and running the ceremony music, setting up chairs and sashes, providing for extra chairs not ordered but needed for the group, etc.
Mrs. ***** can now use the form provided on the wedding photo website to order the full cd of photos taken and take the 25% reduction as well.

08/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I would like to submit a formal complaint regarding our Celebrity Infinity Shipboard Wedding "coordinated" by The Wedding Experience.
Problem Date (Wedding Date): June 7th, 2015
Booking #: XXXXXXX
Marriage License Coordinator: ****** *****
Payment Amount: $******.50 USD
Payment Method: Credit Card
1. Communicated via e-mail thread and phone with ****** ***** to plan our wedding together for one year since May 2014. She made too many mistakes in exchanging and communicating wrong wedding plan information throughout and especially for the actual wedding day. Planned and paid for events on the wedding day did not reflect the contract.
2. Wedding coordinator DID NOT escort us, the couple, fromthe cruise terminal to our stateroom as written on contract.
3. We were told to hire 5 additional wedding coordinators on top of the 1 other included in the basic wedding package we paid for. The coordinators were $375.00 USD each. We do not know what their names were. We were not introduced to all of them. They did not do their jobs as previously confirmed in the contract.
4.Wedding coordinator did not meet me, the bride, at our stateroom for the standby queue before the ceremony which was planned to start at 12:00 p.m. to escort me to the venue, Trellis Restaurant. I was ready and waiting at 11: 50 a.m. There was no one by my side to escort me down to the Trellis until I called ****** ******* the Celebrity Cruises event coordinator 3 times. Finally, 2 wedding coordinators came to my stateroom 12:25 p.m.
4. We told ****** ***** that ******* my groom/husband, and his groomsmen will be escorted to Trellis at 12:00 p.m. This DID NOT happen. So all the bridal party got confused and lost to where to go and to be. All our bridal party was waiting outside the Trellis restaurant for me to come for 30 minutes behind schedule.
5. I gave every set up and props in one big bag for the coordinators to prepare to *****, the officiant/coordinator, in the cruise terminal at 10:30 a.m. I was later told they lost the boutonnieres (for rest the bridal party) during the preparation and finally found them not until 12:20 p.m.
6. ****** said the coordinators will place the wedding favors (we brought and passed **** *****) at each guest's seat. This DID NOT happen so too many guests left in empty hands.
7. I provided ***** a sheet of menu collected for all my 13 bridal party members at 11:35 a.m. to pass **** the kitchen because unlike the guests, we would not have time to order food at the restaurant. But they lost this sheet. When all the bridal party sat down for the reception after the ceremony at 13:00, there was NO FOOD and NO CHAMPAGNE as requested on the sheet. We got our appetizers when guests were in the middle of main courses. We should be VIPs and did not get full meals as paid.
8. ****** said there would be a backdrop set up in the Trellis restaurant for guests to take pictures but there was NO backdrop set up.
9. There was NO FORK nor PLATE set up for our cake cutting ceremony. We ate off the cake knife. There is a picture to prove this as well.
10. A couple of guests got denied boarding at check-in in the cruise terminal. They brought correct IDs and still got denied entry our wedding.
11. We paid and requested for 2 mics for our 2 MCs. There was NO mic. The 2 MCs had to share *****, the officiant's mic. And that mic's reception was terrible that when we used it for our bridal party's toasting speeches, MANY guests including ourselves got very annoyed from its static and constant breakages.
12. There was NO wedding coordinator by the head table. Even though we had 6, we had trouble finding one at our side.
13. We paid for coral bouquet but I did NOT get this until 13:30 pm during the reception, NOT for the procession entrance.
14. Cruise photographer was confirmed to start 15 mins before ceremony as per contract but did not show up. We paid for 2 hours as confirmed but he told us we only paid for 1 hour to him.
15. We recorded all our ceremony and reception songs in CD but a lot of the songs did not get played.
16. Guests complained of waiti

Desired Settlement
This wedding definitely did not meet our expectations due to the constant mistakes made by the Wedding Experience staff.
We are still hearing more complaints from our wedding guests that they did not enjoy the lack of organization coordinated by The Wedding Experience.
They are angry for us and demand refund for this wedding. We, the couple and the bridal party, were stressed and did not enjoy any moment of the wedding process as we did all the coordination and directing ourselves.

We would like a full refund for the horrible and stressful experience of our one year's worth of planned wedding ruined by The Wedding Experience staff. The honeymoon cruise was depressing throughout because of the constant aftermath problems arose from the wedding coordination. We paid a lot of money for our cruise alone but lost our honeymoon. We would like a free honeymoon cruise to anywhere we want in the future.

At the very least, we need refunds for what we paid and never got:
1. the wedding coordinators fees (6 x $375.00)
2. the 2 missing mics (2 x $30.00)
3. the 13 bridal party not getting food and champagne glass in timely manner and only had one or two bites at max! (13 x $45) + (13 x $8.95)
4. 5 wedding guests got denied boarding at check-in (5 x $45) + (4 x $8.95)
5. coral bouquet (1 x $120)

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for forwarding this complaint to us to address. As this bride was previously advised, we are currently investigating this with our shore-side wedding team, shipboard wedding team and shipboard staff all assigned to her special day.

While it was our intention to provide this couple with a wonderful memory, we are very concerned that this did not happen according to her expectations.

When providing a formal response after all information has been received, we will be reflecting on the signed agreements and final confirmation that was submitted to The Wedding Experience as the final guideline for her wedding day. Within this document are the duties of our coordinators; shipboard staff; a time line, etc.

Again, thank you for this opportunity to respond to this couple's wedding complaints. We are always happy to receive feedback on our product, good or bad.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Good afternoon,

Thank you for the response. We acknowledge that our complaint is being investigated and look forward to your detailed findings. We would like the Wedding Experience to follow up with us and we fully expect some form of compensation for all the issues we encountered on our special day.

If the investigation is not to our satisfaction, we will reopen the complaint.

Thank you.

Final Business Response
The bride and groom have accepted compensation and signed a General Release of Liability to close the complaint.Compensation was forwarded and accepted.
After viewing the wedding video, all services were provided as outlined in the contract including, the beautiful ceremony, speeches, tea ceremony, toasts, dances, eatcing,etc.
The wedding officiant did a wonderful job.
This couple complicated their day by telling their guests to be at the port at 9:30, when they were advised that security and boarding would not open until 11:00 a.m.. The couple also arrived late to the port and caused our coordinators to begin searching through a very crowded terminal for them. The ship's hostess had to leave her duties to assist.
The documents signed by the couple for this wedding clearly outline all procedures including boarding and times.
We regret that the couple was not entirely pleased with their experience, hence why we offered a large amount of compensation returned as a gesture of good will. The couple accepted this compensation as final and signed a contract stating so. At this time, the Kongs are in violation of that contract.
The Wedding Experience wishes them the best in their new lives together.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This gesture from The Wedding Experience LLC is not an apologetic one but a blaming one to the consumer where they claim no responsibilities for their jobs and telling us that we violated the contract. We accepted the low compensation and signed what was a threatening General Release of Liability because we just wanted to move on with our lives but this response from them makes us angry one more time in a greater way. So we're going to rebuttal that because the above response keeps referring to the contract as if all services was provided but there were many services that they violated and did not follow the contract. Also, the services described come from only one source: the edited and cut video footage, not from a 100 % raw footage of everything that went down from the beginning to the end. So their response is a made up lie to cover their faults and make the consumer look bad.

1. Denise Milow told us and the contract states as well as the Celebrity Wedding Package that the guests should arrive no later than 10: 30 am. Our guests came early because it's a large crowd and the process takes long. And being early to an event never hurts so if that is them pointing out blame to us then they are without common sense because arriving before 10:30 a.m. did not cause any interruption.
2. We were told that 11:00 a.m is when the Immigration and Customs opens. So they should quit telling us we were late. Do they have the video footage to prove that? We were there before 11:00 a.m. and their coordinators were all there but did not get introduced to us at all. We guessed who they were because, Karen, the officiant, kept yelling at the women with clipboards to stop chatting amongst themselves and to get things together.
3. We ordered two mics and paid for them not to be shared with the officiant's mic but for the two MCs and the six toasts making bridal party. Brenda, the Celebrity event coordinator explained that the reception to the head table got bad. Video does not show the bridal party and the guests getting really irritated from the bad reception. There are a lot of editing and cuts between the speeches if you look carefully.
4. The tea ceremony worked great because we prepared everything, not the Wedding Experience LLC.
5. The dances worked great because we prepared the dances, not the Wedding Experience LLC.
6. What kind of service is eatcing? Please learn to spell better.
7. We also got furious when the guests told us after the wedding that the expensive six coordinators we were told to hire by mandatory reason, did not escort them to the restaurant or to their tables. This was their only major job also described in the contract but did not get done. What we were told is that there was a seat chart with guests' names at the reception and one bald male employee, whom we do not think is a hired coordinator, told the guests where they had to sit. And they omit this lack of service in their response.
8. They also violated the contract because it clearly says to have the photography start at the bride's cabin with her mother 15 minutes before the ceremony and it did not happen. They have no way to prove this because they do not have any photographs of the captures we have asked them. We talked to the photographer after the wedding about this and he told us that the coordinators told him he did not have to start 15 minutes early.
9. Another violation of the contract is that it clearly states to start the ceremony at 12:00 pm. And it actually started at 12: 30 pm and delayed everything else because the wedding coordinators were bobbing their heads around to look for the bride who was in the cabin waiting for the queue the entire time. The ceremony only started because I, the bride, called Brenda three times from 11: 55 a.m. to 12: 25 p.m. to come give the queue to go to the wedding ceremony venue.
10. One clear proof of video footage that they do not mention but cannot argue is that despite the fact that the bridal party preordered our reception menu, there was nothing on our table when we got to the head table even after the ceremony was over. The guests were already at their main course. And this shows in the video.
11. The wedding video that their response is referring to is the exact same copy that the videographer who lives in Vancouver, Canada, so locally to us, sent via Facebook to us as the one sent to us from The Wedding Experience LLC. The manager claimed that it will take 8 weeks for international customers to edit the video into a wedding DVD. Again, it was the exact same video, no additional editing made from what the videographer sent us via online. So sending the copy back and forth internationally was senseless of them. In addition, the first DVD shipped to us after 8 and half weeks was blank. We tested it in 3 different machines. They made a foolish excuse stating that they tested in multiple machines before sending it to us so that claims that not only is the company a disorganized one but their machines are also fluke as well. We did not pay $1600 USD for a blank wedding video DVD. So we emailed them back and finally got one working. We played the second DVD they sent using the same machine we tested the first blank copy in.
At this time, the Wedding Experience LLC is in too many violations of the contract and telling us to be confidential of their mistakes by paying us what compensates nothing much because no one can put a price tag on a horrible wedding experience, especially for the guests that got denied boarding. Wedding is not just another birthday party. It is what is hope to be a once in a lifetime event. The video shows the bridal party having a wonderful ceremony because it is cut and edited to the Wedding Experience LLC's advantage. Even though we were very angry with them during the ceremony, the video captured the moments when we kept our composure and smiled for the wedding guests and our wedding itself. Therefore, we had a very BAD wedding experience with The Wedding Experience LLC.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Wedding Consultants, Cruises

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.