BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Costa Rican Vacations

Phone: (800) 606-1860Fax: (305) 675-0988

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
09/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have this timeshare purchase done in Costa Rica
The parent company seems to be Costa Rican Vacations who was represented to us via Platinum Resorts. Since your company has such a great BBB rating we hope you will rectify this because we have been told Platinum Resorts went out of business so we are not sure what to do, however based on that we are not paying anyone anymore.

We were told while touring the resort that If we purchased that day, we would be given 3 bonus weeks equipped with a gold star rating, which meant high priority similar to VIP or so we were told.

We were additionally told that as of 2014 we could rent our weeks out for $6,000 a month. This was contingent upon us paying the purchase price in full along with maintenance fees. To learn that in less than 1 year we could make nearly 75% of our initial investment back was amazing. We were certainly interested as these rentals were guaranteed or so Mr. Pierce misled us to believe.

We were additionally swayed by the free Holiday Systems International membership that was for 1 year, along with 75 additional "Breakaway Weeks" that we could use at our leisure. These weeks could also be rented for profit. Holiday Systems International also afforded members the benefits of being able to secure airfare and the finest accommodations in their collection for any season or location we wanted. This deal seemed almost too good to be true, but with the constant reminders of how amazing the benefits were as explained by the "professional" who sold these investments each day. We had no reason to think this may possibly be a scam or invalid.

After this discussion and our obvious interest in the investment, we were taken on a tour of the grounds and shown a few units. Each unit was very beautiful and we were reminded of the $6,000 rentals we could achieve in 2014 from the 1 bedroom unit. As we toured the 2 bedroom unit, he stated that the rental profits would increase to $8,000. Each rental benefit could be obtained in 1 months' time which made the opportunity even more appealing.

Once the tour was over, we were then taken back to the original presentation room and ushered into an office to talk it over. We decided that we would purchase a 1 bedroom unit. This was after the constant reminders of rentals and the added reminders of the incentives of the 75 Breakaway Weeks. Supposedly Mr. ********* daughter uses her Breakaway Weeks consistently and it saves her a substantial amount of money for travel.

The papers were created for purchase and we met with ******* ******** At this time, we had already been at their facility for 5 hours and 15 minutes solid. We were exhausted and ready to leave. We signed, initialed and paid for our purchase in less than 15 minutes. At no time, did we read anything we were signing as we were never asked to by ******** nor did she even offer. It was completed in a very rapid pace on January 6, 2013.

That evening after arriving back to our unit, we could not sleep. We were both up all night thinking about the purchase we made that day. We were not at ease and had a bit of remorse. We decided that the following morning, we would go back to the resort to see if we could cancel.

On January 7, 2013 we went to the office with many questions. To confirm we asked if we would get $6,000 for just 4 weeks of rentals. It was confirmed and we were told YES.

Our next question was the down payment which was charged to our credit card in the amount of $13,200 we advised that we were not aware that $1,838.10 was for administration fees and we were told that it was listed on the paper we signed. We felt very awkward because even though this may have been stated in the papers, we were never told that we were paying $1,838.10 for the preparation of papers.

We then asked in the event of our deaths, will this be passed ** our son. We were told that your company will handle this and provide the remaining years to our son with the exact same benefits we had paid for.

Desired Settlement
Being as we had just started our 3 month holiday in Costa Rica we advised that we would not be home until April so we would need to pay the balance off in full sooner. We were told there was no penalty for this.

After our questions were answered we relayed that we were considering the possibility of upgrading our 1 bedroom unit to a 2 bedroom to increase the rental benefits. We were then advised to come bac

Consumer's Desired Resolution:
We were advised that Platinum Resort Service will rent these weeks for us and we even spoke to ***** ******** who represented PRS who confirmed that "yes the weeks can and will be rented for an upfront fee of $699," which we paid after our arrival back home on April 19, 2013.We asked if we could sell the timeshare any time we wanted if we decided we did not wish to engage in the full term of 30 years. We were advised that yes we could, AND for a profit. We asked if our family and friends could use the membership without restrictions which we were also assured yes. We understood there was a maintenance fees and we specifically asked if these fees were subject to increase. We were told no, they would never increase. After these questions and false assurances of rentals, we decided to upgrade to a 2 bedroom unit considering in 4 years our full investment would be recouped. After this, we would have 25 years of leisure vacations to enjoy all around the world or rent out if we wanted, because all would be paid in full. That day we agreed to upgrade, Mr. Pierce had a new contract prepared. We were there for 1 more hour, in a dark office where we were asked to sign even more papers that we could not read. After all papers were signed we made arrangements for full payment of the balance in the amount $15,400 that was to be paid no later than May 15, 2013 that we paid in full as agreed to in order to secure the rental of our weeks for profit. We would like to note that at that time, it was January 8, 2013, but the contract was written for January 6, 2013. We are unsure why this was incorrectly dated, but feel it is very important to mention. we believe it is necessary to explain that these purchases were made under the false statements made by the solicitors of your resort/company regarding this membership being a rental investment which would guarantee us rentals of our investment in Costa Rica Vacations, LLC/Miramar Residence Club $2,000 per week. As we viewed the contract more closely, we noticed that these rentals are NOT guaranteed as we were misled to believe, but the "marketing" of these properties were guaranteed by a 3rd party company, Platinum Resort Services. We must be very clear when we say we engaged in this agreement under the impression that this purchase was a financial investment that would produce rentals for the duration of our ownership (30 years), and thus paying for itself. We would not have paid in good faith the sum of $28,600 had the emphasis of this being a financial investment that would essentially allow us to regain our initial investment back, but also produce profits for many years to come. We were assured that we would also have many weeks that we could personally use at our leisure that would not affect the rentals or profits which were to come.


Since Platinum Resorts is no longer in bussiness we want to cancel this and get our money back since they lied.

Business Response
We are very sorry to hear about the unfortunate problem you are going through.
We would like to clarify that Costa Rican Vacations does not represent any time sharing property in Costa Rica. The name of the staff you mention in your claim, the processes and products are not part of our staff and services.
We really hope you can find a satisfactory solution to you complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX September 20/2014
Thank you for your reply.I would like to say, we would not have bought Costa Rica Vacations timeshare, if we were not coerced into buying by your sales person, saying we could rent our weeks out for$8000.US dollars a year,whenwe bought in 2013 January7.We have not paid a penny more since we found out it wasn't true,even to pay any maintence to you.If the staff members is no longer part of your staff now, it is our problem.Tha solution we want, is the return of our money, since we were lied too and have no intention after this to use your or any Vaction timeshare ever. You can resell it to someone who will use it.
************** *******

Final Business Response
***** & ****

I am sorry to hear of this unfortunate incident. I must admit that I was personally shocked to hear about this story, especially when our Company name was attached to it. We have been in business for over 14 years in Costa Rica and have never heard or dealt with Platinum Resorts. We sell only vacations and have no real estate or timeshare company, we are 100% a vacation company. As our name is somewhat generic there maybe some confusion. I am intrigued how you made the association of this company to us.

All of our staff are listed on our website www.vacationscostarica.com and none of the people you describe above work for us, nor do we have any knowledge of them.

With this being said I would like to help in anyway that I can. Please feel free to contact me directly at ************@goduesouth.com or call X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ****

Kind Regards

******* *****
Chief Operating Officer
Costa Rican vacations

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your reply. Your company was named in our complaint, because the sales person name in the complaint, told us about Platinum Resorts Services and also we used sales office cell phone to dial the number to talk to the rentals office of Platinum Resorts, a Mr Crawford. They setup a payment for rentals unit after we pay off the balance to Costco RicaVacations in full, on our return home. If you don't have any association with Platinum Resorts Services, then why did your sale person say about rental of units and used the office cell phone to talk Platinum ResortsServices.Rental fees for ten years, would be $750.00US for the unit. This all took place outside the office, where we sign to timeshare in Playas de las Palmas.

I just looked though your staff on www.vacationscostcorica.com and did not see your sale person who lead us on, to sign up to your timeshare,his name is in our complaint to BBB. You know who he is or how else would you sell timeshare. At MIRAMAR RESIDENCE CLUB COSTCO RICA.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Sightseeing Tours

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.