BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/08/1993

Boca Raton Travel & Cruises, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (561) 395-1414Fax: (561) 395-7215View Additional Phone Numbers225 E. Palmetto Park Rd., Boca RatonFL 33432

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/08/1993

BBB has determined that Boca Raton Travel & Cruises, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Boca Raton Travel & Cruises, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Boca Raton Travel & Cruises, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
08/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was arranging a trip to Pennsylvania with my grandson and myself. It took me 15 minutes to explain that my grandson was going with me from Denver to Harrisburg What's so hard??? She just couldn't grasp it. The agent did not send an email with the itinerary until I requested it. There was no ticket for ****. The agent did get **** a ticket. Of course it cost me an extra $300.

Desired Settlement
The agent never acknowledged she made a mistake or was sorry for the additional charge. I would like to be reimbursed for the additional $300.that her mistake cost me.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** *********, CTC -
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@bocaratontravel.com
We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication. Dr. and Mrs. ******* are long standing valuable clients of Boca Raton Travel.
Our records show that *** ******** the agent who has handled their travel arrangements since 2007, was not aware that Mrs. ******* grandson was travelling with her. She was of the impression that he lived in Pittsburgh.
On June 14, during the various communications concerning flights and airfare, *** was not given the name of the grandson to reserve his flights. *** did not ask because she thought that she was going to join him in Pennsylvania. The ticket was mailed and the traveler name on the ticket was highlighted.
On June 28, Dr. ****** called to find out about the grandson's ticket. A reservation was made for the same flights and his airfare was about $300 higher. Dr. ******* did not raise an objection.
Today, almost one month later, we have received your email with the complaint. Unfortunately we were never informed that there was an issue and we never had the opportunity to offer a solution..
We will refund Dr. and Mrs. ******* $300 as a gesture of goodwill and friendship as soon as your office will confirm that the claim will be closed and Boca Raton Travel will maintain its current high Better Business Bureau standings.

Consumer's Final Response
Dear BBB: This email is regarding Complaint Case # ********(Ref#************************). On 6/30/2013 we emailed a response to the businesses offer of a $300.00 refund, but as yet nothing has been received. Included in our communication to you was a restatement of what we had originally emailed to the business regarding the extra cost of $300.00 because of having to purchase the ticket so close to the flight.

Sincerely,
**** and *************

Business' Final Response

Contact Name and Title: ******** *********, CTC -
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ************************.com
We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication. Dr. and Mrs. ******* are long standing valuable clients of Boca Raton Travel.
Our records show that *** *******, the agent who has handled their travel arrangements since 2007, was not aware that Mrs. ******* grandson was travelling with her. She was of the impression that he lived in Pittsburgh.
On June 14, during the various communications concerning flights and airfare, *** was not given the name of the grandson to reserve his flights. *** did not ask because she thought that she was going to join him in Pennsylvania. The ticket was mailed and the traveler name on the ticket was highlighted. On June 28, Dr. ****** called to find out about the grandson's ticket. A reservation was made for the same flights and his airfare was about $300 higher. Dr. ******* did not raise an objection.
Today, almost one month later, we have received your email with the complaint. Unfortunately we were never informed that there was an issue and we never had the opportunity to offer a solution.. We will refund Dr. and Mrs. ******* $300 as a gesture of goodwill and friendship as soon as your office will confirm that the claim will be closed and Boca Raton Travel will maintain its current high Better Business Bureau standings.

07/10/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/30/1990Business started: 01/01/1956
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

Florida Dept of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of 201002668 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://taxcollectorpbc.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=201002668&a=1845941

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of ST15527 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Check License Status: https://csapp.800helpfla.com/cspublicapp/businesssearch/businesssearch.aspx

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Guiliano Lorenzani (President)Mrs. Judy Lorenzani (V. President)
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Industry Tips
BBBTips On Airline Travel
BBB Warns of Deceptive Travel-Related Promotions
Business Travel Costs
Vacation and Travel
BBB Warns Vacationers: Travel-Related Fraud is on the Rise

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Boca Raton Travel & Cruises, Inc.

225 E. Palmetto Park Rd.

Boca Raton, FL 33432

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 225 E. Palmetto Park Rd. 

    Boca Raton, FL 33432(561) 395-1400
    (561) 395-1414
    (954) 427-9955
    (800) 326-1414
    (561) 395-1401

  • 424 E Palmetto Park Rd 

    Boca Raton, FL 33432-5018

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Boca Raton Travel & Cruises, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (561) 395-1400
  • (954) 427-9955
  • (800) 326-1414
  • (561) 395-1401
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.