BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/17/2009

MagicJack LP

Find a Location

Phone: (561) 594-9925Fax: (561) 586-2328View Additional Phone Numbers222 Lakeview Avenue, Suite 1550, West Palm BeachFL 33401

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/17/2009

BBB has determined that MagicJack LP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered MagicJack LP's rating include:

  • 3039 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised MagicJack LP's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3039 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3032 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 500 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues479
Billing / Collection Issues474
Delivery Issues57
Guarantee / Warranty Issues63
Other1
Problems with Product / Service1958
Total Closed Complaints 3032

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

17 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MagicJack LP

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 17
Total Customer Reviews 17 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3032)BBB Closure Definitions
01/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
phone device ceased to operate.
purchased phone device about 3 or 4 years ago. worked perfect. bought new computer with windows 8 and device continued to work perfect. last week device failed to load. contacted help support. after some attempts to correct problem I was told device does not work on windows 8. I was told this after several attempts were made to correct. how is it they didn't know this right away. how is it that it was working with windows 8 for nearly one year. I installed device on windows 7 computer and it does not work. mj offered to replace my device for a fee. I had to also pay all shipping costs. I still have four months of paid phone service with no working device.

Desired Settlement
I would like a working device free of charge including all postage or a refund for the remaining four months prepaid phone service.

Business Response
magicJack offers free replacement devices to customers who are experiencing problems as long as they are within the warranty period. The customer is only responsible for the shipping fee.

As a courtesy, we have waived the shipping fee that the customer is responsible for and mailed Mr. ***** a free replacement device.

It has been mailed to the address that he has listed on this complaint. Please allow 1 week for him to receive it.

01/07/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been charger $32.34 to port out my home phone # to my original carrier. Magic jack would not work with this #.
As you can see by my past 10 to 15 chat sessions amounting to about 12 hours I was unable to make magic jack work for me. I tried everything you asked and even a replacement USB magic jack with no success. I have now asked to port my home phone # back to my phone service carrier and you want to charge me another $30 plus tax to port the # back. Please waive that port charge now.

I have an active contract with Magic Jack until 7/6/15. My chat session ID's over the past month are LTKXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and LTKXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. I have a magicjackgo equipment. My magic jack #XXXXXXXXXX, with contract good to 7/6/15. Problem date started on 11/9/14 until present. Account # Accountid: XXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $32.34 for porting of phone # on 12/27/14 to my master card on file with Magic Jack.

Business Response
Transferring a telephone number to another carrier is not free.

On our website at www.magicJack.com/faq under the question "How can I transfer my magicJack number to another provider?" the answer states: "In order to transfer a number on your magicJack to a new provider, eligible requests should be initiated by your new service provider, who will coordinate the transfer. When we receive the request we will email you. A $30.00 fee applies."

This helps to offset the cost to maintain our number portability administration and platform. Our annual license fee is extremely inexpensive, unlike other carriers who may recover these costs in monthly service charges.

We received a port out request from Mr. *****'s new carrier on December 26, 2014 and we responded within minutes that we accepted their requested due date of January 6, 2015.

Telephone number (XXX) XXX-XXXX will be released to Mr. *****'s new carrier on that due date, January 6, 2015. His new carrier will then need to take the number and activate it on their end, in order to complete the port.

Although porting fees are non-refundable, as a courtesy we have fully refunded Mr. ***** $32.34 for the port out fee. Please allow several days for the credit to show on his account.

01/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
false advertising for renewal service.
I purchased a magic jack plus over a year ago. it came with 6 months of service. It worked fine. I have had other magic jacks in the past. I always recommend magic jacks to everyone. I let the service expire that it originally came with. it has sat in a box since then as I had no need for it. on 12/09/2014 I found it and plugged it in. the service had expired and I went on their web site and seen I could purchase 1 month of service for $5.00. so on 12/09/2014 I paid with a debit card 5.39 for 1 month of service but it never got turned back on. I live chatted them and they told me that the 1 month of service I bought on 12/09/2014 had already expired on 12/02/2014. then said something about terms of service. I paid for 1 month of service on 12/09/2014 which in my American assumption would give me service until 01/09/2015. somehow they say the one month of service I bought on 12/09/2014 was for service I did not have from 11/02/2014 to 12/02/2014

Desired Settlement
I just want my $5.39 refunded. why in the **** would you plug in a magic jack after months of it not even being activated and pay for service that is back in time. I just want my money back and I will be done from ever using magic jack. seems like bad business to me.
thank you

Business Response
Our records indicate Mr. ******* registered his magicJack PLUS device on 11/02/2013. The purchase price of the magicJack PLUS came with 1 year free. Mr. *******'s free year of service expired on 11/02/2014. When the device is in an expired state, the customer is still able to place and receive calls. Their device is placed in what we call the "Grace period" for renewal.

Section 9 of the Terms of Service Mr. ******* agreed to during registration states: "If you delay registration and renew your registration after the expiration of your license, but before sixty days after expiration, your new term will begin as of the expiration date and will continue only up to the anniversary of that expiration date. If you delay registration and renew after sixty days, your new term will begin on date of registration"

AS a courtesy, we have refunded Mr. ******* for both 1 month renewal plans he purchased on 12/09/2014 and on 12/11/2014. Please allow several days for both $5.39 credits to show on his account.

Processing these courtesy refunds has deactivated his magicJack PLUS device, as it no longer has an active subscription.

As the device is in an inactive state, should Mr. ******* choose to place an order at a later date, service will go into effect as of that date.

01/02/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last year my Magic Jack service was due to expire in December 2013. In November 2013 I paid for an additional year of service which extended my service to 12/15/14. Several times we had severe thunder storms pass through our community and my surge protector didn't work, my Magic Jack and modem was fried by these storms 2 different times. ***** *** replaced the modems at no charge and I went to ******* and bought new Magic Jacks both times. When I registered my new Magic Jack device their system added the guarantee 6 months that came with the new device and my new expiration date was 6/15/15 listed on my customer service screen. A few months later the same thing happened again. But, after I added the new device the my number ************* was liste twice on my customer service screen. The first one still showed my service expiring 6/15/2015 and the second showed it expiring 6 months from August 2014. I meant to contact Magic Jack and have them combine the two and give me a new expiration date of 12/15/2015. I paid the full price for 2 new Magic Jack that guaranteed 6 months of service. Recently Magic Jack has updated their software and customers can't see as much as they could with their older software. Since this update they removed the guarantee months of service that I received with my new devices. I spoke with Magic Jacks Customer Service several times (Rep ******** who confirmed I paid for a year of service Nov 2013 and replaced my devices in 2014. She said because I registered the devices and NEW I lost the remaining time I paid for. I told her that wasn't possible because I wanted my existing number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) so I selected replacement. If I'd had registered them as a new device I'd would have gotten new numbers. ******* agreed and said she send a request to correct. I need this device because I travel in the military and will pay for another year today. ******* said there's no Guarantees with her request. I wanted to see if the BBB could help me. Thank you, ** ********

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive the Guaranteed service promised with the new devices. Each one came with 6 months for a total of 12 months. But, I'd accept and appreciate anything you'd be able to do for me. Magic Jack will probably tell you that my service doesn't expire till 12/15/15, that's because I'll pay today for another year so I won't lose my number. I'll like for them to add the additional time onto the 12/15/15.

Business Response
We have credited Mr. ************ 2014 magicJack PLUS device "LAPTOP" with 1 free year of service ($37.73 value). This has extended his device license to 12/15/2016.

In the future, should Mr. ******** have an issue with his device, we ask that he contact our online customer service ********** first, at www.magicjack.com/techchat. If a replacement device is necessary our live agents will process it for him. A replacement device makes for a smoother transition when transferring time from the previous device to the new device.

01/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My MagicJack Plus doesn't work properly. I want to return to my old MagicJack.
I upgraded from my MJ to a MJ+ in January 2014. Within 2 months the power supply burned out 3 times. MJ replaced 2 which both burned out. I ended up buying a third party power supply which works fine. Ever since using the MJ+ people who call us say it sounds like we are randomly pushing the dial buttons on our phone while talking to them. This condition has gotten worse as time has passed. I have connected with MJ online chat support many times. Every time they say I need to reboot the MJ+ and it will be fine. I have rebooted the MJ+ many, many times and it does not eliminate the poor call quality that our inbound callers are experiencing. We NEVER had this problem with our old MJ and I have asked the online support if I could go back. They say that I can't. I find this very hard to believe! They off to send me a new MJ+ if I pay shipping, however, why should I do this when the MJ+ I have is not working properly. I would be willing to try another MJ+, but I really would rather go back to my previous MJ unit. When going back to my previous MJ unit I should retain all service I have in my account.

Desired Settlement
As said above, I would try another MJ+, however, I would prefer to return to my old MJ unit while maintaining all services in my account.

Business Response
We have emailed Mr. ***** directly via the email address listed on this complaint in order to resolve his issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have received the response and have completed the actions they suggested. Things are better, but other call quality issues have now shown up. They may have been hidden previously or were started by the actions MJ has taken. I am working with them to resolve this issue.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
So far they have made adjustments to their MJ+ settings and the call quality has improved. They offered to send me a replacement power adapter if I paid the $5.95 postage. I find this ridiculous since I did nothing to cause the 3 adapters to fail and they replaced 2 without me paying postage and they should replace the current one as well. I have spent much more that the postage cost to maintain my phone connection while I waited for them to ship the replacements by slow mail. They owe me that!

Final Business Response
We have processed a new power adapter to be shipped to Mr. ***** as a final courtesy.

We offer free replacement power adapters, and the customer is only responsible for the shipping. We have again, waived the shipping for this replacement power adapter. Mr. ***** should allow 1 week to receive.

Page 1 of 537
11/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The magicJack service state they offer free calls to the US and Canada. This is not the case, calls to Alaska is not included for free !!!
The magicJack service state they offer free calls to the US and Canada. This is not the case, calls to Alaska is not included for free !!!

I activated my magicJack GO today and tried to make some phone calls to test the device and service. When I tried to make calls to Alaska (where I live), I get a prerecorded message that I need to add money to my account and that there is a surcharge of 17 cents per minute for the calls to 907 area code numbers. The 907 area code covers the entire state of Alaska. It is the only area code here.

When a company offers free calls to landlines and cell phones in the US and Canada, you would think that Alaska (which is one of the 50 states in the Unites States) would be included. I can not find any notification of that in the Terns of Service listed on their website, and no message was send or included in my order that they shipped to my Alaskan mailing address.

I believe this is false and deceptive advertising. When I contacted magicJack customer case today over live web chat, I spoke to Selena first and then Everet (Everet was supposedly a supervisor). They could not point me to any portion of their website where it stated that Alaska was excluded from their free calling to the US and Canada, but still stated that I had to pay and additional 17 cents per minute for calling Alaska numbers.

They offered no assistance, solutions of offers for a refund.

I find this highly unacceptable. False advertising, bad customer support and no offer for a solution!!

Please help.


****** *****

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of my $42.12 that I spent on a product/service that does not follow what they advertised.

I also want magicJack to change ALL their advertising so that they explicitly state that calls to Alaska numbers - the entire 907 area code - is not included in the service.

or ..... since Alaska is the 49th state of the United States and if calls are free to the US and Canada as they advertise, then calls to Alaska must be free as well !!!!!

Business Response
magicJack does not advertise that you can call anywhere in the US for free. Our advertisements state that you can pick up the phone anywhere in the US and make a free call.

Section 4 of our Terms of Service states: "We may require prepaid purchase and/or we may charge you for calls to conference lines, platforms and certain non-ILEC area calls, or any call wherein we incur a cost from another carrier..."

In the frequently asked questions section of our website at www.magicJack.com/faq under the question: "Are there any other charges" the answer states: "Use Pre-Paid credit to call an International number or a conference line or where a recording is now playing."

When customers call a number that requires prepaid calling minutes they receive an announcement with instructions on how to purchase prepaid minutes.

magicJack offers a 30 day money back guarantee. Mr. ***** ordered his magicJackGO device on 09/07/2014. His 30 day trial period ended on 10/07/2014.

As a courtesy we will allow him to return the magicJackGO and receive a refund. We have emailed him the instructions for returning the device, should he choose to do so.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am happy that they are going to refund the purchase price (I do not see it posted on my credit card yet), but I am unhappy that I had to pay $5.05 to return the device with tracing information as specified my magicJack customer service. In my reply with the tracking number to magicJack, I specifically asked for a refund of the return postage as well, but that request was ignored. I believe that they should refund the return postage as well as their advertising is deceptive in regards to the "Unlimited Local & Long Distance Calling to the U.S. and Canada" advertising.

If you go to the magicJack website: http://www.magicjack.com/index.html you see an ad for their magicJackGo device (the device that I ordered). They clearly state there: "Unlimited Local & Long Distance Calling to the U.S. and Canada". Nowhere on that page does it state that calls to the entire state of Alaska are EXCLUDED from their offer. I truly believe that is a false statement since you cannot call all 50 states in the US for free as they state. When an entire state is excluded, it SHOULD be clearly be stated in writing in their literature. Even in the response from magicJack to the BBB they cannot specifically point to anything on their website that states in writing that the entire state of Alaska (area code 907) is excluded from their "Unlimited Local & Long Distance Calling to the U.S. and Canada" statement!

magicJack should also be made to change their advertising to clearly state that the state of Alaska - area code 907 is not included in the "Unlimited Local & Long Distance Calling to the U.S. and Canada".


Final Business Response
The customer is responsible for return shipping fees. On our website at www.magicJack.com/faq under the question "If I return my magicJack during the 30 day free trial, am I responsible for any charges?"

The answer states: "Yes. You are responsible for return shipping charges to our return processing facility.
Helpful United States Postal Service Information:
$$$ Express Mail Typically 1 - 2 Days
$$ Priority Mail Typically 2 - 3 Days
$ First Class Mail Typically 1 - 3 Days"

Therefore, we are unable to reimburse Mr. ***** for the shipping charges he incurred.

We ask that he please refer back to Section 4 of our Terms of Service, which states: "We may require prepaid purchase and/or we may charge you for calls to conference lines, platforms and certain non-ILEC area calls, or any call wherein we incur a cost from another carrier..."

We charge the current AT&T tariff number 1 rates or less. When placing a call to a conference, platform, or certain non-ILEC number consumers are alerted of the number of minutes they have remaining in their prepaid balance based on the number dialed.

If the customer does not have prepaid minutes on their account already they receive an announcement with instructions on how to purchase them.

Carriers charge for connecting calls to their service. Some carriers used by some platforms charge significantly more than others, which explains why dialing those numbers requires prepaid minutes.

However, Mr. ***** has already returned his magicJack device and has been refunded for it.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The rebuttal statement from MagicJack does nothing but show how deceptive they are in their advertising as well as printed and online literature:

"We ask that he please refer back to Section 4 of our Terms of Service, which states: "We may require prepaid purchase and/or we may charge you for calls to conference lines, platforms and certain non-ILEC area calls, or any call wherein we incur a cost from another carrier..." "

Again, MagicJack advertises that UNLIMITED calls to the US AND CANADA are included in the service. Where does it say ANYWERE that the State of Alaska is NOT part of the UNITED STATES !!!!! Where does it say anywhere that you cannot call any number with the area code 907 - the ONLY area code in Alaska !!!!

On the issue of refunding the return postage - MagicJack REQUIRED that the package be sent with tracking information to be eligible for a refund (they stated that in an email to me). They do not state that on that on the website. Also this is not just a refund for dissatisfaction, but rather for DECEPTIVE advertising and marketing practices. MagicJack cannot show anywhere on their website or literature that in their "world", the State of Alaska is not part of the United States.

I would like that the BBB investigate the advertising practices of MagicJack and require that MagicJack disclose that calls to the state of Alaska are NOT included in their service. I would also request a refund of the return postage ($5.05) as the return was based on deceptive advertising.

10/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered ONE unit for $35, they sent me two units for $60 plus fees each. They want to chage me fees and shipping for their mistake. I have e-mail an
I ordered ONE unit for $35, they sent me two units for $60 plus fees each. They want to chage me fees and shipping for their mistake. I have e-mail and chat to back up my version of events

Desired Settlement
I want what I ordered, for the price they agreed to.

Business Response
Last month we offered a special promotion to existing customers to purchase the new magicJackGO at a discounted price of $35.00 plus shipping and handling. Customers could only take advantage of this special offer by clicking the link contained in the notification email they received.

It appears that Mr. ****** did not place his order through the link contained in the email. Our records indicate Mr. ****** placed order TSXXXXXXXX on 09/14/2014 for (2) magicJackGO devices at the regular price of $59.95 plus shipping and handling.

The magicJack device comes with a 30 day return period. Mr. ****** obtained an RMA (Return Merchandise Authorizaion) form on 09/18/2014, however, we do not have record showing that the devices had been received back in return.

Therfore, we have contacted him directly via phone in order to come to a resolution, and left him a voicemail with our contact information. We are happy to assist him upon receipt of his return phone call.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First I only ordered one unit, not two which is what they sent. Secondly the e-mail which I previously attached to this complaint, does not state or imply you have to order on-line to get the sale price. I originally called them to ask a question and their rep said he could order if for me over the phone for the sale price. I asked him a second time to verify he could get it for the $35 price as he was in process of placing the order and he said he could. While they did send me a RMA, they want me to pay return shipping for something I did not order and their rep told me I would be charged an additional stocking fee. Note. While I opened the outer shipping box, the inner magic jack boxes are unopened. I have also offered to compromise by accepting both units (even though I only ordered one), if they would agree to refund me the difference between the normal price and the sale price. So far I have been told by the rep they do not have the authority to do that, but they would elevate it to the next level and I would hear back in two day. I was told this two weeks ago and one week ago, and neither time did I ever hear back.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not happy with my treatment. They sent me items an that I did not order (two not one) and for the a higher price than agreed to. So far their response has been we do not care what the first rep said, you have to pay for product return. Latest response has been the first one even willing to not take a screw the customer response. I had to pay almost $10 to return something I did not order and their response is they are willing to waive $5 shipping when I reorder and they ship what I ordered. I did reluctantly agree to this. But I sent product back and they received it 2 days ago and my credit card has not been credited. So based on their previous responses on not willing to back up what their rep says I would like to keep this complaint open until to they fulfill their poor, but something compromise.

Final Business Response
We received both magicJackGO devices back in return on 10/15/2014. At this time Mr. ****** was fully refunded for the devices in the amount of $129.25. We ask that customers allow several days for the credits to show. Mr. ****** should monitor his account to watch for the refund to credit his account.

We are still awaiting his payment to process his magicJackGO at the discounted rate. Once the payment has been received the new device will be mailed out to the address Mr. ****** provides.

10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a 5 year magic jack plus. The product was not able to make calls. spent days 60 plus hours, company continue to be beligerant and stonewall
Poor quality product which barely last a fraction of the the 5 years it charged me for. first time, the company replaced a connector and delayed my business for days. Then the product was not able to transmit fax ever since then. The company never resolved the issue instead pointing finger to *** the internet provider which I had not changed. The company make customer service difficult and with limited customers service time and no phone number for tech support. when I worked out of state in pacific time. The company bet to cheap people's money and customer service rep was trained to gave people run around with no regard to people's urgency of not having a home phone/fax service and betting on people will just gave up. The product went from poor "under the water noise no dial tone on the regular phone at all. I requested a prorated refund for the unused 5 years and no resolution to an usuable phone. I was beligerantly told that they have the right to charge this fee without resolving my problem. One rep went ahead and deceived me by telling me the problem is due to the defective connector again and offer to ship another to me to just try disregard that I already had poor to no service for months. The rep was trained to do hard sale and went ahead convinced me the connector in the mail will resolve my problem and convinced me to purchased more credit for my urgent international call. Not only I never received the connector, the company igonored my request to get refund for the unusable international call credit when the phone was completely dead. I contacted customer service via the website since I need a working house phone and spent 10+ hours that weekend trying to get to the bottom of the issue but continue to be ganged up transfering from one rep to the other stonewall. My request to speak to a manager was not honored and instead I was given **** ****** to contact when I asked for the owner or customer service manager to speak to. I emailed both customer service and **** ****** with noone respond. I eventually had to called my credit card company and filed a dispute. I contacted the company again last week since I was confirmed that no connector was received. I was told to contact account resolution and again given run around, 15 minutes plus of hold and hang up Eventually a rude woman by the name of ******** claimed to the a supervisor came online and chastising me for being "very rude" to her reps and hijack me to pay an outrageous reconnection fee when the phone had not even been working for month and the international credit was not even used. When I reminded her to look into that. she again started their common tacktic giving run around by telling me she is not customer service and I have to call customer service. When I had no phone number and txt customer service. I was again told to speak to account resolution. This type of scam should not exist in America. If better business bureau continue to allow those type business to exist and not let other buyers be aware. I can see how they contribute to harm the public and hurt small business. People keep house phone for emergency purposes and small business. This company's service is poor and unreliable. It can easily put someone out of business and hurt a person when they need emergency service and the phone has no dial tone. The design of difficult to poor customer service with no published contact number on the website is once again betting on people who tried to resolve issues with Magic jack internally but got frustrated and they ripped the gain for providing no telephone service they claimed to sell on comparatively low price and people will just let it go. I already told these people I would get to the bottom of this issue and get my money back because I worked VERY hard for this money even it is about $100 and I regretted I referred them to my family and friends as such poor quality phone was misrepresnted and rated by some magazines to deceived the public.

Desired Settlement
This unscrupulous company has no way to pay the loss business, my reputation and the time, anguish and frustration and days one phone every little bit of free time or days off I had. A full refund and necessary improvement for their service are necessary to do business in good faith and ethics.Afterall, neither Israel company or an American company should be allowed legally for their desparation to just Con people's money and gave people run around with no service they advertise and sold for

Business Response
We have attempted to contact this customer at the number provided on this *********, however the caller is unavailable. We have left our contact information and will be more than happy to assist them upon receipt of their return phone call.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My phone that I have paid for 5 years has no service for month. Hours of verbal attempts and pages written contact to the top of the company as well as to BBB. Can you imagine the company representative once again call and wanting to know THE PROBLEM????!!! I am through getting into their trap of arguing and dalaying in resolving problem through multiple low level employees just to wear you out. The company sent someone once again to ask what is the "problem" despite my details of complains and no service and the caller promised to call back and never did. Please give a full refund and I do not want to waste more time with this company and go through their insincere delay and torturing tactic. I will NOT recommend anyone having anything to do with this company. If I do not get my money back...I will go on to the next level but I will NOT waste any more time going into their trap

Final Business Response
The customer disputed a charge for a prior order with her credit card company. As a result of the dispute, the account is restricted from placing any future orders.

Section 9 of the Terms of Service that the customer agreed to during registration states: "Notification of a dispute for prior charges, may result in immediate termination of your license and access to any magicJack, magicJack APP or YMax feature, subject to magicJack, LP or magicJack Vocaltec Ltd's sole discretion. If you are terminated, you may not be able to use the magicJack and/or magicJack Plus device or magicJack APP premium features and your right to use any phone number allocated to you will be canceled."

Our records indicate the customer spoke with our Account Review ********** on 09/22/2014 and they informed her on how to resolve her ordering restriction if she wished to do so. She has not acted on this offer to date and her account remains restricted as a result.

We called the customer on 10/07/2014 and left a voicemail with our information for the customer to give us a **** back, however we have not heard from her.

Should she wish to discuss her account, we are happy to do so upon receipt of her return ****.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
here again the run around. There is nothing more to talk about. It is obviously the fact that this company sell service that has problem. who wants to buy phones that you depend on from a company this unscruplous. And in addition selling international credit that does not work. ONCE again, for the 3rd I have as previously indicated to contact by txt, written complains not once but several tims, with 3 additional better business bureau responses. This compamny still betting on me to **** back to rehash what has already explained this many times.I like the public to see my experience and how unscrupulous this company is so the public can decide if this is the 99 dollars they feel that worth their money to spend. Just because I made what my problem, the solutins and what I want and do NOT want to do clear. The company once again want to twist my arms to **** back. I have nothing more to talk about. I just want my money back and that is a easy way for this company. I will spend more time to let government and public know what they stole from me and inconvenience me if it is not getting resolved here. It is NOT going to END

10/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective product with terrible support. The first one worked fine but this one does not receive calls and never rings. I have texted to over 5 reps
This is the second Magic Jack I purchased. The first one worked fine but this one does not receive calls and never rings. I have texted to over 5 reps and each one tries different things and somehow each time I am disconnected from Majic Jack support. I wish I had no paid to disconnect my previous service. You can not talk to anyone live but just by texting and no one has any concept of the problem. They refuse to send another jack even though I told them my prior magic jack works great with the same connections. I would advise everyone to avoid this company.

Desired Settlement
I would like real customer support and a replacement product that works. I have spent over 10 hours trying to get this to work and nobody can fix the product. I am left with a phone that never rings.

Business Response
magicJack offers free replacement devices to customers who are experiencing issues, as long as they are within the warranty period. The customer is only responsible for the shipping fee.

Our records indicate a replacement device was processed on 10/1/2014 to be shipped to:
**** *****
*** ******* **** **
********** ** XXXXX

Mr. ***** should allow 1 week to receive the package and use tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX to monitor the progress of the delivery.

Should Mr. ***** continue to have issues with his new device, we ask that he contact us directly at ************************@magicjack.com, referencing this BBB case in the subject line, Attn: ****** and we will be more than happy to try and assist him with his account.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I spent hours on the phone with Magic Jack reps prior to them offering a replacement Jack even though I told them other Magic Jacks worked with the same configuration. They did mail a replacement jack for one that never worked and to add insult to injury they had the nerve to charge me shipping and handling of over 5 dollars and expect me to sent them back the original defective piece of equipment. They want me to pay the postage and this is all for a piece of equipment that was defective from the first day it was delivered. I would advice people not to do business with a company that does not stand behind their products and has such an extremely poor customer service.

Final Business Response
We request that customers return their old device to us to the address listed on the replacement device instruction sheet.

As a courtesy, we have fully refunded Mr. ***** for the replacement shipping charge he paid on 10/01/2014. Please allow several days for the credit to show on his account.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This should not be a courtesy to refund shipping costs to replace and originally defective product. Good customer care would make this a policy and I still had to go through weeks of extremely long phone calls to customer service to get anything accomplished.
I will return the defective device and still have to pay shipping to return this defective device since no shipping envelope was included. They have not responded as to why anyone would have to go through multiple layers of customer service for weeks to finally replace a defective device. Each rep told me different things and tried to always blame the customer even though I am very familiar with this equipment from my other device.

09/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Magic Jack promises a cheap, reliable phone service. It is anything but that. They never fix a problem.
Please see the most recent chat below with a Magic Jack representative.
Please wait for a site operator to respond.

You are now chatting with '***'

Your Issue ID for this chat is****XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

***: Hello, how may I help you?

***: Hi ***.

***: How are you today?

***: When I use my phone and an automated menu asks me to press a number, it does not work. Therefore, I cannot use any automated menus and that includes trying to check my magic jack voicemail. I need to have this fixed.

***: I apologize for that concern.


***: Is this your magicJack phone number XXXXXXXXXX?

***: yes

***: Thank you.

***: Please hold on a moment while I'll check your account.


***: Thank you for patiently waiting.


***: Please try to make a test call *** and check if it is still working or not.

***: ok. hold on and I will call the voicemail

***: Alright

***: Still not working. I can hear the tone as I press the button, but nothing happens. I continue to get a recording as if I did not press a number

***: I will refresh your voicemail here in our end. This process will reset all your voicemail settings and will delete all your existing voicemails.

Please confirm if you want me to continue. Thank you.

***: yes. just so you know this has been happening since the first day of activation. I just waited and hoped it would clear itself. This happens with any automated menu. Will you resetting these settings fix the problem for any automated menu?

***: Yes ***.

***: Please let me try it.

***: One moment please...

***: Thank you for waiting.

***: Please try to unplug the device and plug it back again ***.

***: ok. hold on

***: After that please try a test call again.

***: Thank you.

***: still not working. I sincerely hope that you did not think simply unplugging this thing would fix the problem. If you can't fix this, don't waste your time and mine. Give me a US number to call so I can speak to someone that can fix the problem. I do not have all day and this should have worked when I bought this several months ago.

***: Sorry for that ***.

***: I tried my very best to assist you.

***: I am going to transfer you to one of our senior agents to further assist you regarding your concern. Thank you for your patience.



***: One moment please...

***: fine

Please wait while I transfer the chat to the best suited site operator.

You are now chatting with *******

Your Issue ID for this chat is****XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

**** Hi ***

**** Please give me a few moments to review your previous conversation, thank you.

***: ok

**** One moment please...

**** Thank you for waiting. i made some changes here inour end, please try to check your voicemail or check your automated menu, tell me if it works

***: ok. please wait

**** Take your time.

***: still not working

**** are you using a cordless phone?

***: yes

**** Please follow these steps.. unplug the battery in the handset, unplug the phone line from the base and unplug the electricity from the base.. Leave everything unplugged for 20 seconds.

***: I tried the base station earlier today. same rsults

***: ok. please wait.

**** I'll wait.

***: done and reconnected

**** allright

**** try using it again

***: ok

**** Take your time.

***: still not working

**** One moment please...

***: I will try from base station now

**** thank you

***: that doesn't work either

**** One moment please...

**** Thank you for waiting.

**** doyou have another power adapter?

***: **** the reason I have not called is because once before I did to get an answer and I was on this chat for over an hour. When I sent in a *********, nobody ever acknowledged it or did anything about it. This should work and I should be compensated for my time at this point. If this continues I'm going to have to cancel. No. The phone comes with one. Why on earth would I have another one? can you fix this or not? the problem is with the **** software or something on your end. Is there a number where I can talk

Desired Settlement
Give me my $64.95 back. Unfortunately there were not enough characters left above for the entire chat. In short, it ended with me exiting the screen. There was no end in sight, just like the time before.

Business Response
We have adjusted the DTMF sensitivity in Mr. ******'s account for his 2014 magicJack PLUS, which should resolve the issue he is having with the pin codes.

Mr. ******'s has requested a refund for the purchase price of his magicJack device. magicJack offers a 30 day money back guarantee. Mr. ****** purchased his New 2014 magicJack device on 05/20/2014 and would have needed to return his magicJack device by 06/19/2014 to receive a refund.

We ask that he restart his device to allow the changes to take affect. If is he is still having an issue, we ask that he email us directly at *****************@magicjack.com referencing this BBB case # in the subject line and a brief description of the issue he is having in the body. Upon receipt of his email, we can continue to try to troubleshoot for him to help resolve the issue he is having.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am out of town thru next week and will check the device when i return. What I see as the primary issue s the fact that Magic Jack does not provide a voice number of the chat forum fails to correct the issue. When I first purchased the device (one week after the 5/20/14 date) I did e-mail Magic Jack to inform them of another issue when I was attempting to establish the account. After 1.5 hours "chatting" with their representative I figured out how to fix the problem myself. Magic Jack never responded to my complaint. They appear to outsource the customer service to non English speaking countries and their service is terrible. The internet is loaded with similar complaints. Why is it that their representative sought to have me pay for more equipment when they now appear to have fixed the problem on their end? In short, I am not satisfied with their response. I want them to admit they need to fix their customer service issues and at this point should compensate me for approximately 3 hours I sent online with their incompetent, rude employees. Moreover, their employee attempted to bilk me out of more money that would not have fixed the problem. They need to bring the customer service back stateside, instill a customer service ethic in their employees and provide a voice number for problem resolution. It should not have taken this complaint to fix the problem.

Final Business Response
We only offer customer service through our website at www.magicJack.com/techchat. Our live agents are available 9AM-10PM EST Monday-Saturday, and 10AM-7PM EST Sundays to assist our customers.

We do not charge for customer service, however, if our chat representative feels it necessary to offer a replacement device, the customer is only responsible for the shipping charge. This would have been the only payment required to replace the device in full.

We regret the inconvenience that Mr. ****** may have been caused and are happy to hear that his device is now working.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I submitted my response above, but will summarize here.
Magic Jack hears what they want to hear and sees what they want to see. The device is not working as they claim. The same problem exists and I never stated it was working. I said I would check it when I returned to my home. I did, and it does not work.
It is abundantly clear they don't care about the customer. If you have a problem they simply blame you, keep you on the caht line until you can't take it any longer and offer more equipment to send at your expense. The fact this never worked, they never responded to my first complaint and only respond to pieces of my complaint are only proof that my allegations regarding horrid customer service are true. FYI, I never received a follow up call or e-mail to ask if everyhting was ok. What I did receive, and continue to receive, are more offers for products (which I would pay for). They are only interested in how much $ they can bilk you out of.
I recommend the BBB revoke MJ's membership and decertify them. If you have a problem you are on your own. Worst customer service I have ever experienced in close to 50 years. That's saying something.

Page 1 of 71

Industry Comparison| Chart

Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/21/2007Business started: 04/30/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

BBB records show a license number of 201362380 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://pbctax.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=201362380&a=2629984

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Jose Gordo (CFO)

MagicJack LP and VocalTec Communications, LTD's holding companies have the same principal, Peter Russo.

Contact Information
Ms Manuela Maldonado (Accounts Receivable/Payable)Mr. Gerald Vendo (CEO)
Business Category

Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Magic Jack

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MagicJack LP

222 Lakeview Avenue, Suite 1550

West Palm Beach, FL 33401

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 222 Lakeview Avenue, Suite 1550 

    West Palm Beach, FL 33401(561) 594-2140

  • PO Box 6846 

    West Palm Beach, FL 33405(800) 621-3093
    (561) 594-9925

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MagicJack LP is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (561) 594-2140
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.