BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/17/2012

Swimming Pools by Ike, Jr.

Phone: (954) 346-4100Fax: (954) 346-3321

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
11/18/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No resolution to warranty issue for 4 months.
On June 4, 2015 I sent an email to the owner Erik to address a leak on the spillover from the jacuzzi into the pool. At the same time I let him know that a few tiles sunk and needed repair. He responded the same day and said he would check it out the next day. Four days later I had not heard back and sent a follow up email to ask about the status. On June 15, Ike Jr's Customer Service emailed me that the tile guys would come out some time that week to do the repairs. On June 19 I wrote back saying they never showed up. This happened several times more for the next 2 1/2 months. No repair people ever showed up when Ike Jr. said they would. On September 3rd I emailed Customer Service that I want the repair done, that it has been long enough. Some tiles had cracked as well, and I let them know. On September 4th an inspector came to assess what has to be repaired. We showed him the problem areas and he took photos. A day later two guys came out to fix the spillover but left other repairs untouched, supposedly because they did not know to bring replacement tile, even though the inspector that was there a day before had all this information. On September 11, Ike Jr's owner was still reviewing the photos and Customer Service told me they would let me know as soon as he was done reviewing the photos. On September 22 I sent an email since I still had not heard back. No communication at all. On September 23 they finally reviewed the photos and said that they would come back out soon. On October 1 I sent a follow up email to the owner Erik to ask about the status because I had not heard anything. I gave them a deadline for October 9 to get things fixed. He responded with an email saying that the repair guys will be back soon and that is the last I have heard. This is probably a 2-3 hour repair for one person and could have been resolved quickly.

Desired Settlement
Four months of time wasting emails is too much for such a small repair. The 6-month pool construction process was also full of problems and miscommunication. We just want the tile issues we addressed with Ike Jr. fixed.

Business Response
We are sorry for the delay. We fixed the spillway and showed the customer another issue they didn't know about in the custom spa coping which was a natural defect from a vein in the travertime. We want it to look good so we said we would replace it. The major delay was that that size travertine stone is not a normally stocked piece and we could not find it. They told us they had more coming in a few weeks. I emailed the customer again to tell it would be taken care as I said before it was not cause king any danger or issues. We thought we would have the pieces in by now but they still are not in. We are going to make our own and have them installed tomorrow. As far as the time line of the pool construction it was done on time but the customer permits had massive delays from the cities subcontracted plan reviewers. Telling us we could not pour his screen footer. We will have this resolved tomorrow sat the 31st of October. Thank you and sorry again for any delays

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The crack in the spa coping is something we addressed with the pool company and send pictures of to them. This was not initiated by the pool company. The pool company emailed us on October 30 that they would come to do the repairs on October 31. We marked the tiles with issues and stayed home that day as much as possible. No one came that day. There was no email or phone call cancelling the scheduled repair. In the past 5 months, we have heard many excuses for why the repairs have not been made yet, including the tile not being available. Ivory travertine tile is very common. I called a store in Hallandale Beach (30 miles away) and they have the tile in stock. At this point we are still waiting for the repairs to be made.

Final Business Response
We are sorry about the stock issue it is a issue with our travertine Co that we have taken care and stopped using them but we have the stones on the job site and the crew will be out in the next few days. Sorry again for the delay.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Last Saturday November 14 I saw someone by our pool and went outside to ask him what he was doing. He was with Van Kirk Pools to fix the tiles. It was not professional of Ike Jr. to have him show up unannounced, but luckily we were home and were able to point out the problem areas. He made repairs for about 1 hour and did a great job. Everything is repaired now and we are glad it's finally done.

06/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
As we did not like the paver and the riverrok color she chose , the sales manager told us we are free to change when we come back from our vacation.
The down payment $6,750.00 for the renovation of our Pool was made to The Company on dec. 10th 2013. The sales manager, ******* ******** suggested on the contract to choose the Noche paver and the Blue Opal to get a lagoon feeling to match with the lac. We told her right away that we like our pool blue and not the dirty color of the lac.As we were leaving the next day to New York, for our Christmas vacation,She told us not to worry, we would have plenty of time to make a final decision, We were between the Country classic and the Leonardo for the pavers and the Lucayan Blue for the color. Because of pricing, she advised me to discuss it with my wife and will call us in New york for our decision. We have the recorded details of the 2 phone calls she made to us in N.Y.on XX-XX XXXX, lasting 4 min., and on XX-XX XXXX, lasting 2 min. On both occasions, we made it clear to her that we wanted the Country classic pavers and the Lucayan Blue for the River Rok. On that phone call in Jan. 6th, she wanted before placing the order, to make sure about the country classic pavers, my wife reminded her also of the lucayan Blue, she even said to her," I know, I know,what your husband wants, the Lucayan Blue."The Country classic pavers were placed as agreed upon during our phone conversations with ******* , the sales Rep. After several weeks of delay, without any explication, the plastering of the pool was scheduled. The bond Kote was applied twice, the first applcation was washed out with the water from the lake and the rain,after more than 3 weeks delay following the first application. Useless to say the yard was a mess and the driveway was filled with trash, debris from the demolition, the ton of unused sand and gravels. it tooks a lot of phone calls and multiples e-mails to have the driveway cleaned up. While waiting, we made sure to remind them in writing via an e-mail to the Company's secretary of the Lucayan Blue river Rok. She said OK. I did not have any reason not to think otherwise as thinks went smoothly with the pavers, as agreed upon over the phone. The day of the plastering, my wife asked the workers,if they are putting the Lucayan blue, they said yes, the pool will be blue when filled up with water. I couldn't believe it when I saw the pool coming from my trip 2 days after the plastering. First of all, they could not start the pump as the chlorinator was leaking, their technician did not mount it properly. I saw right away , they did not apply the Lucayan Blue. The color of the pool was so dark that it did not match the color of the Blue opal they said they used nor any other standard color published in theCompany's website.I have complained to the company and even requested a meeting with the sales manager and the vice-president. They did not care. I had to go to the office to complain to the vice-president, who did not even offer to inspect the work done. Until to-day, nobody came to inspect the Job done.

Desired Settlement
I am very disappointed with the Swimming Pool by Ike Jr, Inc.I have always made my payments on time and in full. The Company does not seem to care if the customer is satisfied or not. They were supposed to supply and install Thin travertine on Risers from house access to deck area according to the written contract. Did they do it ? No. Any explanation? no. Without any written modification of the contract they only offer me to withhold $300.00 from the last payment. I was so fed up with them that I accepted to finish with that ordeal.
The Vice-President of the company explain to me that according to the contract, he does not have to do anything, as any change should be done in writing and signed by both parties involved. The sales rep. would have to create a change order and have me signed it. This is Nice!. in that case, I strongly feel that the Company has committed itself a breech of its own contract. They have changed the Noche pavers and replaced it with the Country classic pavers without creating a change order and without me signing it. Furthermore, they have committed what I think could be considered as Fraud. In a "so called" copy sent to me by the secretary the word "Noche" was scratched and replaced by country classic ,without my Initials, without my signature, my original contract does not have such changes. Obviously, they think they can do no wrong.
What I want from the Company is to do the right thing: They have to recognize they have made a mistake and they should be responsible for it. The Vice-president himself said it in our meeting at his office, "*******, the sales rep screwed up" . The Vice-President has offered to redo the job at cost with a credit of $1000.00. I sincerely think that a customer should not be penalized and pay for the Company's mistake . However, as my wife can not stand the color of the pool,we are willing to share in the expenses and and offered to pay $1750.00 , going halfway, to end this ordeal. So far, the company has not responded to our counter- offer.

Business Response
In response to the BBB Claim by customer ********* complaint we offer the following explanations:
The customer went to Contract 12/6/13. At that time they had finalized all the options, added on additional work above the scope of work including a road rock installation for non concreted areas of the deck and removal of the existing deck. We picked color selections and homeowner's signed off on the selections at time of contract. Homeowner had not brought a check with him so we scheduled a meeting on 12/10/14 at their home for me to pick up the deposit check. Work was to start after the New Year because they were leaving for NY for the holidays.
On 12/10/13 I met with Mr. ********* at his home to pick up the check. When I got to the home Mr. ********* had been shopping over the weekend and wanted to change his selection of deck to the Leonardo Marble. I showed him pictures of the deck material and informed him that it would be an upgrade and he decided not to move ahead. He then mentioned changing to the
Country Classic Travertine and possibly switching to the Lucayan Blue River Rok. Mrs. ********* was not present for the meeting and had been delayed so I told the homeowner to discuss with her and let me know how they wanted to proceed. I forwarded pictures of the Blue Opal finish and the Leonardo Deck.
I received a call from Mrs. ********* right before they left town and said to go ahead with the Country Classic Deck instead of the noche.
After the holidays I called to confirm the deck selection with the homeowner's before I placed the order just to be sure that they still wanted the Country Classic material in lieu of the Noche. We did not have a discussion about the pool finish at that time. I explained to the customer on the phone that I needed to place the order to hold the materials so they would be available and he said to proceed. I changed the color selection sheet to reflect the Country Classic per the homeowner's direction. I was in no way trying to create a fraudulent situation. I followed their direction. I should not have accepted his verbal word. For that I am at fault.
The next conversation I had with the customer was the end of January when he called to inform me that he hired someone else to remove the pavers which was part of our contract and that he
It was already done and wanted a refund. I went ahead and gave the credit even though he was in breach of contract. This is the last time I had any contact with the customer until he called me up to advise me that the wrong pool finish was installed and that he wanted a meeting. He told me that he had sent an email to our office about Lucayan Blue In March but never contacted me to me directly. He did not contact me about the finish directly so I had nothing documented on the selection sheet to make a change.
During construction there are always issues that come up when you get into remodeling. Our project manager found a hollow bench in the spa and as a result the tile would not adhere. We
Had to go in and rebuild the spa bench and we did not charge the homeowner.
The workmanship on the job was never an issue for the homeowner's. There was a problem with the deck installer who would not complete the scope of the work by finishing the thin tile on the step risers. In order to not delay any further and complete the job the owner was issued a credit.
The owner of the company offered the $1,000 credit toward the new material installation which the homeowner finds unacceptable. Considering that he was in breach of contract when he had the pavers removed without consulting us which resulted in $1,032.00 loss to our contract we feel that the $1,000.00 is equitable and fair.



Business Response
I the Vice President meet with the customer at my office to discuss his unhappiness with the color of the plaster finish of his pool which they signed off on in Materials Selection Sheet not contract. In our Contract it say no verbal agreements, we have never received anything in writing, or over the phone to my office confirming that they wanted to change the plaster material from blue opal to lucayan blue river rok. We do have email from the customer asking us to confirm the date of the lucayan blue plaster. because the blue opal is 70% lucayan blue and 30% emerald black and didn't mention "I want to confirm we are getting the color lucayan blue" my office manger didn't didn't realize they wanted a different color. That was when I said my office manager "may have made a mistake" Not my sales manger but its not something that is her fault she just didn't "catch a mistake". If the customer really wanted a different color they should have made that clear especially when having a $5,000.00+ pool finish installed. I had been to their house prior to the plaster installation to try to get it set up and talked to the customer for close to 1 hr and that was never brought up. I wanted them to be happy with there pool so I offered to get all my crews and myself to redo the plaster in Luacyan Blue River Rok (Estimated retail price with new step tiles around $6,000.00) for our true material and labor cost plus $1,000.00 credit which would bring the price under $3,000.00 which was my Second offer. The customer would not accept even though his wife wanted. That is our final offer.
As far as the rest of the issues I don't care about the credit as for the paver removal even though the customer performed the work out side of the contract with out getting it accepted I am not a criminal or un fair and will work with customers. The work was always performed by the highest of quality trades men in the pool industry. 95% of pool contractors use and have almost 90% of there work sub contracted out especially the top of the line Co's who have been in business for a 20 to 30+ year period. We had an issue with subcontractor who installed a Jandy E1 salt chlorinator that commonly leaks after installed which was repaired. A lot of salt cells can leak after install.
We have made an offer to the customer to replace the finish which we believe to be extremely fair. My sales Manager who has worked in our Co for several years and has worked in the pool industry for 25+ years. She is widely respected across the industry does a great detailed job with all of our customers and I believe with out a doubt that the customer never confirmed or made it clear that they wanted to switch to Luacyan Blue. I believe because the customer first came to me trying to argue that the Blue Opal River Rok was installed wrong and not the right color. They where not happy with the finish they had, we confirmed it was the right color through A SGM rep and the plaster crew who is a certified applicator of SGM. We would like to move ahead and would be willing to offer an additional $200 credit coming to $1,200.00 credit off whatever the true cost to redo the plaster is which I though would be around $3,000.00 and never has been confirmed. This is our last offer which I think is above and beyond what any contractor would offer being that the customer signed off on the color that he has and based on our contract terms.


Business Response
As far a the step risers I explained to the customer that it couldn't not be done cause the cuts were to small less then 2" and also would look bad because it should stay painted stucco. I was at their house when I explained this to them in person. I credited them what we had charged them in our contract which was not detailed.

05/12/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to resolve pool remodel warranty and workmanship issues and failure to respond to my communication efforts the past few months.
4/12/2013: Signed pool remodel contract with Swimming Pools by Ike Jr., Inc. in their showroom and gave them a 20% deposit . Work began on 4/17/2013. I took many photos of the remodel process from start to finish. Project was managed by **** *******, VP. and took 3 months. I had been told it would take about 4 weeks.

6/30/13 :Precision Platinum Pools, Inc. installed Diamond Brite finish. I had concerns about the thickness of the walls under waterline tile (there was thick mudset with no undercutting) all around the pool and in the spa. ******, the owner, assured me it would be OK and didn't need more prep. I pointed out the ridges and bumps in the walls while the crew was working. ****** told me everything would look fine when they were finished however east, west and north walls (deep end) under waterline tile have noticeable large bumps and thick ridges. South wall OK, but not great around return lines. ****** had already left by this time. I consider this a defect in workmanship and should be covered under Clause No.1 of the warranty.

7/8/2013: started noticing brownish discoloration and darkening of the Diamond Brite finish in an area of the shallow end and running down to main drain in deep end. Scattered areas in the deep end as well. Pointed it out to ****, an employee of the pool company when he came out to the house. Also showed him the walls.

7/18/13: Made final payment for pool remodel to **** ******** Discussed workmanship and warranty issues with ****, particularly the Diamond Brite discoloration, leveling of a few more of the marble deck tiles, and wall condition under waterline tile in deep end. **** said he would follow up with ****** from Precision Platinum Pools and SGM, the Diamond Brite manufacturer.

8/13/13 : ***** from SGM came out to look at Diamond Brite stains and discoloring. Left me a copy of the inspection report. Pool needs chemical treatment, a no drain acid wash to start. He said he would consult with ****. I have not heard from the pool company to date. There has been no follow up of any kind.

11/4/13: Sent e-mail to **** and copy to ****, office manager, about warranty issues. I also included an issue about the Autopilot Nano (salt chlorinator) that was installed as part of the remodel contract. It was brought to my attention that it is the wrong model for my size pool. I need the Autopilot Digital with cell SC-48 to chlorinate my pool which is about 28,000-30,000 gallons. I'm having recurring mustard algae problems and have to add additional liquid chlorine and acid to the pool. The pool company was aware of my pool gallonage prior to the start of the project as they took measurements twice before the work began. No response to my e-mail.

11/19/13: Called office around 1:30PM. ***** answered- I asked to speak to **** and she put me on hold. Waited for about 5 minutes and had to leave for work. Did not receive a call back.

Diamond Brite discoloration has worsened and the areas are becoming darker and grayer. A white precipitate looking edge has developed on some of the discolored areas going down to the main drain.
I'm concerned there might be a small leak somewhere also and would like a leak test done.

11/20/13: Called office around 11:30 and ***** answered. I asked to speak to **** and she said she was on the phone. Put me on hold and came back and said **** would call me back. ***** took my phone number (home). No call back.

11/21/13: Sent an e-mail to ****. No response.

1/14/2014 : Sent a registered letter to **** outlining the warranty and workmanship issues. It was delivered and received on 1/21/2014. No response to date.




Desired Settlement
I would like Swimming Pools by Ike, Jr., Inc. to honor the remodel contract one year warranty and address and correct the workmanship issues I have brought to their attention numerous times via e-mail, phone and registered letter communication.

1. The no drain acid-wash needs to be done and if that doesn't resolve the discoloration issue, than further corrective action will be necessary.

2. Autopilot Nano with RC-35/22 cell needs to be replaced with the Autopilot Digital with cell SC-48. The correct model for my size pool should have been discussed with me initially and installed accordingly.

3. If there is any way to perform some corrective action on the walls under some of the waterline tile, then I would like that done. These areas need to be checked for hollow spots. If this is not possible and/or will cause damage to the existing surface, then I need to know that the poor workmanship cannot be improved upon and I would like a partial refund.

4. I would like a leak test performed as I'm having to add water more frequently than before the re-model.

I cannot hire another company to do any corrective work on the pool during the warranty period because, according to the contract, this will void the warranty. I have to rely upon them to honor the warranty and their advertised commitment to superior craftsmanship, quality workmanship and customer satisfaction.

I want this resolved either by corrective action and/or a monetary equivalent compensation AND with no void of warranty if I have to hire another company(s) to try and resolve the Diamond Brite issue, smooth the wall areas, and also purchase and install the correct Autopilot salt chlorinator. If I need to supply estimates for compensation, then I will do that.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Ike President
We did send a response email to the customer after the certified letter telling her the Dbrite Co was coming out to look at the pool again and he said if he had to he would re plaster the pool and fix the walls that have a hump in them. We will follow up with the plaster Co and make sure the come out and give me a date to drain and start work on the pool to correct the walls and staining. As far as the Auto Pilot Nano Salt System goes we had a deal going on for any customer at Ft.Lauderdale Home Show that if you signed a contract you would get a free auto pilot nano Salt system. If the customer wants to upgrade to a bigger salt system we would have to charge her. But ill see what we can do about getting it switched out at no charge.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I accept part of the response but would like to clarify a few things:

The registered letter was received by the company on 1/21/14. I did receive a response by e-mail but not until 2/12/14 and it stated that hat they received the letter , apologized for the delay, and were working with the crew to get this issue resolved as soon as possible. They said they would let me know when they could get someone out here. There was no other details about re-plastering, etc. I have a copy of the e-mail. If they sent me an e-mail prior to that, I did not receive it. I have recently heard from them and we are currently setting up a date and time to meet at my house and discuss the issues at hand, hopefully within a week.

I was aware that I would be getting a salt chlorinator included in the price of the remodel but no one specifically mentioned nor discussed with me that it was a particular model and that I would need an upgrade. In fact, I had to inquire via e-mail on June 26th about what brand of chlorinator would be installed because there had been no discussion about it and the response I received was that they would be installing an Autopilot. I have copies of these e-mails. There was no mention of what model or that I needed an upgrade. I would have been more than amenable at that time to paying the difference had I known it wasn't the right model for my pool gallonage.

Business Response
We have been trying to arrange to meet with the customer this week with the manufacturer.

Please do not close this out, we are still trying to resolve and work with the customer.






Business Response
We have scheduled an appointment to meet with this customer with the representative of the product manufacturer for tomorrow.


Business Response
We had a jobsite meeting yesterday witht he customer and the representative for the product manufacturer. They have agreed to provide the material to redo teh pool finish and we are working diligently to get that scheduled as soon as possible.

02/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SINCE THE POOL WAS REMODELLED I LOOSE ONE INCH OF WATER A DAY. THIS WAS CONFIRMED BY THEIR LEAK EXPERT. THE OWNER HAS SEEN THE PROBLEM.
THE POOL WAS REMODELLED 6/2013 TO THE SUM OF $5245.00. SINCE THAT TIME MY POOL HAS LEAKED 1 INCH OF WATER PER DAY. AFTER DONING BATTLE FOR SEVERAL MONTHS THEY SENT **** "THEIR LEAK EXPERT" OUT WHO AGREED THAT WE WERE LOOSING WATER BUT COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. FINALLY ON 12/9/2013 ****, THE OWNER CAME OUT AND ASSURED ME THE PROBLEM WOULD BE FIXED BY 12/20/2013. I CALLED **** TO SEE WHAT TIME HE WOULD COME BY AND HE SAID HE WILL BE HERE TODAY OR TOMORROW 12/21/2014. NOW HE DOESN'T ANWER HIS CELL PHONE.

Desired Settlement
I JUST WANT MY POOL REPAIRED PROPERLY IN ORDER TO STOP PAYING ADDITIONAL WATER AND CHEMICAL BILLS. IF THEY ARE INCOMPITANT TO DO THE JOB I WANT A COMPLETE REFOUND IN ORDER TO HAVE THE REMODELING DONE CORRECTLY. $5245.00 POOL REPAIR. $100.00 FOR WATER BILL. $50.00 FOR EXTRA CHEMICALS. I HAVE CONTACTED OTHER LEAK SPECIALISTS. THEY CHARGE AN AVERAGE $300 TO LOCATE THE LEAK HOWEVER THAT GOES TOWARDS THE COST OF THE REPAIR WHICH CAN COST THOUSANDS DEPENDIND ON THE REPAIR. THE POOL MAY HAVE TO BE STRIPPED AND START FROM THE BEGINNING AGAIN.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@swimmingpoolsbyike.com
we had sent our repair guy **** out there but as I explained to the home **** isn't that good at finding difficult leaks and I would have to try to do it my self but I told him if couldn't get out there myself I would send out my leak Co. which I did send I work order to them on Thursday 12/26/13 the customer should be getting a call soon to let them know when they will be coming out to leak check the pool.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received a call today that a leak inspector will be out later this week.

Final Business Response
Leak was found customer is happy

09/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bait and switch,he promises to return "make it right" never shows.
I had been shopping for a pool company for about 6 months and finally settled on Swimming Pools by *** because of the sales person and the fact that they had been in business for a very long time and had a great reputation. The process began with a site manager who was very attentive to our needs, from there it went downhill. Too many problems to list but they were rectified by his subs, not ****, he only made us feel that we were either very stupid or had no knowledge of contracts.
The first issue was the tile, it was full of dangerous holes and he told us, "everybody complains when they install it." That's what an owner says? When we asked about the 4 step ups into the home (which were pavers) he said," Oh, they are not included." and quoted us $1200 for all, we agreed because we wanted a professional look. He was not going to make our tile right, his answer was you expect me to spend another $600 to get more tile? Now as a homeowner that was spending close to $60K do you think we would have quibbled? No instead his caring sub made it right, without Eriks help. Next we found out our site manager was gone ( but never from the office or the owner) and we were fighting the phone calls to stay in the loop.
When they drained the pool, since we are on a lake, it had to continuously drain and they put the hose so it splattered on the fence and left it orange, they cleaned part but not all. During the concrete process their sub damaged my neighbors 1 month old fence.
The job site was always messy, pieces of pipe were left around, I had to ask them to put up orange fence to keep our dog from falling in the open hole. The job was started in February and only thru us keeping on them did it get "done" in June. They always complained about rain, it rained twice in that period.
But the fun starts now, it wont pass inspection because they put the wrong pump on the pool, from day one we had a 2hp variable speed pump, on our final contract ( which I trusted the sales person enough not to check) they put a variable 1.5 pump. And they installed on a 1hp variable, anyone that knows pools ( we had several come to inspect) says that because of the size of the pool and the spa it should not be less than a 2hp pump. **** told us during one of his "spouts of his mouth," because you wanted a discount we gave you a smaller one and they don't make a 1.5 hp. How untrue. First of all the price never changed, and it won't pass inspection. He knows he is wrong and I have texts from us telling us that he is changing it (to a 2hp) but he never shows, ( this has been since mid June). We also have on our estimate and contract a 2 hp blower and he put in a 1.5, but he says its only $20, I have no problem changing it, but still no show
The good points are that he fixed the leak ( which should not have been) and the bubbler light broke twice. The bubbler light repairman came and had to chisel away river rock that was installed in the light area for it to fit properly and not break again.
My sales person told me that the entire pool was automated, but the bubbler is not, why would I want to walk over to the equipment and put that on? I use my ipad or iphone for the rest but that was not automated? It needs to be corrected
The skimmer is not flush with the deck, there are pieces on concrete or sand underneath a section so it is uneven.
The waterfall still doesn't work properly, he sent some to fix the sinking deck and the waterfall, The deck is not sinking at this time but the waterfall is not right. The jets in the spa are not all the same in strength, the orange is still on the fence and my neighbors are waiting for the money to fix their fence.
Of course he doesn't come back because we have paid in full. Even his attorney doesn't return calls from mine. This is a sham of a company. I recently went to my pool supply store and we were talking and he asked me about the new pool, his comment was it was a great company when it w

Desired Settlement
need a 2 hp jandy vs flo pro pump
2hp blower
orange removed from fence
money to neighbor for damaged fence
fix waterfall
fix skimmer
automate bubbler

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@swimmingpoolsbyike.com
We sent a check to pay for the fence before this complaint was ever filed it was just sent to the fence Co. so the homeowner didn't know until I told her. We have replaced the pump as we always were going to do so and got the final plumbing inspection called in. I also cleaned the small spot on the back of the fence that was left after we cleaned all the iron stains on her fence from the ground water. We are in the process of working with the Mrs. **** to automate her bubbler which is not common on this EQ set up and is not a option we really offer because bubblers should be able to be adjusted manually for different height options and would be considered a up grade over $1,000.00 with her model aqua link needing a upgrade too. The spill way/waterfall was just a valve adjustment issues and variable speed setting issue on her pump and is even better with her new pump. I did give her 1.5hp air blower which is what we put on all spas and I missed that my when ordering it. My sales person gave her a 2.0hp but it wont make a difference and I told Mrs. **** if they are not happy with the Jets I would change it out to her liking.
During the process of building her new pool (which we demoed out her old pool and is extremely messy being that old pool stuff can be scattered amongst the job site but it was always kept in a pile. We had a really long access to the back yard and mucky yard conditions which took several trips to clean up the job) Pools by Ike went through a transition in the Co as far as structure goes for the betterment of our future customers and past which may have caused some delays at the end of the job and the punch out process.
My sales person and myself dealt with Mrs. **** for several months, many different designs and estimates ranging from a pool remodel to a new bigger pool and spa build. My sales person went through hundreds of details with Mrs. **** one in which she went and saw a few jobs in progress and finished projects she picked country classic antique over country classic which is lighter in color and has a few more holes then standard country classic which is darker but saw both on jobs not in a show room and signed off the material. When the material was delivered and installed on her coping and deck she wanted us to change a large amounts in which my subcontractor contacted me many times very upset that the pieces she wanted to replace were normal travertine. I told her we could replace the bad ones that I thought were not normal I also informed this is the material she hand picked and signed off on. I also at the end Paid my subs to fix all the extra work. I told Mrs. **** that we already order 15% extra on all jobs and that there is no way any Co would order several hundred extra $ in material on each Travertine job to accommodate for the pieces of Natural Stone that customers don't like.
My sales person did forget to add in the demo of and install of here doors steps because the customer demoed her own patio. Because the job had been so discounted already 5% we could not throw this in for free. She was never charged for it originally. It was not easy work and took one guy 2 days to do it so the price was justified. Finally No One at Swimming Pools by Ike Works on Bait and Switch Tactics and Never has One In My Family Ever Done so All the Several Decades of Sales on Pool Construction, We Care Deeply About Honesty. I will say that many things changed at the end of her contract negotiations as items where added and discounts where applied and some communication's where maybe not clear. But we have corrected the issue and we fell that Mrs. **** loves her pool and is on her way to be another happy customer and I will see personally to that.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
He's he did replace the pump two weeks ago and the orange marks are gone, the fence company got their check. The issue I have with **** is that he says he Is going to fix things and take care of it but it doesn't happen. My skimmer needs to be fixed, my other bubbler light is out, and I would like the 2.0 exchanged. The communication is improving but still lags. My pool is beautiful but when the lights in the bubblers keep going out it scares me. What will happen when the year warranty is up? I know they had issues and I only wish the best for them I am almost completed so let's get it finished and have me totally satisfied. COMMUNICATION to completion is a necessary factor in customer satisfaction and referrals. By the way, it passed inspection.

Final Business Response
We are in the process of taking care of the above items the paver crew is backed up but they have fixed other repairs and will come back out. We are going there today to look at her light as I don't want this to keep happening.

02/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Swimming Pools By Ike Jr Broken promises and delay tactics causing me and my family misery. Supposed to be done by 11/01/13 it is now 12/22, no pool.
I was originally going with another pool company. ****** and **** had me on the phone coercing me to go with them. They offered to upgrade the tile to SELECT, they explained a quick turn around in installation that would take 16 weeks. At the beginning, everything went well. All payments have been made on time throughout. There has been absolutely no progress in the past month except installation of equipment (pump, etc). I have paid nearly $50,000 for this pool and am getting service worse than the drive through at McDonalds. **** continues to make broken promises. His latest, he empathized with my aggravation and PROMISED the electrician would be finished by Thursday or Friday. Today is Sunday, and no electrician. I called the electrician who told me that he was on his way to my house to do the work and Swimming Pools By Ike Jr told him to go somewhere else, something about non-payment. That is ridiculous. Last payment was given on a Wednesday and I asked to wait until Monday for clearing (3 weeks ago). Funds were available early and I called the office and told them they didn't have to wait until Monday, that the funds were there on Friday. Even the electrician called my cellphone on Wednesday (after I left 4 messages) and said he had me scheduled to be done by the weekend, now his story changed. **** has the customer service skills that lack integrity, honesty, and dedication. On top of it all, the tile was NOT SELECT, it was just the standard brand. I was willing to accept that **** told a lie, just get my pool done. Still no pool. Every time I ask Robbyn for confirmation of promises, she stalls, tells me I'm over-reacting, says she needs to ask ****, and never gets back to me. Buyer beware with this company. If you want your pool, and want to go with this company, make sure you don't want your pool for 6 months. I was praying I wouldn't turn out to be one of the statistics of people mistreated by pool companies and was referred to them by a friend, who is being informed of this injustice. At this point, there seems no intention of finishing my pool by them. I didn't want to pay them so quickly because I had a feeling this would happen. Then I was told no further work could be done until I made that payment and the electrician would have to be rescheduled. So I paid. That was a month ago.

In addition, his company broke my neighbors tiles twice, and he didn't want to fix it saying "nothing I can do" and then agreed to do something about the tile, keeps pacifying my neighbor, and not returning his calls.

This company is not to be trusted or relied upon. Going to contact my lawyer tomorrow.

Desired Settlement
My pool MUST be complete by this Thursday, 12/26. yes, the day after Christmas. No more waiting.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Sales
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@swimmingpoolsbyike.com
Swimming Pools by Ike does not coerse a customer into a contract. A contract entered into by 2 parties. Either party has the right to say no at any time during the negotiating process. This customer was pleased with the negotiation process and what we had to offer and therefore, entered into a contract. There were delays from the onset of the job due to no fault of ours. We entered into a contract at the beginning of June. We asked the customer for a proper survey from day one prior to contract in order to properly design a pool and submit plans to the engineer per procedure and provide the building department with that required document the customer is responsible to provide us with. This was a very drawn out process and delayed the process from the onset. Any builder chosen would have had the same issues and delays. The survey uncovered some elevation problems that the building department would not accept based on elevation guidelines. We went back to the customer as professionals and once again negotiated a solution that was agreeable to all. In the interim there was constant communication and updating between the customer and our company. There are always delays and issues that arise in construction and that is unfortunately the nature of the industry. Within one week of receiving the permit we began the construction of the pool around the first week of October. Throughout the process the homeowner was continually traveling for business or vacationing. We moved along at a steady pace during the first phases of construction. I even received phone calls from the homeowner at how pleased he was with the design, the process etc. Whenever there was an issue that came up we handled it. The customer was unhappy with the deck material delivered because he felt it wasn't "select". The manufacturer had different labels on the pallets that were confusing to the homeowner. We immediately contacted the manufacturer to go to the job and meet the customer to resolve any issues prior to installation. We even offered the customer the opportunity to go to the warehouse where the material was supplied and pick out what he wanted and return the initial materials. After meeting with the supplier the homeowner was satisfied and agreed to keep the materials. After the installation he was pleased and asked for a few pieces to be switched out. One of the unfortunate issues from the get go was the meeting between our electrician and the homeowner. There were some personality conflicts and the customer was unhappy. We addressed issues with the electrician and moved forward. I think the customer will agree that his unhappiness with the electrician left him very critical of work done. When we reached the electrical phase of the work there were some delays due to issues on both parts. The electrician went as far as he could with his installation but could not complete his work due to debris left by the homeowner in the area where he had to complete his work. The homeowner out of town on one of his many trips delayed the completion of the job. The money and payment of the equipment phase was not an issue and we never told that to our electrician. Our trades are never to discuss payment with a customer and as a result this subcontractor will not be doing future work with our company. There were some issues in regard to the payment schedule. The customer would ask us to hold a payment and our office respectfully asked him to read his contract. It states that until payment is made all work stops before we move onto another phase of work. The homeowner made changes throughout the process. He wanted to do a road rock deck installation with special sand to secure his deck. All change orders have to be approved by a corporate officer. As the sales manager I must follow the proper protocol. What the homeowner considers delay tactics was following company policy. The most unfortunate part of the construction process was trying to complete job prior to the holidays. Unfortunately between the electrical delays, weather and short weeks due to holidays the completion did not happen when it should have. All said and done this homeowner has a beautiful pool that is completed. After the complaint was registered on December 22 no mention of it was ever made by the homeowner. One issue the homeowner neglected to mention in his complaint was the constant communication by both our office manager and by myself the sales manager. The customer would contact me at all times of the night and I would respond knowing he was out of town and wanted communication. One of the major delays in completing the job was the electrical final. The homeowner had to be available so the alarms can be inspected. When scheduled the homeowner was either not there or didn't answer the door and we failed. It caused a week delay between paying the fine and rescheduling a time when he could be available. Out intentions is always to resolve the issues for our customers. It may not always be on their time frame but it does get accomplished.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Many fabrications in this story by the sales manager, who I am assuming is ******* To be brief, we know that deck was promised to be "select" brand. it was not. Even ****, the owner, agreed that it was not. There are many cracks and holes in the deck that are beyond what would be select (**** told me at the time of the sale on the phone that he would upgrade me to select if I went with his company, I asked what that meant, he said in the factory, they set aside special pieces that don't have many flaws at all. The tile company that delivered the tile (the owner) never heard of select and delivered what he had. Let's be clear on the delays of holding checks. The first one was for a couple of days while I moved money around. The 2nd time was asked to hold it for 3 days and the very next day, I told them I moved the monies already (2 days before the hold was supposed to be).

I understand that there are business delays and things happen. ****** most certainly did not respond to many of my calls. I called her at night ONCE and that was on a Sunday evening at 7:30 when I just arrived back from a business trip and nothing was done while I was away. She NEVER returned that call. She claims she returns all her calls and wrote me an email about that. Since that call, she never returns my calls anymore until after this report, she returned the one call that I made. To deny anything went wrong on the pool company's behalf is ridiculous. I gave the ONLY survey I had immediately to ******* She then told me it wasn't good enough but that her engineer was going to do it based on the survey she ordered. If she keeps denying all the wrongdoing, this issue will never be resolved. I was told by the owner, ****, that they will try to do the pool by Thanksgiving, but at the latest, it will be done by Christmas vacation. The pool wasn't complete until mid January. They broke tiles on my neighbor's yard and are denying any responsibility and are acting as it they are doing a favor by cutting the broken tile off to straighten the line, which my neighbor was nice enough to agree with. Since the time of the build finish, of course I have had no complaints. They have been paid 100% of the money BEFORE the diamond brite was even done and at this point, things seem to be going as scheduled. What ****** failed to mention is what **** told me, that one of their personnel had left the company and that caused them to fall behind. I was told from the beginning that the pool takes 2 to 3 months to complete. As ****** says, if we started in June, it should've been finished by September at the latest. It was finished 4 months later. I was ALWAYS told my business travel would have NO effect on the pool progress. I always informed them clearly when I was traveling. I stayed in touch while I was out of town. My travel should have had NO IMPACT on the delivery dates. Then to mention that I had to be available for the inspection, I was. I just didn't hear the doorbell, but the main reason for the failure was the electrician put in the wrong equipment, so let's not blame that delay on me. In addition, the back wall of the pool has nails and spikes sticking out the back which **** told me he would fill with sand and would never leave it like that. It is still like that. Someone needs to come by and review all the tiles that are bad or broken, fix the back wall where the nails are, and fix the many holes in the retaining wall of the Jacuzzi where bugs are already starting to make a home. Once these issues are fixed, I will be satisfied. I will never be satisfied if ****** keeps trying to shift the blame to me.


Final Business Response
WE ARE IN THE PROCESS OF TAKING CARE OF ALL THE ABOVE OUSTANDING ITEMS AND SHOULD HAVE EVERYTHING DONE BY END OF NEXT WEEK.

Consumer Response
**** wrote on 1/31, "WE ARE IN THE PROCESS OF TAKING CARE OF ALL THE ABOVE OUSTANDING ITEMS AND SHOULD HAVE EVERYTHING DONE BY END OF NEXT WEEK."

This is 21 days later. barely anything was resolved.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.