BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1985

Pool Builders, Inc.

Phone: (954) 797-7700Fax: (954) 797-7768View Additional Phone Numbers5601 SW 45th St, DavieFL 33314

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1985

BBB has determined that Pool Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pool Builders, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pool Builders, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
05/08/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PBI has failed to provide warranty service and proper maintenance for the services purchased and paid for under contract.
On February 8, 2013, PBI and ******* ******* entered into a contract whereas PBI would provide a complete pool renovation with new equipment, new travertine pavers and an outdoor kitchen. The contract listed specific equipment, job that would be performed and timeline with penalties if they were not met.

The contract amount was for $72,500. To date, ******* ******* has paid PBI $72,125 and a disputed amount remains because they were late with the installation along with many other failures.

1) The contract required a NEW Cladlite COncrete Slab which was paid for but never installed.

2) The sub-contractors who were hired to do the pull finish in SGM Durazzo did a terrible job resulting in a super rough finish that was not only not per specification but also resulted in bodily harm to one of the children of the *******'s, as he tore up the bottom of his feet and bleed on the floor through the house, result in personal injury.

3) The Travertine installation required numerous repairs, reinstallation and continuous fixes to date due to poor installation, unleveled and bad material.

4) The out-door kitchen took over 8 months to complete, 5 months beyond the contract when the 2nd granite was finally installed properly. This out-door kitchen was outsourced and never properly supervised by PBI.

5) The drainage promised to the outdoor kitchen was supposed to be into the city drainage, instead they put it into my lawn due to costs and other business reasons.

6) The pool suction line for the pool vac was never inspected properly per the contract and remains a constant issue today, where the pool vac is not meeting the required amount of suction to perform properly.

7) The Jandy AquaPure Salt Chlorination System has failed to work and PBI refuses to repair this sytem under its agreement with the Jandy corporation as a dealer, a complaint will be filed with JANDY corporation.

Overall, the company has failed miserably in its communcation and always avoided Mr. ******* by phone. I have had a terrible time having them return calls to perform these tasks and today was told by the salesman/service manager ****** that they will not honor their contract because they claim a balance is due even though they have failed at their contract.

I am filing this complaint and plan to follow through with an attorney in civil court.

Please advise future customers to avoid this scam of a company that has overpromised and under-delivered.

Desired Settlement
I want a complete refund of $72,125 from this company so I can hire a different company to perform the job properly. This was supposed to be a new pool, pavers and outdoor kitchen. What I got is a botched job, patches and terrible customer service.

They should be ashamed of themselves and I hope they lose much business from their practice of terrible customer service.

Business Response
I am in receipt of complaint #XXXXXXX. *****
I would like to re-state the facts. Mr. did sign a contract with Pool Builders, Inc. on February 9, 2013. However, he subsequently authorized changes to that contract totaling $1325.00 during the course of the renovation project, bringing his total contract price to $73,825.00. To date he has paid a total of $72,125.00 leaving a balance due of $1700.00.
His original contract had a completion clause that would go into effect 90 days after the permit was issued by the City of Plantation, to be amended in the event of any Acts of God(weather delays) or modifications to the contract.
The permit was issued by the City of Plantation on April 8, 2013. Allowing for the initial 90 day period, the completion clause would have come into effect on July 7th, 2013. Mr.'s pool was completed and full of water and equipment in operation by July 13, 2013(completion as defined by the contract). Given the fact that there were weather conditions to contend with, particularly the week of July 4th last year, and modifications were made to the original contract, the completion clause should not have come into effect.
In the interest of customer relations, however, we offered to allow Mr. to deduct $400.00 from the balance due, but Mr. has refused to pay the balance of his contract. Our contract specifically states that all warranties are voided should payment not be made in accordance with the terms of the contract.
Although Mr. did have legitimate warranty issues after the work was initially completed, all of his concerns were addressed. Mr. had not contacted our office for any warranty claims since October of 2013 until he called on 3/18/2014. At that time he was politely asked to make his final payment in accordance with the terms of our contract. Mr. again refused to make payment.

Pool Builders, Inc. is willing to re-instate his warranty upon receipt of the past due balance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have a copy of the agreement(s) signed by both parties dated February 9, 2013 signed by Homeowner and Pool Builders Inc.

The Agreement that has all the details starts with the line: "This agreement supersedes any other agreement between Homeowner and PBI in regards to this Project."

That means whatever PBI thought was the completion date in their normal agreement, it was superseded by this agreementand any other clauses in this agreement.

The "Improvement Agreement" describes the work schedule, warranty, penalty clauses and much more.

PBI did not complete the entire job on what they claim is July 11th. Their Sub-contractors will testify that the outdoor kitchen had numerous issues and was not resolved until late December 2013. Furthermore, their installation of the Pool material Durazzo by a Sub-Contractor was not done properly in July. It has to be REFINISHED and sanded with a hydro-sander, and they did not come to my home until late September to complete this job, making the pool useable.

I pleaded and begged them to come, but I was getting the run-around for 2 months before *** finally showed up and went into the pool to fix the issue.

When they told us in July that the pool was useable, me and my children went into the pool and felt it was way to rough of a surface on the floor to use the pool. As a result, my son's feet were scrapped and bleeding all over the place when he ran inside crying because of the improper installation of the Durazzo Finish.

PBI has failed to ever send me their final bill and until recently, I didn't even know we had an outstanding issue in their eyes. The fact that it is 8 months after the job and I first hear of this new bill, is part of the problem. They do not want to service their customer and uphold their contract.

Had they really have any claim to a final bill, they would have issued that final bill a long time ago and pursued me in court for it. They know they were in the wrong and simply did not attempt to collect because of the $100 per day late penalty clause. This was my belief the entire time when I was not asked to pay anything for 8 months until I contacted them for service on the warranty of the pool. Then they stated they will not service me.

The contract and my issues are in my attorneys hands while he files a lawsuit against them for breach of contract.

If they honor the contract and dismiss any claim on any final payment, perform their warranty work, I will close this case with BBB.

If you need paperwork for your legal department to review the contract, I do have a copy of it.

Final Business Response
As I have stated previously, the project was completed by July 13, 2013. The homeowner paid the amount totaling over $17,000 on July 11th. Surely, if there remained substantial work to be completed at that time, negotiations would have taken place prior to his payment. Warranty issues do constitute an incomplete project.

Again, as I have stated previously, no warranty claims were even received from the homeowner since October of 2013 until March of 2014.

However, int the interest of customer relations, Pool Builders, Inc. is prepared to credit the balance due off the project, issue a full Release of Lien and complete any valid warranty issues. that e

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The current status of the pool remains incomplete. This means that Pool Builders Inc. has failed to deliver per the contract terms. I have had to hire another pool company to complete the work including repairs to the work performed by PBI. I have contacted *****, the parts manufactorer for the new equipment and received an authorized dealer to make these repairs for which I plan to pursue PBI for these additional costs.

PBI has yet to admit their wrong doing and to make any attempt to satisfy their customer. As of today, I have a pool that does not function because of the negligence from PBI. My aquapure salt system does not work, my chlorine is not automatically maintained, I have a leak in the pool and as a result my automatic vacuum that I purchased from PBI is not functional.

Furthermore, after inspection by a 3rd party, the iAqualink was not installed properly and is not functioning correctly. ***** has been made aware of this and is sending out a field technician to examine the poor workmanship performed by PBI.

To date, I have never received a final invoice from PBI stating any additional balance was due. My last conversation with PBI, specifically ******, was that he did not know the specific balance of my account.

The fact is, PBI has not completed their job scope according to the contract and now I have to hire another company to perform the work. This is going to cost me thousands of dollars and aggrevation because of PBI's failure to perform.

I could have negoatiated a balance with them if the pool was completely done according to the scope of work, but now its over 1 year since the job started and its still not completed. At $100 a day penalty for incomplete work, PBI owes me in excess of $27k in late fees and penalties.

My current status is to get the final bill from the new pool company to complete the work that PGI did not perform, nor do they want to complete the work.

02/19/2013Delivery Issues
12/24/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Contractors and Installation, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/1980Business started: 01/01/1965
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

Broward County Business Tax
Broward County Governmental Offices 115 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL33301-1818
(954) 357-7235
http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx

BBB records show a license number of CPC056653 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=E76CE37F81867E98E58B49766C76306B

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 188-514 for this company, issued by Broward County Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx.

Check License Status: https://www.broward.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/21824

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Ford (President)Mr. Tom Nicholson
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Contractors and Installation, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pool Builders, Inc.

5601 SW 45th St

Davie, FL 33314

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5601 SW 45th St 

    Davie, FL 33314(954) 797-7700
    (954) 797-7700
    (954) 584-0177
    (561) 392-2690

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pool Builders, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (954) 797-7700
  • (954) 584-0177
  • (561) 392-2690
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.