BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2000

Fountain Blue Pools Service, Inc

Phone: (561) 969-2299Fax: (561) 969-06672731 Vista Parkway Suite D1, West Palm BeachFL 33411

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Fountain Blue Pool Service, Inc. is a Full Service Swimming Pool Contractor, serving South Florida for over seventeen years. Fountain Blue Pools is one of the largest full service providers in South Florida.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/25/2000

BBB has determined that Fountain Blue Pools Service, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fountain Blue Pools Service, Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Improper installation of pool skimmer
Failure to properly replace deck pavers
Failure to properly patch hole on pool resurfacing
Poor communication
11/13/14 Fountain Blue is notified of a hole I noticed in the bottom of my pool (which had just been resurfaced by Fountain Blue).

11/14/14 Fountain Blue sent out a representative who looked at the hole & took photos.

11/15/14 I called Fountain Blue to find out when the repair would take place. I was told that the repair would take place the week of 11/17.

11/17/14 I did not hear back from Fountain Blue. I tried calling the owner, ***, and left a message for him to call me back on his voicemail (I was told that he was in the office and on another call).

11/18 After not receiving a call back from the owner, I left another message in the morning on his voicemail. I tried calling again in the afternoon and asked for *** and ended up speaking with the project manager, ******. She told me that the repair would be Friday, and she would call on 11/19 to confirm a time.

11/19 After not getting a call back from the project manager I tried calling the owner again. Once more I was transferred to the project manager who confirmed that the repair person would be there on 11/21 first thing in the morning.

11/21 At 8am I received a call from the project manager informing me that they were not coming to repair the pool due to it being too cold outside and that the owner didn't want his repair person getting sick. I explained to the project manager that it was 70 degrees and the pool water was 73 degrees and that that was not a satisfactory answer. She told me that they needed to reschedule and I told her that her excuse was unacceptable and I wanted the owner to call me. I told her that I had called the owner twice previously and had not received a call back.
Because of our inability to get a satisfactory response from Fountain Blue we called our credit card company and explained the situation, and they reversed our credit card deposit.

Week of 12/8 Pool was patched. Right away there was a huge disparity between the color of the patch and the existing pool surface. A photo was texted to **** (one of the owner's of Fountain Blue) on 12/10. Her response was "the finish will continue to cure and over time will not be as noticeable." I responded that the color disparity was significant (very white) and asked how long will it take to blend in. She replied,"that every pool environment is very different and I can't say specifically, but it will." To which I responded I don't understand how the patch can be so different from the pool surface. Is there anything else that can be done? I never received a response to my question. I also called and left two messages on ****'s cell phone for her to call me. I never received a call back.

3/4 ***** from Fountain Blue accounts receivable called inquiring why we still owed money on the pool. I replied that I had conversations with **** in December that I would be happy to pay the outstanding balance once all the issues with the pool had been resolved and I was still waiting for **** to call me back.

3/6 A service tech was sent out and he immediately told us that the patch had been done incorrectly and contrary to what **** had said, it would never blend in and would have to be redone. He also agreed to our concerns that the skimmer was placed crooked and that the pavers were not reset properly when they added the vacuum line for the pool. He assured us that he would call us that afternoon to confirm what time he would be here on 3/9 to repair the patch and also advise us on the scheduling of the repair of the skimmer and pavers.
We did not hear back from him and called him on his cell phone at 4:20pm and left a message. He did not return our call.

3/10 I tried calling the service tech again to find out if he was coming today as promised and he did not answer his phone.

Desired Settlement
To properly finish the job that we contracted with them to do.

Business Response

08/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Improper installation of pool resurfacing, improper paving, failure to complete the job after 90% payment and ignoring me completely.

Please don't hire this company, I have a lot of patience and have never written a BAD review in my life. I would probably wait it out if it was well done but they are incredibly unprofessional and the quality of the job is terrible. We gave them 13K and we have gotten NOTHING but a terrible job that is not even done!


We hired this company and were told they would finish the job in 2 weeks. It has been 6 weeks and so far they have done an absolutely terrible job.

The resurfacing is badly done, we have big white patches in a few places and is totally noticeable. They covered the jet with plaster instead of installing it. We planned on taking out the handrail but the crew left it in and just tiled around it instead. When I told them to take it out like we had planned they gave me a terrible attitude, they didn't speak a word of english so they just ignored my husband but I speak Spanish so I was able to tell them to do the job according to the plan, apparently the project manager (Nathan) never mentioned it, just like he didn't mention to fix the leak we had and the color lamp we bought.

They also paved the deck without the drain deck, I mentioned it and the crew tried to convince me that it was better without it! I put a leveler and he stared laughing and told me that "fine" I'll add it in. Not to mention there is loose tile in some areas. They have shown up once a week so far for just a few hours, they promise to comeback and never do. They demanded almost 90% of the total payment to continue and since we gave them the money they have not shown up.

We have left messages and text and nobody answers or does anything about it. Nobody wants to explain to us how they are going to fix and finish the job. They have our money and simply don't care. It has been a total nightmare. We even spoke with Scott who is the main manager and he has done nothing about it. I tried to contact the project manger Nathan AGAIN today and was just told he is no longer in charge of this job and doesn't know who is going to add us to the calendar.

Desired Settlement
I need the job fixed and done this week.

Business Response
A "Great Reputation is Earned", through job complexity, and quality of workmanship. Fountain Blue Pools has earned that level of craftsmanship!! Our staff is stellar and the client support is second to none!
As the contractor for Fountain Blue Pools I have noticed over the last twenty years that a job becomes most difficult when a homeowner gets overly involved instead of allowing the contractor whom they trusted to reconstruct the pool.
There is a Reconstruction Agreement that the homeowner has agreed to and paid for. Fountain Blue Pools follows the construction agreement to protect the owner and the company.
During the reconstruction process it isn't unusual for homeowners to have additional requests so Fountain Blue Pools will do everything to accommodate the client and any additional work requests.
So in saying all of this please allow me to highlight some of our clients concerns:
Deck Drain - was on job site at time of deck installation and wasn't forgotten. The paver installer simply told the owner that he could install the new paver material, setting the new elevation as such that he could eliminate the need for a deck drain. The homeowner declined. Most homeowners regard this suggestion because deck drains tend to be problematic overtime. In some cases deck drain is essential.
Pool Light - the pool light was in the reconstruction agreement and installed without issue.
Pool Leaks - this pool had little gaps around some of the return fittings prior to starting the reconstruction and this was addressed prior to applying the new pool finish. The pool is holding water perfectly.
Handrail - Removing the handrail wasn't in the reconstruction agreement and the homeowner did request this so Fountain Blue Pools did accommodate that request at no charge.
Pool Finish - Fountain Blue Pools employs in-house plaster crews to surface swimming pools. These crews are certified by the manufacture and must adhere to a strict installation guidelines. Most companies subcontract the plaster work and moreover the crews will not be certified. The white haze on the pool surface is normal.. This is referred to as milk or plaster dust. This will disappear with proper maintenance.
Return Line - Yes, the marker for this line location fell out during the pool resurfacing process. This has been repaired with little effort.

It is my understanding that as of 07/26/16 the two bunch list items have been addressed. Additionally the homeowner added some additional work which has been scheduled.

Thank you so much for bring this concern to our attention Customer Service is Fountain Blue Pools #1 priority.

04/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Poured the wrong concrete under my pool deck. Pool deck is cracking and pool tile is lifting away from the sides. Grout is chipping.
When Fountain Blue poured the concrete the first time the company made a 7 inch mistake. They re poured the concrete over the first layer and assured us our pool deck would not crack. The area the bad concrete was poured the pool deck is cracked like a spider web and if you walk the area it is lifting up and sloped. The foreman was out in August to see what was going on. I asked if he could email a detail outline of what repairs they would be doing. I never received it. I requested they start in September when the kids were in school. December 16th they still have no answer on the pool deck but the tile man is suppose to be here the 18th. Fountain Blue always called when it was time to be paid, but after you pay them you will never get a call back. *** is the worst at getting an answer and returning calls. She is very good at having reasons why the work cannot be completed. My stock tile took over a month to get, but when my pool had to be tiled again because it was crooked the tile was available in the warehouse. The foreman knew we would have trouble with the deck.

Desired Settlement
I just what my pool deck resurfaced the tile in my pool fixed. Before February so my kids will not be kept out of the pool for resurfacing the deck.

Business Response
I acknowledge the client is not in agreement to the response given by Fountain Blue Pools. However those are the facts. The customer was given a water treatment for phosphates, a new filter cartridge and two months of free pool maintenance as well as multiple visits to obtain water clarity by our service supervisor. Fountain Blue Pools performed and acid wash to a ten year old interior. On a scale of 1-10 the interior is a seven which is very good on an interior that old. Fountain Blue Pools went above and beyond to satisfy the customer. No additional compensation will be given. Respectfully, Operations Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is not my situation. My problem is a cracked pool deck. Caused by the wrong concrete being poured.

Final Business Response
The repair date was completed on 12/22/14.
The crew completed all the repairs per the office and customers direction. Client has not contacted Fountain Blue Pool Service since repairs have been completed, indicating that all issues have been satisfied.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My pool deck is cracked and fountain blue
Did not repair or even make an attempt to
Repair pool deck

02/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Botched acid wash, improperly done and verified by a 3rd party.
Company botched an acid wash and took multiple months to fix the issue. I had a 3rd party come out and verify that the acid wash wasn't properly done and now the entire pool is in need of a new coating.

Desired Settlement
Would like refund of $450 paid.

Business Response
Completed an Acid Wash for Mr. ******* back in the first week of August of 2013 from the beginning we accommodated all his requests even matching a competitors price and offer of a free month of pool service with an acid wash. Once acid wash was completed customer complained of small particles (fall out) in the water which is normal after an acid wash. There was still some fall out in the water for about the next 10 days or so but not substantial. We then advised customer that the existing pool filter was old and substandard and not catching all remaining fall out. We then replaced his pool filter at no charge with a brand new good quality filter to filtrate all left over fallout and dust. Our service supervisor visited the pool on a daily basis for another week to monitor, vacuum and clean out filter again at no charge. Then about the first week in September the customer requested a full refund of money paid for his acid wash.
It is our determination that acid wash was completed as contracted. We went above and beyond and provided lots of man hours and materials to accommodate all requests made. An acid wash will better a pools appearance and remove stains. All pools due to age will without a doubt eventually need new finish. We were actually in arrears after all services performed. Did everything to retain customers business but customer subsequently closed his account about the second week of September.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, they did complete a botched acid wash. Two of their OWN technicians told me they had never seen such shoddy work done. They even remarked how the pool surface was "bubbling" due to the bad job. It took them months to try and fix the pool. They only drained it at my behest since it was not getting any better. All of the additional services done where due to their screw up.

They sent someone with little to no experience to do the acid wash and he failed to complete it by draining the pool of any sediment.

After firing them for shoddy service I found a new pool company who agreed the acid wash was botched.

Final Business Response
First, I would like to thank the BBB for facilitating this process. I would also like to thank Mr. ******* for allowing Fountain Blue Pools an opportunity to serve him.
I understand that Mr. ******* isn't satisfied with the length of time it took to restore the swimming pool vessel; considering that prior to performing the acid wash the pool was swamp green, full of algae, scale, and ten years old. Fountain Blue was delighted by the outcome of the acid wash. I would also like to mention that the repair technicians at Fountain Blue Pools are more than qualified to perform an acid wash.
I will agree that it took aprox. one month to obtain complete clarity but at no time did we give up on the process and we also compensated Mr. ******* for the inconvenience. A "Great" company is professional and follows through, and that is exactly what Fountain Blue Pools did.
No additional compensation will be given.
Operations Manager

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Wow, that was full of lies.

I have photo evidence proving everything you just stated was a lie. It was never swamp green nor full of algae. In fact, it isn't even 10 years old!

It took closer to two months for this colossal screw up to be admitted at fault. Then, and only then, was the pool drained and my insistence. No one at Fountain Blue wanted to or suggested this.

Yes, I agree the technicians are competent. Both Henrique and Taylor (the technicians) admitted on multiple occasions that the person who actually did the acid wash was incompetent. Hey, I guess 2 out of 3 isn't bad.

Fountain Blue continues to try and bend the truth and their recollection is flawed. I'm ***** to provide photographic evidence to contradict all their claims.

05/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Company continued to charge credit card after service cancellation and refused to correctly apply a refund to credit card.
In December 2013, my credit card was stolen and Fountain Blue Pool was unable to continue charging it automatically since it was cancelled. They stopped the pool service and I finally corrected the problem in January. I gave them a new credit card number and made it clear that I did not want the new number to be used for "automatic billing". I also made it clear that I was cancelling my service for inadequate service. They used the new credit card to process a pass due amount and continue to charge a monthly charge without authorization. I tried to rectify the situation by placing three separate calls to their billing department, account receivable, and customer service department. Every time I spoke to them in February, they were very cordial and explained that someone would call me later with the problem resolved. I finally called them on 3/13 and demanded a solution. They said that they had checked their "gps" system and it showed that the service rep was at my address in February. They did not provide a date or the number of times the person showed up. I explained that I was already taking care of the pool myself and offered to send them the receipts of the chemicals I had to purchase myself to maintain the pool during February. They were unable or unwilling to give me a credit. I have entered a complaint with the credit card company as well.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the company to speak with their pool service representative and confirm (just like I did with him personally) that the pool was not serviced in February. I would like to receive a $50 credit to my credit card for the incorrect charge of service during the month of February.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ************ Servi
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***************
We at Fountain Blue strive in providing excellent service. To monitor that the customer is receiving that service we have equipped all of our service vehicles with a very detailed GPS system that allows us to track their position at all times and this information is available to us and archived for us to review months later.
After checking our technicians GPS for the month of February we recorded our vehicle and technician at **** ****** ****** ****** on the following dates:
February 5th at 2:19 PM
February 12th at 2:21 PM
February 19th at 2:31 PM
February 26th at 1:56 PM
Services were provided for all of the month of February and we feel since services were rendered it does not merit a refund. Cancellation was processed in March once account was closed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
GPS location of vehicle is no evidence of service. Considering most houses in the street are also serviced by the same company, it does not even show evidence of the vehicle was at the exact address. Chemical testing at second pool service facility, the receipts of chemicals I had to purchase in February, as well as the cleaning I had to do myself show this company did not service my pool in the month of February. I have heard similar complaints from my neighbors and will instruct them to file the complaints directly with BBB and reference this complaint.

Final Business Response
This customer was a credit card customer who authorized Fountain Blue Pools, Inc. to process his monthly pool service on his credit card since March of 2013. We had some computer problems in December 2013 and were not able to process for December service until January 2, 2014 in which the credit card was declined with a code #200. We still serviced the customer's pool during December 2013 and January 2014. On February 6, 2014 a door hanger was left at the customer's home stating the account was in arrears for two months. On February 7, 2014 the customer called with another credit card number and paid the balance in the amount of $100. We continued to service the pool for the month of February 2014. On February 27, 2014 the customer called stating that he had called back and cancelled the service and said that he would dispute the charge. The first time that cancellation was discussed was on February 27, 2014. The pool was serviced the entire month of February 2014 and the new credit card on file was charged on February 25, 2014 in the amount of $50 for the month of February service. There is no refund due to this customer. This charge is accurate.

09/30/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/09/2000Business started: 01/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach County - Contractors
(561) 355-2264

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264

BBB records show a license number of U-18620 for this company, issued by Palm Beach County - Contractors. Their web address is The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2017.

Check License Status: Search.aspx

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 200703702 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is

Check License Status:

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 200703700 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is

Check License Status:

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 200703703 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is

Check License Status:

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 201101839 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is

Check License Status:

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Elizabeth Wagner (Construction Renovations)
Contact Information
Mr. Joseph Galan (President)Ms Janet Murphy Mrs. Karen Waterhouse (Business Operations)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Products & Services

Specializing in: New Swimming Pool Construction, Residential & Commercial / Swimming Pool Equipment Repairs / Premiere Swimming Pool Renovation / Weekly Pool Cleaning / Water Features / as well as the latest in "GREEN" technologies.

Refund and Exchange Policy

Fountain Blue Pools offers an array of warranties depending on the nature of work that is performed.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fountain Blue Pools Service, Inc

2731 Vista Parkway Suite D1

West Palm Beach, FL 33411

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2731 Vista Parkway Suite D1 

    West Palm Beach, FL 33411

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fountain Blue Pools Service, Inc is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Service & Repair


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.