BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Flamingo Pools & Patios, Inc.

Phone: (772) 220-0627Fax: (772) 220-4080View Additional Phone Numbers3400 SE Dixie Hwy., StuartFL 34997-5243http://www.flamingopools.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Flamingo Pools & Patios, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Flamingo Pools & Patios, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • 4 complaints filed against business

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Flamingo Pools & Patios, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
07/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor workmanship and poor customer service
Pool staining, spa leaked and bad pool light.

Desired Settlement
Re-surface the pool, permantly repair the spa leak and replace the pool light

Business Response
As to workmanship, your pool drawings were signed and sealed by a licensed engineer and the pool was built to code with the finest of materials, then inspected nine times by Martin County Building Inspectors for the various required inspections. Your pool was built to the same standards as the other over 200 pools in Hammock Creek that were built throughout the years and we haven't had one complaint. As to the pool staining, we acid washed the pool at our cost and removed the stain in October 2015 which was caused by your pool service company. When you called us regarding a leak, we sent out a leak detection company immediately on April 29, 2015 to find and repair the leak. Even a leak detection company has a 30 day leak detection warranty , We knew nothing about the light being "bad". There was a one year warranty on the light from date of plaster which was December 4, 2014 and we never received notification regarding a light or we would have had the warranty station out there immediately as is our policy. Flamingo Pools has fulfilled its warranty obligations above and beyond per the contract you signed with us.

10/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
There are cracks in the stucco grout line above the ceramic tile...
This was brought to their attention within 2 months of project completion.
CONTRACT BETWEEN:
Flamingo Pools & Patios, Inc AND ***** ********. For pool repairs as per contract dated, 9/20/13. Within 2 months of completion cracks started in the stucco joints at the ceramic tile location. Contacted them several times over the first year, and their response was; "they would come and correct the cracks". After numerous phone calls with ***** and ****** ********* AND numerous assurances of a fix repair; I still have cracks and they're getting bigger..!!
THEIR ADVERTISEMENT..(We have strong roots within the community with an impeccable reputation for quality since 1987. We are family owned and operated by ***** & ****** ********* since 1992, who are involved with every phase of your project.)
We spoke with ****** in March 2015, VIA telephone, early am, and he again told us to contact *****. Sent F.Pools an email on 3-09-15 and again on 3-30-15. AND to this date there has been NO RESPONSE.
The cracks are getting bigger and longer and now go around 40% of the perimeter pool line. It has been strongly suggested that water is getting in behind the tile due to the cracks and eventually tile and stucco will be falling off.
Their contract price was paid in full and per the contract specifications; SO WHY CAN'T THEY HONOR THEIR END OF THE DEAL..??

Desired Settlement
I HAVE CRACKS IN THE STUCCO TOP GROUT LINE ...EFFECT PROPER REPAIR. All expenses incurred is the responsibility of Flamingo Pools & Patios, Inc.

Business Response
We replastered and retiled the pool. The plaster has a 10 year manufacturers warranty . There is no warranty on other work.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)




REF; BBB Case# XXXXXXXX

09/29/2015
Receive Business Response
We replastered and retiled the pool. The plaster has a 10 year manufacturers warranty . There is no warranty on other work.


It has taken two years and three notices from BBB to get an official response from flamingo pool regarding an issue of "tile grout cracks", that we had notified them of within 60 days of project completion. AND THE ABOVE REFERENCED is their best response? This company is a sham.!! They have no regard for their workmanship and follow up responsibility. Although, it is good to hear there is some sort of stated warranty involved, as our original contract/proposal documents do not state such.

"Plaster has a 10 year manufacturers warranty"...??? NOW WHAT EXACTLY IS THAT??

Does that mean they warrant plaster supplies/product/installation for 10 year?
Does it mean the manufacturer of the plaster "dry" product extends a 10 year warranty?
And what about the ceramic tile border (in the contract); as soon as the tile/grout was installed...they extend no warranty on product or workmanship?? It becomes the owners responsibility after we give them the FINAL CHECK??

This company did this work well after dark using insufficient lights, no wonder the finished product is a botched job and far from anything "professional".

The many times we contacted them about the problem, we were told by ****** that he would be out to look at it. He has yet to show up and, in addition, emails went unanswered.

In summary, ****** and *****/flamingo pool Inc., have failed on this project. I feel cheated, spent tremendous energy in going through this whole MESS and have concerns that water seepage through the grout cracks and behind the tile will create a future pool repair...

Advice to their future potential customers; Read this entire complaint before you give them a deposit...!!!

08/17/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract date 01/26/15 saleseman Kevin assured us delivery in May. July 10 not finished
permits done 2/10/15 digging start 3/12/15 From April to June workers here less than 1 day per week. Further delay correcting a mistake (hopefully no leaks caused by rework). For 2d time as soon as I paid the installment, work stopped.
Whitey (owner of Flamingo) was insulting as he disavowed what his salesman had promised.

Desired Settlement
completion by August 1, 2015

Business Response
I have spoken with our customer and the problem has been resolved to his satisfaction. 7-31-20015

10/13/2014Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/17/1988Business started: 04/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

Martin Tax Collector
3485 SE Willoughby Blvd.
Stuart, FL 34994
(772) 288-5748
http://www.mctc.martin.fl.us

BBB records show a license number of RP0067264 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=69C2EBD4B8A4AB3FFD3703A425F9947F

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 1992-000530-00013.000 for this company, issued by Martin Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.mctc.martin.fl.us.

Check License Status: https://taxcol.martin.fl.us/ws/itm32/itm.asp

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Grabowski (Owner)Customer Contact: Mrs. Karol Grabowski (Owner)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Flamingo Pools & Patios, Inc.

3400 SE Dixie Hwy.

Stuart, FL 34997-5243

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3400 SE Dixie Hwy. 

    Stuart, FL 34997-5243(772) 220-0627
    (561) 575-7662

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Flamingo Pools & Patios, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (561) 575-7662
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.