BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Atlantic Marcite Corp.

(954) 868-13934611 S University Dr Ste 303, DavieFL 33328-3817http://

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Atlantic Marcite Corp. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Atlantic Marcite Corp.'s rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Atlantic Marcite Corp.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Atlantic Marcite Corp.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
07/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: NOT ABLE TO LOCATE THE COMPANY. THE SURFACE OF POOL IS COMING OFF.
THEY RESURFACED THE POOL AND THE SURFACE IS ALL COMING OFF THE BOTTOM OF THE POOL AND THE SIDES ARE BUCKLING OFF.
IT WAS DONE 12/27/05 AND THERE IS A 10 YEAR WARRANTY. THE STATE LIC CPCXXXXXXX. THEY WERE PAID BY CHECK.

Initial Business Response
Warrentee is with manufacture only
Pool was done 9 years ago and also has to produce chemical
Readings thru out the years to manufacture
No Warrentee on chemical abuse

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
what do you mean by chemical abuse you have not seen the pool is this the kind of response that is just randomly given out???? i guess that fla pools need to be monitored more carefully. you got your money for the pool so who cares??? where is the company under what name now??? or don't they want people to know??

Final Business Response
Please note for record
We do not supply Warrentee
Manufacture does. Only if consumer follows pool care instructions . Per manufacture
1st year we come out to inspect after Manufacter Warrentee now need to be followed!
Brand smart and other retail stores follow same pattern
It's not about company hiding
We cannot come to house without service fee
Thanks

Complaint Resolution: Company offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Work performed outside the terms of the contract or agreement

Complaint: Atlantic Marcite Corp.**** ***** is a FAKE
He comes to your House and talks nice and when the Contract was signed and got $ he never showed up again
Atlantic Marcite Corp. is a big Story how we met.
When we met he did blindet us and maked us to sign a 50.000$ Contract to do several things for us
He suppose to file for a Permit to make a Spa and he said he would.
First he asked us for 4000$ to order Pavers 3 days later he asked for another 10.000 because the Spa was build.
I asked so many times for the permit and he said he would take care of that what he never did.
He works with very cheap people and even illegal People in Florida.
When he maked us to sign the contract i wanted to get everything listet but he said when u buy a mercedes u would not ask if the motor would come with that.
So we trustet him and he is an Desaster.
After i told him not to work in my yard anymore until he files for Permit and ingeneer Drawings he changed his Face and he stardet beeing nasty,
Now we gave him 14.000$ what is to much and we will not follow the contract since he wants to do all illegal
Also he did not break down in contract what prices he charges for things
All pretty Boy said he would take care of us
He also told us he had 0 complaints with BBB and we did not check
He did lie in many things to us and he is the worst Company we ever worked with
We will get us an Loyer and see what we can do
BBB should take his liscence away because he betrails People and not only us

Initial Business Response
Homeowner wants everything for free
We have a contract and that all we are
Doing
I have ask for survey for house but she
Refuses to give it to me to pull permit
1- we will do exactly as contract stated
2-,needs to produce survey for permit

Very Simple

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This GUY is such a liar
We did have the surveys from the House we picked them up at the city and paid like 80$ for that
When this company stardet building the spa in the backyard i did send him tons of messages when he would make a permit for that Spa
He would send me messages he would take care of that what never happend because the spa was already buildet!!
He also suppose to get in touch with another contractor because we also let build a screen inclosure and that contractor called hom many times to meet him here at the house to talk about the Futter Atlantic Marcite Corp. needet to build
We paid him so far 14000$ and have an illegal Spa in our backyard
Through messages was the only contact we had
That guy **** was here 2 times to bring people to work here and they also were illegal with NO Work Permit
I have the ID Copies from this People
Atlantic Marcite Corp. did also not pay this people so that we had to pay that even we gave him so far 14.000$
He maked with us an contract for 50.000 $ to do the Backyard Pool Patio a slap 60x100 and the front with pavers and removal
Now we work with another company what cost us more them 30.000$ just to do the Pool Area and Porch
We had many offers and noone was as low as Atlantic Marcite Corp. but for that $$ he could not provide a 100% job and after he came one time talking to my husband he did never came anymore
He refused to take the survey we became from the City also please remember for what did he needet that??
The Futter we maked with the other company with the permit the ones who make the Pool encosure
The Spa was there already illegal
So he played a big game with us and we had so far a loss from more them 18.000$
When u google the name Atlantic Marcite Corp. u will see many complaints from other people
He promised to be professionell but that is not true
We have now 2 professionell business who do our work and they can provide details about the work he had done and how wrong he is
He showed me paper from BBB and that he was an Poolinspector and all kind of stuff
When he emailed me that in the begin he had to go to an UPS Store to send that to me
A real business would have that in their files
This companie Atlantic Marcite Corp. needs to be stopped hurting people for there money
Please call me XXXXXXXXXX
My Name is *******
I really would like to talk to someone

Final Business Response
This homeowner expects things for free
We have a contract and I need the survey to apply for permit
She refuses to give
All that BS is not worth it
Just give survey
That all and we finish job

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/26/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/12/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
06/08/2012Problems with Product / Service
06/09/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Company supposably has lifetime warrenty but will not honor. Manufacture of marcite said they did not apply correctly, ****** reason for failure
We had company install the marcite several years ago and was told it had a lifetime warrenty. We had some problem with marcite coming off pool surface. I tried calling but no response. Called the manufacture and they sent out representative. Representative came out and told us that the product was not installed correctly. They said they would not honor warrenty since it was not installed correctly and that I would have to get Atlantic Marcite to fix it, which they have not responded to any communication.

Initial Business Response
Homeowner needs to contact Manufacter and produce
Weekly chemical readings per manufacture
We are only installers

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have already had the pool inspected by the Manufacturer and they agree that Atlantic Marcite Corp did not apply the correct amount of the product. The damage to our pool is directly related to the product not being applied per manufacturer directions. The weekly chemical readings are also ready to be viewed. You were even given this information already. We and the manufacturer have already sent this information to you.

Final Business Response
Warrentee with Manufacter only
If manufacture stated labor was put on wrong
Must show letter stating cause???
Also must produce chemical readings to manufacture thru out years
No Warrentee on chemical abuse

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We do have in writing that you (the installer) did not properly install the product to the manufacturer specs. Specifically:The name of the issue is called "Delamination" which is the separation of bond between two surfaces. Delamination failures are generally attributed to one or more of the following jobsite conditions: overly smooth substrate, overly dry or wet substrate, too thin or too thick of a finish coat, contaminated substrate surface (dirt, oil, acid or loose debris) or improper surface preparation, misuse or lack of use of bonding system such as Bond Kote. There is no doubt that you installed the surface and did not follow the manufacturers directions. The manufacturer warrantee was voided because you did not properly install. You are cc'd on the email regarding the inspection. We do have proof the information was received by your company.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

02/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: The diamond brite on the bottom of the pool is chipping away.
According to another vendor who looked at the big gaping whole in the diamond brite said that Atlantic Marcite failed to put a bonding agent over the old marcite before applying the diamond brite. There are inbedded boot prints in the low end of the pool that cannot be removed.

Initial Business Response
When was this pool completed? Does client have warranty paperwork? If more then 1 year ago Had client ever made a claim about foot prints, does client have letter or proof regarding no bond coat

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
THey should replace it. Why would I pay them to do it again if they did it wrong the first time. Why so they can put more foot prints in the pool? Amazingh ow when I got the pool done the first time Atlantic Marcite was advertising everywhere. You could not open any local flyer without them in it. Now when it's obvious they do sub standard work they all but vanish. I will take it up with the state of FL business regulation.

Final Business Response
We are only installers

If they have problem / need to inform manufacture for Warrentee issues
Also manufacture will ask proof of weekly chemical reports
To determine chemical abuse

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

02/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/30/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/24/2012Delivery Issues
10/08/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: The company installed a surface to my pool in or around 2007. The pool surface that was supposed to have a lifetime warranty is coming up.
in or around 2007 Atlantic Marcite installed a pool surface at my residence. The pool surface is starting to crumble and is currently coming up. I have a paid invoice that states that there is a lifetime warranty on the pool surface, I have not been able to get in contact with Atlantic Marcite or any representatives to discuss the issues that I am currently having.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/11/2010Business started: 11/08/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

Broward County Business Tax
Broward County Governmental Offices 115 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL33301-1818
(954) 357-7235
http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx

BBB records show a license number of CPC1456525 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

BBB records show a license number of 188-729 for this company, issued by Broward County Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx.

Check License Status: https://www.broward.county-taxes.com/public/search?search query=188-729&category=business tax

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Neil Rubin (Vice President)
Related Businesses
AMOFSOUTHFLORIDA LLC - 4611 S University Drive, Suite 303, Davie, FL Mr. Neil Rubin is also a principal of this company.
Business Category

Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Industry Tips
In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Atlantic Marcite Corp.

4611 S University Dr Ste 303

Davie, FL 33328-3817

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4611 S University Dr Ste 303 

    Davie, FL 33328-3817

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Atlantic Marcite Corp. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Service & Repair

In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.