BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/18/2009

Parkwood Pools, Inc.

Phone: (954) 583-3355Fax: (954) 583-30096761 West Sunrise Blvd. #16, PlantationFL 33351 Send email to Parkwood Pools, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/18/2009

BBB has determined that Parkwood Pools, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Parkwood Pools, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Parkwood Pools, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Parkwood Pools, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
12/05/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The pool was poorly constructed from the beginning, the pump, electrical, tiles and pavers. The pool tiles were fixed, but replaced cricked etc.
From the beginning of the pool construction Parkwood, tried to cut corners using less steel, and paster. The pump did not properly worked until I discovered that pipes were missed label. The timer for the pool was fixed 4 times and still barely working. The pavers had to be fixed already once, all this was and still is a struggle to get them to do the right repair. The pool had leaks from the beginning that it took several fixes. The pool tiles did not have grout or were properly installed, Park try to fix this problem and send an inexperience worker several time to fix the problem with out emptying the pool. Finally when the pool was actually emptied and fixed the tiles were installed cricket and are now again loosing the grout. The six month check up was never done. **** the owner was very difficult to deal with fighting with me about the contract and specification. The staff was friendly until I started complaining then I got the runaround and attitude. Parkwood pool job is sloppy and unprofessional.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the company to refund me to repair the tiles and the plaster/grout around them. From the steps and swimsuit bench. I will also like some money back to hire my own leak pool company since the one offered by Parkwood pools never really fix the problem. The pavers also need to be event out. I do not wish Parkwood pools to to the tiles job because every time they try to fix a problem it ends up getting worst, and cost me more money. I am seeking for $2000 to cover all this problem.

Business Response
As in every case we request a meeting at the job site to discuss any problems the customer may have. From his letter he is very clearly trying to extort money from a legitimate business and soil there good name in the industry. If his pool is in warranty meaning (paid in full) at the time we will be glad to fix whatever problems he may have.

03/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Untimely Manner on services, Sales person gave wrong information, and then denied what he told us.
On June 28th 2013 we signed a contract with parkwood pools to build a pool, the sales person told us it would be finin in approximately 8 weeks weather permitting, we had very little rain in July or August but nothing happened, then we called to be told the city was taking too long. finally they stated only this is December 11 and the pool is not finish, every time we call we just get the run around around about people being out of town, the only time I asked to speak to the manager it was only to be treated very disrispecfully(by the manager himself).Today 12/11 I called them to ask if they could please try to get the work done my husband is having heart surgery on the 19th and I would like to be done with this, and again the person in charge is out of town and I have to wait until sometime next week. It seem that every time they get paid they pull a dissaparing act on us.

Desired Settlement
All I want is for them to finish the job so I can move on and not deal with them anymore, it seem like the only professional person in that office is a secretary name Jacky who is very nice, but all I need is for them to finish already

Business Response
12-16-2013


This complaint that the homeowner has filed has not been satisfied and needs to be removed from our records. Any delays that have occurred have been created by the homeowner and their insufficient electric in their house. They needed a service change, which was their responsibility, and it took them over three weeks to get FPL there. Secondly, no one has been disrespectful to the homeowner. In fact it has been the reverse. We went out of our way to move up the plaster date to an earlier time so they could have one of their family members go into the hospital. They have failed their alarm inspection. It took them twice to get the proper alarms for city and state code even though they were provided with the proper information.

At the present time, there is still money that is due from their contract that they have not paid.

Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of today, 12/25/2013 they have completed the pool, and we are still waiting for final insections. As far as the electric is concerned we were told by the sales person and by the foreman that we had enough power, that we could get power from the inside panel, after 2 months and after the job was started is when they told us we need a new electrical panel upgrade. Also when we sign the contract the sales person told us we could get any alarm from homedepot.
As far as respect when I tried to speak to the owner he stated he was not insterested in what I had to say, which is the reason that promted me to contact your office.
**** and **** came over to start the pump we explained our concerns they were very understanding and very professional and told us everything would be taken care of by them personally, We will contact BBB as soon as then final inspection is finish to see if we can close this matter.

Final Business Response
At the present time the BBB complaint has not been completed and rectified. We are working with the homeowner to resolve some small issues regarding the plaster that they have in question and we are in the process of setting up a time for the crew to meet them at the house and resolve these issues.

11/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contracted with Parkwood for a new pool. Per contract Parkwood Pools was to pull out and close all permits. Parkwood refuses to close out permits.
In December 2012 my husband and I entered into a contract with Parkwood Pools for a pool, spa and approx. 900 SF of pavers. Per the contract Parkwood Pools would pull all permits with the city (City of Miami Beach) and they would (Parkwood) responsible for closing out the permits. Permits were pulled January 2013. The pool was built completed by early May 2013 however the permits have not been closed out. We have called Parkwood Pools weekly for the past 5 months and for a while they were saying they were working on it. We contacted the owner of Parkwood Pools on 10/30/2013 to discuss this issue and instead of getting a concrete answer on the date this issue is to be resolved, he laid blame on the city. He kept telling me that the city was changing the rules and regulation mid term, making it difficult for them to get this permit closed. Apparently one of the electric lights in the pool was installed without it being properly inspected. In order to have it inspected now part of the tile around the pool will need to be removed for the inspector to reinspect and they do not want to go through this expense and are trying to wipe their hands of this. The city has asked them to get a certified letter from the electrician and engineer, but this letter has now been in process for the last 4 months. When I confronted the owner with this specific issue, he indicated that the electrician was independent of him and should work it out with the city. We did not enter into contract with this electrician. He was subcontracted by Parkwood Pools and as such should fall under Parkwood's responsibility. We have had no contact with this electrician and have not paid anyone else for services other than Parkwood Pools.

We are now trying to pull other electrical permits from the city for other projects not at all related to the pool, but we cannot due so because of these open permits which have been left hanging for the last 6 months.

We need Parkwood Pools to do what it takes to close out the two permits (electric and final building) that are still open asap.

Desired Settlement
We need Parkwood Pools to close out the electrical permit and final building permit with the City of Miami Beach ASAP.

Business Response
This letter should not be logged as a complaint against Parkwood Pools, Inc. as it pertains to an electrical final that was not completed. Electrical contractors are state licensed and do not fall under our registered permit. The rogue electrical contractor has since completed his final through Parkwood Pools initiative and persuasion. The homeowner was supposed to write to the BBB acknowledging this and all finals are completed and the homeowner is satisfied. Please look into this matter and respond. Thank you.

10/18/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We provided written documentation of warranty issues per the terms of the contract and Parkwood did not respond.
A warranty claim was submitted to Parkwood letting them know that the pavers installed and under warranty by them showed settlement. It was also pointed out in person to their representatives. No action or repair was taken even though then stated they would respond.

Further, the final grade was part of the contract terms as the responsibility of Parkwood. The final grade was left that it causes flooding. They refused to repair.

The surface of the pool has installed poorly. Pictures can be provided. Parkwood required payment before installation and offered no repairs for the poor quality workmanship.

Desired Settlement
To provide quality workmanship and repairs as outlined in the contract.

Business Response
All warranty issues have been completed at this time. The final grade on the pool was passed by the city through final structure and final zoning and all final permits have passed with the city. The paver repairs were past the warranty period but were still repaired by Parkwood Pools at no cost to the homeowner. The surface of the pool has become calcified because of the homeowner's irresponsible care with their chemicals and water chemistry. This has been verified by three specialists in the swimming pool industry. This is an erroneous and false BBB claim against the integrity of Parkwood Pools.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The statements offered by Parkwood are false and incorrect.

As previously noted, open warranty issues remain and Parkwood continues to make no efforts to contact the homeowner by any means before or during this complaint process with the BBB. The homeowner can offer complete confirmation that **** *****, Board of Directors Parkwood Pools, Inc., was both advised in person that there were continued warranty issues as well as in writing and subsequently no Parkwood associate made any efforts to contact the homeowner.

The inspection process with the City of Coral Springs is not the threshold of completion or warranty in the executed contract drafted by Parkwood.

The homeowner would ask that Parkwood provide any evidence that the contract was completed according the terms of the contract, or that the warranty issues were resolved.

The homeowner made direct contact with both *** industries and ***** as well as hired third party experts because Parkwood Pools offered no assistance per the terms of their contract. Results to date have not shown maintenance issues but have shown Parkwood incorrectly installed equipment.

Parkwood is a deceptive organization and consumers should be advised accordingly. Mr. ***** sites in his response that

"The ownership of the company has more than 25 years of experience combined and has been a family for over 50 years."

However, the business provides the following in their printed business materials:

"Parkwood Pools & Pavers 25yr Family owned & Operated".

It is not limited to combined experience as in Mr. *****' statement. According to the Florida Department of State, family owned and operated is a false statement and one that is openly advertised by Parkwood in their sales practices. Completing a pool "...free from defects.." (Parkwood Contract warranty language) is also false. Come and take a look.


Final Business Response
As we have said in the past, we would be glad to meet the Stones at anytime regarding any discpencies that they have regarding their pool. We have been more than cordial in trying to fulfill their every request. We have had factory representatives at their home from various companies and they all have stated that there are maintenance issues on the Stones' behalf. If they would like to meet at any time please have them notify us with a certified letter.

10/29/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/11/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/19/2009Business started: 03/05/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Broward County Business Tax
Broward County Governmental Offices 115 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL33301-1818
(954) 357-7235
http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of 188-1217 for this company, issued by Broward County Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx.

Check License Status: https://www.broward.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/75665

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CPC1457879 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=33B0DB7D3C2B6E723A9D000E6E8EDE15

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Adams (President)Ms. Nicki Adams (President)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Industry Tips
In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Parkwood Pools, Inc.

6761 West Sunrise Blvd. #16

Plantation, FL 33351

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6761 West Sunrise Blvd. #16 

    Plantation, FL 33351(954) 583-3355

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Parkwood Pools, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

In-Ground Swimming Pools Can Be a Major Investment
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.