BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/19/2007

Horizon Pool & Patio, Inc.

Phone: (561) 790-0665Fax: (561) 790-066612785 Forest Hill Blvd Suite A, WellingtonFL 33414-4763

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/19/2007

BBB has determined that Horizon Pool & Patio, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Horizon Pool & Patio, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Horizon Pool & Patio, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
04/21/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
pool tech dropped the pool pump and broke the **** that held the strainer basket in place. unjustly billed for new **** and return trip charge
pool tech came to install a hayward pool pump. he opened end of box and shook pump out. pump slid out and fell on concrete slab. I noticed the swivel nut had broke off from the hand **** that secures the strainer basket. I told him the **** broke off from him dropping the pump. he called his office for a replacement **** and nut. he told me I could call the company where I bought the pump for a replacement part and I told him that he dropped the pump and that it was his respondsibility to replace it. he said that he would be back the next day with a replacement part. he returned the next day with the swivel nut and hand ****. on 3/2 I received a bill for $218.57 of which a charge of $58.45 was included for the replacement **** and return trip labor charge. I called Horizon and stated that the tech was responsible for dropping the pump and breaking the swivel nut and shouldn't be charged $58.45 extra (charge for hand **** and return labor charge). the tech told Horizon that he didn't drop the pump and that the **** was broken to begin with. I called Horizon and told them that I shouldn't be charged the extra $58.45 and asked to speak with the manager. the pool tech called me and said he didn't drop the pump and that the **** was broken out of the box. I told him why was he lying because I was there and saw him open the box at one end and shake the pump out and watched it fall onto the concrete slab. with that he hung up on me. the owner then called me and I explained what happened to her and she said that I called the tech a liar(which I didn't) and took the tech's side and said that if I didn't pay the full amount which includes the disputed $58.45 charge that she would take out a lien on my property the Invoice # for this charge is XXXXXCM I'm willing to pay $160.12 for the labor, parts and trip charge, but I feel the extra charge for the replacement **** and return trip charge should not be my responsibility being the tech dropped the pump of which he denies.

Desired Settlement
to accept $160.12 for labor, parts, and service call and to exclude the charge for $58.45 for the replacement **** and half hour labor charge. hand **** charge $15.95 and installation of **** the next day of $42.50

Business Response
Although we do not agree with the customer's description of the situation, and we stand by our technician's assertion that the pump was broken when he took it out of the box, we are willing to remove the disputed charge of $58.45 in order to settle this claim.

Consumer Response
see attached

08/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pool company charged to repair leak in pool, but pool still leaks. Contacted 5 straight days after service done and owner never came out to check wor
Horizon pool sent representative to repair leak on side of in ground pool October 2014. Next day water level was still going down. The owner, Joe, was contacted for 5 consecutive days and never came out to check the work. Claims his employee repaired the leak. Sent invoices for $110+ and sends me monthly invoices stamped past due. I have paid $50 and did so under protest.

Desired Settlement
Request that company either repairs the leak properly or mark the account paid in full.

Business Response
We are not in agreement with the customer's description of the situation, but in order to resolve this we have written off the balance due on this account.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


03/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False lien for dates of service (12+ mos after work performed) and amounts owed (including finance charges) and failure to notify & provide acct stmt.
In the first Quarter of 2011, vendor replaced my pool pump at the request of the insurance company that provided the new home warranty for my house that was included with the purchase of my home in March 2010. The insurance company failed to make payment of the total amount owed to vendor in the amount of $413.40. I never had contact with the vendor until I was notified that the insurance company failed to pay vendor's invoice. After multiple attempts at getting the insurance company to make payment, I decided to pay for the work myself in May 2013. Vendor demands interest on the late payments and continues to invoice me for payment each month. Vendor has no contract with me where I agreed to pay interest on any amounts due. Unknown to me, on April 10, 2013 (two years AFTER the pump was installed), vendor filed a "Claim of Lien" on my property for $536.93 (more than the $413.40 that was owed for the work). Not knowing that there was a lien, on May 29, 2013, I paid the originally owed $413.40 in an act of good faith since I felt bad about the insurance company's failure to pay. On July 5, 2013, since vendor continued to send statements to me for finance charges, I sent a certified letter to vendor with a "Request for Sworn Statement of Account" (ref. F.S. Sec 713.16). VENDOR IGNORED THIS REQUEST. Any amounts owed are purely disputed finance charges that are not permitted to be included in a lien. Repeated calls to vendor to clear this matter are rejected with vendor replying simply that they will leave the lein on the house. The work was done in 2011, while vendor's Claim of Lien states the work was done between Oct 2011 and April 2013, which seems impossibly long to replace a pool pump. The Claim of Lien is clearly false and I want it removed.

Desired Settlement
I want the Claim of Lien removed and I want them to stop sending requests for interest payments every month. Filing a false Claim of Lien is a 3rd degree felony in Florida (ref. F.S. Sec 713.31(3)(i.e., up to 5 years in prison)). Clearly, the State of Florida feels that filing false Claims of Lien is a serious offense and I find it no less serious. Horizon Pool & Patio uses unfair and illegal practices to try to collect moneys that it feels it is owed.

Business Response
I would just like it noted that this is the first online notification that we have received on this complaint. We have not been ignoring the issue. We would dispute the customer's claim that she never had contact with us until she was notified that the insurance company had failed to pay our invoice. In fact the following conversation was noted in our system by our bookkeeper: 12/05/2011: Mrs. ******** called. I told her that we cannot get payment from the Home Choice plan. She asked if they were responsible for it then, I said yes. She was going to try to call Home Choice plan, but said that they did not have a contract with them anymore. Also, we never received a certified letter from the Mr. ******** with a "Request for Sworn Statement of Account. In order to resolve this issue, we have removed the finance charges that have accrued on the unpaid balance as well as the lien fees that we incurred.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is an acceptable remedy, however as instructed by the BBB, I have responded "No" to the proposed resolution for now only to keep the issue open with the BBB pending reciept of a Statement of Account from Horizon that indicates that my balance due is $0.

Once I recieve a Statement of Account from Horizon showing that $0 is owed, I will happily indicate that this issue has been resolved to my satisfaction.

Also, not that it matters now, but I do have a signed reciept from the Post Office indicating that the "Request for Sworm Statement of Account" was signed for and recieved by Horizon on July 9, 2013.

03/31/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged for finance fee because Jennifer ******* stated I was late making payment. My due date is not until March 27,2016.
Jennifer ******* office manager charged me finance charge for being late. My copy of the proposal signed document stated my last complete payment is not due until March 27, 2016. I made my last payment March 22,2016. She continued making excuses how the fee is correct even though she can not provide me a proof of my signed proposal document. I took the liberty of sending her my signed proposal document copy showing the due date, but she still would not credit me for the amount of $13.35 finance late fee. We were emailing each other back and forth. Her customer service is very unprofessional. She kept arguing with me back and forth in the email. Customer is suppose to be always right specially customer have a proof of signed document. Jennifer does not have proof. Her document shows differently and no signature of mine appear anywhere there. So she keeps fighting for that. I know it's only $13.35 credit I'm asking but my point of this is I'm correct and Jennifer ******* is wrong and I can prove it with signed proposal document showing the due date March 27,2016.

Desired Settlement
All I want is my $13.35 finance charge credit back to me because I'm not late yet. After march 27,2016 consider late. My last complete payment is posted March 22,2016. And a letter of apology for being unprofessional. I know it's only $13.35 credit I'm asking, but my point of this is, I'm correct and Jennifer ******* is wrong and I can prove it with signed proposal document showing the due date March 27,2016.

Business Response
Customer is incorrect. She made up that due date herself - everything clearly says in writing "due upon job completion". I talked to Dave ******* - our General Manager, and he stated that he only agreed to 2 payments and he never said that there would not be any finance charges. Both the proposal and the invoice say that the balance was due upon job completion. I have attached all the paperwork. She clearly edited the proposal herself and then sent it to me yesterday. I have attached the original proposal and her edited copy. 1. Dave ******* did not put the part in there about the payments and the due dates. 2. She clearly added the part where she paid the deposit - because the person who took the payment is "Jesse" not Jessie" - we would not spell his name wrong. I stopped communicating with her when she used extreme profanity towards me. The balance was due on 2-9-16 - she did not pay the balance until X-XX-XX after several emails and phone calls to her. Therefore the finance charge stands. Customer cannot just edit our proposal after the fact and make her own terms and due date.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes! those dates I have written there because that was the first time I made my payment and our verbal agreement with ***** *******, he never mentioned to me any finance charges only taxes. That's why I have that in writing because it was only verbal agreement. And Jennifer kenbeek did not send me several emails about the last payment bill that's due for March. I receive one email stating your payment is past due. She should of email me about my bill is about to be due like any other company would do. Until she states first email Its past due. I was waiting for the bill to shows my 2 payments one deposit and my first. Jennifer kenbeek is the one making to many excuses not listening to my side. Obviously I got angry with her. I still deserve to get refunded for finance charge $13.35. I agreed to what I signed because verbal agreement Not enough.

Final Business Response
I sent emails on 2-22-16, 2-26-16, 3-1-16 and 3-22-16.

All of our paperwork stated "due up job completion". And the she admitted that SHE altered the contract.

Like I said before, Dave said that he DID NOT agree to that, and the customer cannot just make up their own terms and edit OUR contract after the fact.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was not about to sign something that it was not our verbal agreement. Because as you can see the proposal you send me that has no signature on it. Says due upon job completion.
I was told by ***** ******* that I have 2 months installment payments to that time of the agreement. I'm not in a category of due upon job completion. That's why you got my business in a first place. If it wasn't for that agreement. I won't agree to buy your product. The installment plan that made me gain your business. I still have a future renovation on our pool, but I will never have agreement with you again and I will never recommend your business to my friends and neighbors. The warranty you gave me does not stated what's cover and how long it's cover for. I need the one that's says how many years and what you cover on the solar panels. I'm Done with your company. I just need my warranty copy.
Dates I signed the agreement is
1/27/16= I paid a deposit $1,200
1/27/16-2/27/16= my 1st month - I paid $1,450 @ 2/18/16
2/27/16-3/27/16= my 2nd month - I paid $1414.05 @ 3/22/16 which includes finance charge $13.35 because I was told I was late.

1/27/16 to 2/9/16 - is not one month , that's only 2 weeks I was told is due on the 9th.

12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horizon Pool Company came out to our home at XXXXX *************************************** on numerous occasions.
Horizon Pool Company came out to our home at XXXXX *************************************** on numerous occasions. At the beginning of this year we had a problem where the pool kept turning green. We had the service man out and he told us we needed to replace numerous parts. ..... including a cartridge, a filter and just to keep adding chemicals. We did that. That did not work. We were in the process of selling our home which they knew and we needed to get the pool fixed. Week after week they would come out and charge us to put chemicals in telling us that was what it was. That did not work. Then it was decided that it could be an O ring. I replace it myself since we keep losing offers on our home because of the green pool and we had a showing and they had no one to send out. Finally we got another offer and the day the inspector came the pool turned green so I ran to the pool store purchased another $50 in chemicals and got the pool blue. They continued to send bills and we offered to pay but, Obviously not the whole bill since they never figured out what the problem was and just kept putting a "bandaid on it" Finally after months of service calls they decide that maybe it's the O Ring. They took off $50 of which we feel is NOT acceptable!!

Desired Settlement
REDUCE THE BILL TO A FAIR AMOUNT Considering we spent 100's oon pairs and chemicals and lost a good offer on our home since pool was green and was forced to lower price on home and sell AS IS!!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@horizonpool.com
Horizon performed routine weekly service on this pool from 5/20/13 through 8/31/13. No reason was given as to why the service was discontinued. On 3/7/14 we received a call from the customer stating that the pool was green and the flow light on their chlorinator was on. On 3/10, we sent our technician who found that the flow light was on the chlorinator because the filter was so dirty it could not feed enough water for the chlorinator to work. He cleaned the filter and added chemicals. We billed $104.15. On 3/12, the customer called back to say the pool turned green again and had bubbles. Our tech went back on 3/13, again cleaned the dirty filter and pump basket, added chemicals and suggested they get a new filter cartridge. We billed $54.61. The customer did come into our store and purchase a filter. On 3/27, customer called back, very upset, pool was green and they wanted it cleaned up once and for all. We quoted $50.00 per visit plus chemicals. We went to the pool 3/27, 3/28, 3/31, 4/1 and 4/2 and cleaned the filter, brushed, vacuumed, and added chemicals. On three separate occasions, we came out and got the pool clean and the water clear. The customer is then responsible to maintain the cleaning and chemistry in order to keep the pool clear since we no longer do the routine maintenance on the pool. We discounted this bill, only charging $25.00 for 3 of the visits. The total bill was $247.29. This pool was in very bad shape to begin with. We never received any money for our work. On 10/11 I called Mr. ******* and offered to reduce the $428.97 bill to $350.00. We did not hear back on this offer. In an effort to satisfy this dispute, I am willing to accept $300.00 as payment in full. The house is now sold and we have little recourse. We made a total of 7 visits to the job. As to the statement about the o-ring, we do not have any indication as to what this was about.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no reason to come out 7 times if the figured out the problem. After the 7th time is was determined that there was an issue with the O ring and they never picked it up. The O ring was replaced and that fixed the pool.

Final Business Response
The o-ring issue, which we are not aware of, has no bearing on water chemistry. The issue was solved through repeated additions of chemicals, brushing vacuuming and cleaning the equipment.

11/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
did not totally replace pool timer, charged more money than verbal agreement with GM
My Pool timer needed to be replaced , A quote from the GM, **** advised $105 for new timer $85 labor. I agreed and said do it after I was told by GM my existing box was old and no parts were available .Met technician at house advised me twice he was not an electrician,Tech advised he would run wires from old box to new box. I stated I did not want that done. It was late in the afternoon hot,muggy day. I returned to the house after 40 minuets the Tech ran electrical from old box to new box,He ran 4 wires in plastic conduit he should have replaced old timer with new timer but did not.
Several days later I receive a bill from Horizon Pool and patio for 272.95, 82.92 cents more than quoted, claiming the job took 1.5 hours , plus material used by Tech. At no time was I advised of material cost or extended labor cost. After two meetings with GM stating the owner ***** was on vacation I was advised the bill is what it is nothing will be done .
******* advised after finding out that a pool heater was also hooked up to the box ,stated to me through his boss that timer was not big enough for the two loads,pump and heater . I advised I had another pool company come in and do the job Horizon pool did not do for an additional 40.00.and everything works fine. GM **** had no response or comment . I then advised our 9 year relationship was over and I hung up the phone.

Desired Settlement
I would be satisfied if I recouped the 82.95 and call the incident over.

Business Response
We have issued Mr. ******** a credit in the amount of $71.55. Along with a letter explaining that the work we did at the job, using an existing box as a junction box, is a common repair technique. The work was done neatly, as his picture indicated and everything was operational.

Our adjusted charge represents the price of the time clock $105.00, 1 hr. of labor, $85.00 and tax, for a total of $11.40

Hopefully this will amicably resolve the situation.

06/23/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1986Business started: 01/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

BBB records show a license number of RP0054223 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2017.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=FA2344E6FAC279A5AA398AAED2F83701

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 198707199 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://pbctax.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=198707199&a=1584587

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 201005607 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://pbctax.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=201005607&a=1848866

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Grove (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Linda Grove (Secretary/ Treasurer)Mr. David Ballard (Vice President)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Horizon Pool & Patio, Inc.

12785 Forest Hill Blvd Suite A

Wellington, FL 33414-4763

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12785 Forest Hill Blvd Suite A 

    Wellington, FL 33414-4763(561) 790-0665

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Horizon Pool & Patio, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.